HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 261 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1440Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7801 of 12071 Old 08-17-2016, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
So you've told HCFR you're targeting 2.2 and are using the Y target numbers on the main grayscale measurement 'spreadsheet' to determine how successful your adjustments are? I never use the chart because at high IREs even small differences can make it look very jagged.
Oh ok...what am I comparing the Y target numbers to? Y? Should those values be the same or should I be determining Y differently than target Y?
pdawg17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7802 of 12071 Old 08-17-2016, 09:36 AM
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Oh ok...what am I comparing the Y target numbers to? Y? Should those values be the same or should I be determining Y differently than target Y?

Assuming you've told HCFR in the preferences (Advanced -Preferences- References) that you are targetting 2.2 gamma when you run a grayscale pass the Grayscale View will show you the Y target (you may have to page down a bit...it's two fields down from the color coded Delta E). You want the Y value (three fields down from the top) to match or be close to this target (don't over think it...you probably won't be able to get it perfect).

The top Y shows what youre current results are (and will chnage as you adjust the controls). The bottom Y target shows what they SHOULD BE based upon your preferences.

I would suggest starting at one IRE end and working your way up. Use grayscale runs rather than real time reads. Real time reads may bounce around a bit and will just confuse you.
mo949 likes this.

Last edited by AMartin56; 08-17-2016 at 09:51 AM.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #7803 of 12071 Old 08-17-2016, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,942
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4878 Post(s)
Liked: 1843
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
I'm getting through my first calibration with an i1display pro on my 55VT60...

I have gotten through greyscale very well but I'm confused about gamma. I turned on continuing measures and used gamma gain on my VT60 for each IRE to get gamma to 2.2 across the board...when I do a post-calibration check however it shows my gamma as being off the charts high at every level (2.9 or so). What am I doing wrong or missing?
Did the luminance at 100% white change before and after you adjusted the gamma? If it remains relatively constant, the post-calibration gamma should be reasonably close to the values you obtained during calibration.

This assumes you were using 10- or 20-pt controls to adjust gamma; with 2-pt gamma everything changes at the same time and it's impossible to predict the post-calibration gamma.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 08-17-2016 at 12:58 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7804 of 12071 Old 08-17-2016, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMartin56 View Post
Assuming you've told HCFR in the preferences (Advanced -Preferences- References) that you are targetting 2.2 gamma when you run a grayscale pass the Grayscale View will show you the Y target (you may have to page down a bit...it's two fields down from the color coded Delta E). You want the Y value (three fields down from the top) to match or be close to this target (don't over think it...you probably won't be able to get it perfect).

The top Y shows what youre current results are (and will chnage as you adjust the controls). The bottom Y target shows what they SHOULD BE based upon your preferences.

I would suggest starting at one IRE end and working your way up. Use grayscale runs rather than real time reads. Real time reads may bounce around a bit and will just confuse you.
For a VT60 plasma what "should" my references (in preferences) be? I ran color space on "HDTV - REC 709". I left gamma calculation at default (BT.1886 with 100% input offset). Should I be using something different? Thanks again...
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7805 of 12071 Old 08-17-2016, 03:40 PM
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2166 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
For a VT60 plasma what "should" my references (in preferences) be? I ran color space on "HDTV - REC 709". I left gamma calculation at default (BT.1886 with 100% input offset). Should I be using something different? Thanks again...
It depends. Here is a decent article on the subject.

http://referencehometheater.com/2014/commentary/gamma-correct/
bmcn likes this.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #7806 of 12071 Old 08-21-2016, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ok need some guidance guys...here is my most recent attempt with my VT60 plasma. First issue is that when I do a 10 pt greyscale run it keeps putting one or more points in yellow but when I do continuous measure at that IRE it's in the green no problem.

Second, I'm wondering if I have something set wrong as the difference between Y and target Y for gamma just seems crazy. Even using 10 point gain adjustments I can't get anywhere near target Y.

