Kodi for 2.35 (CIH), Aeon Nox - Modded. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 80 Old 06-01-2015, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thumbs up XBMC/Kodi for 2.35 (CIH), Modded Skins.

Hi,
Like alot of people I have seen on here and elsewhere, I have a CIH setup. I was unable to get the graphics card to put out a custom resolution so the current 21:9 skin they are working on doesnt work for me as it needs to be a real 2.35 resolution.

So I've taken it upon myself to solve my own problem :P I use the Aeon Nox skin and I've modded it so that all the GUI is inside the 800 pixels so it suits CIH setups perfectly. I am currently working on it so there are some more things to do, but if anyone wants to try it out here are the links. You may need to uninstall Aeon Nox if you currently have it (back it up) then install this from zip. If you have it install you might get away with replacing the 1080i folder with the one below (if you use Nox v5.6.0), or rename the dir and change the link to use.

https://github.com/Funkd/ScopeNox

Let me know what you think and if you spot things I have missed. (Some music parts arent done)

Cheers!

Chris

Some screenshots :
















ellisr63 and AidenL like this.

Last edited by Its Chris; 06-07-2015 at 01:12 PM.
Its Chris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 80 Old 06-04-2015, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
On GitHub now :

https://github.com/Funkd/ScopeNox

Download master then use 'Install from Zip'
Its Chris is offline  
post #3 of 80 Old 06-05-2015, 10:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Well done, I just checked this skin out. Two things, on the movie page there seems to be some errant characters in the top left corner, 3 small dashes, not a big deal but thought I would mention it. Second, any chance of adding the ability to mask down to 2.35 while playing a 16:9 movie, that was how the doghouse one was and I kind of liked it, makes watching stuff like Interstellar better IMO.

Thanks

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 80 Old 06-05-2015, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cheers Bill. Yeah I see the dashes, I'll get rid. Do you mean add the bars to cover the top and bottom of the screen so your missing that bit of info? I can add that in yeah.
Its Chris is offline  
post #5 of 80 Old 06-05-2015, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Its Chris View Post
Cheers Bill. Yeah I see the dashes, I'll get rid. Do you mean add the bars to cover the top and bottom of the screen so your missing that bit of info? I can add that in yeah.
Correct, basically to mask 16:9 content down to 2.35:1. That way movies with shifting AR's would remain within the scope or rather the spill over would be masked out. The ability to toggle that would be great but that may be asking a but much KODI has a "mask black bar" option but it doesn't do anything the best I can tell.

Thanks

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #6 of 80 Old 06-05-2015, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Nah it's pretty straight forward. There is actually a mask over all other menus. That's what stops the backgrounds showing. I had it on the video screen when moving the player controls but took it out once they were repositioned. So will be easy to put back in
mrfattbill likes this.
Its Chris is offline  
post #7 of 80 Old 06-06-2015, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Have added that option in now. Its part of the on screen display (play, pause etc). Just a plain text button for now saying 'Scope Mask' it should toggle the bars on/off.
Its Chris is offline  
post #8 of 80 Old 06-07-2015, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Confuence in progress now for anyone interested : https://github.com/Funkd/ScopeConfluence
Its Chris is offline  
post #9 of 80 Old 06-07-2015, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Its Chris View Post
Have added that option in now. Its part of the on screen display (play, pause etc). Just a plain text button for now saying 'Scope Mask' it should toggle the bars on/off.
Excellent work.

Bill
Its Chris likes this.
mrfattbill is offline  
post #10 of 80 Old 06-08-2015, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'll make it a proper button soon. Going to try and get the PVR views sorted later.
Its Chris is offline  
post #11 of 80 Old 06-08-2015, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Arkania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much!
Arkania is offline  
post #12 of 80 Old 06-08-2015, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkania View Post
Thank you so much!

Ha, bit strange there, I sent you a message on the Kodi forums earlier and got confused when I seen your name pop up here

If you guys are trying this out if you find any issues just let me know.
Its Chris is offline  
post #13 of 80 Old 06-08-2015, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The scope mask in action.

Before (See 2.35 button) :



After :

Its Chris is offline  
post #14 of 80 Old 06-08-2015, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Jubrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is pretty awesome.

Now if you were to play a DVD or Blu Ray through XBMC would you also be able to do this?
Jubrown is offline  
post #15 of 80 Old 06-09-2015, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubrown View Post
This is pretty awesome.

Now if you were to play a DVD or Blu Ray through XBMC would you also be able to do this?
I'm not sure. If it uses the same player (meaning same OSD as above) then it should. But KODI might need to use an external player in some cases meaning this might not work for that. But some of the external players might have a crop option in the software?
Its Chris is offline  
post #16 of 80 Old 06-10-2015, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Jubrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Its Chris View Post
I'm not sure. If it uses the same player (meaning same OSD as above) then it should. But KODI might need to use an external player in some cases meaning this might not work for that. But some of the external players might have a crop option in the software?
Would be really cool if Oppo figured that out for their next player. They solved the CIH issue with subtitles after all.
Jubrown is offline  
post #17 of 80 Old 06-12-2015, 03:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm surprised they dont have something in it. Suppose they leave it to the displays.

