DVDPedia as a Front Row substitute for VIDEO_TS - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted Todorov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To answer a forum question recently I checked out DVDPedia (my cataloging software) in full screen mode, and it is great as a front row substitute. With less work then Front Row/DVD Assist you can set up VIDEO_TS folders, and use a very slick interface and the Apple Remote to launch them. All you have to do is attach the VIDEO_TS folder in the Links tab for that DVD's DVDPedia and then run DVD Pedia in "full screen mode".

You can check out their little demo: http://bruji.com/howto/fullScreen.html

DVDPedia is excellent cataloging software (which I have been using for a couple of years, having chosen it over ReaderWare and Delicious Library) and I would highly recommend it just on that basis, but I think it is really worth checking out by anyone looking for good interface for playing ripped media. Go to bruji.com for more details -- they do have a free demo version and full product is cheap.
Ted Todorov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 06:33 AM
Member
 
dancinbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ted,

Do you know if that application works with DVDs that have been ripped to a movie file (like m4v or avi), or is it just VIDEO_TS folders?
dancinbear is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I have DVDPedia and didn't know it even did that. I only use it as a way to keep track of my DVD's. Looks like some experimentation is in order over the weekend.

ToddUGA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Further's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancinbear View Post

Ted,

Do you know if that application works with DVDs that have been ripped to a movie file (like m4v or avi), or is it just VIDEO_TS folders?

I just tried it and the answer is yes.
Further is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
mmccoy35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I try to play a movie it opens my IMovie program instead of quck time, I am new to macs any help on how I change the defualt movie player
mmccoy35 is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted Todorov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmccoy35 View Post

When I try to play a movie it opens my IMovie program instead of quck time, I am new to macs any help on how I change the defualt movie player

You are talking about a .MOV file?
Ted Todorov is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Cclear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Earth/WA/Bellevue
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To set what application is launched for a particular extension, just control + click the file you wish to open and go to "Get Info" In this little window there is a "Opens With" listing. Choose your application here. If you want it to apply to ALL files of said type - click the "Change All" Button.
Cclear is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 01-05-2007, 11:47 AM
Member
 
dancinbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Further View Post

I just tried it and the answer is yes.

Excellent. Then I will be trying it. Hopefully it can meet my needs as a media browser on my second monitor (my TV).
dancinbear is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 01-06-2007, 08:39 AM
PAP
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I must say that program is looking pretty good. I'm awaiting next week anxiously so I can get my Macs ordered!

Good, cheap, easy - pick any two.
PAP is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 01-06-2007, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Vertigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is good, but you cannot start it up in Full Screen Mode automatically. It has to be done manually after app starts. When you do, it looks great. Very nice! After you choose cover art image, the movie plays back with DVD Player perfectly; however, when you quit DVD Player, it goes back to non-full screen mode.

Overall, a nice product though.
Vertigo is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 01-06-2007, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted Todorov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vertigo View Post

This is good, but you cannot start it up in Full Screen Mode automatically.

Not true: If you quit via Q while in Full Screen Mode, it will start up in Full Screen Mode the next time.
Ted Todorov is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 01-16-2007, 12:27 AM
Member
 
benzizbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi - Its really nice app,

In full screen mode:
1) is there a key I can use to launch the movie? (I did not find one)
2) how and I use apple remote to launch the movie?
3) I see all my movies in "flat" order, is there a way to see them in "hierarchy"?

Thx
benzizbit is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 01-16-2007, 06:31 AM
Member
 
dancinbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Further View Post

I just tried it and the answer is yes.

How did you get this to work? I tried it last week and couldn't, for the life of me, get it to play anything, much less import a movie file.
dancinbear is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 01-16-2007, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Further's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancinbear View Post

How did you get this to work? I tried it last week and couldn't, for the life of me, get it to play anything, much less import a movie file.

I think the tricky part is figuring out how to play it. When you have the full-screen window, scroll to the film you want to play. Once it is selected, you should notice a small white triangle in the lower right of the screen (no, it is not obvious). Click that to play. This worked for me with any films Quicktime can handle. For DVDs, I suspect that you must choose to open DVDs with an application in the Cds & DVDs control panel. Currently, I have "ignore" chosen for that.
Further is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 01-16-2007, 12:41 PM
Member
 
benzizbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


white triangle in the lower right of the screen (no, it is not obvious). Click that to play

Is there a keyboard key I can use for that?
benzizbit is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 02-03-2007, 07:12 AM
PAP
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can this be done with remote? I've finally decided to make the move to HTMac as my file server once again had corrupted files and I'm going to rid my entire home of PCs. I am leaning towards this app for my front end.

Good, cheap, easy - pick any two.
PAP is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 02-03-2007, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted Todorov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAP View Post

Can this be done with remote? I've finally decided to make the move to HTMac as my file server once again had corrupted files and I'm going to rid my entire home of PCs. I am leaning towards this app for my front end.

Yes, it works with the Apple Remote.
Ted Todorov is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Genius74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does it only support VIDEO_TS (as oppose to ISO files)?

Sorry I'm a Windows vet and I've only own a Mac for 6 days. This would save me a lot of time from mounting and extracting the 400 Movies that I have (in ISO format).

Also, (I've seen the demo BTW, looks GREAT!), how big of a collection does the Full Screen mode support?

Enough with the PMs about the name...

Getting
Everything
Never
Implies
U are
Satisfied
Genius74 is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted Todorov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genius74 View Post

Does it only support VIDEO_TS (as oppose to ISO files)?

