HCFR - Open source projector and display calibration software - Page 50 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1405Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post

.......... or should I build a spectral sample within HCFR?

I've not tested whether this works or not.



edit: The current version only allow building a spectral sample in view images mode, I'll upload fixed version shortly. I did one test using the HCFR built sample vs. the previously linked Dell plasma_family and results were nearly identical.

HCFR Spectral sample calibration vs. Plasma_Family EDR calibration dE ~0.8 between the two


Note: very slight advantage (50% and above) to the HCFR built one which was done with the i1pro 2 in hires mode.
zoyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I've not tested whether this works or not.



edit: The current version only allow building a spectral sample in view images mode, I'll upload fixed version shortly. I did one test using the HCFR built sample vs. the previously linked Dell plasma_family and results were nearly identical.

I ran the create spectral sample and ended up with these 2 files

spectral.zip 11k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip spectral.zip (10.6 KB, 54 views)
vega509 is offline  
post #1473 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
zoyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1474 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I only see one file, 151fd.ccss and it's got the right info in it. Did you use DVD patterns or automatic "view images" ?

I used the view files. the zip file above also has a .cal file in it. its in code so I cannot tell what is in it. the ccss file I can read.
vega509 is offline  
post #1475 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 12:01 PM
10k
AVS Forum Special Member
 
10k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,414
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2143 Post(s)
Liked: 2378
Any chance someone in here with an LED TV (like Samsung ES8000) could create a spectral sample and compare against the default LED sample?
10k is offline  
post #1476 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post

I used the view files. the zip file above also has a .cal file in it. its in code so I cannot tell what is in it. the ccss file I can read.

well I'm not seeing the other file but no matter, you can use the .ccss you made by adding it to the application data\color folder.

I've uploaded a new build to sourceforge that allows creation of spectral sample files using the manual (DVD) image generator option.
zoyd is offline  
post #1477 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by satsok View Post

Hello everyone i need some help on how to install spyder3elite in hcfr 3.0.4.1 .


When i plug in the spyder 3 probe and then open hcfr i get the message "Incorrect driver,Starting communications with the meter failed with severe error.Argyll error". Then after i select to use spyder 3 as a sensor and press finish,then press play i get the error : Spyder 3 returned an error during initialization. Then another error : Error during sensor initialization.

Are there any step by step instructions on how to install spyder3 in hcfr 3.0.4.1? I've been searching for days on how to do it with no success.

You need to find the datacolor driver (dll) for this probe and put it into the HCFR directory, I'm not sure where this driver can be obtained from but one of the spyder3express install packages should install one.


edit: CVSpyder.dll from c:\Program Files\Datacolor\Spyder3Express\Support is the file you want.
zoyd is offline  
post #1478 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Zoyd ,found a bug with latest build.

When using HDTV709 75% in preference and you try clicking on any of your greyscale ire run,instead of showing the RGB bars and bullseye ,it only shows a yellow bar with the word luminance.

Now when I switch back to HDTV709 regular.The RGB bars and bullseye show up just fine.Thanks.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1479 of 11722 Old 02-18-2013, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

well I'm not seeing the other file but no matter, you can use the .ccss you made by adding it to the application data\color folder.

I've uploaded a new build to sourceforge that allows creation of spectral sample files using the manual (DVD) image generator option.

the .cal file was created the same time as the .ccss file.

.i1p_321118.zip 8k .zip file

Anyway, thanks for all you have done, if I can be of any help let me know.
Attached Files
File Type: zip .i1p_321118.zip (7.9 KB, 48 views)
vega509 is offline  
post #1480 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

Zoyd ,found a bug with latest build.

When using HDTV709 75% in preference and you try clicking on any of your greyscale ire run,instead of showing the RGB bars and bullseye ,it only shows a yellow bar with the word luminance.

Now when I switch back to HDTV709 regular.The RGB bars and bullseye show up just fine.Thanks.

got it, thanks. will be fixed in next build later today.
zoyd is offline  
post #1481 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 08:20 AM
Member
 
satsok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

You need to find the datacolor driver (dll) for this probe and put it into the HCFR directory, I'm not sure where this driver can be obtained from but one of the spyder3express install packages should install one.


edit: CVSpyder.dll from c:\Program Files\Datacolor\Spyder3Express\Support is the file you want.

