LightSpace 3D LUT Home Cinema Calibration Software - Page 45 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1032Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 12:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Please send (e-mail) me the profile used to make the LUT and the actual LUT that shows the banding in the Lumagen.
(I am surprised the Lumagen is the cause of the banding.)

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 01:07 AM
Senior Member
 
RobScreene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: England
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
LightSpace 3D LUT Home Cinema Calibration Software

I use a JVC X3 in Wide 2 mode, calibrated with a lightspace lut from about a year ago in a Lumagen 2021, no banding noted for blu-ray.

Except on some Netflix eposides for which i also notice some banking on our 4K Sony TV, so I'm pretty sure that is in the source material.
RobScreene is offline  
post #1323 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 03:48 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Please send (e-mail) me the profile used to make the LUT and the actual LUT that shows the banding in the Lumagen.
(I am surprised the Lumagen is the cause of the banding.)

Steve
I will do, but I'm certain the Lumagen is at least a contributing factor now.
If you turn off the 3D LUT completely in the Lumagen, reset the Lumagen CMS to default values and just change the blue primary co-ordinate in the 8point CMS from 64,64,940 to something like 64,250,940 the very same banding is visible as with the blue ramp. It looks like the cyclic banding happens as the slow introduction of green happens.

And if you modify the REC709 colourspace to have the same blue co-ordinate as the measured profile then then banding disappears with the LUT.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobScreene View Post
I use a JVC X3 in Wide 2 mode, calibrated with a lightspace lut from about a year ago in a Lumagen 2021, no banding noted for blu-ray.

Except on some Netflix eposides for which i also notice some banking on our 4K Sony TV, so I'm pretty sure that is in the source material.
Thanks for the info! Do you have Spears & Munsil V2? A small version of the blue ramp is visible in the "Colourspace Evaluation" chart, but it is easier to see in the large RGB ramps elsewhere in the menus.

Somehow I think S&M designed this ramp to be particularly fragile; lots of things will break it. The "Darbee" enhancement tech in the Lumagen also causes slight issues in these ramps.

I should say that I almost never see banding in "real video" content off high-bitrate sources like BD. I will occasionally see it in computer generated colour gradients on channel ident / movie intros / etc.
bobof is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1324 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 03:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Ah - that rather does prove it...

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #1325 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 06:37 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Ah - that rather does prove it...
I'm trying to get my head around what it actually "proves" though!
I mean, if you have to add green to your blue primary to bring it back to where it should be - should you expect some banding in a pure blue ramp?
Is what I'm seeing actually a response from the display device? (don't think so, I can also see it on another display device).
Does it even matter if you see ramps on this kind of artificial test image?

There is something "interesting" about these ramps from Spears and Munsil. They seem to be very easily broken by changing input/output settings on players and TVs.
bobof is online now  
post #1326 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
RobScreene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: England
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Thanks for the info! Do you have Spears & Munsil V2?

No. VE Basics, Chromapure and avs rec.709.
Regards,
Rob.
bobof likes this.
RobScreene is offline  
post #1327 of 2284 Old 10-07-2017, 02:07 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobScreene View Post
No. VE Basics, Chromapure and avs rec.709.
Regards,
Rob.
Do any of those discs have a smooth ramp in them?
bobof is online now  
post #1328 of 2284 Old 10-08-2017, 11:57 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_t View Post
Thanks

Alexandre
In reading some of your excellent work on your website I saw something that looks really neat - seems you have a tool for performing detailed comparisons between two profiles. Is this something you created yourself? Looks really useful.
bobof is online now  
post #1329 of 2284 Old 10-09-2017, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
alex_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
In reading some of your excellent work on your website I saw something that looks really neat - seems you have a tool for performing detailed comparisons between two profiles. Is this something you created yourself? Looks really useful.
Hello.

Thank you.

Yes, I have created a tool allowing to assess a profile done with Lightspace CMS versus a reference color space. The tool allows to make comparisons in between assessments (it is not limited to 2).

