1Likes
  • 1 Post By Vern Dias

post #1 of 17 Old 04-03-2020, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Panamorph DC-1 + JVC NX7??

I don't think I could pony up $5k+ for the DCR right now, especially as I'm extremely new to anamorphic lenses, but after some reading I am considering trying out a used DC-1, I would just like some input from the experts here.

My set up:
NX7 mounted 14.5' back from a 120" 2.39 Seymour AT screen. I can move the projector back if necessary.

My Goals: Fixing variable aspect ratio movies, more brightness, sharper image would be nice but I'm pretty happy as is.

1.) Will this be able solve the issues with variable aspect movies such as Aquaman, Dark Knight, Dunkirk, etc. By that I mean, can I keep the entire picture on the screen without it jumping back and forth between aspect ratios. This bothers me and I've resorted to turning on masking inside the projector and just losing the top and bottom content with 16:9 shots.

2.) I know the DCR is optimal for the JVC being 4096, but what will be the differences if I went with the DC-1?

3.) I know anamorphic lenses enables you to utilize more lumens and pixels on a scope screen. Would this be a correct assumption for my setup as well?
Will the DC-1 be an improvement over no anamorphic lens at all? Are there any drawbacks?

I know these are pretty novice questions, but I appreciate any insight or suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 04-04-2020, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 772 Post(s)
Liked: 757
Look for a used ISCO IIIL on ebay. They are well under $2k. The IIIL is far better than the DC-1 if you are looking into that lens.
post #3 of 17 Old 04-05-2020, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Quoted: 935 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdoom15 View Post