HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1405Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I finally picked up an i1D3 and used it with HCFR 3.0.4.0 on my Panasonic VT30 plasma.

HCFR was reading red noticeably low on my plasma by around 8-10%. If I boosted red to the level HCFR wanted me to, the resulting color temp would have been somewhere in the 6000k-6250k range and the picture was distinctly too red when viewing several pieces of reference material which I use for checking skin-tones when calibrating.

I manually applied Zoyd's correction matrix posted back around page 21 and this helped things considerably. Calibrating to 6500k using Zoyd's matrix results in much more natural looking skin tones vs. without the matrix. I calibrated 1 color temp (i.e. "normal") without the matrix and 1 color temp (i.e. "warm") with the matrix applied so that I could easily do A-B comparisons on the same material and Zoyd's matrix was more accurate on 100% of the content I tested vs. using no matrix at all.

So in summary, thank-you very much Zoyd for posting your matrix, and I really hope that this plasma error gets corrected in a future release!
jkozlow3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

So in summary, thank-you very much Zoyd for posting your matrix, and I really hope that this plasma error gets corrected in a future release!

no problem. Just to clarify, there is no plasma error with HCFR, this is just the way the D3 probe reads plasmas. It has to be adjusted using the correction matrix due to the particular nature of the phosphor spectral distribution.
zoyd is offline  
post #843 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

no problem. Just to clarify, there is no plasma error with HCFR, this is just the way the D3 probe reads plasmas. It has to be adjusted using the correction matrix due to the particular nature of the phosphor spectral distribution.

Interesting. Well, it would probably make sense at some point for HCFR to provide a "Plasma" display type selection and load a standard/built-in correction matrix by default (which can be overridden if needed/desired) vs. simply letting users calibrate their displays and wind up with too much red in the grayscale unbeknownst to them.

I believe this is what Calman does for users automatically, no? I fully realize Calman is a paid product with a lot more resources to devote to development, but building similar functionality into HCFR should be a goal, even if it cannot be accomplished immediately. I just think a lot of plasma owners will make the mistake of not manually adjusting the matrix and will therefore end up with incorrect calibration results.
jkozlow3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just purchased an i1pro, thought it may work with HCFR 3.0.4.0, alas it cannot find any driver?????? Does the I1pro work with HCFR?

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #845 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

Interesting. Well, it would probably make sense at some point for HCFR to provide a "Plasma" display type selection and load a standard/built-in correction matrix by default (which can be overridden if needed/desired) vs. simply letting users calibrate their displays and wind up with too much red in the grayscale unbeknownst to them.
I believe this is what Calman does for users automatically, no? I fully realize Calman is a paid product with a lot more resources to devote to development, but building similar functionality into HCFR should be a goal, even if it cannot be accomplished immediately. I just think a lot of plasma owners will make the mistake of not manually adjusting the matrix and will therefore end up with incorrect calibration results.
+1. And the i1D3 is probably the most popular colorimeter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

no problem. Just to clarify, there is no plasma error with HCFR, this is just the way the D3 probe reads plasmas. It has to be adjusted using the correction matrix due to the particular nature of the phosphor spectral distribution.
So what about LCDs? Do you have to use a correction matrix, or are the spectral samples included with the i1profiler software good enough? I calibrated my LG LCDs back when my i1display lt was still somewhat accurate and I re-checked my settings after about a year with my i1display pro without a spectral sample and the measurements were almost identical to my measurements with my i1d-lt a year ago.
rahzel is offline  
post #846 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,202
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Just purchased an i1pro, thought it may work with HCFR 3.0.4.0, alas it cannot find any driver?????? Does the I1pro work with HCFR?

You can use HCFR 2.1 with the i1Pro spectro.

Jason

HT = Sony HW45ES @133" / Lumagen Radiance / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony x800 / Toshiba HD-A3
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #847 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 10:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

You can use HCFR 2.1 with the i1Pro spectro.
Jason

Tried that - get a driver error every time even though im puttting eyeone.dll in the colorhcfr folder??

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #848 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 11:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

Interesting. Well, it would probably make sense at some point for HCFR to provide a "Plasma" display type selection and load a standard/built-in correction matrix by default (which can be overridden if needed/desired) vs. simply letting users calibrate their displays and wind up with too much red in the grayscale unbeknownst to them.
I believe this is what Calman does for users automatically, no? I fully realize Calman is a paid product with a lot more resources to devote to development, but building similar functionality into HCFR should be a goal, even if it cannot be accomplished immediately. I just think a lot of plasma owners will make the mistake of not manually adjusting the matrix and will therefore end up with incorrect calibration results.

I understand a correction matrix is only needed for certain cheaper probes, correct?

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #849 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 11:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Tried that - get a driver error every time even though im puttting eyeone.dll in the colorhcfr folder??