Focus for assessment is done on : dE distributions (whole profile, greyscale, colorchecker), color temperature, greyscale, EOTF
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
alex_t is online now  
post #1330 of 2284 Old 10-10-2017, 02:27 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_t View Post
Yes, I have created a tool allowing to assess a profile done with Lightspace CMS versus a reference color space. The tool allows to make comparisons in between assessments (it is not limited to 2).

Focus for assessment is done on : dE distributions (whole profile, greyscale, colorchecker), color temperature, greyscale, EOTF
Very cool. I often end up switching between multiple open PDF reports trying to spot the better profile for fit vs map vs peak, and then sometimes wishing the dE x-axis was a bit more granular than it is when evaluating very similar profile.

If you chose to release it I'm sure quite a few people would find it pretty useful!
bobof is online now  
post #1331 of 2284 Old 10-10-2017, 02:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,753
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2921 Post(s)
Liked: 3570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Do any of those discs have a smooth ramp in them?








There a lot of ramps there, the Tunnel/Linearization are very interesting to check.



Generally when you looking for ramps, they need to have at least 220pixel width, to include all the shades of a color, so smaller ramps will not include all shades, means that it will not look natively smooth.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #1332 of 2284 Old 10-10-2017, 02:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,753
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2921 Post(s)
Liked: 3570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Thanks for the info! Do you have Spears & Munsil V2? A small version of the blue ramp is visible in the "Colourspace Evaluation" chart, but it is easier to see in the large RGB ramps elsewhere in the menus.

Somehow I think S&M designed this ramp to be particularly fragile; lots of things will break it. The "Darbee" enhancement tech in the Lumagen also causes slight issues in these ramps.
Hi, I remember before years you had some problems with blue ramps also: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post38487609

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #1333 of 2284 Old 10-10-2017, 03:19 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, I remember before years you had some problems with blue ramps also: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post38487609
Yes, I haven't tried your disk on the Lumagen for ramps. I will do it later.

I am trying to work out if this is "Just me" having problems with the ramps, or whether people just don't bother checking what the ramps look like after configuring their CMS / LUT, and are just happy with a low dE report, so don't really find out. I know quite often people are just happy with a basic saturation sweep looking good on a CIE chart...

At the time (long time ago now, so I might be making a mistake here) I think I noticed that the S&M ramp seemed much more fragile than yours for some reason (never did get to the bottom of it). The S&M ramp would often appear visually to "break" worse than yours for the same LUT, which I thought was pretty weird. That was all with EEColor + ArgyllCMS LUT.

Last edited by bobof; 10-10-2017 at 04:15 AM.
bobof is online now  
post #1334 of 2284 Old 10-10-2017, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
alex_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Yes, I haven't tried your disk on the Lumagen for ramps. I will do it later.

I am trying to work out if this is "Just me" having problems with the ramps, or whether people just don't bother checking what the ramps look like after configuring their CMS / LUT, and are just happy with a low dE report, so don't really find out. I know quite often people are just happy with a basic saturation sweep looking good on a CIE chart...

At the time (long time ago now, so I might be making a mistake here) I think I noticed that the S&M ramp seemed much more fragile than yours for some reason (never did get to the bottom of it). The S&M ramp would often appear visually to "break" worse than yours for the same LUT, which I thought was pretty weird. That was all with EEColor + ArgyllCMS LUT.
Hello,

I always use Ted's disk for checking color rendering of a 3DLUT. This disk is very useful.
1forsnow and ConnecTEDDD like this.
alex_t is online now  
post #1335 of 2284 Old 10-10-2017, 11:49 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, I remember before years you had some problems with blue ramps also: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post38487609
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_t View Post
I always use Ted's disk for checking color rendering of a 3DLUT. This disk is very useful.
I spent a little time comparing again yesterday, and it is the same as I recalled previously with Eecolor + ArgyllCMS, the S&M2 "Color Space" and "RGB Ramps" are much more fragile for some reason than the ramps on Ted's disc. The repeating "mini-ramp" behaviour that I can provoke in the S&M2 ramps just by enabling the Lumagen CMS and changing the green value of the blue primary doesn't seem to happen in Ted's disc, which seems pretty unbothered by the changes.

