CalMan 5 Release Notes and Discussion - Page 240 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2060Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7171 of 7204 Old 12-21-2019, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
I figure I'm clipping highlights, as displayed by the S&M UHD 1000 nit demo.
Then I'd say you have some other cause, as 1000 nits is ~75.2%.
thoth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7172 of 7204 Old 12-21-2019, 11:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
Then I'd say you have some other cause, as 1000 nits is ~75.2%.
Yep, I needed to raise the VF Pro's Max Mastering Display Lumin from 1000 to 10,000 to get the top gray levels.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7173 of 7204 Old 12-22-2019, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Yep, I needed to raise the VF Pro's Max Mastering Display Lumin from 1000 to 10,000 to get the top gray levels.
Yes, with my Q90R, setting Max MDL alone to 10000 forces the same tone mapping as setting both Max MDL and MaxCLL to 10000. (I can't say how Samsung justifies that, as Max MDL seems irrelevant as long as it's >= MaxCLL.) With that tone mapping, luminance starts dropping off at ~50%. I suppose that metadata might match the S&M 1000 nit clip, since it's mechanically derived from the 10000 nit clip, but I doubt it matches any other commercial content, since AFAIK the highest mastering display today is only 4000 nits. So I wouldn't choose to calibrate with that metadata.
thoth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7174 of 7204 Old 12-22-2019, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
Yes, with my Q90R, setting Max MDL alone to 10000 forces the same tone mapping as setting both Max MDL and MaxCLL to 10000. (I can't say how Samsung justifies that, as Max MDL seems irrelevant as long as it's >= MaxCLL.) With that tone mapping, luminance starts dropping off at ~50%. I suppose that metadata might match the S&M 1000 nit clip, since it's mechanically derived from the 10000 nit clip, but I doubt it matches any other commercial content, since AFAIK the highest mastering display today is only 4000 nits. So I wouldn't choose to calibrate with that metadata.
Well, things look much better with MaxMDL set to 10000, even the 2000 & 4000 demos. Go figure.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019

Last edited by AnotherDude; 12-22-2019 at 10:54 AM. Reason: Vision alert ...
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7175 of 7204 Old 12-22-2019, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Well, things look much better with MaxMDL set to 100000, even the 2000 & 4000 demos. Go figure.
Wow. 100K? That's bright!

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #7176 of 7204 Old 12-22-2019, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Wow. 100K? That's bright!
I did have to use the special sunglasses, but it was beautiful ...
Rolls-Royce likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7177 of 7204 Old 12-26-2019, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 28
so again, I know this was mentioned as being display specific for particular brands, but under the new update there is an option listed for 3dlut with calman home for sony, but I can't find it anywhere in the program itself.
toby5 is offline  
post #7178 of 7204 Old 12-26-2019, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
R3 is out ...
shoman94 likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7179 of 7204 Old 12-27-2019, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
I did a nice SDR 100 nit calibration, no problems. I have found that having hidden DDC panels waiting to be made visible tends to garble up a layout at times. There's such a thing as too much cleverness ... The selective DDC control display works great to show two or three key settings to adjust, though.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7180 of 7204 Old 12-27-2019, 01:58 PM
Newbie
 
netcivilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Calman 5.9 Home Enthusiast. I want to upgrade to 5.10.2 (2019 R3). I see that the Dolby Vision Custom Workflow used to calibrate DV on 2017 LG OLEDs have been removed and now considered legacy (https://kb.portrait.com/help/calman-legacy-assets). I still have the C7 and want to calibrate DV using that workflow. Can I add that workflow back to 5.10.2 Home Enthusiast after I upgrade?
netcivilian is offline  
post #7181 of 7204 Old 12-27-2019, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,790
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5397 Post(s)
Liked: 7795
This was a labour of love and I didn't manage to finish it for Wednesday but it's still the holidays for some, so I wasn't going to sit on it for a full year!



Thanks to you all for your help and being such a great community.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #7182 of 7204 Old 12-27-2019, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,597
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5333 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
This was a labour of love and I didn't manage to finish it for Wednesday but it's still the holidays for some, so I wasn't going to sit on it for a full year!







Thanks to you all for your help and being such a great community.
That's awesome

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
mrtickleuk likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7183 of 7204 Old 12-27-2019, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
This was a labour of love and I didn't manage to finish it for Wednesday but it's still the holidays for some, so I wasn't going to sit on it for a full year!

Spoiler!