That should be all you need to do. Try this: If you've got any x-rite software running in your system tray, shut it down before launching HCFR. ( a guess, but it's all I've got)
djams is offline  
post #850 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 11:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

That should be all you need to do. Try this: If you've got any x-rite software running in your system tray, shut it down before launching HCFR. ( a guess, but it's all I've got)

got it working now - now i want to proifile my id3 from my i1pro.
When I do a run with hcfr 2.1 with the i1pro, do i do a full run of RGB colors and a full grayscale measurement?

Cheers

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #851 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 11:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

got it working now - now i want to proifile my id3 from my i1pro.
When I do a run with hcfr 2.1 with the i1pro, do i do a full run of RGB colors and a full grayscale measurement?
Cheers

Here are clear instructions by LarryInRI: https://www.avsforum.com/t/1420779/noob-question-profiling-i1-display-pro-against-and-i1-pro#post_22230797

Now here's the twist though. Since your i1d3 isn't supported in HCFR 2.1, you'll have to use the i1Pro to take the measurements in 2.1, save the file, launch HCFR 3, open the file you just saved, and pick up the process from there with the i1d3. An extra step, but no problem.
djams is offline  
post #852 of 11718 Old 08-14-2012, 11:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 46
JohnAD, how far away are you from getting the i1Pro working with the latest version? I can push off going back to my calibration for a few weeks or so if this is near-term. I've used older versions of HCFR with my i1Pro. In terms of functionality, what's the difference between 3.0.0 (I believe from reading Zoyd's posts that the i1Pro works with this version) and later versions? How far away are we from the next significant release?

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #853 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 12:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post

In terms of functionality, what's the difference between 3.0.0 and later versions?
http://sourceforge.net/p/hcfr/wiki/Changelog/
djams is offline  
post #854 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 12:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Yes saw that. A plain English summary would be good. I understand the fundamental change is the use of Argyll instead of individual probe manufacturer drivers for probe management? (In OS-X we don't need to mess with things like dlls and that sort of guff.) If the i1Pro worked with 3.0.0 why did functionality drop in later versions?

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #855 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by djams View Post

Here are clear instructions by LarryInRI: https://www.avsforum.com/t/1420779/noob-question-profiling-i1-display-pro-against-and-i1-pro#post_22230797
Now here's the twist though. Since your i1d3 isn't supported in HCFR 2.1, you'll have to use the i1Pro to take the measurements in 2.1, save the file, launch HCFR 3, open the file you just saved, and pick up the process from there with the i1d3. An extra step, but no problem.

Actually its not that clear - as per my question, presumably i use red green blue and 1 x white window, all at 75% for example?
Or do i use red green blue and the entire grayscale from 0 to 100 ire - apologies for the questions but i am still learning.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #856 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 07:06 AM
Member
 
dominickwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Actually its not that clear - as per my question, presumably i use red green blue and 1 x white window, all at 75% for example?
Or do i use red green blue and the entire grayscale from 0 to 100 ire - apologies for the questions but i am still learning.

red green blue and 1 x white window, all at 75% (or all at 100%)
dominickwok is offline  
post #857 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominickwok View Post

red green blue and 1 x white window, all at 75% (or all at 100%)

Great! thanks

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #858 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
For profiling I measure RGBW (75%) with the i1pro using version 3.0.0.0 and then copy those measurements into a simulated probe sheet in 3.0.4.0 Check it as reference and then run the D3 in another sheet and compute the correction matrix.
zoyd is offline  
post #859 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

For profiling I measure RGBW (75%) with the i1pro using version 3.0.0.0 and then copy those measurements into a simulated probe sheet in 3.0.4.0 Check it as reference and then run the D3 in another sheet and compute the correction matrix.

where can I find ver 3.0.0.0? sourceforge only has the latest version.
I found it, google hcfr 3.0.0.0 and a link to sourceforge will be the 1st hit/

thanks
vega509 is offline  
post #860 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

or....I run an xp vbox on my Mac that works with HCFR

But then I would have to buy a copy of XP. It would be great if HCFR could run on Crossover. Then a Mac user could run it without Parallels etc and without having to purchase Windows.

EDIT: Hmmm..... http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/search/?name=hcfr&search=app Anyone had a play with this on later versions?

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #861 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

For profiling I measure RGBW (75%) with the i1pro using version 3.0.0.0 and then copy those measurements into a simulated probe sheet in 3.0.4.0 Check it as reference and then run the D3 in another sheet and compute the correction matrix.

Hi Zoyd

Any specific reaspon why you have decided to take this route? Presumably using 2.1 for the pro profile then using 3.0.3.4 for the iD3 should be ok?