I noticed that the ramps on Ted's disc don't stay on the screen forever (they eventually go back to the menu, like a short video). But the S&M2 ramps stay up forever (like a menu). Maybe there is a difference in how they are contained on the disc and the amount of colour information they have or the way the colour is encoded.

But it does beg the question - what is "correct"? Ted's ramps clearly look better via the LUT or 8pt Lumagen CMS. But the S&M2 ramp is clearly an output that is >possible< from the player, and it looks absolutely perfect >until< the Lumagen CMS is enabled with blue primary adjustment.

This is probably quite off topic in here now (except for the fact that I first saw it while using LUTs generated out of Lightspace, which definitely don't seem to be the reason for the banding) - and of course this ends up looking like a "false negative" result for the quality of the LUT. DO you guys think we should carry on this discussion elsewhere? I don't want to derail this Lightspace thread. Though I posted in both the SM2 and Lumagen 21xx threads and got no interest...
bobof is online now  
post #1336 of 2284 Old 10-11-2017, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
RobScreene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: England
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Here is fine. Im interested in practical applications and issues, like this.
RobScreene is offline  
post #1337 of 2284 Old 10-11-2017, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 243
@Light Illusion
I wonder, what would cause RGB separation to look like the second screenshot after using Peak Chroma to create a LUT for Rec.709.
The first screenshot was RGB separation after doing a Quick Profile on a NULL LUT. The selected gamut is greater than Rec.709 colour space.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	X9500_rgb_sep_pre_20171001.JPG
Views:	28
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	2296202   Click image for larger version

Name:	X9500_rgb_sep_post_20171011.JPG
Views:	31
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	2296204  

Projection: JVC DLA-NX9
VP/Calibration: Lumagen Radiance Pro, LightSpace CMS, x-rite i1 Pro 2, x-rite i1 Display 3
KarlKlammer is offline  
post #1338 of 2284 Old 10-11-2017, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlKlammer View Post
@Light Illusion
I wonder, what would cause RGB separation to look like the second screenshot after using Peak Chroma to create a LUT for Rec.709.
The first screenshot was RGB separation after doing a Quick Profile on a NULL LUT. The selected gamut is greater than Rec.709 colour space.

You probably have channel clipping in the pre-calibration setup.
But, impossible to say without seeing the .bcs file used to make the LUT.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #1339 of 2284 Old 10-11-2017, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
You probably have channel clipping in the pre-calibration setup.
But, impossible to say without seeing the .bcs file used to make the LUT.

Steve
Hi Steve,

this LUT was actually based on a Quick Profile for 1D an an 11 point characterization for 3D.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 20171001.zip (39.6 KB, 17 views)

Projection: JVC DLA-NX9
VP/Calibration: Lumagen Radiance Pro, LightSpace CMS, x-rite i1 Pro 2, x-rite i1 Display 3
KarlKlammer is offline  
post #1340 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 03:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
I don't understand - how are you using a 1D and a 3D LUT?

But, your display has a low gamut in the Blue/Green axis.
That will cause the RGB Separation 'change' when making the 3D LUT.
Best to use Map Space to minimise that.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #1341 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 03:49 AM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
I don't understand - how are you using a 1D and a 3D LUT?
I create a LUT using the 11 point characterization, remove the 1D component with "export"/"subtraction" and add the 1D component of a LUT based on the Quick Profile with "addition".

Projection: JVC DLA-NX9
VP/Calibration: Lumagen Radiance Pro, LightSpace CMS, x-rite i1 Pro 2, x-rite i1 Display 3
KarlKlammer is offline  
post #1342 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 03:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Ah - now I understand.
But, with that display you will be better off using Map Space.

Steve
Light Illusion is offline  
post #1343 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 03:58 AM
Senior Member
 
KarlKlammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Ah - now I understand.
But, with that display you will be better off using Map Space.
Thanks Steve.
With your explanation the RGB separation chart now makes sense to me. I will check Map Space and also try to find another colour space setting with a wider gamut on the X9500.