Thanks to you all for your help and being such a great community.
Bah ... Humbug! In the nicest sense of course. ... Hum for no Bugs

Still working on my MRD ...
mrtickleuk likes this.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7184 of 7204 Old 12-28-2019, 07:55 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,507
Mentioned: 427 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11801 Post(s)
Liked: 7000
I am running CalMAN Home Enthusiast 2019 (ver 5.10.1.113). I have received a notice of the availability of 2019 R3, yet when I click on "Check for Newer Version" in the app, it says "You are running the latest version". Checking on the web site, it seems as if 2019 R3 indeed applies to Home Enthusiast. Which is correct?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #7185 of 7204 Old 12-28-2019, 08:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,790
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5397 Post(s)
Liked: 7795
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I am running CalMAN Home Enthusiast 2019 (ver 5.10.1.113). I have received a notice of the availability of 2019 R3, yet when I click on "Check for Newer Version" in the app, it says "You are running the latest version". Checking on the web site, it seems as if 2019 R3 indeed applies to Home Enthusiast. Which is correct?
The website. If you download 2019 R3, Home Enthusiast version, from the website, it will let you install it as long as your "all access" licence is up to date. (If it's not it won't, perhaps that it why the check doesn't work, who knows).
It's v5.10.2.49.
AustinJerry likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #7186 of 7204 Old 12-28-2019, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
netcivilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@WiFi-Spy or can someone answer my question?

Quote:
I have Calman 5.9 Home Enthusiast. I want to upgrade to 5.10.2 (2019 R3). I see that the Dolby Vision Custom Workflow used to calibrate DV on 2017 LG OLEDs have been removed and now considered legacy (https://kb.portrait.com/help/calman-legacy-assets). I still have the C7 and want to calibrate DV using that workflow. Can I add that workflow back to 5.10.2 Home Enthusiast after I upgrade?
netcivilian is offline  
post #7187 of 7204 Old 01-04-2020, 09:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
MadVR support is broken in the last update (2019 R2). Here it hangs whenever you try to select a DCI-P3 LUT. The team are aware, you need to revert to the previous build (I'm using 2019 5.10.0.50 with no issues with madVR) or wait for a fix.
I've been trying to create a valid 3D LUT for MADVR in Calman Enthusiast, but all I get is a white screen when I load the created file. Looks like the issue wasn't fixed in the 2019 R3 update. Has someone been able to create a valid 3D Lut for MADVR with the new versions?
heldern is offline  
post #7188 of 7204 Old 01-05-2020, 03:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,448
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5723 Post(s)
Liked: 6138
Quote:
Originally Posted by heldern View Post
I've been trying to create a valid 3D LUT for MADVR in Calman Enthusiast, but all I get is a white screen when I load the created file. Looks like the issue wasn't fixed in the 2019 R3 update. Has someone been able to create a valid 3D Lut for MADVR with the new versions?
Unfortunately, although the freeze when selecting a non rec-709 3D LUT has been fixed in 2019 R3, this “all white” issue prevents from using R3 to create a 3D LUT for madVR. I was told this should be fixed in the next release, hopefully soon.

In the meantime, you still need to use the last pre-2019 R2 release (5.10.0.50) or earlier to generate a 3D LUT with madVR. You can download it from the Portrait Display download page. Select V5.10.0 from May 2019 in the legacy downloads for your version of Calman 2019. That’s still the one I go back to when I need to create a 3D LUT for madVR while waiting for the fix.
riddle, jrref, mrtickleuk and 1 others like this.

Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders
JVC Macro feature on Vertex/Vertex2/Integral2/Maestro

Last edited by Manni01; 01-05-2020 at 04:45 AM.
Manni01 is online now  
post #7189 of 7204 Old 01-05-2020, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
Unfortunately, although the freeze when selecting a non rec-709 3D LUT has been fixed in 2019 R3, this “all white” issue prevents from using R3 to create a 3D LUT for madVR. I was told this should be fixed in the next release, hopefully soon.

In the meantime, you still need to use the last pre-2019 R2 release (5.10.0.50) or earlier to generate a 3D LUT with madVR. You can download it from the Portrait Display download page. Select V5.10.0 from May 2019 in the legacy downloads for your version of Calman 2019. That’s still the one I go back to when I need to create a 3D LUT for madVR while waiting for the fix.
Thanks, Manni. I’ll try release 5.10.0.50.
heldern is offline  
post #7190 of 7204 Old 01-13-2020, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,073
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12864 Post(s)
Liked: 12231
Anyone know if the I1 Display Pro OEM with updated 2000nits version works with autocal? Hearing conflicting reports about that.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is online now  
post #7191 of 7204 Old 01-13-2020, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
D-Nice is offline  
post #7192 of 7204 Old 01-13-2020, 05:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Anyone know if the I1 Display Pro OEM with updated 2000nits version works with autocal? Hearing conflicting reports about that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
It does
Is this the X-Rite i1Display Pro Plus?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7193 of 7204 Old 01-13-2020, 07:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Is this the X-Rite i1Display Pro Plus?
Someone reported earlier that the Plus now works with CalMAN. But the question D-Nice answered was about the post-January-2017 OEM meters.
AnotherDude and shoman94 like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #7194 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi all,