Contrast 6:1?! Is that due to raising values during my 2-point cal? How to avoid that? Using custom setting with contrast 90, brightness 6

I have reference settings at HDTV REC 709 (75%/75%), gamma calculation at default 1886, 0, 100% (TV set to gamma 2.4) and limited color using an i1display pro.

Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	138
Size:	114.1 KB
ID:	1615241  

Last edited by pdawg17; 08-21-2016 at 11:58 AM.
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7807 of 12071 Old 08-21-2016, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2520 Post(s)
Liked: 2152
Something is very wrong with your black level, which is throwing everything else off.
Y at 0% should be close to 0.
Hopefully, someone can help you figure out why.

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #7808 of 12071 Old 08-21-2016, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,942
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4878 Post(s)
Liked: 1843
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Contrast 6:1?! Is that due to raising values during my 2-point cal? How to avoid that? Using custom setting with contrast 90, brightness 6
Your 0 IRE point is brighter than the 10 IRE, so obviously something is very wrong. It's best to restore everything to the factory setting and run a sweep as the baseline, to be able to figure out where the problem is. Also, it's easier to for others to "debug" if you include the HCFR data file (zipped) and not just the screen shot of the measurement data.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7809 of 12071 Old 08-21-2016, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,373
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Any ideas?
Hi, you took 0% Black measurement using the 50% Gray pattern, that's why you have 14.243 cd/m2 as Black level.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7810 of 12071 Old 08-23-2016, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks guys...somehow the pattern generator I was using was doing that. This time around I used GCR (no background). Is that appropriate for a Panny plasma?

In the meantime, I attached the zip with my data. Everything looks pretty good to my eyes other than dark skin tones look too dark. Suggestions?
Attached Files
File Type: zip postvt60.zip (50.4 KB, 24 views)
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7811 of 12071 Old 08-23-2016, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 10,016
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2520 Post(s)
Liked: 2152
Run the color checker with one of the skin tone patterns.
My Sammy has a separate adjustment for skin tones that actually works pretty well; does your Panny?
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
Don't guess, measure: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-au...l#post22789786
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #7812 of 12071 Old 08-23-2016, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,373
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Run the color checker with one of the skin tone patterns.
My Sammy has a separate adjustment for skin tones that actually works pretty well; does your Panny?
Michael
Hi, unfortunately the SkinTone slider is available only in Samsung displays. It's doing good job in Samsung's

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7813 of 12071 Old 08-23-2016, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pdawg17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Ok so...what do us Panny plasma users do about it? Gamma is read as 2.29 so should I lower it closer to 2.2? Do that by lowering all colors slightly or use the 10 pt gain setting for gamma?
pdawg17 is offline  
post #7814 of 12071 Old 08-29-2016, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hello All,

can someone tell me what is neccessary to be able to access madvr/madtgp over the network using windows 10 (dispcal or HCFR)?

Both computers are in the same network, LAN access is enabled for madr and firewall rules are set up. But i am still not able to use the pattern generator via network.

I have tried shutting down antivirus and firewall as well... still no luck.
Madvr is only installed on the HTPC and i am trying to access it via my notebook where madvr is not installed.. i have installed it for testing and enabled to show the icon only when there is another madvr instance on the network and it does not show up as well.


Is there any way to test if madvr is working correctly and is reachable in this regard?

Anything special i need to take a look at when using windows 10 ?
RoninF is offline  
post #7815 of 12071 Old 08-29-2016, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,373
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdawg17 View Post
Thanks guys...somehow the pattern generator I was using was doing that. This time around I used GCR (no background). Is that appropriate for a Panny plasma?

In the meantime, I attached the zip with my data. Everything looks pretty good to my eyes other than dark skin tones look too dark. Suggestions?
Hi, Can you measure your gamut with all CMS controls @ zero position? Seems that according to your adjustment of Primary colors, you have make them undersaturated. Look your CIE Chart, the Cyan and Magenta, they measure with more saturation from your primary colors, this is not normal. Look again your CMS controls and re-adjust your primaries.

