subwoofer mechanical buzz, not capacitor, not ground - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
subwoofer mechanical buzz, not capacitor, not ground

So I pulled the amp out of my sub since it was making a funny high pitched sound.

See the photo - its the large transformer.

It only starts to make the sound after a minute or two where it begins to heat up. Once cooled off no noise.

Normally for something small I can swap out, or re solder, but what do I do in this case?

Seth
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsa31.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	109.0 KB
ID:	2702006  

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1537 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by sethwas View Post
So I pulled the amp out of my sub since it was making a funny high pitched sound.

See the photo - its the large transformer. It only starts to make the sound after a minute or two where it begins to heat up. Once cooled off no noise.

Normally for something small I can swap out, or re solder, but what do I do in this case?

Seth
Sorry, but I don't see a photo.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnson636 View Post
Sorry, but I don't see a photo.
Sorry about that - I added it as an attachment - try now?
(it's not on any of the daughter boards, it's the large part with the sharpie writing on it)

The amp is an RBH DSA 3.1

Seth

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1537 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Without a part number, it's hard to determine replacement options. Can you identify any other numbers other than XFM-2015 and K29-2015?

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unfortunately no - not unless I possibly pull it from the board.

Aside from finding a used amp somewhere it its entirety, or by a miracle this actual part new or used, is there any alternative? Is repair an option? Or something aftermarket? Would you want some specs on the amp?

Seth

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by sethwas View Post
Unfortunately no - not unless I possibly pull it from the board.

Aside from finding a used amp somewhere it its entirety, or by a miracle this actual part new or used, is there any alternative? Is repair an option? Or something aftermarket? Would you want some specs on the amp?

Seth
Seems like 'transformer whine'. Can't have sound without movement, the 50 or 60 Hz. frequency of the current can cause small movement, more like a vibration.
cathodeRay is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1537 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by sethwas View Post
Unfortunately no - not unless I possibly pull it from the board.

Aside from finding a used amp somewhere it its entirety, or by a miracle this actual part new or used, is there any alternative? Is repair an option? Or something aftermarket? Would you want some specs on the amp?

Seth
Specs of the amp and driver would be helpful. As I mentioned already, repair options are difficult without part numbers. Maybe this is a common issue with this amp and someone who has already replaced the part before will chime in. Furthermore, repair may not make sense unless repair costs is significantly cheaper than replacement.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
got it

specs I found here:
https://rbhsound.com/img/spec_sheets/tis_ts10a.pdf

but with regards to repair I meant myself.
My issue is - amps are heavy, so once you mail and return one, it's no longer cost effective at any level. This would have to be as close to 'free' a repair as possible which is why I don't mind tinkering. Because once you hit the $100 level you can start getting second hand units altogether.

When listening to music or watching movies it's difficult to tell there's a buzz if at all, only when done or when the house is otherwise quiet, which means I can just turn on and off the sub by hand, but that seems silly (it's a 2 sub setup) to manually flip the switch every time on just the one unit.

Seth

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathodeRay View Post
Seems like 'transformer whine'. Can't have sound without movement, the 50 or 60 Hz. frequency of the current can cause small movement, more like a vibration.
True - I've been doing this for years, and this is the first time I've seen this. I have other subs (same make) and this is the only one with the whine/buzz. Initially I thought it may have been bad power or something and tried different outlets, filters, cables, you name it and it makes no difference. Once the transformer heats up something inside it is vibrating to cause the noise.
Historically, you move whatever is touching, and the noise stops, but I don't know how do do that inside the transformer itself.

Seth

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1537 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Maybe this or this Not sure if either with fit your cutout though.

Automation: Alexa- Harmony Hub- Wemo Dimmer Switch- Wemo Smart Plug BatCave: SY Triple Black
Video Image: JVC RS500- Sony UBP-800X- Chromecast- 125" wide 16x9 white over black spandex screen
Audio: 5.2.4 Marantz SR7011- (LCR) QSC 2180 - (Surrounds) (4) BIC FH6-LCR- (Atmos) (4) Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch- (Subs)2 23ishcuft ported HS24s 14-15Hz tune - 2 Devastator Minis B&C21ds115 - 4 PA460 in ported cabs 40Hz tune- FP20000Q- 2 Sanway FP10000Q- Crown XLS1500- . To be continued...
johnson636 is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-26-2020, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ah - you mean just replace the whole darn thing? that's definitely my go to last resort.

Thanks!

Seth

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-27-2020, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 3,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I spoke to RBH and they used to just have the power supplies (what I call the transformer) and it could be swapped out. But it's super duper old stock and they don't have any. They do have complete amps available but it would be cheaper for me to replace the entire sub.

To their credit, they are going to see if there is Frankenstein method where I could use an alternate transformer and will get back to me. I'm glad I have this brand because that's good service.

Seth

my signature < -- While that looks simple enough, click it for answers to many a question.
sethwas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off