I am a new member and also really new to calibration. I recently bought a i1 display pro plus and downloaded Calman Home and have it in evaluation mode.
When the app starts it sees the i1 display pro plus as a i1 display pro OEM version with its serial number beside it, but has it in red and the tab says "simulated"


Does this mean that if i purchase a license for the Home version, that it will recognize my meter properly and also work correctly ?


Thanks in advance for any one's help.
Nikos Fragoulis is offline  
post #7195 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos Fragoulis View Post
Hi all,


I am a new member and also really new to calibration. I recently bought a i1 display pro plus and downloaded Calman Home and have it in evaluation mode.
When the app starts it sees the i1 display pro plus as a i1 display pro OEM version with its serial number beside it, but has it in red and the tab says "simulated"


Does this mean that if i purchase a license for the Home version, that it will recognize my meter properly and also work correctly ?


Thanks in advance for any one's help.
Yes. CalMAN's "evaluation" mode will not access any real meters, pattern sources, or displays, so you cannot make any real measurements. It is simply to see what the program does and how it looks.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #7196 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Yes. CalMAN's "evaluation" mode will not access any real meters, pattern sources, or displays, so you cannot make any real measurements. It is simply to see what the program does and how it looks.

Thank you for your help.



If i purchase a license for Calman Home, do you think that my meter will work correctly ?

Official word from Calman support is that currently my meteris not still supported.
Nikos Fragoulis is offline  
post #7197 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Here are a couple of options that have been needling me:

- Use native gamma for gamut targets
- Saturation targets use constant luminance

When would you enable these? I finally remembered to ask ...

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7198 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,013
Mentioned: 245 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1724 Post(s)
Liked: 2317
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Here are a couple of options that have been needling me:



- Use native gamma for gamut targets

- Saturation targets use constant luminance



When would you enable these? I finally remembered to ask ...


- Use native gamma for gamut targets

This was back when TVs did not have gamma controls or multi point grayscale. It allowed you to see the CMS targets compared to the actual gamma of the TV and not the grandma of the calibration target.



- Saturation targets use constant luminance

Normally a saturation sweep gets brighter as it desaturate towards white. This setting makes CalMAN recalculate the RGB triplets needed for everything to maintain luminance of each point in the same color of the saturation sweep.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #7199 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1093 Post(s)
Liked: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
- Use native gamma for gamut targets
This was back when TVs did not have gamma controls or multi point grayscale. It allowed you to see the CMS targets compared to the actual gamma of the TV and not the grandma of the calibration target.

- Saturation targets use constant luminance
Normally a saturation sweep gets brighter as it desaturate towards white. This setting makes CalMAN recalculate the RGB triplets needed for everything to maintain luminance of each point in the same color of the saturation sweep.
Thanks so much, Tyler!

Edit: Does the constant luminance affect calibration, or only the interpretation?

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, Pioneer UDP-LX500, Outlaw 975, C6-HDR, VideoForge Pro
Win 10 Pro x64 1909
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v22.0.0 - 1/8/2020
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019

Last edited by AnotherDude; 01-19-2020 at 12:31 PM.
AnotherDude is offline  
post #7200 of 7204 Old 01-19-2020, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,790
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5397 Post(s)
Liked: 7795
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
Edit: Does the constant luminance affect calibration, or only the interpretation?
Well the saturation sweep charts, that the option affects, are measuring various points along the axis from fully saturated RGBCMY, towards white in the middle. Remember that when you see the full 3D model, such as here, that (for example), fully saturated blue is much dimmer than fully saturated yellow:

(because it's vertically lower down on the graphic; less luminance)

All those charts ever do is select which points to measure after you've done your calibration. You could measure anything within that volume. If you don't measure points where your TV or calibration has left a problem, you won't spot that problem. Calman measures saturation sweeps and luminance sweeps and various versions of "colour checker".

Setting the constant luminance would mean you are measuring a perfectly horizontal "slice" through the middle, instead of 6 lines at 6 different slopes from the 6 "fully saturated" points.

However, I'm conscious that I could be wrong about the explanation I've just given, so take it with a pinch of salt!
AnotherDude likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off