Also run the ColorChecker SG Skintones measurement to see what errors you have at the dark skin tones.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7816 of 12071 Old 08-29-2016, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
I just got a chromecast and wanted to see how this CCast generator works.
When I select CCast, what do I have to do to connect to the chromecast? If I only select CCast and try to take a reading I get a 'No Chromecast found' error message.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #7817 of 12071 Old 08-29-2016, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,942
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4878 Post(s)
Liked: 1843
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
When I select CCast, what do I have to do to connect to the chromecast? If I only select CCast and try to take a reading I get a 'No Chromecast found' error message.
You need to set up the chromecast first, then use YouTube to see if it works, before using it for HCFR (HCFR has very little control over CCast),
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7818 of 12071 Old 08-29-2016, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@Dominic Chan
The Chromecast has been setup and it's working. Streaming YouTube, Netflix, etc. Maybe it's something with my network, I was just wondering if there's any steps I might have missed.
So you just select CCast, and then try to take a reading?

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #7819 of 12071 Old 08-30-2016, 05:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,942
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4878 Post(s)
Liked: 1843
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
The Chromecast has been setup and it's working. Streaming YouTube, Netflix, etc. Maybe it's something with my network, I was just wondering if there's any steps I might have missed.
When I tried it, there were no extra steps other than selecting CCast in the Display Mode. HCFR does not display/list the detected CCast devices.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 08-30-2016 at 11:59 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7820 of 12071 Old 08-30-2016, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@Dominic Chan
Thanks. It was something screwy with my network setup, I got it working from a laptop.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #7821 of 12071 Old 08-30-2016, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Archimago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
HCFR 3.4.2 stopped working for Spyder2?

Hey guys, I saw hints of this issue with the comment earlier with Spyder3 not working...

Running Win 10 x64, the old version HFCR 2.1 works well with my Spyder2 just copying the "CVSpyder.dll" file over to the "Program Files (x86)\ColorHCFR" directory.

I do the same with the latest stable version 3.4.2. Copying the .dll into "Program Files (x86)\HCFR Calibration" and all I get to choose from is the "Simulated sensor" option. No error messages or anything else.

Is this a known issue with Spyder units and the supplied driver? Should I be doing something else?

Thanks all...

Last edited by Archimago; 08-30-2016 at 04:58 PM.
Archimago is offline  
post #7822 of 12071 Old 08-31-2016, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Tony359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi there,
I was looking for a way to average several readings on HCFR. Zoyd mentioned back in 2014 that the code was there but not active. Has there been any developments on the subject?

Thanks!
Tony
Tony359 is offline  
post #7823 of 12071 Old 08-31-2016, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
HCFR Settings for 2016 LG OLED

Hello all,

can somebody let me know which type of correction should be used for an LG Oled 65E6D?
I know there is a profile called LED Oled (R G B White ) which seems to be correct but i have read several different comments in this regard.

Are there any other settings i have to be aware of while calibrating this device?

Best Regards and thanks in Advance
RoninF is offline  
post #7824 of 12071 Old 08-31-2016, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,373
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninF View Post
Hello all,

can somebody let me know which type of correction should be used for an LG Oled 65E6D?
I know there is a profile called LED Oled (R G B White ) which seems to be correct but i have read several different comments in this regard.
Hi RoninF,

Using i1d3's OLED table with LG OLED, don't expect to see improvement to your measurements because X-Rite has created that OLED table for RGB OLED displays like Sony Trimaster EL or FSI OLED Broadcast Monitors etc.

The LG OLED's are WRGB and their spectral response is different, so in your case it will not provide any advantage by using that X-Rite's OLED table.

Generally I've seen a number of questions raised regarding OLED calibration in various threads.

So, wondered if consumer OLED TV home users would be interested in the approach a majority of professional post-production studios use for the calibration of their grading OLED displays to counter the known issue of Metameric Failure?

The approach has been developed by Light Illusion in partnership with the professional display manufacture Flanders Scientific Inc. (FSI).

