HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 47 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1405Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1381 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 03:11 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post




HCFR Calibration.zip

Thanks Zoyd, I will try this evening.

Vidéo: Écran fixe Da-Lite HC-HP ( base3 m,gris, g 2.4), JVC X5000 , Radiance 4442, Pana BD820, VU SOLO 4K/VTI V11, HDFURY Integral, Denon X3300W
HiFi: Tri_amp active, enceintes DIY Phoenix de S. Linkwitz, Tact RCS et 3*S2150, VU+ Duo/VTI V11/Quad FM4
Kerlucun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1382 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 01:09 PM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Saturations work fine in the last version.
Thank you Zoyd.

Vidéo: Écran fixe Da-Lite HC-HP ( base3 m,gris, g 2.4), JVC X5000 , Radiance 4442, Pana BD820, VU SOLO 4K/VTI V11, HDFURY Integral, Denon X3300W
HiFi: Tri_amp active, enceintes DIY Phoenix de S. Linkwitz, Tact RCS et 3*S2150, VU+ Duo/VTI V11/Quad FM4
Kerlucun is offline  
post #1383 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Currently the load dialog is only available when opening a new probe instance.

You can now load a .thc file from the advanced menu and I put back in the "Manually edit ..." selection, which opens the meter properties page. On that page is a tab to enter matrix values. zipped folder can be found at previous link.
zoyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1384 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Zoyd,can there be a meter correction file made for the i1D2 that can be used like how Chromapure and Spectracal are implemented ?

My meter has some drift and i'am just wondering if there is a work around without measuring it to a reference meter.Thanks.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1385 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

Zoyd,can there be a meter correction file made for the i1D2 that can be used like how Chromapure and Spectracal are implemented ?

My meter has some drift and i'am just wondering if there is a work around without measuring it to a reference meter.Thanks.

That is how we implement it.
Our correction file is created using a reference meter.
sotti is offline  
post #1386 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Zoyd,

Is the Meter Correction File->Create Using Existing Reference Measure working yet, or am I doing something wrong? Also, when I check Reference Measure in one document, only the gamma graph shows the reference (dashed line) on the non-reference document, the other graphs do not.

Other than that, so far this looks great!

____________________________________________
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
jdbimmer is offline  
post #1387 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

Zoyd,

Is the Meter Correction File->Create Using Existing Reference Measure working yet, or am I doing something wrong? Also, when I check Reference Measure in one document, only the gamma graph shows the reference (dashed line) on the non-reference document, the other graphs do not.

Other than that, so far this looks great!

Check that the sensor matrix has updated and if so you are ok. Right now the values in your document don't refresh using the correction so it looks like nothing happens, I need to fix this so it behaves like the former versions. The difference between the current and former schemes is that there used to be 2 separate correction matrices, one for training the uncalibrated HCFR probe (.thc) and another for correcting a calibrated prober (meter correction or .mhc files). John changed this to use just one (.thc) to simplify the code. I'll try to make it look more consistent with the behavior of previous versions but it may take a little while.

Regarding display of the reference document curves in non-reference documents this needs to be fixed.
zoyd is offline  
post #1388 of 11720 Old 02-06-2013, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Check that the sensor matrix has updated and if so you are ok.
Yes, it did update. That's good.
Quote:
Right now the values in your document don't refresh using the correction so it looks like nothing happens, I need to fix this so it behaves like the former versions.
Right, I didn't see the values or the XYZ Adjustment checkbox (which is always read-only now) change. But if I select something like switching between xyY and XYZ and back, it refreshes and the values are updated by the matrix. So that's an easy workaround. Thanks for the info.

____________________________________________
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
jdbimmer is offline  
post #1389 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
turboman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
hello
I have just a basic question, but it would take too long to read all the posts.
What is fork of HCFR? Is this a variant of the original HCFR? If yes, what are the advantages/benefits of this variant compared to the original? If no, what is the fork of HCFR?
Thanks for the help.
turboman123 is offline  
post #1390 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
zoyd is offline  
post #1391 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
ttnuagmada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboman123 View Post

hello
I have just a basic question, but it would take too long to read all the posts.
What is fork of HCFR? Is this a variant of the original HCFR? If yes, what are the advantages/benefits of this variant compared to the original? If no, what is the fork of HCFR?
Thanks for the help.

Zoyd and a few others have taken the original, and given it more features and the ability to use newer meters.
ttnuagmada is online now  
post #1392 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Thanks zoyd.