Sorry I'm a Windows vet and I've only own a Mac for 6 days. This would save me a lot of time from mounting and extracting the 400 Movies that I have (in ISO format).

Also, (I've seen the demo BTW, looks GREAT!), how big of a collection does the Full Screen mode support?

My collection is 1700+ and full screen mode doesn't choke (that's DVDs in DVDPedia, not VideoTS folders of which I have hardly any -- I'm still playing my DVDs the old fashioned way ).

I only tried it with a VIDEO_TS -- I don't have any ISOs. I suggest asking on the forums at Bruji.com or e-mailing the developers. That or test a couple of your own ISOs...
Ted Todorov is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Genius74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Todorov View Post

My collection is 1700+ and full screen mode doesn't choke (that's DVDs in DVDPedia, not VideoTS folders of which I have hardly any -- I'm still playing my DVDs the old fashioned way ).

I only tried it with a VIDEO_TS -- I don't have any ISOs. I suggest asking on the forums at Bruji.com or e-mailing the developers. That or test a couple of your own ISOs...

Will do.. I'll about twice as many to enter into the program, so that's good to know. I'll assume you just use this for tracking (your 'old fashion way' comment)?


I'll give it a go tonight.

Thanks!

Enough with the PMs about the name...

Getting
Everything
Never
Implies
U are
Satisfied
Genius74 is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Further's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Genius74, I'm curious: why do you use ISO files instead of file sets? I have the impression they are about the same size, so I wonder what the benefit is.
Further is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 01:19 PM
Member
 
GoodOmens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Further View Post

Genius74, I'm curious: why do you use ISO files instead of file sets? I have the impression they are about the same size, so I wonder what the benefit is.

You have 1 file vs many?

Easier to burn to a dvd ... just double click and burn.
GoodOmens is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Genius74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodOmens View Post

You have 1 file vs many?

Easier to burn to a dvd ... just double click and burn.


Couldn't have said it better myself..


In early DVD burning days, I had to remember to put the CAPS Lock on when naming the VIDEO_TS & AUDIO_TS folders. Some DVD players didn't like it otherwise (in my experience).

I prefer to have all of my movies in one directory w/o multiple clicks to start the movie. I also use Daemon Tools along with My Movies on MCE 2005 and it works like a champ (I don't know if it supports the file structure method).

I don't know if DVD Decrypter is on the OSX (or similar), but it's a life saver to me. I can associate the ISO file type with DD and boom! double click and burn.

Enough with the PMs about the name...

Getting
Everything
Never
Implies
U are
Satisfied
Genius74 is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
rwademan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried this it looks the same except it uses vlc to launch the video or dvd .So it will play almost anything. And its cheap,And starts full screen

http://www.distantdvd.com/
rwademan is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 02-08-2007, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Further's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodOmens View Post

You have 1 file vs many?

Easier to burn to a dvd ... just double click and burn.

OK. I didn't realise this was for burning -- I thought it was just for storing DVDs on a hard drive. Thanks.
Further is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 10-20-2007, 02:39 PM
Member
 
mediaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, DVD .iso files work fine in this app. I associate .iso files with VLC and also use remote buddy. When I play an iso DVD with dvdpedia remote buddy automatically maps the behaviors to vlc ... I would highly recommend remote buddy and dvdpedia - remote buddy has support for both applications.

I also dont get why a lot of mac users insist on video_ts folders.. It is alot easier to use iso file. 1 file per a movie and easier burning especially in the case of dvd9 discs.
mediaboy is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 10-22-2007, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Genius74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mediaboy View Post

Yes, DVD .iso files work fine in this app. I associate .iso files with VLC and also use remote buddy. When I play an iso DVD with dvdpedia remote buddy automatically maps the behaviors to vlc ... I would highly recommend remote buddy and dvdpedia - remote buddy has support for both applications.

I also dont get why a lot of mac users insist on video_ts folders.. It is alot easier to use iso file. 1 file per a movie and easier burning especially in the case of dvd9 discs.

Thanks for the reply.. I've brought this up recently with the release of Leopard this week..

Now I don't have to "extract" the folders from each ISO (and I can go back to using my mac). I'll do a search for remote buddy. Can I assume it works with the front row remote?

I'm not sure why many people like VIDEO_TS folders over ISOs. I personally hate (too many) subfolders.

Enough with the PMs about the name...

Getting
Everything
Never
Implies
U are
Satisfied
Genius74 is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 10-23-2007, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
Kribban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genius74 View Post

Thanks for the reply.. I've brought this up recently with the release of Leopard this week..

Now I don't have to "extract" the folders from each ISO (and I can go back to using my mac). I'll do a search for remote buddy. Can I assume it works with the front row remote?

I'm not sure why many people like VIDEO_TS folders over ISOs. I personally hate (too many) subfolders.

Hi

I`m looking forward for a full review I have also all my movies in .iso files and i
am probably switching to an apple mac mini in the nearby future.

Best Regards
Kribban
Kribban is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 10-23-2007, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
JoshFink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very cool program. I like it... I think I like it much better than MediaCentral which I was leaning towards. We'll see. I'm curious to see how Leopard's improved implementation of Front Row is.

One question for you guys. I have everything working as far as playing a movie goes but how, with the Apple Remote, can I stop a movie in the middle of it and go back to DVDPedia?

Any ideas?

Thanks

Josh
JoshFink is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 02-15-2008, 05:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I'd like to know this as well
iansilv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC - Mac Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off