CalMan 5 Release Notes and Discussion - Page 168 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1872Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5011 of 6789 Old 12-04-2018, 11:38 AM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
If I understand you correctly, this is a topic which was discussed some time ago. The only part of CalMAN that allows simultaneous (actually rapidly alternating) use of two meters is the meter profiler, which is a separate app not doing graphing or plotting of charts during the process. CalMAN workflows don't allow that type of meter use, which is why Ted couldn't set it up for his custom workflow. In fact, I don't know of any current calibration software that does allow connection to multiple meters during actual measurement. You can only connect to one meter at a time.
Yeah understand that. But lets say the verification happens within the profiling app. Profile the meter, then calman starts a new window, reads a new set and calculates the difference automatically - then you can say if you are satisfied with the results or not. That would be the perfec solution - no need for another different workflow.

I would be happy to use TEDs workflow, just with the option to read with 2 meters at the same time. But I see whats the poblem here... at this moment not possible with the design mode. A lot of special requests here..

KUDOS to TED who is praising this since ages. Verifying the profile is really important! Thanks TED!
dlj11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5012 of 6789 Old 12-04-2018, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
Yeah understand that. But lets say the verification happens within the profiling app. Profile the meter, then calman starts a new window, reads a new set and calculates the difference automatically - then you can say if you are satisfied with the results or not. That would be the perfec solution - no need for another different workflow.

I would be happy to use TEDs workflow, just with the option to read with 2 meters at the same time. But I see whats the poblem here... at this moment not possible with the design mode. A lot of special requests here..

KUDOS to TED who is praising this since ages. Verifying the profile is really important! Thanks TED!
Since no one is currently doing this, not even LightSpace, which is an extremely powerful free-form calibration program that has its roots in the professional video production world, my guess is that it won't be easy to do. In the thread that initially discussed this several months ago, another forum member postulated that it might be because of I/O limitations.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 12-04-2018 at 02:28 PM.
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #5013 of 6789 Old 12-04-2018, 10:48 PM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I dont get that, cause when it is possible to take simoultaneous readings while profiling - why shouldnt it be possible for verification?? It can be in the same app, the same procedure. You literally do the same like profiling (take readings of WRGB and calculate), just with the applied profile to your colorimeter after the profiling. To do some basic maths is also not the problem, I mean theyre color scientists - arent they?
This feature would be a killer feature, just imagine how much less bad profiles would be used. This would be a big step up to the competitors, as like you say nobody has this feature.

I dont know, maybe I am too enthusiastic about this - but when you understand how important this is, I bet you would agree with me (maybe you already do )
jrref, BlackJoker and mrtickleuk like this.
dlj11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5014 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,240
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4282 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
I dont get that, cause when it is possible to take simoultaneous readings while profiling - why shouldnt it be possible for verification?? It can be in the same app, the same procedure. You literally do the same like profiling (take readings of WRGB and calculate), just with the applied profile to your colorimeter after the profiling. To do some basic maths is also not the problem, I mean theyre color scientists - arent they?
This feature would be a killer feature, just imagine how much less bad profiles would be used. This would be a big step up to the competitors, as like you say nobody has this feature.

I dont know, maybe I am too enthusiastic about this - but when you understand how important this is, I bet you would agree with me (maybe you already do )
You hit the nail on the "head". The feature would probably have to be built into the profiling application. You are correct. If it can read both meters for profiling it should be able to do the same for verification. I think the problem is early on, not many were verifying profiles. They just ran it and assumed it was good. Now that we have Ted's verification workflow, and there are a lot more aware users, it's something that would be extremely useful and would improve the product greatly.

In the time being, best to use Ted's workflow and do a best effort verification. When the profile is off it's easy to spot.

Edit: Mike you are right. I forgot Chromasurf does the verification as a final step. My comment was more generalized meaning not specifically for the folks using a Klein and Chromasurf but also for everyone else using C6's, i1D3, etc where they would use the CM profiler.
dlj11 likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified

Last edited by jrref; 12-05-2018 at 05:03 AM.
jrref is online now  
post #5015 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 04:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
I mean theyre color scientists - arent they?
SC ? No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
This feature would be a killer feature, just imagine how much less bad profiles would be used. This would be a big step up to the competitors, as like you say nobody has this feature.
Klein's Chromasurf does that for years, it's absolutely nothing new. It's just proper procedure.

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #5016 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 05:24 AM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
SC ? No.



Klein's Chromasurf does that for years, it's absolutely nothing new. It's just proper procedure.
A multimillion dollar company with hollywood post production houses as clients has no colorscientist?? Strange...