Do you think you'll ever be able to get your new versions to read mhc files again? That's the one thing I missed from the older versions.

edit: I think I found a workaround. I started a new calibration, entered the sensor matrix offsets; then I went to Advanced -> meter correction file -> save meter correction file and saved it to a thc file. Now when I start a new calibration, I can select the thc file from the dropdown box. At first the offsets don't appear in the meter matrix tab, but when you click OK and check the sensor again, the matrix is loaded.
rahzel is offline  
post #1393 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Latest build.

fixes:
-reference document overlays work again
-meter correction code and functionality is very similar to previous version
These work perfectly now. Thanks!

____________________________________________
C8/E8 Questions? Try JCC's_FAQ Or LiQiCE's_Wiki
jdbimmer is offline  
post #1394 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Latest build.

fixes:
-reference document overlays work again
-meter correction code and functionality is very similar to previous version

Thanks smile.gif
Now matrix functions is just ok, those who have used .mhc files must save matrix to .thc (you must also use HCFR as administrator or it won´t let you save that .thc file, at least that´s case with Win8)
Seems that it also saves values as matrix corrected with .chc but when meter is not connected "XYZ Adjustment" checkbox is grayed and it´s not shown "manually edit..." however it´s used.
When you load .chc file and there´s matrix used and if you load same correction from "Etalon_Simulation" folder it uses that matrix twice.
So actually matrix .thc file is not included with .chc like it was earlier with .mhc files.
Make73 is offline  
post #1395 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

Thanks zoyd.

Do you think you'll ever be able to get your new versions to read mhc files again? That's the one thing I missed from the older versions.

edit: I think I found a workaround. I started a new calibration, entered the sensor matrix offsets; then I went to Advanced -> meter correction file -> save meter correction file and saved it to a thc file. Now when I start a new calibration, I can select the thc file from the dropdown box. At first the offsets don't appear in the meter matrix tab, but when you click OK and check the sensor again, the matrix is loaded.


It's probably not too hard to add the .chc reader back in at some point but I wanted to get the basic .thc functionality working first and stable with the new meter and color code. This version should be fine for most purposes. As you found, you can convert your offsets manually via the sensor properties box and then save it with the probe or as a separate .thc file.
zoyd is offline  
post #1396 of 11720 Old 02-07-2013, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73 View Post

So actually matrix .thc file is not included with .chc like it was earlier with .mhc files.

The correction matrix is stored in the probe.chc file and will be restored as long as the probe is plugged in.
zoyd is offline  
post #1397 of 11720 Old 02-08-2013, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

The correction matrix is stored in the probe.chc file and will be restored as long as the probe is plugged in.

Okay, so when you load .chc file matrix is there (unvisible) when probe is disconnected and also values are like with matrix, but when you connect probe you can also see matrix.
edit:
It´s not bring matrix visible just by connecting probe, after that you have to re-open file and then you can see matrix and choice "XYZ Adjustment".
Maby this could be fixed in future versions that you can also see matrix without probe connected (Simulated sensor) ?

Is that "Final release" or are you going to make some more tweaks?
That should be named to 3.0.5

Great job, thanks again cool.gif
Make73 is offline  
post #1398 of 11720 Old 02-08-2013, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
I'm still tweaking/adding stuff, I also don't want to bump the version number since this has not been merged with the master code. I've published changes to a fork of the master code and they can be found here.

Current zip distribution link has been updated with:

1. fixed radio button comestic issue
2. added 75% sat/75% luminance Rec.709 color space target choice to the available reference color space choices.

#2 is useful for calibrating plasmas with non-linear saturation response. Note that when using this choice you must use 75% saturation/75% luminance RGBCYMW patterns with a 2.22 target gamma. These are available on the GCD disk.
zoyd is offline  
post #1399 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 01:11 AM
Senior Member
 
turboman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttnuagmada View Post

Zoyd and a few others have taken the original, and given it more features and the ability to use newer meters.

Thanks for the reply. That looks interesting. I used HCFR a few years ago, but then I moved on to Chromapure.

What are the main added features of "Fork of HCFR" compared to standard HCFR?
turboman123 is offline  
post #1400 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 01:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
zoyd can probably add more things he and John have done, but AFAIK, the more major things that have changed are:
-Changed delta E formula for color gamut from CIELUV to CIE94 (can be set back to CIELUV in the options)
-Added BT.1886 gamma formula (can be set back to power law)
-Added support for more meters (i1D3, Colormunki Photo and Display and more)
-Reconfigured the meter profiling options

As you can see, zoyd also just added 75%sat/75%lum targets, but he hasn't uploaded this build yet (AFAIK).
rahzel is offline  
post #1401 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 02:09 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In the improvements it will be nice that HCFR accepts the measures with the diffuser in place on the I1D3 probe (to measure facing the projector),

Vidéo: Écran fixe Da-Lite HC-HP ( base3 m,gris, g 2.4), JVC X5000 , Radiance 4442, Pana BD820, VU SOLO 4K/VTI V11, HDFURY Integral, Denon X3300W
HiFi: Tri_amp active, enceintes DIY Phoenix de S. Linkwitz, Tact RCS et 3*S2150, VU+ Duo/VTI V11/Quad FM4
Kerlucun is offline  
post #1402 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 04:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

As you can see, zoyd also just added 75%sat/75%lum targets, but he hasn't uploaded this build yet (AFAIK).

the previously posted link has the update, as well as the sourceforge page I linked.
zoyd is offline  
post #1403 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I see.