Hello once again and thank you for replying, i downloaded spyder3express because my spyder 3 didn't have a support file in it. i copied CVSpyder.dll to my hcfr directory (downloaded from http://sourceforge.net/projects/zoyd000.u/files/downloads/) and i have the same errors, the first one occurs when i press file> then select DVD manual, i press Next and then "Incorrect Driver - Starting communications with the meter failed with severe error.Argyll Error". I click ok,then select Spyder 3 and press finish. Then after i press the run button i get " Spyder3.dll returned an error during initialization", i press ok on this one and then get another one "Error during sensor Initialisation". I thought i should move the spyder3.dll and CVSpyder.dll to the drivers folder of the hcfr install directory but that didn't work either.
satsok is offline  
post #1482 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Install spyder3express and make sure the probe works with that software. As part of that install you should follow directions to install the probe drivers. Then try HCFR again.
zoyd is offline  
post #1483 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Zoyd or anyone,

I calibrated my Panny GT30 with the default ITU/1886 setting (2.22) in advance preference and when I check my gamma Y readings compared to the gamma,saturation excel spreadsheet it shows that my gamma is low.

But then when I click the "Dispaly gamma" in advance and compare with the excel spreadsheet it is Spot on.

Also, if I click "Dispay Gamma with black compensation" it requires me to click down one notch on the the brightness control to line up perfectly with the excel spread sheet.

So my question is, which one do I set as my preference and trust to set my gamma.?

Thanks amigo's...smile.gif

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1484 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
I assume you mean my GCD spreadsheet right? The Y target values in the spreadsheet are calculated using the exact, non-rounded stimulus levels of the patterns and will be slightly different than what HCFR calculates based on integer values. Typical differences for 10%-90% levels are:

0.81% 0.92% 0.96% 0.99% 1.01% -0.69% -0.44% -0.26% -0.12%

The maximum error at 50% stimulus in gamma is 0.02 so these can be ignored, so just use what HCFR is telling you.
zoyd is offline  
post #1485 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I assume you mean my GCD spreadsheet right? The Y target values in the spreadsheet are calculated using the exact, non-rounded stimulus levels of the patterns and will be slightly different than what HCFR calculates based on integer values. Typical differences for 10%-90% levels are:

0.81% 0.92% 0.96% 0.99% 1.01% -0.69% -0.44% -0.26% -0.12%

The maximum error at 50% stimulus in gamma is 0.02 so these can be ignored, so just use what HCFR is telling you.

Nope,the other excel with saturation,gamut,brightness.

I just wasn't sure if I needed to change me preset to display gamma rather than the default ITU/886.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1486 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

Nope,the other excel with saturation,gamut,brightness.

I just wasn't sure if I needed to change me preset to display gamma rather than the default ITU/886.

If you want to calibrate to BT.1886 targets, set it to BT.1886. If you want to calibrate to a flat display gamma, set it to display gamma. simple as that.
zoyd is offline  
post #1487 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Uploaded a new build:

-fixed issue to prevent going into target mode (RGB balance changes to luminance) on the grayscale page
-added an average dE display in the measurements title bar
zoyd is offline  
post #1488 of 11722 Old 02-19-2013, 10:56 PM
Member
 
alamagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post

Zoyd or anyone,

I calibrated my Panny GT30 with the default ITU/1886 setting (2.22) in advance preference and...

Is 2.22 the default (I mean the desirable) setting for ITU/1886 or just a personal prefered setting as it can be 2.3 or 2.4?
alamagar is offline  
post #1489 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Quote:
Originally Posted by alamagar View Post

Is 2.22 the default (I mean the desirable) setting for ITU/1886 or just a personal prefered setting as it can be 2.3 or 2.4?

BT.1886 does not have a single gamma value like the other options so it doesn't matter what you enter into the box, I will grey that out in a future version. If you choose this option the value of gamma is a little different at each stimulus level and it's calculated automatically based on your white and black level measurements.
zoyd is offline  
post #1490 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 05:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Uploaded a new build:

-fixed issue to prevent going into target mode (RGB balance changes to luminance) on the grayscale page
-added an average dE display in the measurements title bar

Thanks Zoyd..