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #862 of 11718 Old 08-15-2012, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,202
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 550 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Yes that works just fine, I have done it several times already (2.1 -> 3.0.4.0).

I had thought there was a bug in 3.0.0.0 with the i1Pro and the later version 3 releases simply did not work..(maybe not)?

Jason

HT = Sony HW45ES @133" / Lumagen Radiance / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony x800 / Toshiba HD-A3
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #863 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 12:09 AM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

Yes that works just fine, I have done it several times already (2.1 -> 3.0.4.0).

I had thought there was a bug in 3.0.0.0 with the i1Pro and the later version 3 releases simply did not work..(maybe not)?

Jason

+1
i1pro does not work in 3.0.0.0
Successful manually installed Argyll driver and win7 64bit reports i1pro is working.

After i start HCFR 3.xx program can not communicate with i1pro.

Am i forgeting something?



Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is online now  
post #864 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 02:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Code:
1.055150     0.008338        -0.013504
0.009191        1.028573        -0.008165
-0.013243       0.020807        0.977213
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Code:
1.038606808  -0.002502512    -0.011492028
0.010401065     0.994002567     -0.003384238
-0.006758658    0.008717773     0.977999919
Just want to thank zoyd and kjgarrison for posting their correction matrices. I've tried both of them on my 60ST50 / i1Display Pro and they are very similar indeed and both work very well. Most notably Red in the highend measured low without correction making me set W/B High R to +1 vs -6 / -7 with the correction matrices. They each measure blue and red slightly different but the resulted settings for both were within +/-1.

zoyd's matrix / jjgarrison's matrix / no correction:
W/B High R: -7 / -6 / +1
W/B High G: 0 / 0 / 0
W/B High B: +5 / +4 / +4
W/B Low R: +11 / +11 / +11
W/B Low G: 0 / 0 / 0
W/B Low B: +3 / +2 / +2

Looking at other calibration reports by pros, the color points for the ST50 are very close, but mine (without correction) green and cyan were a little off. Using these matrices made the points much closer after a GS calibration.

Very happy with how things look now.
rahzel is offline  
post #865 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 04:59 AM
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just out of curiosity, what is the difference between the 3 color matrix and a 4 color matrix, as per kjgarrisons earlier post in respect of correction matrix.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

Calibration Management Disc
ndaa75 is offline  
post #866 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I'm interested to know as well. I think I read somewhere in this thread that the 4 color matrix should be used. The one I quoted (4 color matrix) was the one I used.
rahzel is offline  
post #867 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 10:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I used v 2.1 to create a reference document to profile my i1d3 to my i1pro. I measure the primaries and secondaries with the i1pro, including the white measure, and save the file. I open the chc file in v 3.0.4.0, create a new file, run the primary and secondary measures with the i1d3, select the i1pro file as the reference, and create the profile, then save the profile. All goes well to this point. When I load the profile into a new file to use with the i1d3, everything measures ok until the last measure in the primaries sand secondaries, then an error pops up "Invalid measure matrix".

I have repeated this 3 times with the same result. Am I missing something or doing something wrong?

thanks
vega509 is offline  
post #868 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stevekale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 46
If one has an i1Pro why would you want to use an i1D3 for calibration?

Demand greater honesty and transparency in high-end audio

With Theta, Egglestonworks and Krell since 1998!
stevekale is offline  
post #869 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekale View Post

If one has an i1Pro why would you want to use an i1D3 for calibration?

I1D3 does a better low ire (brightness) measure than the i1pro.

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is online now  
post #870 of 11718 Old 08-16-2012, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
grunnsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought a new ColorMunki Display, installed the software, updated the software from V1.01 to V1.02, and I was able to calibrate the screen of my PC. So the ColorMunki drivers are working.
I also installed HCFR 3.04, and this version is supposed to support the ColorMunki.
However when I try to use HCFR, it doesn't find the ColorMunki. My only choices are Simulated Sensor, DTP-94, and HCFR sensor.
I tried to figure out what can be wrong, and I noticed that the ColorMunki.inf file in the drivers section has different Vendor and and Product IDs compared to the real ID's that I found with DXdiag.
The ColorMunki.inf file has VID_ 0971 and PID_2007, the real values are VID_0765 and PID_5020.
I noticed that the DTP-94.inf file in HCFR also has VID_0765, but a different PID value.
I edited the ColorMunki.inf file to reflect the actual VID and PID values, but still HCFR only gave me the same three choices.
Then I removed all DTP-94 files from the driver section, and still I get the same three choices.
HCFR is aware that the ColoMunki is connected, because it reports Incorrect driver - Starting communication with the meter failed with severe error. Argyll error. Without the ColoMunki connected I don't get this notification.
I reported this on the HCFR forum, but so far no reaction. Is there anyone on this forum who can tell me what is wrong?
grunnsat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off