Will you release in zip format from now on, or do you plan on making install packages once you've added everything you wanted?
rahzel is offline  
post #1404 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mikek753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

zoyd can probably add more things he and John have done, but AFAIK, the more major things that have changed are:
-Changed delta E formula for color gamut from CIELUV to CIE94 (can be set back to CIELUV in the options)
-Added BT.1886 gamma formula (can be set back to power law)
-Added support for more meters (i1D3, Colormunki Photo and Display and more)
-Reconfigured the meter profiling options

As you can see, zoyd also just added 75%sat/75%lum targets, but he hasn't uploaded this build yet (AFAIK).

This "-Added support for more meters (i1D3, Colormunki Photo and Display and more)" is big deal for me
Even just this integration makes Fork HCFR diff.
Almost the next day fixes for calculations and charts, what else you can wish for from "free" product that competes with commercial products.
mikek753 is offline  
post #1405 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 02:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Zoyd,

The 75/75 new color measure for HCFR is super.I tried a quick calibration in custom mode on my GT30just to get a feel of things and it helped me see things more linear,measurement wise....

Previous method 75/100 gave me odd delta's at times trying to set color and tint due to the abl...

Thanks again Zoyd for all your time and effort...smile.gif

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1406 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerlucun View Post

In the improvements it will be nice that HCFR accepts the measures with the diffuser in place on the I1D3 probe (to measure facing the projector),

the D3 has an ambient mode with diffuser in place but this is for reading ambient light in illuminance (lux), I'm not sure it can be used this way for calibration.


@PeterLewis: thanks!


@rahzel: doesn't matter to me what format to post updates in, I can link both a zip of the directory and an installable exe.
zoyd is offline  
post #1407 of 11720 Old 02-09-2013, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerlucun View Post

In the improvements it will be nice that HCFR accepts the measures with the diffuser in place on the I1D3 probe (to measure facing the projector),

the D3 has an ambient mode with diffuser in place but this is for reading ambient light in illuminance (lux), I'm not sure it can be used this way for calibration.

Perhaps you could keep a link, that you update when needed, to the newest available version in your signature as well.

LG OLED65C7P - Professionally Calibrated l Apple TV 4K l Microsoft Xbox One S l Sony STR-ZA1100ES l Polk Audio CS2 Series II Center Channel l Polk Audio Monitor 60 Series II Floorstanding L/R l Polk Audio Monitor 45B Rear Surround l Dual BIC V1220 Subwoofers
HD-Master is offline  
post #1408 of 11720 Old 02-10-2013, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Kerlucun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brittany France
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

the D3 has an ambient mode with diffuser in place but this is for reading ambient light in illuminance (lux), I'm not sure it can be used this way for calibration.


It seems to me that the D3 works in this mode with other calibration software, but I will try again
The use of a meter correction file 'screen/projector' should restore the color.
The idea was to protect the sensor from too strong light.
Do you think that this protection is useless?

Vidéo: Écran fixe Da-Lite HC-HP ( base3 m,gris, g 2.4), JVC X5000 , Radiance 4442, Pana BD820, VU SOLO 4K/VTI V11, HDFURY Integral, Denon X3300W
HiFi: Tri_amp active, enceintes DIY Phoenix de S. Linkwitz, Tact RCS et 3*S2150, VU+ Duo/VTI V11/Quad FM4
Kerlucun is offline  
post #1409 of 11720 Old 02-10-2013, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 55
what model are you using to calculate dE? Lab, Luv, LCH?

I have been trying to verify the dE presented and have not been able to find a match.

these are from the last 2 versions posted here using the same settings and data



vega509 is offline  
post #1410 of 11720 Old 02-10-2013, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
AFAIK, HCFR has always used LUV for grayscale. Zoyd just modified the i1D3's meter code to stabilize readings, particularly low-light readings. If those are the same measures, just loaded into different versions of HCFR, maybe there's a bug. If they are different measures of the same settings, then it's probably just the updated meter code causing the differences.
rahzel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off