how to connect two subs to one receiver? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-06-2004, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krabapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: in a state bordered by Kentucky and Maine
Posts: 5,779
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 469
I've got a an AVR that has a single 'sub' output, but I need to connect it two powered
subwoofers. How can I do this (using line-level conneciton, not speaker-level)? They don't have to be 'stereo' -- in fact I will probably stack them on top of each other. Can I just 'split' the signal using an Rat Shack mono-to-stereo adapter cable and run one line to each sub?
krabapple is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-06-2004, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Vlad_Dracule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Splitting them would likely be the best way to do it.

Also I dont believe there would be much point to having a left and right (i.e. stereo) subwoofer setup. Most of the noise a sub outputs is too low of a frequency to be able to detect where it is coming from.
Vlad_Dracule is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-06-2004, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ian Fleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My sub has a line level in and out, so you could daisy-chain it with two subs.
I made a "Y" splitter once with coax cable and connectors. That was a five minute job.
Ian Fleet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 01-06-2004, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Burtgtp1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bourbonnais , Illinois
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PLEASE someone correct me if iam wrong ... as iam sure someone will ,
the "professional " sales person at my local HT shop , told me that 2 subwoofers cancel each other out , any truth to this , or is he uninformed as iam ... ?

Hitachi 65" HD Widescreen
Denon AVR3801
Klipsch RF-35
Klipsch RC-35
Klipsch RS-35
SVS 20-39 PCi
Burtgtp1973 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-06-2004, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
SledBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: eh?
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
he's a ******, if you double the power and cone area you can expect to add 6db, at least thats what I know from car audio.....

BTW i have 2, yes....2 subs in my truck stereo and it sounds just fine :)

PS: This is what part of the alphabet would look like if Q and R were missing.
SledBC is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-06-2004, 09:05 PM
Member
 
TMaxxTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 subs, I use a splitter, no loss in power or distortion or anything...sounds just like there are 2 ports in the back for it.
TMaxxTim is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-07-2004, 01:41 AM
Member
 
tantalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: vancouver
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AFAIK the two subs will have at least some canceling effect on each other. That is why an asymmetrical placement is recommended for a multiple sub set-up. This is not to say you won't get much more headroom with two subs; it just probably will not be fully twice the output of one sub alone. And, yes, a simple radioshack gold splitter is the way to go.
tantalus is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-07-2004, 03:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
DrSpike69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sun Prairie, WI, USA
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stacking them or placing them next to each other will gain you a bit more head room. Asymmetrical placement will not gain as much but will gain some. All of these are good options for multiple subs. Like always play around with placement to get the most out of them for your room. But yes in some placements they can end up canceling out certain frequencies. But that can always be tamed by proper placement. :) Adding a second sub will not double the SPL however. But it will give quite a good gain.

~Dr. Spike
DrSpike69 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-07-2004, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
krabapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: in a state bordered by Kentucky and Maine
Posts: 5,779
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
My sub has a line level in and out, so you could daisy-chain it with two subs.
I made a "Y" splitter once with coax cable and connectors. That was a five minute job.
Doesn't the line level out only output the high-passed signal, rather than the whole shebang? That's the case for my Velodyne F1000, I'm pretty sure. I used to run it into the poweramp-in jacks of an old pre- home theater receiver, in the days before there was onboard bass management (the recevier's preamp out was run to the line in of the sub)
krabapple is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-07-2004, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
GreatBop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is why there is a phase switch at the back of your subwoofer. that saves it from cancelling each other out.
GreatBop is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-07-2004, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
JRace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vernon, BC, Canada
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by krabapple
Doesn't the line level out only output the high-passed signal, rather than the whole shebang? That's the case for my Velodyne F1000, I'm pretty sure. I used to run it into the poweramp-in jacks of an old pre- home theater receiver, in the days before there was onboard bass management (the recevier's preamp out was run to the line in of the sub)
Some are some arn't....depends on the sub.
JRace is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-07-2004, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
JRace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vernon, BC, Canada
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by GreatBop
That is why there is a phase switch at the back of your subwoofer. that saves it from cancelling each other out.
That helps when the subs are in different locations.
Changing the phase when the subs are stacked could cause cancellation.
JRace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off