For those interested in the skins I have threads open on the Kodi forums :

ScopeNox (Aeon Nox Mod) : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=229199
ScopeConfluence (Confluence Mod) : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=229073

Not that much interest it seems, just the small few of us that dont use processors etc

So feel free to add any comments, suggestions or complaints on the Kodi forum or on here if you don't have an account on the Kodi forum.
Its Chris is offline  
post #18 of 80 Old 06-12-2015, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Chris I just want to stop in and say what great work you have done, I am loving the skin and being able to toggle the bars on the AR changing movies is wonderful.

I have one more tiny request ;-) Any chance of adding a button that can automatically set the zoom for movies that are 16:9 all the way through, rather than having to go in and manually set it after the movie starts? For example, if I watch The Avengers in the garage at the start of the movie I need to go into the options and set the zoom to .78 I believe (in that area).

Thanks

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #19 of 80 Old 06-12-2015, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post
Chris I just want to stop in and say what great work you have done, I am loving the skin and being able to toggle the bars on the AR changing movies is wonderful.

I have one more tiny request ;-) Any chance of adding a button that can automatically set the zoom for movies that are 16:9 all the way through, rather than having to go in and manually set it after the movie starts? For example, if I watch The Avengers in the garage at the start of the movie I need to go into the options and set the zoom to .78 I believe (in that area).

Thanks

Bill
Ha, believe it or not I've actually been trying to find a way to do that but havent had much luck just yet! I'm not sure if you can access that setting from the skin but I'll keep at it and see what I can do.
Its Chris is offline  
post #20 of 80 Old 06-12-2015, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
George Omoregie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY 14624
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Kodi skin for Jriver MC 20.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Its Chris View Post
I'm surprised they dont have something in it. Suppose they leave it to the displays.

For those interested in the skins I have threads open on the Kodi forums :

ScopeNox (Aeon Nox Mod) : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=229199
ScopeConfluence (Confluence Mod) : http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=229073

Not that much interest it seems, just the small few of us that dont use processors etc

So feel free to add any comments, suggestions or complaints on the Kodi forum or on here if you don't have an account on the Kodi forum.
Can this ScopeConfluence skin work with Jriver MC 20?
Which type will interface with Jriver?

Thanks.
George
George Omoregie is offline  
post #21 of 80 Old 06-12-2015, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Omoregie View Post
Can this ScopeConfluence skin work with Jriver MC 20?
Which type will interface with Jriver?

Thanks.
George
Hi George,

These skins only work on the Kodi/XBMC software.
abs likes this.
Its Chris is offline  
post #22 of 80 Old 06-15-2015, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I've made a few changes the last few days. Reduced the size of fonts on many views. Things like plot etc are easier to read. You can see more on the screen instead of one or two lines. There is 2.35 and 2.40 support. Still need to get a neater way of doing that instead of separate folders. I'm finding a few issues as I'm using it so it's likely there are still bugs in there.
Its Chris is offline  
post #23 of 80 Old 06-16-2015, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Can't install the update. It says it doesnt have the proper structure or something along those lines.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #24 of 80 Old 06-16-2015, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Ok I uninstalled all of them, rebooted and then installed the new package, it's working now.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #25 of 80 Old 06-16-2015, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah I changed some of the id info which might have screwed things.... Do the font changes suit your setup?
Its Chris is offline  
post #26 of 80 Old 06-16-2015, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Yes, it looks great.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #27 of 80 Old 06-16-2015, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cool
Its Chris is offline  
post #28 of 80 Old 06-18-2015, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Another bit of an update. Few minor changes and also got rid of two separate folders for 2.35 and 2.40. You can now toggle between 2.35 an 2.40 by doing the following :

System -> Appearance -> Skin -> Settings -> General -> Scope Format (Toggle)

(Uninstall the old version if updating to this one. )
Its Chris is offline  
post #29 of 80 Old 06-18-2015, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
dmoneyman2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 35
This is sweet, I also installed the skin today. Nox isn't my favorite skin but since i run a 125" 2.35 setup with the JVC RS4910 this is perfect. I especially like how i can mask out the area for changing aspect ratio movies (although there aren't many). Please do some more skins if you get a chance. Appreciate all the hard work, you are the man.

Displays: JVC RS4910 Projector | 125-inch 2.35:1 Elite Cinetension2 Screen | Panasonic 58V10 Plasma TV
Sources: Yamaha RX-A800 | Microsoft XBOX One | Dish Hopper | Intel i5 Nuc w/ Openelec | Behringer iNuke 3000DSP
Speakers: DIY Fusion-12 Tempest (L/R) | DIY 88-Special (C) | DIY Volt-10 Speakers (Surr L/R) | Subwoofers: MartyCube w/ Stereo Integrity SI-18 X 2
dmoneyman2323 is offline  
post #30 of 80 Old 06-19-2015, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Its Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoneyman2323 View Post
This is sweet, I also installed the skin today. Nox isn't my favorite skin but since i run a 125" 2.35 setup with the JVC RS4910 this is perfect. I especially like how i can mask out the area for changing aspect ratio movies (although there aren't many). Please do some more skins if you get a chance. Appreciate all the hard work, you are the man.
Cheers. I had only done Nox as thats what I was using myself and the 16:9 layout always bugged What skin would you usually use?
Its Chris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply 2.35:1 Constant Image Height Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off