I want a 2.35:1 screen but projector is 16:9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
  • 2 Post By jeahrens
  • 1 Post By Josh Z
  • 1 Post By Josh Z
  • 1 Post By jeahrens
  • 1 Post By Brian Hampton

post #1 of 20 Old 09-03-2019, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I want a 2.35:1 screen but projector is 16:9

Hi all,

Really hoping I am posting this in the right place. Sorry I am a bit new to this. I am planning on purchasing either of two (currently undecided) 4k UST laser projectors: the Dell S718QL or LG HU85LA. I want a fixed 2.35:1 rear projection screen because I want the entire screen filled for the majority of movies I watch. When I watch TV shows in 16:9 I don't mind black bars on the sides, and I don't mind the image being smaller. Is this too much to ask of these projectors? I don't want to buy a 16:9 screen and have my movies shrunk to fit the screen, and my TV shows larger than my movies.

Steven
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 09-03-2019, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2034 Post(s)
Liked: 1308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Burkhead View Post
Hi all,

Really hoping I am posting this in the right place. Sorry I am a bit new to this. I am planning on purchasing either of two (currently undecided) 4k UST laser projectors: the Dell S718QL or LG HU85LA. I want a fixed 2.35:1 rear projection screen because I want the entire screen filled for the majority of movies I watch. When I watch TV shows in 16:9 I don't mind black bars on the sides, and I don't mind the image being smaller. Is this too much to ask of these projectors? I don't want to buy a 16:9 screen and have my movies shrunk to fit the screen, and my TV shows larger than my movies.

Steven
DLPs generally lack the placement flexibility and lens controls to do this without an anamorphic lens. Which is several thousand dollars.