HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 170 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1407Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 11794 Old 12-28-2014, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Who says it gets poor reviews?
xvfx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 11794 Old 12-28-2014, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 97
i1 Display 2 all over these boards infamous reports of drift. But seems like I am lucky and get pretty consistent results even at 10%. Although I was getting wildly different results from HCFR 2 vs 3. Now my tv calibration matches my pc monitor in terms of color fidelity. I am quite happy with the VideoEq MX took this display to a whole other level.
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #5073 of 11794 Old 12-28-2014, 12:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,722
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2385 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
The "drift" is over TIME - old meters are not as accurate as new meters.
Glad you're happy with your results.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5074 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 06:17 AM
Newbie
 
visata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going to buy spyder4 colormeter for TV calibration to use with HCFR today but after reading this post (sorry, I can't add links but the link is /forum/139-display-calibration/1528143-x-rite-spyder-questions.html, just add avsforum [dot] com in front) I'm no longer sure. It's stated that:

Quote:
Our findings showed the probes to be very inaccurate, and not at all suitable for accurate calibration.
We did report our findings to Datacolor...
Does it mean the product is useless? What would you recommended for TV, monitor, laptop LCD calibration?
visata is offline  
post #5075 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,722
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2385 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
The problem is that only SOME of them are useless.
This one:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...splay_Pro.html

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5076 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
shpitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
The problem is that only SOME of them are useless.
This one:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...splay_Pro.html
And the i1Display Pro goes on sale once in a while, there was a $25 rebate (BHPhoto had it for $150), so if you're patient, and keep looking, you might find a great deal for the meter.

Newegg, Adorama, BHPhoto, Amazon have it on sale ever so often...

Keep an eye @ Slickdeals

shpitz is offline  
post #5077 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
visata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
The problem is that only SOME of them are useless.
This one:
Do you mean that buying spyder4 is like lottery? Some of them works correctly and some not? What if I keep exchanging till get the correct working one? Or there is no way to find out whether I received the correct working unit?
visata is offline  
post #5078 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
visata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked slickdeals and there was a sale on BH, the price after rebate only $129. Wish we had similar deals in Europe...
visata is offline  
post #5079 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,722
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2385 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
Quote:
Originally Posted by visata View Post
Do you mean that buying spyder4 is like lottery? Some of them works correctly and some not? What if I keep exchanging till get the correct working one? Or there is no way to find out whether I received the correct working unit?
Right.





It is a lottery, some work and some don't, and the only way to know if the meter you have works is to compare it to a known working unit.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5080 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Hello all,
Does the i1 pro come with software to calibrate your panel, or do I have to buy additional software?
HeffeMusic is offline  
post #5081 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeffeMusic View Post
Hello all,
Does the i1 pro come with software to calibrate your panel, or do I have to buy additional software?
It will have s/w to calibrate a computer monitor. There may be a way to use it with a TV, but most use HCFR (freeware) or one of the other programs like Calman or Chromapure.

I believe there are package deals available which include the meter and the software, but they are not sold by X-Rite.

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC
Basstrix is offline  
post #5082 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstrix View Post
It will have s/w to calibrate a computer monitor. There may be a way to use it with a TV, but most use HCFR (freeware) or one of the other programs like Calman or Chromapure.

I believe there are package deals available which include the meter and the software, but they are not sold by X-Rite.
Thanks for the reply! I am looking to purchase the least expensive and most accurate way of getting into self calibration.
HeffeMusic is offline  
post #5083 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
22point8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 71
You can just plug it in and use HCFR straight away.
22point8 is offline  
post #5084 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeffeMusic View Post
Thanks for the reply! I am looking to purchase the least expensive and most accurate way of getting into self calibration.
Assuming you have a computer (with a DVD burner) and a BD player, you should be able to get everything except the meter for free.

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC
Basstrix is offline  
post #5085 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: N.E. OH
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
As info, Xrite has a $25 rebate available for either the i1 pro or colormunki running through 12/31 xrite I just ordered the colormunki display and should get it by Wed. Let the fun begin
fotto is offline  
post #5086 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HeffeMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,507
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstrix View Post
Assuming you have a computer (with a DVD burner) and a BD player, you should be able to get everything except the meter for free.
Understood, so what it sound like the i1 is the better meter than the Spyder4? Also if I burn this software is there a tutorial or do I go in blind?
HeffeMusic is offline  
post #5087 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeffeMusic View Post
Understood, so what it sound like the i1 is the better meter than the Spyder4? Also if I burn this software is there a tutorial or do I go in blind?
I've read that the Spyder meter is a "lottery" as to whether or not you get a good one. I have no personal experience with other than the i1 Display Pro (aka i1D3) and I don't even know if mine is accurate! lol.

Go to the first page of this thread and look at the links in the first post. There is one from CurtPalme that goes through the process using an older version of HCFR....that's the Calibaration for Dummies. There's a newer version of this guide that uses one of the other S/W, so I recommend using the original guide. There are other guides out there that will help but the one I listed is the most specific to HCFR. HCFR also has a decent help menu....it's helpful, but lacks detail in areas. I would not rely solely on the help menu.

There are also links to pattern material. The GCD is very good and includes "Color Checker" patterns. The AVSHD709 is what I started out with...it's good, but lacks the color check material and some say it's difficult to navigate...I use it with a PS3 and find it to be very convenient using the PS3 remote's "red square" button to skip ahead to the predefined bookmarks.

Plan on doing A LOT of reading and searching. It's fun hobby, but man...it's a time vampire for sure!

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC

Last edited by Basstrix; 12-29-2014 at 11:29 AM.
Basstrix is offline  
post #5088 of 11794 Old 12-29-2014, 10:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is anyone using this on Windows 10? Or Windows 8?

