Scott on The Tech Buzz Podcast - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Scott Wilkinson

post #1 of 6 Old 02-16-2016, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1881 Post(s)
Liked: 4905
Scott on The Tech Buzz Podcast

Yesterday, I was a guest on The Tech Buzz podcast, hosted by Stephen Heywood. We talked about all sorts of home-theater coolness, including the near-ubiquity of 4K/UHD TVs at low prices, seating distances and screen sizes at different resolutions, the importance (or not) of 8K and beyond, streaming 4K, Ultra HD Blu-ray, high dynamic range, VR, and more.

skoolpsyk and freeman4 like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-16-2016, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Good podcast.

Though around 25:38 the host asks about whether 1080p is becoming the norm for internet broadcasting - I thought it was. If it's a youtube program don't you want to shoot at 1080p (or higher) and have youtube automatically convert to all the lower formats (unless the reason is that they can't do that high a frame rate at the higher resolution or something)? Over the air broadcasts doing 1080i not 1080p - the BBC in the UK does 1080p (but only at 1080p25 not p50). But still, 1080i in the US is more pixels per sec than 1080p24 of Blu-ray and equal to the number of pixels per sec of 1080p30.