The Official ChromaPure thread - Page 230 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 275Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6871 of 7472 Old 10-09-2015, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Mlapd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hey Tom. Just got my meter back and I am going to recalibrate my JS9500 with quantum dot mode. Quick question. I also want to try BT1886 for my gamma curve. My black reading on full black screen is obviously 0. I've also used the reverse checkerboard pattern and it read .05 but I heard samsung limits the black level to not be too dark in the middle of the screen. I have also used a 20% apl pattern and got the readings a little bit lower. Should I just leave the standard data for black in BT1886 for grayscale? Also for your QD mode what black levels did you read and what models did you use? Thanks.
Mlapd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6872 of 7472 Old 10-10-2015, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mlapd View Post
Should I just leave the standard data for black in BT1886 for grayscale? Also for your QD mode what black levels did you read and what models did you use?
I would.

The QD calibration only requires WRGB readings, so I didn't measure black level.
The Samsung 8500.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6873 of 7472 Old 10-19-2015, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northern NJ, USA
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Tom,

Chad B's latest calibration results for the new LG OLEDs showed that better color results might be obtained by using a D75 Whitepoint rather than D65. I thought I read somewhere that being able to alter the white-point for calibration is a feature "coming soon" to CP. Will this be part of the 3.0 release? (And are we getting close to that release?)

One final question specifically related to OLEDs...is there a recommended distance from the screen to take readings from (using the Display 3 Pro colorimeter). I know you can use with direct contact on an LCD, and for plasma it should be off screen (due to heat generated by plasma display)...what about OLEDs? Is there a best practice recommended distance from screen to set the meter? (Or can on-screen contact be used?)
JoeyBagadonuts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6874 of 7472 Old 10-19-2015, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyBagadonuts View Post
Chad B's latest calibration results for the new LG OLEDs showed that better color results might be obtained by using a D75 Whitepoint rather than D65. I thought I read somewhere that being able to alter the white-point for calibration is a feature "coming soon" to CP. Will this be part of the 3.0 release? (And are we getting close to that release?)

One final question specifically related to OLEDs...is there a recommended distance from the screen to take readings from (using the Display 3 Pro colorimeter). I know you can use with direct contact on an LCD, and for plasma it should be off screen (due to heat generated by plasma display)...what about OLEDs? Is there a best practice recommended distance from screen to set the meter? (Or can on-screen contact be used?)
We have this scheduled for 3.1. Soon. Distance not critical.
JoeyBagadonuts likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6875 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 01:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How long does it usually take Chromapure to e-mail you a license file after sending your information? I purchased software only. I ask because one time i went to purchase but had an issue with my payment and i got a reply within 30 mins, this time payment went smoothly and haven't gotten a reply. I'm content and being patient.. just curious what other people have experienced. Also excited
foxshine is offline  
post #6876 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxshine View Post
How long does it usually take Chromapure to e-mail you a license file after sending your information? I purchased software only. I ask because one time i went to purchase but had an issue with my payment and i got a reply within 30 mins, this time payment went smoothly and haven't gotten a reply. I'm content and being patient.. just curious what other people have experienced. Also excited
When an order comes in between midnight and 1:00AM it may take a few hours to get a response. I just sent your license.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6877 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
When an order comes in between midnight and 1:00AM it may take a few hours to get a response. I just sent your license.
eeeeeee! Thank you!!
foxshine is offline  
post #6878 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 09:04 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
100 IRE dE 6.3 after auto calc

Tom,
I just ran 2.5.7 auto calc with my lumagen (125 points) and got very good results, except for 100 IRE on the gray scale - the dE was 6.3. This is an Epson 5010 projector.

Can I go into the lumagen and correct this point, or will this throw off the entire calibration (or just the gray scale).
Knd is offline  
post #6879 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3837 Post(s)
Liked: 3776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Tom,
I just ran 2.5.7 auto calc with my lumagen (125 points) and got very good results, except for 100 IRE on the gray scale - the dE was 6.3. This is an Epson 5010 projector.

Can I go into the lumagen and correct this point, or will this throw off the entire calibration (or just the gray scale).
Did you calibrate 100 % on your display prior to running the autocal ?