Yeah Chromasurf is for KLEIN meters AFAIK and you can store the profiles into the hardware itself. For 99% of the enthusiasts useless as we dont have meters in this pricerange
But if CalMan had this feature many different types of meters can be used, no other enthusiast software has this feature.
dlj11 is offline  
post #5017 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
A multimillion dollar company with hollywood post production houses as clients has no colorscientist?? Strange...

Yeah Chromasurf is for KLEIN meters AFAIK and you can store the profiles into the hardware itself. For 99% of the enthusiasts useless as we dont have meters in this pricerange
But if CalMan had this feature many different types of meters can be used, no other enthusiast software has this feature.
I will have to assume you just started using this software...

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: CR-250, Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #5018 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 06:17 AM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post
I will have to assume you just started using this software...
Not really, using it for about 6-7 years. My response to the colorscientist was meant a little bit sarcastic Maybe I should have put a smiley behind it
Iron Mike likes this.
dlj11 is offline  
post #5019 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,687
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1369 Post(s)
Liked: 2023
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
I dont get that, cause when it is possible to take simoultaneous readings while profiling - why shouldnt it be possible for verification?? It can be in the same app, the same procedure. You literally do the same like profiling (take readings of WRGB and calculate), just with the applied profile to your colorimeter after the profiling. To do some basic maths is also not the problem, I mean theyre color scientists - arent they?

This feature would be a killer feature, just imagine how much less bad profiles would be used. This would be a big step up to the competitors, as like you say nobody has this feature.



I dont know, maybe I am too enthusiastic about this - but when you understand how important this is, I bet you would agree with me (maybe you already do )


I will request this as a feature. And we do have a color scientist from RIT.
jrref and mrtickleuk like this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #5020 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 07:32 AM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Sounds very good if this happens, but I realized I would have to pay 2 or 3 annual fees to get this feature (if it comes) cause I would need a new version
dlj11 is offline  
post #5021 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
Sounds very good if this happens, but I realized I would have to pay 2 or 3 annual fees to get this feature (if it comes) cause I would need a new version
As the old adage says, "Be careful what you wish for"...

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #5022 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,480
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
Sounds very good if this happens, but I realized I would have to pay 2 or 3 annual fees to get this feature (if it comes) cause I would need a new version
Is that how the annual fees work (how much is it for Enthusiast btw?) - if you miss say 3yrs you have to pay for 3yrs to "catch up"?

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #5023 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Is that how the annual fees work (how much is it for Enthusiast btw?) - if you miss say 3yrs you have to pay for 3yrs to "catch up"?
$69/yr for Enthusiast (https://store.portrait.com/all-access.html).
mrtickleuk likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #5024 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 11:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Is that how the annual fees work (how much is it for Enthusiast btw?) - if you miss say 3yrs you have to pay for 3yrs to "catch up"?
I believe you do have to play catch up.... @WiFi-Spy will know better.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #5025 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
You may get to a point that it's cheaper just to buy a new licence if things go too long.
shoman94 likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #5026 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,480
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Thankyou. Seems perfectly reasonable at the moment.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #5027 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,017
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 891
Hello, wondering if something changed and I didn’t know in regards to calibration. When select 2.4 Power gamma on OLED it gives me straight 2.4 but when I select 2.4 on an IPS LED is does 2.4 but targets a lower gamma in the 5%-10% range. Is this normal?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #5028 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2647 Post(s)
Liked: 1577
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Hello, wondering if something changed and I didn’t know in regards to calibration. When select 2.4 Power gamma on OLED it gives me straight 2.4 but when I select 2.4 on an IPS LED is does 2.4 but targets a lower gamma in the 5%-10% range. Is this normal?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes that is normal.
skschatzman is online now  
post #5029 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Hello, wondering if something changed and I didn’t know in regards to calibration. When select 2.4 Power gamma on OLED it gives me straight 2.4 but when I select 2.4 on an IPS LED is does 2.4 but targets a lower gamma in the 5%-10% range. Is this normal?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's because IPS LED TVs don't go to black like OLED.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Rolls-Royce likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #5030 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 08:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,017
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1545 Post(s)
Liked: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That's because IPS LED TVs don't go to black like OLED.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk


I know that, but I guess I thought 2.2 and 2.4 were the same across all steps no matter what and didn’t account for the black level. I thought BT.1886 used the black level and that changed depending on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is offline  
post #5031 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 08:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
I know that, but I guess I thought 2.2 and 2.4 were the same across all steps no matter what and didn’t account for the black level. I thought BT.1886 used the black level and that changed depending on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's drops because it doesn't get black and yes bt1886 uses the black level to create a curve.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Rolls-Royce likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #5032 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 189
I am currently running CalMAN Home Enthusiast version 5.9.1.76. Now that my Z9D has been upgraded to Oreo, do I need to upgrade CalMAN in order to use the CalMAN for Bravia app on my tv? When I check for a newer version of CalMAN it says the version I am running is current.


