CalMan 5 Release Notes and Discussion - Page 205 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1961Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6121 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 06:46 AM
Member
 
stama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I have two questions as well:
1. The Calman Home announcement stated it was going to be released in April. Is this still the plan?
2. Will I be able to use the new Calman Home to make a 3D LUT to use my LG OLED TV as a PC display - that is, make a full range RGB calibration?
stama is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6122 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 1256
Quote:
Originally Posted by stama View Post
I have two questions as well:
1. The Calman Home announcement stated it was going to be released in April. Is this still the plan?
2. Will I be able to use the new Calman Home to make a 3D LUT to use my LG OLED TV as a PC display - that is, make a full range RGB calibration?
AFAIK, none of the upcoming Home versions will have 3D LUT capability.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #6123 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,



if the new Home versions are not coming out I'm considering to buy an All Access for my old CalMAN Ultimate license. Is Ultimate capable of auto-calibrating all the compatible-TV's on the market? I mean, does it feature LG, Panasonic, Sony and Samsung auto-calibration procedures?


Thank you!
Gianluca
Gianluca Vignini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6124 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,509
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4535 Post(s)
Liked: 5533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianluca Vignini View Post
Hi,



if the new Home versions are not coming out I'm considering to buy an All Access for my old CalMAN Ultimate license. Is Ultimate capable of auto-calibrating all the compatible-TV's on the market? I mean, does it feature LG, Panasonic, Sony and Samsung auto-calibration procedures?


Thank you!
Gianluca
Yes

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #6125 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 600
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 204
@WiFi-Spy Hi Tyler, I had to buy a new laptop so I first deactivated the license to the the old computer and then tried to make the activation on the new pc but got an error saying the license is no longer valid or a duplicate. I sent an email already with all the infos. Thank you.

Video: LG OLED 55 B7v | Calibration: i1D3 OEM, Calman Enthusiast.
Audio: Yamaha RX-V585, Polk s15e, Polk s10e, Polk s35ce, Klipsch N12 SW.
MrRobotoPlus is online now  
post #6126 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 11:15 AM
Member
 
stama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
AFAIK, none of the upcoming Home versions will have 3D LUT capability.
But, the autocal capability for LG OLED TVs means they are going to generate a 1D and a 3D LUT and upload it to the TV, right? That's the 3D LUT capability I am interested in.
stama is offline  
post #6127 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,441
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3855 Post(s)
Liked: 3812
Quote:
Originally Posted by stama View Post
But, the autocal capability for LG OLED TVs means they are going to generate a 1D and a 3D LUT and upload it to the TV, right? That's the 3D LUT capability I am interested in.


Yes the new home version supports lg autocal . The new version will not support 3dluts with external lut devices.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rolls-Royce likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is online now  
post #6128 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 1256
Quote:
Originally Posted by stama View Post
But, the autocal capability for LG OLED TVs means they are going to generate a 1D and a 3D LUT and upload it to the TV, right? That's the 3D LUT capability I am interested in.
When you specifically mentioned use with a PC, I immediately thought of madVR. And not all LG OLEDs have 3D LUTs that can be calibrated.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #6129 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1600 Post(s)
Liked: 2188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
AFAIK, none of the upcoming Home versions will have 3D LUT capability.


CalMAN Home will support 3D look up table capability for LG and any future MFGs that support 3D LUT in their displays and have CalMAN integration.
RichB likes this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #6130 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1600 Post(s)
Liked: 2188
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
@WiFi-Spy Hi Tyler, I had to buy a new laptop so I first deactivated the license to the the old computer and then tried to make the activation on the new pc but got an error saying the license is no longer valid or a duplicate. I sent an email already with all the infos. Thank you.


Even though it’s Sunday, I can take care of this for you
AnotherDude, Jon65 and mrtickleuk like this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #6131 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,312
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5046 Post(s)
Liked: 7367
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Even though it’s Sunday, I can take care of this for you
What a star . It's Monday here

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #6132 of 7045 Old 04-28-2019, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 1256
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
CalMAN Home will support 3D look up table capability for LG and any future MFGs that support 3D LUT in their displays and have CalMAN integration.
Sorry. I meant external 3D LUT, as I believed that's what the OP was referring to...

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #6133 of 7045 Old 04-29-2019, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 644
From the Samsung Q9FN owner's thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
CAL-DAY and Night are not appropriate for HDR. I recommend using them for SDR day/night and then use Movie for HDR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
My Cal Day / Night settings switch to HDR in Cal mode with HDR content in my HDMI input.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
But if you measure them, the accuracy is nowhere near where it should be as compared to movie mode.
I tried Cal Day, Night and Movie modes set to the same HDR settings and they all looked the same using the Fifth Element UHD disc. I didn't mess with the custom settings. Are you refering to calibrating the custom settings then Cal Day & Night will not be as accurate as Movie mode?

If so, will CalMAN 2019 correct this?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v21.0.0 - 10/26/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6134 of 7045 Old 04-29-2019, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1600 Post(s)
Liked: 2188
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
From the Samsung Q9FN owner's thread:















I tried Cal Day, Night and Movie modes set to the same HDR settings and they all looked the same using the Fifth Element UHD disc. I didn't mess with the custom settings. Are you refering to calibrating the custom settings then Cal Day & Night will not be as accurate as Movie mode?