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #6880 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 11:33 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Did you calibrate 100 % on your display prior to running the autocal ?
I took a white point prior to running the auto calc. It was 80 IRE that I adjusted with the gain controls on the PJ to get a dE below 1.
Knd is offline  
post #6881 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3837 Post(s)
Liked: 3776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
I took a white point prior to running the auto calc. It was 80 IRE that I adjusted with the gain controls on the PJ to get a dE below 1.
Dont want to speak for Tom but in the workflow it calls for adjusting 100.
chunon is online now  
post #6882 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 12:06 PM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Dont want to speak for Tom but in the workflow it calls for adjusting 100.
Thanks. Can you point me toward the auto calc workflow?
Knd is offline  
post #6883 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,415
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3837 Post(s)
Liked: 3776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Thanks. Can you point me toward the auto calc workflow?
Its on the left hand side I believe takes you thru it step by step from connecting your pattern source to running the lut. Page 62 of the Chromapure manual.

http://www.chromapure.com/chromapuremanual.pdf

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #6884 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 01:24 PM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Its on the left hand side I believe takes you thru it step by step from connecting your pattern source to running the lut. Page 62 of the Chromapure manual.

http://www.chromapure.com/chromapuremanual.pdf
Thanks.
Knd is offline  
post #6885 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 03:08 PM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Its on the left hand side I believe takes you thru it step by step from connecting your pattern source to running the lut. Page 62 of the Chromapure manual.

http://www.chromapure.com/chromapuremanual.pdf

The manual says to set the 100% white point but I'm fairly certain 2.5.7 defaulted to 80%, so I used the gain controls to balance this.

May redo in a couple of days.
Knd is offline  
post #6886 of 7472 Old 10-20-2015, 10:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Tom,
I just ran 2.5.7 auto calc with my lumagen (125 points) and got very good results, except for 100 IRE on the gray scale - the dE was 6.3. This is an Epson 5010 projector.

Can I go into the lumagen and correct this point, or will this throw off the entire calibration (or just the gray scale).
You should calibrate 100% manually using the controls on the display before running Lumagen auto-cal. This is what Lumagen recommends.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6887 of 7472 Old 10-21-2015, 04:31 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
You should calibrate 100% manually using the controls on the display before running Lumagen auto-cal. This is what Lumagen recommends.
Thanks Tom.
Knd is offline  
post #6888 of 7472 Old 10-21-2015, 11:10 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
You should calibrate 100% manually using the controls on the display before running Lumagen auto-cal. This is what Lumagen recommends.
Just reran the auto calc and adjusted 100% white with the PJ controls and got better results.

Thanks again. This was a cal @ 1500 hrs. Last cal was @1300. Overall brightness was about the same so the bulb is holding up well. Still running in low lamp mode.
Knd is offline  
post #6889 of 7472 Old 10-21-2015, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northern NJ, USA
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Tom (or anyone else who may know)...


Can CP's internal pattern generator produce APL patterns? I only saw options for windowed and full fields....
JoeyBagadonuts is offline  
post #6890 of 7472 Old 10-21-2015, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyBagadonuts View Post
Tom (or anyone else who may know)...


Can CP's internal pattern generator produce APL patterns? I only saw options for windowed and full fields....
Not currently.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6891 of 7472 Old 11-01-2015, 02:32 PM
Member
 
robbyrockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Question 3.0 Version?

Is this version still in the works, purchased AutoCal with this in mind, the extra features would be awesome.
robbyrockets is offline  
post #6892 of 7472 Old 11-01-2015, 02:50 PM
Member
 
bullterrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i1 display retail rev B

Hi Tom, what are your recommended meter settings for the LG OLED and the retail Rev B i1 Display 3 please?

I want to do a quick calibration on the new TV before sending the meter off to Ricky here in the UK for the Pro work.

Thanks,

Steve
bullterrier is offline  
post #6893 of 7472 Old 11-01-2015, 03:28 PM
kal
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,122
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbyrockets View Post
Is this version still in the works, purchased AutoCal with this in mind, the extra features would be awesome.
Yes. Still in the works. Anyone who purchased since the official 3.0 announcement gets a free upgrade to 3.0.

Kal
kal is offline  
post #6894 of 7472 Old 11-01-2015, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbyrockets View Post
Is this version still in the works, purchased AutoCal with this in mind, the extra features would be awesome.
Yes. Release will be soon.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6895 of 7472 Old 11-01-2015, 04:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullterrier View Post
Hi Tom, what are your recommended meter settings for the LG OLED and the retail Rev B i1 Display 3 please?

I want to do a quick calibration on the new TV before sending the meter off to Ricky here in the UK for the Pro work.
Standard mode.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6896 of 7472 Old 11-02-2015, 01:47 AM
Member
 
bullterrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Standard mode.
Thanks Tom, what about the options panel settings for the
Display3 retail REv B?