Thanks for the help.

Spoiler!

Last edited by RetiredandLovingIt; 12-05-2018 at 09:49 PM.
RetiredandLovingIt is online now  
post #5033 of 6789 Old 12-05-2018, 11:47 PM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
As the old adage says, "Be careful what you wish for"...
Yeah, if this feature comes it does not look good for me But at least other enthusiasts can have it, would be satisfied enough with this... (IF this feature will be included)
At the moment I dont want pay for the annual fees. It is WAY to much money, this new annual fee system is really really f**** up. Lets say this feature comes, and I would have to pay 69$ (like it was before the new owner took over) - I would be perfectly happy with this.
dlj11 is offline  
post #5034 of 6789 Old 12-06-2018, 01:14 AM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I played with the Sony Bravia autocal for my A1E using CM Home Ent. Sony 800x BP as a manual generator and Mascior calibration disc...


It does a autocal for brightness but when I try autocal for greyscale/gamma it ask for patterns in 105,92,83% values and I don't see these patterns on mascior disc (older hd ver)….Anybody what these percentages mean and what disc or usb dl I could find these so I can do a 10pt autocal….Thanks

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is offline  
post #5035 of 6789 Old 12-06-2018, 01:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredandLovingIt View Post
I am currently running CalMAN Home Enthusiast version 5.9.1.76. Now that my Z9D has been upgraded to Oreo, do I need to upgrade CalMAN in order to use the CalMAN for Bravia app on my tv? When I check for a newer version of CalMAN it says the version I am running is current.


Thanks for the help.
Go into the Spectracal forums and the beta is posted in there. Bravia AutoCAL is still in beta.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
RetiredandLovingIt likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #5036 of 6789 Old 12-06-2018, 01:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
I played with the Sony Bravia autocal for my A1E using CM Home Ent. Sony 800x BP as a manual generator and Mascior calibration disc...


It does a autocal for brightness but when I try autocal for greyscale/gamma it ask for patterns in 105,92,83% values and I don't see these patterns on mascior disc (older hd ver)….Anybody what these percentages mean and what disc or usb dl I could find these so I can do a 10pt autocal….Thanks
You either have to use a external pattern generator or a laptop/PC with an Intel or GeForce video card connected to the TV. I don't think any discs support AutoCAL or even the % patterns used.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
camacho8 and jrref like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #5037 of 6789 Old 12-06-2018, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,240
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4282 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
You either have to use a external pattern generator or a laptop/PC with an Intel or GeForce video card connected to the TV. I don't think any discs support AutoCAL or even the % patterns used.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
There is a way to use autocal with disk patterns but it's slow and tedious and as Shoman stated, you won't have the right patterns for autocal.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #5038 of 6789 Old 12-07-2018, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,169
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5048 Post(s)
Liked: 3574
Deleted
jrref and mrtickleuk like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 12-07-2018 at 02:15 PM.
shoman94 is offline  
post #5039 of 6789 Old 12-09-2018, 05:49 AM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Greetings,

I have a new retail i1d3 meter for my Calman Home Enth. software has the Oled meter mode edr been updated to White Oled since xrite was using rgb oled table or do I chose raw mode (non refresh)….Thanks

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-X800M2/4K Firestick
camacho8 is offline  
post #5040 of 6789 Old 12-09-2018, 11:18 AM
Member
 
cobhc2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by camacho8 View Post
Greetings,

I have a new retail i1d3 meter for my Calman Home Enth. software has the Oled meter mode edr been updated to White Oled since xrite was using rgb oled table or do I chose raw mode (non refresh)….Thanks
The advice has been to choose the White LED profile. I'm sure Tyler said that is the closest spectral distribution.
WiFi-Spy likes this.

Display - LG OLED55C8
Speakers - Dali Zensor 3 (Front), Zensor Vokal, Zensor 1 (Surrounds), Alteco C-1 (Atmos) w/SVS PC-2000
Receiver & Misc - Denon AVR-X2200W, Philips Hue, Harmony Elite, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Nvidia Shield, Anti-Mode 8033 Cinema, i1 Display Pro
cobhc2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off