The audyssey in my Denon receiver thinks my subwoofer is 22ft away when it's only 7ft - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
  • 1 Post By imureh
  • 1 Post By JD23
  • 1 Post By tvuong
  • 1 Post By pajama sam
  • 1 Post By badtlc
  • 2 Post By idknuttin
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 05-23-2020, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
The audyssey in my Denon receiver thinks my subwoofer is 22ft away when it's only 7ft

Just got a subwoofer to compete my 5.1 setup. I ran audyssey to calibrate everything and it measures the distances of all the speakers from the listening position correctly except the subwoofer. The subwoofer is only about 7ft away from the main listening position but audyssey thinks it's 22.1ft away. This can't be correct?
idknuttin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 05-23-2020, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
imureh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,538
Mentioned: 286 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3497 Post(s)
Liked: 4714
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
Just got a subwoofer to compete my 5.1 setup. I ran audyssey to calibrate everything and it measures the distances of all the speakers from the listening position correctly except the subwoofer. The subwoofer is only about 7ft away from the main listening position but audyssey thinks it's 22.1ft away. This can't be correct?
For subs that distance has nothing to with physical distance. That is effectively a delay that Audyssey is calculating to align you subs to your mains
Soulburner likes this.

Subwoofers: Dual Rythmik FV18s Rev2 with Paper cone, BOSS Platform mini riser, 2 BK LFE
Speakers: PSA MTM-210 L/C/R - Klipsch 250S Surrounds, PSA MT 110sr Rear Surrounds, 4 x SVS Prime Elevation for Atmos
Video: Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 6500 UB; Room: 2100 cuft sealed on suspended floor
Receiver & Players: Denon X4400H, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Ultra. Apple TV, Minidsp 2X4 HD
imureh is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 05-23-2020, 12:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Your subs may have significant DSP delay.
garygreyh likes this.
JD23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 05-23-2020, 11:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tvuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,924
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2999
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
I ran audyssey to calibrate everything and the subwoofer is only about 7ft away from the main listening position but audyssey thinks it's 22.1ft away. This can't be correct?
You probably connect your sub wirelessly? Wireless module adds additional delays (distances).
pajama sam likes this.
tvuong is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is that necessarily a bad thing, does it represent the quality of the sub?
idknuttin is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Not wireless
idknuttin is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
chucks0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SC
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 517 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
Is that necessarily a bad thing, does it represent the quality of the sub?
As long as your AVR accurately time aligns all of the speakers / subs, it isn't a problem. Most modern subwoofers use some form of DSP which introduces additional delay. I know Rythmik is one of the companies that does not use DSP.

Electronics: Denon X4400, Vizio M65
Sub: Rythmik FV18-PC x 2
Speakers: 3 x Chane A2.4 LCR, DIYSG Volt-6 Surrounds
chucks0 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tvuong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,924
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2957 Post(s)
Liked: 2999
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
Not wireless
What sub(s) are you using? That is a huge discrepancy in distances.
tvuong is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 01:45 PM
Member
 
pajama sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Redmond WA
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If your sub has a phase adjustment make sure it's set to zero.
Soulburner likes this.
pajama sam is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvuong View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
Not wireless
What sub(s) are you using? That is a huge discrepancy in distances.
Dayton audio sub 1200
idknuttin is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by pajama sam View Post
If your sub has a phase adjustment make sure it's set to zero.
The phase was set to 180 when I did the audyssey calibration.

Should I set it to 0 and recalibrate?

I thought the you should set the phase to whatever sounds better to you based on the room and where the sub is placed?
idknuttin is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
badtlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
The phase was set to 180 when I did the audyssey calibration.

Should I set it to 0 and recalibrate?

I thought the you should set the phase to whatever sounds better to you based on the room and where the sub is placed?

Set phase to 0. Re-run audyssey. Then tweak after it is done.
Soulburner likes this.

Front: Polk S55
Center: Polk S30
Rear: Polk S10
Sub: P̶L̶-̶2̶0̶0̶I̶I̶ | (̶2̶)̶ ̶F̶V̶X̶1̶2̶ | V1812
badtlc is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,746
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2981 Post(s)
Liked: 2094
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
Is that necessarily a bad thing, does it represent the quality of the sub?
No, and no. It's totally normal, and has more to do with the room size and how bass waves are acting in your room than anything specific to the subwoofer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Set phase to 0. Re-run audyssey. Then tweak after it is done.
Respectfully, I have found that changing the phase AFTER audyssey runs tends to cause more harm than good. Part of the delay that Audyssey sets acts a lot like adjusting the phase knob, so altering the phase knob afterwards can undermine the calibration, in my experience. Ymmv.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
badtlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Respectfully, I have found that changing the phase AFTER audyssey runs tends to cause more harm than good. Part of the delay that Audyssey sets acts a lot like adjusting the phase knob, so altering the phase knob afterwards can undermine the calibration, in my experience. Ymmv.

Nobody told him to mess with phase after running audyssey. He needs to set it to zero and re run audyssey.

Front: Polk S55
Center: Polk S30
Rear: Polk S10
Sub: P̶L̶-̶2̶0̶0̶I̶I̶ | (̶2̶)̶ ̶F̶V̶X̶1̶2̶ | V1812
badtlc is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 05-24-2020, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,746
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2981 Post(s)
Liked: 2094
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Set phase to 0. Re-run audyssey. Then tweak after it is done.
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtlc View Post
Nobody told him to mess with phase after running audyssey. He needs to set it to zero and re run audyssey.
I apologize. I misunderstood the direction to "tweak" phase after "it" (which I took to mean Audyssey) is done.


My current setup.
Recommended podcasts: The Next Picture Show, the /filmcast, AV Rant.
nathan_h is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 05-26-2020, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks guys, I set the phase to 0 and ran the audyssey calibration again and now it says the sub is 9.6ft away which makes much more sense.
badtlc and pajama sam like this.
idknuttin is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 05-26-2020, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
badtlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by idknuttin View Post
Thanks guys, I set the phase to 0 and ran the audyssey calibration again and now it says the sub is 9.6ft away which makes much more sense.

good! have fun tweaking!

Front: Polk S55
Center: Polk S30
Rear: Polk S10
Sub: P̶L̶-̶2̶0̶0̶I̶I̶ | (̶2̶)̶ ̶F̶V̶X̶1̶2̶ | V1812
badtlc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off