See: http://www.lightillusion.com/perceptual_colour_match.html

and FSI have their own version of the same information here: http://flandersscientific.com/index/...htSpaceCMS.pdf

While the instructions are written for LightSpace CMS, as that is what FSI use for all their factory calibration, the basic information will work with any calibration system.

Using this approach you will be able to remove the inherent green cast that many OLEDs tend to suffer.

(WRGB based LG OLED's suffer this issue less, due to their use of the additional White pixel.)

Hope this is of interest to those looking to get the best out of their OLED displays.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7825 of 12071 Old 09-02-2016, 05:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi RoninF,

Using i1d3's OLED table with LG OLED, don't expect to see improvement to your measurements because X-Rite has created that OLED table for RGB OLED displays like Sony Trimaster EL or FSI OLED Broadcast Monitors etc.

The LG OLED's are WRGB and their spectral response is different, so in your case it will not provide any advantage by using that X-Rite's OLED table.

Generally I've seen a number of questions raised regarding OLED calibration in various threads.

So, wondered if consumer OLED TV home users would be interested in the approach a majority of professional post-production studios use for the calibration of their grading OLED displays to counter the known issue of Metameric Failure?

The approach has been developed by Light Illusion in partnership with the professional display manufacture Flanders Scientific Inc. (FSI).

See: http://www.lightillusion.com/perceptual_colour_match.html

and FSI have their own version of the same information here: http://flandersscientific.com/index/...htSpaceCMS.pdf

While the instructions are written for LightSpace CMS, as that is what FSI use for all their factory calibration, the basic information will work with any calibration system.

Using this approach you will be able to remove the inherent green cast that many OLEDs tend to suffer.

(WRGB based LG OLED's suffer this issue less, due to their use of the additional White pixel.)

Hope this is of interest to those looking to get the best out of their OLED displays.

Hi Ted,

thanks for these additional infos!
But using Dispcal or HCFR for example witht the i1d3 provides me with a WRGB Profile at least if the description is correct. So i guess this should be working in this case?!

Anyhow your approach sounds interesting
RoninF is offline  
post #7826 of 12071 Old 09-02-2016, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,373
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninF View Post
Hi Ted,

thanks for these additional infos!
But using Dispcal or HCFR for example witht the i1d3 provides me with a WRGB Profile at least if the description is correct. So i guess this should be working in this case?!

Anyhow your approach sounds interesting
Hi RoninF,

you can use any calibration software

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7827 of 12071 Old 09-02-2016, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hi Ted,

i was more or less asking because you quoted
Quote:
Using i1d3's OLED table with LG OLED, don't expect to see improvement to your measurements because X-Rite has created that OLED table for RGB OLED displays like Sony Trimaster EL or FSI OLED Broadcast Monitors etc.
Thats why i was wondering as i have a profile that seems to be made for WRGB for this device which is exactly how the LG OLEDS are build
RoninF is offline  
post #7828 of 12071 Old 09-02-2016, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,373
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4040
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoninF View Post
Hi Ted,

i was more or less asking because you quoted

Thats why i was wondering as i have a profile that seems to be made for WRGB for this device which is exactly how the LG OLEDS are build
You can try the profile you have and see how it compares with the approach LightSpace/FSI are using.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #7829 of 12071 Old 09-11-2016, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,942
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4878 Post(s)
Liked: 1843
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
hmmm...I use that resolution set-up as well without issue. Is the aspect ratio maintained? Can you post a picture? Anyone else see similar?
zoyd,
I just noticed another minor bug:
In the RGB Levels graph, the reference measure plot always uses "Absolute Y w/o gamma", even if I choose "Absolute Y w/gamma" for the Gray Scale dE handling.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #7830 of 12071 Old 09-13-2016, 04:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, guys!

The horizontal units in the spectral power distribution are nanometers but do you know what are the vertical "emission power" units (0-3.2 in the picture)? What are they called?

Here is a screenshot: *******/yDpxrD (unfortunately, I can't upload an image because I'm new user)

Thank you very much!
Simeon Nikolov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off