I installed HCFR on my Windows 10 Preview laptop and once I click next on the "generator selection" screen it crashes saying "HCFR has stopped working". My i1display pro works fine with the xrite software for my laptop screen.

Before reformatting the drive it'd be nice to know if Windows 8 works or if I have to go all the way back to Windows 7...thanks...

Last edited by pdawg17; 12-29-2014 at 10:14 PM.
pdawg17 is offline  
post #5089 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xvfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 244
HCFR works fine on Windows 8.1.
xvfx is offline  
post #5090 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvfx View Post
HCFR works fine on Windows 8.1.
Good to know...I ended up reformatting and putting 7 x64 back on the laptop as it is pretty old so figured 7 would work best with it. There is something about 10 HCFR doesn't like (makes sense since it's a preview)...
pdawg17 is offline  
post #5091 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieS. View Post
Where can is see what luminance i need for the color calibration with REC 709 75%/75%?
I just see what luminance i have but not what i need.
Target Y is not displayed for primaries/secondaries, only delta luminance. The most accurate indicator for target luminance when using 75%/75% pseudo-colorspace will be the the 100% RGB bars (RGB mode) or the 100% V bar (HSV mode).

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Is it possible to directly compare two meter profiles in HCFR?
Yes, just load the two corrections in separate sheets and measure an RGBW sequence.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basstrix View Post
Can anyone tell me how to display 100% Stimulus/75% Saturation patterns using HCFR that doesn't involve manually entering values into the "Test Colors" palette? I can't get the GCD patterns to match up exactly with HCFR's patterns.

Thanks,
BT
That combination is not a supported sequence.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiecesfit View Post
I'm getting some discrepancies between V2 and V3 of HCFR. Can anyone shine some light on this? I was getting Green and Cyan shifts in V2 that I was wondering about. Seems like V3 the primary and secondary colors align much better. I'm a bit puzzled by which one I can trust? Using an i1Display 2 without much drift it seems as my results are consistent. Both were set to rec 709 .

Any ideas? Using a TC-P50ST50 Panasonic. The only difference is the lack of a Plasma setting and I left the Color difference formula to recommended. The calibration settings are exactly the same. Added RGB Levels and CIE diagrams below.
My guess is that since the old version is using an xrite driver that you are probably comparing the measurements with and without a plasma table correction but it's hard to say without more info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Good to know...I ended up reformatting and putting 7 x64 back on the laptop as it is pretty old so figured 7 would work best with it. There is something about 10 HCFR doesn't like (makes sense since it's a preview)...
The instrument drivers (ArgyllCMS) are not compatible with 10.
zoyd is offline  
post #5092 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
One other "tangent" question. If my i1display pro cannot sit flat against the screen is there a trick? Painters tape maybe? How to set that up?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #5093 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,722
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2385 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
I use the handle of a tripod to push the sensor gently against the screen.
I would strongly recommend against using any type of tape.
If the room is dark enough, you actually don't need to have the sensor touch the screen.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5094 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2202 Post(s)
Liked: 3102
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
One other "tangent" question. If my i1display pro cannot sit flat against the screen is there a trick? Painters tape maybe? How to set that up?
Yes to the painters tape.

Sorry I can't get to a camera: First I use 5 or 6 pieces of 2, 3" tape to secure the cable to the top ledge and top of bezel of my wall mounted 64". Then apply a few 1-2" pieces to the top of the bezel, aligning the sensor in the general area of the target, then press the sensor against the target, removing the load of the cable weight, while applying a few more short pieces to the bezel to lock the cable in place. If done correctly, when you release the sensor it will securely rest against both target and screen.

I've calibrated during different ambient light conditions, so I don't like any gap between the sensor and screen. I also taped the cable weight to prevent scratching the screen when the sensor pulls away from the tape, which it has on occasion.

There's a photo floating around somewhere on AVS that shows this technique. I just mimicked that and am impressed it works.

Last edited by bmcn; 12-30-2014 at 12:31 PM.
bmcn is offline  
post #5095 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Basstrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
That combination is not a supported sequence.
zoyd, thanks for the response.

Vizio M652i-B2....................HCFR 3.3.1
Vizio E600i-B3.....................i1 Display Pro
Sharp LC-70C8470U............ControlCAL Elite X5 Edition v2
Onkyo TX-SR606.................AVSHD-709
PS-3
Homegrown HTPC
Basstrix is offline  
post #5096 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2202 Post(s)
Liked: 3102
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
I use the handle of a tripod to push the sensor gently against the screen.
I would strongly recommend against using any type of tape.
If the room is dark enough, you actually don't need to have the sensor touch the screen.
Curious why the strong objection to painters tape?
bmcn is offline  
post #5097 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 12:03 PM
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Another vote for painters tape if needed. You can tape the meter down without touching the screen / only the bezel.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #5098 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
My guess is that since the old version is using an xrite driver that you are probably comparing the measurements with and without a plasma table correction but it's hard to say without more info.
.
I did use a Plasma setting in v2 with the xrite driver. Could not find a plasma table correction for V3 is it a setting? I just used LCD.
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #5099 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 9,722
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2385 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcn View Post
Curious why the strong objection to painters tape?
My RPCRT background, mostly. Much as I love GooGone, I'd rather not use it on my plasma screen.
But if it works, go for it.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #5100 of 11794 Old 12-30-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bmcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2202 Post(s)
Liked: 3102
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
My RPCRT background, mostly. Much as I love GooGone, I'd rather not use it on my plasma screen.
But if it works, go for it.
No tape is applied to the screen, only the housing ledge and bezel. I admit it is barrio, but works for me.
AMartin56 likes this.

Last edited by bmcn; 12-30-2014 at 12:41 PM.
bmcn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off