If so, will CalMAN 2019 correct this?


Cal Day and Cal night a not appropriate for HDR. I am referring to HDR calibration using those presets.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #6135 of 7045 Old 04-29-2019, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Cal Day and Cal night a not appropriate for HDR. I am referring to HDR calibration using those presets.
Thanks, Tyler. I take it then you mean the pre-calibration settings for HDR in the Cal modes need to be optimized to get a proper calibration, or that you can't get a proper calibration no matter what? And is that also true with the latest 1251 firmware?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v21.0.0 - 10/26/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6136 of 7045 Old 04-29-2019, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,878
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1600 Post(s)
Liked: 2188
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Thanks, Tyler. I take it then you mean the pre-calibration settings for HDR in the Cal modes need to be optimized to get a proper calibration, or that you can't get a proper calibration no matter what? And is that also true with the latest 1251 firmware?


What I am saying is the CAL day/night modes have existed in Samsung TVs long before HDR existed and they do not behave correctly when you try to calibrate them for HDR. Unlike the Movie HDR mode.

That is why I say they are not appropriate for HDR.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #6137 of 7045 Old 04-29-2019, 04:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
What I am saying is the CAL day/night modes have existed in Samsung TVs long before HDR existed and they do not behave correctly when you try to calibrate them for HDR. Unlike the Movie HDR mode.

That is why I say they are not appropriate for HDR.
Ahh! That's clear now. Thanks Tyler!

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v21.0.0 - 10/26/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6138 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Anybody else suddenly getting intrusion attempts when visiting store.portrait.com? Norton reporting Web Attack: Formjacking Website 2 from routingzen.com.
thoth is offline  
post #6139 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
Anybody else suddenly getting intrusion attempts when visiting store.portrait.com? Norton reporting Web Attack: Formjacking Website 2 from routingzen.com.
My Norton reported the same thing.

--Carl
calentz is offline  
post #6140 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1169 Post(s)
Liked: 1256
Neither McAfee nor Malwarebytes (paid) is reporting this on my system. I just visited the site with no issues.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #6141 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,468
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1033 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Nothing with Kaspersky either.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v21.0.0 - 10/26/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #6142 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,202
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4009 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
My Norton reported the same thing.
Known as a false positive. Norton messed up in it's database.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #6143 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1655
Having an issue and I'm unsure if this is with Calman or my TV.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/showt...php?p=57977046

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
skschatzman is offline  
post #6144 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 11:02 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,010
Mentioned: 402 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11409 Post(s)
Liked: 6753
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Known as a false positive. Norton messed up in it's database.
I get an alert as well. How sure can you be that it is a false positive?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Norton Alert.PNG
Views:	36
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	2560492  
AustinJerry is offline  
post #6145 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,202
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4009 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I get an alert as well. How sure can you be that it is a false positive?
I use ESET Nod32 antivirus that is pretty picky these days, and had no issues going to the following URL:

https://store.portrait.com/

Note: Got no where clicking on the thumbnail.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #6146 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Dark-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by stama View Post
I have two questions as well:
1. The Calman Home announcement stated it was going to be released in April. Is this still the plan?
I had emailed Portrait Displays about a license renewal just yesterday and the response I received was that Calman Home would be released possibly today(Tuesday) or tomorrow.

Guess we'll see. I ordered an X-Rite Display 1 Pro to do a new calibration on my VT60.
stama likes this.

Emotiva + Energy = Love
Dark-007 is offline  
post #6147 of 7045 Old 04-30-2019, 03:35 PM
Member
 
stama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 43
@Rolls-Royce , I am interested in the ability to create and upload 1D & 3D LUTs in the TV.

That's because uploading LUTs in the TV for calibration is better than using a 3D LUT just for madVR. A LUT in the TV is able to correct the color reproduction for both computer content & for movie content, while a 3D LUT in madVR only corrects the content displayed in the video player window that uses madVR as renderer.

I am interested in knowing if it's possible to calibrate for full range RGB signals, not just video-level ones in Calman Home. That would be my main interest in fact, as I'm not using the PC only as a HTPC.

Last edited by stama; 04-30-2019 at 03:42 PM.
stama is offline  
post #6148 of 7045 Old 05-01-2019, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Now the store.portrait.com cert has expired on top of it. Tsk tsk.
thoth is offline  
post #6149 of 7045 Old 05-01-2019, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Dark-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I really like AutoCal, but this is making me want to install HCFR and do it manually.
Dark-007 is offline  
post #6150 of 7045 Old 05-01-2019, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark-007 View Post
I really like AutoCal, but this is making me want to install HCFR and do it manually.
I'm confused. If you already own Calman, then why in the world would you switch h to HCFR? Especially for manual calibration.
Just because the license is expired doesn't mean you can't use it. It only means you miss out on any new updates/features released after your expiration date and as of right now there is no reason to worry about updating. At least until a breaking change that requires you to.
p5browne likes this.
skschatzman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off