Projection: JVC DLA-NX9
VP/Calibration: Lumagen Radiance Pro, LightSpace CMS, x-rite i1 Pro 2, x-rite i1 Display 3
KarlKlammer is offline  
post #1344 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 11:04 AM
Ips
Member
 
Ips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I ran two profiles for a madVR LUT (with 0.25 and 0.50 delays) and both show a few colours outside of the measured gamut.
The probe is obviously reading the tail end of a previous colour due to a network delay, hence the errors.

Is there a way to test for an ideal 'Extra Delay' time before running a complete profile?

Ivan Samuel
isfCalibration
Ips is offline  
post #1345 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 360
You can use the „measure and log“ feature do find the optimal probe settings

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: C6-HDR, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTL, Calman 2018 Enthusiast
BlackJoker is offline  
post #1346 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 12:59 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
You can use the „measure and log“ feature do find the optimal probe settings
I don't think it helps with trying to work out the correct delay setting because you can't synchronise measures and patch changes when using measure and log (from what I can see). You'll always end up with "half measures" when you transition from one patch to the next, regardless of the delay setting.
bobof is online now  
post #1347 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 01:11 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ips View Post
I ran two profiles for a madVR LUT (with 0.25 and 0.50 delays) and both show a few colours outside of the measured gamut.
The probe is obviously reading the tail end of a previous colour due to a network delay, hence the errors.

Is there a way to test for an ideal 'Extra Delay' time before running a complete profile?
I was wondering about this the other day. The best technique I could think of would be a custom patch set of white followed by black patches, repeating over. You could measure this set and increase the delay until the luminance values stabilise.

A bit clunky mind, some automatic way of setting it would be nice.
Ips likes this.
bobof is online now  
post #1348 of 2284 Old 10-12-2017, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,753
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2921 Post(s)
Liked: 3570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
I was wondering about this the other day. The best technique I could think of would be a custom patch set of white followed by black patches, repeating over. You could measure this set and increase the delay until the luminance values stabilise.

A bit clunky mind, some automatic way of setting it would be nice.
Hi, This is a custom patch list which is cycling 10 times between 0% Black and 100% Green: http://displaycalibrations.com/files...lay%20Test.csv



I haven't tested it but I believe that testing various extra delay times, 250-500-750-1000 ms, and then looking the CIE Chart the 10 green crosses will look closer to the chart when the delay number is more correct.

For example when we have a Lumagen Mini-3D added in a video chain and measured with a Leo Bodnar Video Signal Input Lag Tester, it adds 10ms delay while to the same setup when you will use the eeColor 3D LUT Box it's not adding any delay (0ms).
Ips and bobof like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #1349 of 2284 Old 10-13-2017, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
Automating the 'Extra Delay' option is on the list of developments to look at.
Not able to give a schedule, but it is on the list as a reasonable high priority...

But, with a 0.5 sec Extra Delay I seriously doubt the variation in the patch via madTPG and the internal patch gen wil exceed that.
I suspect an issue elsewhere?

But, we have been working on.... see next post!

Steve
ConnecTEDDD and bobof like this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION


Last edited by Light Illusion; 10-13-2017 at 07:47 AM.
Light Illusion is offline  
post #1350 of 2284 Old 10-13-2017, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 733 Post(s)
Liked: 1074
So, for some months we have been working on what is the 3rd Generation of our core Colour Engine.
We are always striving to improve our final calibration results, and the 3rd Gen Engine has been a focus for some time.

I am now playing with an early Alpha version of LightSpace with this new Colour Engine, and the results are looking stunning!

We are still a week or so away from a Beta release, but these image show some examples of the present 2dn Gen Engine vs. the new 3rd Gen.



The left hand images are the 2nd Gen - the right the 3rd Gen.
The differences are rather obvious, and translate into measurably and visually better results!

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NewEngine.png
Views:	236
Size:	473.1 KB
ID:	2297414  

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION


Last edited by Light Illusion; 10-13-2017 at 07:48 AM.
Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off