Adding the average dE display in the measurement title bar was a great addition.I use to pull out the trusty calculator to figure this out..Thanks again for all your effort.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1491 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 07:45 AM
Member
 
alamagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

BT.1886 does not have a single gamma value like the other options so it doesn't matter what you enter into the box, I will grey that out in a future version. If you choose this option the value of gamma is a little different at each stimulus level and it's calculated automatically based on your white and black level measurements.
Thank you zoyd, I had seen it what you explain but the question that arises is that I can influence my white and black level measurements (0% and 100%) with gamma controls of my display and then the gamma value for each stimulus is different. For instance I had a Mitsu HC7000 projector with 3 controls for gamma (High, Medium, Low) and for each RGB Color. If I lower (or upper) my gamma control for Low range in order to achieve the calculated gamma for 10% and 20% stimulus I'm also affecting 0% stimulus, and I'm changing the calculated gamma at the same time.
What I mean is that white and black levels are not absolute values. Is that true?
alamagar is offline  
post #1492 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
Well, I think you should choose a fixed white level to target and then adjust contrast to hit that target whenever you change the gamma control. That will define an absolute peak white for you at whatever level your room and viewing comfort dictate. On the low end you should always try to minimize 0% stimulus as far as possible for best contrast. Probably a BT.1886 curve can only be nicely matched using a 10pt gamma control and if you don't have that you'll have to find a compromise.
zoyd is offline  
post #1493 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Zoyd,forgive my ignorance....If I just want to achieve a flat gamma since I only have a 2pt adjustment,do I choose display gamma or display gamma with black compensation in preference..Thanks

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1494 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
You can't adjust the shape of the gamma curve with a 2-pt. control. You can pick different fitting functions but that's not changing your gamma, that's just changing how it is plotted. In your case, without a 10 pt. control, I would set it on display gamma and choose whatever gamma preset (low, mid, high etc, if you have them) gives an average gamma equal to your target gamma number, between 2.2 - 2.4
zoyd is offline  
post #1495 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 09:28 AM
Member
 
satsok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Install spyder3express and make sure the probe works with that software. As part of that install you should follow directions to install the probe drivers. Then try HCFR again.

Thank you very much i re-installed hcfr and spyder 3,copied spyder3.dll to the hcfr install directory and now everything works fine.
satsok is offline  
post #1496 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

You can't adjust the shape of the gamma curve with a 2-pt. control. You can pick different fitting functions but that's not changing your gamma, that's just changing how it is plotted. In your case, without a 10 pt. control, I would set it on display gamma and choose whatever gamma preset (low, mid, high etc, if you have them) gives an average gamma equal to your target gamma number, between 2.2 - 2.4

Great...Thank you.smile.gif

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #1497 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jestered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10k View Post

Any chance someone in here with an LED TV (like Samsung ES8000) could create a spectral sample and compare against the default LED sample?

+1 That would be so helpful if I could get my hands on a spectral sample from the ES8000!
10k and sympathetik like this.

__________
LG OLED65E6P * Marantz AVR SR6010 (Sur. x4/FHL/FHR) * Adcom GFA7000 Amp (FL/C/FR) * Polk RTiA7 (FL/FR) * Polk CSiA5 (C) * Polk FXiA6 (Sur. x4) * Polk RTiA3 (FHL/FHR) * SVS PB-1000 (SW) * URC MX-5000 Remote *
UPDATED: 04/05/2013 - My Colormunki/HCFR calibrated settings for 65" ES8000
Jestered is offline  
post #1498 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by satsok View Post

Thank you very much i re-installed hcfr and spyder 3,copied spyder3.dll to the hcfr install directory and now everything works fine.

I read that you need old version of spyder3.dll (from spyder3expres 3.0.1 or older) to get it work with HCFR, seems that you have it and I can´t find it, so please could you upload it (just that spyder3.dll file) ?
I don´t need that but few others would be grateful to get Spyder3 work with HCFR.
Make73 is offline  
post #1499 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Note that ArgyllCMS drivers support the Spyder instruments (Spyder 2/3/4) without needing spyder3.dll

Author of ArgyllCMS and ArgyllPRO ColorMeter
gwgill is online now  
post #1500 of 11722 Old 02-20-2013, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 148 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1783 Post(s)
Liked: 1348
zoyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off