What brand HDMI Cable do you use? - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 68 Old 07-09-2019, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
I was just wondering which brand hdmi cable and at what length? Just curious.
My most recent pickup was a 30' ATZEBE Fiber Optic HDMI Cable. It was a lightning deal on Amazon so it was an easy decision to try out. So far, pretty happy with it.

My components are connected to my receiver with 3' Monoprice Certified Premium HDMI Cables
I tried Cable Matters High Speed HDMI Cable, but wasn't getting a consistent handshake with them.

My previous long run HDMIs were Monoprice Redmere slim HDMIs, but that was before I needed anything [email protected]

Video: Epson 5050 / nVidia Shield / OPPO-103
Audio: Marantz 7010 / MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), 50XT (center), M2 (surrounds)
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
NAS: Synology 1515+ Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 68 Old 07-16-2019, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
PickledRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: California
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My recent buy was the "ATZEBE Fiber Optic HDMI Cable" as well ^^.
Quite happy with it for 2 weeks now.
For my Computer I switched to dvi cables though.
PickledRick is offline  
post #63 of 68 Old 07-31-2019, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I think the ATZEBE maybe a no-go. With the first one I purchased one(25ft) for my Benq HT3550, it kept dropping the source(would do this several times throughout a movie for example) no matter what kind of content was being consumed on both my APTV and Xbox One X. So I exchanged it last month and the replacement seemed to be doing fine up until just a few days ago when my APTV dropped out during a movie. The following night I streamed another one and the same thing happened. Last night, when I first fired up my PJ, nothing came up for a while and then "searching for source" displayed at the top right of the screen. While displaying that, the text was flickering and look corrupted. Eventually it grabbed the APTV but took way longer then ever before. So at this point I'm leaning towards the fact that this cable is bad as well...
xealo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 68 Old 07-31-2019, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signs View Post
Just cheap unbranded ones as i don't need to go over 5 meters
The same. No need to seriously care about this
Mike91 is offline  
post #65 of 68 Old 08-10-2019, 08:53 AM
Member
 
Nevada3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The few Amazon basics cables I bought have been trouble free.
Nevada3 is offline  
post #66 of 68 Old 08-20-2019, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
Grant29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had good luck with "Atevon" brand HDMI cables ordered from Amazon.
Grant29 is offline  
post #67 of 68 Old 08-20-2019, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bull Mountain, OR
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3570 Post(s)
Liked: 2570
For runs up to 25', and 4k HDR, most recommend a passive, Premium High Speed HDMI cable (QR label for authenticity). They can be purchased from any number of mfrs who choose to subscribe to the ATC program (HDMI.org approved). For runs over 25', the current recommendation is a hybrid fiber cable (Ruipro4k for example). Both will work fine for the HDMI 2.0 hardware specifications. No cable can give you a 100% guarantee that it will work in your setup so it's still a bit of trial and error because there are other factors besides the data pipe (cable) that go into a successful cable connection.

I never trust an atom, they make up everything.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #68 of 68 Old 12-06-2019, 04:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
For a regular TV and laptop, for watching a video, I have enough of ordinary Chinese (noname)
Garry Tribure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Game Room Equipment & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off