Are these earlier recommendations from you still correct?

"In fact, my general advice for the original i1D3 is to use the CRT mode, 0.8 integration (you can experiment with a lower number, but I wouldn't go below 0.5), and Normal read mode with 1cd/m2 as the threshold and 3 as the number of readings. The Display 3 II should use the AIO mode."

Thanks,
Steve
bullterrier is offline  
post #6897 of 7472 Old 11-02-2015, 09:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullterrier View Post
Thanks Tom, what about the options panel settings for the
Display3 retail REv B?

Are these earlier recommendations from you still correct?

"In fact, my general advice for the original i1D3 is to use the CRT mode, 0.8 integration (you can experiment with a lower number, but I wouldn't go below 0.5), and Normal read mode with 1cd/m2 as the threshold and 3 as the number of readings. The Display 3 II should use the AIO mode."
Yes.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6898 of 7472 Old 11-04-2015, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
ArchonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago Heights, IL
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Hi Tom, a very happy Chromapure user here and anxiously awaiting the new version!

I have a question, if you or someone else can help me I would greatly appreciate it. I use my PC as the pattern generator (Ted's Lightspace, AVS709, or built in Cromapure patterns).

My TV can accept a RGB Full signal without crushing black. I have the Samsung 55" JU7100 with the TS01 panel (Samsung, glossy). I have an Nvidia card in my computer, so what is the correct video output setting? I can do RGB Full, RGB Limited, or YCbCr444.

The issue is, when I calibrate at RGB Full, HD material seems to have colors off. Yet UHD and PC content looks correct. I know Blu-rays and such use YCbCr, so would that work the best for calibrating my display?

RGB Limited cannot be set properly with the colorimeter, settings are off and delta E cannot be set to low enough values on Greyscale (6+ on CIE94 delta E values with limited, 0.8 or less on full).

Thanks in advance.

Samsung 55" JU7100 calibrated picture settings:
Cal-Day Daylight: **Updated 12/22/2015**

Cal-Night/Dark:

Last edited by ArchonX; 11-04-2015 at 03:00 PM.
ArchonX is offline  
post #6899 of 7472 Old 11-04-2015, 09:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,890
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1000 Post(s)
Liked: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchonX View Post
I have an Nvidia card in my computer, so what is the correct video output setting? I can do RGB Full, RGB Limited, or YCbCr444.

The issue is, when I calibrate at RGB Full, HD material seems to have colors off. Yet UHD and PC content looks correct. I know Blu-rays and such use YCbCr, so would that work the best for calibrating my display?

RGB Limited cannot be set properly with the colorimeter, settings are off and delta E cannot be set to low enough values on Greyscale (6+ on CIE94 delta E values with limited, 0.8 or less on full).
Assuming your hardware works correctly, it doesn't matter whether you use RGB or YCbCr. I am skeptical about what your video card is doing. I can think of no legitimate reason why RGB Limited would prevent you from getting good white balance.

RGB Limited and YCbCr should look the same. I would use RGB Full for the Black and White PLUGE and RGB Limited for everything else.

BTW, you can test the various output modes by comparing them against a known reference, such as Ted's disc.
ConnecTEDDD and ArchonX like this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6900 of 7472 Old 11-07-2015, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
ArchonX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago Heights, IL
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Assuming your hardware works correctly, it doesn't matter whether you use RGB or YCbCr. I am skeptical about what your video card is doing. I can think of no legitimate reason why RGB Limited would prevent you from getting good white balance.

RGB Limited and YCbCr should look the same. I would use RGB Full for the Black and White PLUGE and RGB Limited for everything else.

BTW, you can test the various output modes by comparing them against a known reference, such as Ted's disc.
YCbCr and RGB Full look the same, RGB Limited makes blacks greyish and no setting in the TV (besides turning brightness and contrast down, which mutes everything else) helps this.

I found out what the issue was, I have my Nvidia Geforce GTX580 video card going to my Denon AVR-S510BT receiver, to the TV. The receiver does all of the input switching for my sources. I guess Nvidia and Denon do not always play nice with video signals, because using my Asus Laptop, my calibration looks better on all of my sources. I just hook it directly into my TV via HDMI and use the internal Chromapure pattern generator. It works wonders and way better than the Nvida card does.

Thank you for the help and advice, I knew something was wrong.

Samsung 55" JU7100 calibrated picture settings:
Cal-Day Daylight: **Updated 12/22/2015**

Cal-Night/Dark:
ArchonX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off