Shakers - Simple/Cheap Hookup - Visual Guide - Page 97 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 63Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2881 of 2889 Old 06-25-2019, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
emerson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post
I think that model allows you to assign the unused channel amps to zone 2, which means you can feed LFE into zone 2 to drive shakers directly with that unused internal amp.

Dang, I am not seeing a way that I can find, but I asked on the owners thread for the amp too.
emerson1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2882 of 2889 Old 06-25-2019, 10:59 PM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post
I think that model allows you to assign the unused channel amps to zone 2, which means you can feed LFE into zone 2 to drive shakers directly with that unused internal amp.

Dang, I am not seeing a way that I can find, but I asked on the owners thread for the amp too.
Post #2860 in this thread explains how to do it.
pjp is offline  
post #2883 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello! I need some help figuring out how to power two Reckhorn BS-200i's. I'd rather not buy a plate amp because 1. I'm too lazy to put together a DIY case for it and 2. They're massive. However I have found a "Nobsound G2 PRO 300W" amp on amazon.co.uk (please look it up if you can, I can't post links with < 5 posts...) Would the low pass frequency filter on that thing work if I split the SUB out on it and wired up the shakers serially to that? If so, am I good to go in using it for this purpose?

Attaching the product image of the amp.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-08-16 at 20.29.29.png
Views:	16
Size:	1.31 MB
ID:	2603568  
Dockson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2884 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 12:10 PM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockson View Post
Hello! I need some help figuring out how to power two Reckhorn BS-200i's. I'd rather not buy a plate amp because 1. I'm too lazy to put together a DIY case for it and 2. They're massive. However I have found a "Nobsound G2 PRO 300W" amp on amazon.co.uk (please look it up if you can, I can't post links with < 5 posts...) Would the low pass frequency filter on that thing work if I split the SUB out on it and wired up the shakers serially to that? If so, am I good to go in using it for this purpose?

Attaching the product image of the amp.

Thanks!
It will probably work. It would be good to find out what the lowest setting is on the crossover because the shakers need to be cut-off lower than subs. There's a very good chance it will be fine, but wouldn't hurt to check in advance.

I think the theoretical max you can get with a 32v/5a power supply is 160 watts. According to the Amazon US listing the seller says 300W @2Ω ; 170W @4Ω ; 80W @8Ω -- I don't think this is accurate, but it suggests you would get the most power by wiring your 4ohm shakers in parallel to to create a 2 ohm load. Normally 2 ohms strains amps, but apparently this amp is fine with it if the listing is to be believed. I'd put an ohmmeter on the shakers when you have them in parallel just to make sure they are around 2ish ohms (above is fine, significantly below 2 may not be). Even if the amp doesn't produce the power it claims, I suspect it will be more than enough for two shakers, though I haven't tried those particular shakers. I'm driving 4 Aura Pro's with a 100 watt and it is more than enough.
pjp is offline  
post #2885 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post
It will probably work. It would be good to find out what the lowest setting is on the crossover because the shakers need to be cut-off lower than subs. There's a very good chance it will be fine, but wouldn't hurt to check in advance.

I think the theoretical max you can get with a 32v/5a power supply is 160 watts. According to the Amazon US listing the seller says 300W @2Ω ; 170W @4Ω ; 80W @8Ω -- I don't think this is accurate, but it suggests you would get the most power by wiring your 4ohm shakers in parallel to to create a 2 ohm load. Normally 2 ohms strains amps, but apparently this amp is fine with it if the listing is to be believed. I'd put an ohmmeter on the shakers when you have them in parallel just to make sure they are around 2ish ohms (above is fine, significantly below 2 may not be). Even if the amp doesn't produce the power it claims, I suspect it will be more than enough for two shakers, though I haven't tried those particular shakers. I'm driving 4 Aura Pro's with a 100 watt and it is more than enough.
Thank you! According to the listing it should go down to 40 Hz, so that should be fine. I'm no electrician so bear with me here but is the SUB OUT "powered"? In the listing it shows connecting an actively powered sub to the SUB OUT and not passive as the shakers are. Or is it only the R/L outs that are "powered" (but might not adhere to the sub frequency filter?) Trying to wrap my head around this.
Dockson is offline  
post #2886 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 12:41 PM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockson View Post
Thank you! According to the listing it should go down to 40 Hz, so that should be fine. I'm no electrician so bear with me here but is the SUB OUT "powered"? In the listing it shows connecting an actively powered sub to the SUB OUT and not passive as the shakers are. Or is it only the R/L outs that are "powered" (but might not adhere to the sub frequency filter?) Trying to wrap my head around this.


The "sub out" single RCA jack on the back of the amp is a line-level output to feed an active sub or another shaker amp if you wanted to add one later. The "speaker out" positive and negative output are for driving the shakers (or passive subs). I would guess that the line-level sub out signal is the low-pass signal from the crossover, but you shouldn't need to use that output anyway.

40hz cuttoff should be just low enough. If you set it too high, you will get bleed-through of sounds that should create shaking, normally 40hz would be low enough if it's accurate.
pjp is offline  
post #2887 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post
The "sub out" single RCA jack on the back of the amp is a line-level output to feed an active sub or another shaker amp if you wanted to add one later. The "speaker out" positive and negative output are for driving the shakers (or passive subs). I would guess that the line-level sub out signal is the low-pass signal from the crossover, but you shouldn't need to use that output anyway.

40hz cuttoff should be just low enough. If you set it too high, you will get bleed-through of sounds that should create shaking, normally 40hz would be low enough if it's accurate.
Great, thank you. So you think the frequency filter also applies to the speaker outs then? (Reason I'm unsure is because someone said the filter would only apply to the sub out, this was regarding a different amp though (the "Nobsound Mini 2.1 Channel" on ebay)).
Dockson is offline  
post #2888 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 01:08 PM
pjp
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockson View Post
Great, thank you. So you think the frequency filter also applies to the speaker outs then? (Reason I'm unsure is because someone said the filter would only apply to the sub out, this was regarding a different amp though (the "Nobsound Mini 2.1 Channel" on ebay)).
It's sounds like it's a dual mode amp -- when the switch is in PBTL position, it bypasses the sub crossover (to be used as one mono full-range amp) and when the switch is in SUB position, the crossover is in effect for the speaker outputs. You would have it switched to SUB. I haven't tried this amp personally, but this is what I infer from the description.

The fact that it has gain switches to bump up the line level input is a very nice feature for use with shakers. This seems like a really good choice for a shaker amp.

Last edited by pjp; 08-16-2019 at 01:14 PM.
pjp is offline  
post #2889 of 2889 Old 08-16-2019, 01:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjp View Post
It's sounds like it's a dual mode amp -- when the switch is in PBTL position, it bypasses the sub crossover (to be used as one mono full-range amp) and when the switch is in SUB position, the crossover is in effect for the speaker outputs. You would have it switched to SUB. I haven't tried this amp personally, but this is what I infer from the description.
Sounds good! Thanks a lot for the help.
Dockson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off