LightSpace 3D LUT Home Cinema Calibration Software - Page 79 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1088Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2368 Old 08-27-2019, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4779 Post(s)
Liked: 1795
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
LightIllusion is currently the only calibration software company offering a free license for manual cal or quick verification run; without any limit to the supported instruments (colorimeter/spectro) for measurements.
It may also be the only calibration software company that won’t tell you when the demo license will expire, until it expires.

Joking aside, why all the mystery?
mrtickleuk likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2368 Old 08-28-2019, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
As has already been said, there is no mystery - it is just a variable.
What's not to understand?

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #2343 of 2368 Old 08-28-2019, 01:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,149
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 3865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
It may also be the only calibration software company that won’t tell you when the demo license will expire, until it expires.

Joking aside, why all the mystery?
I think that we keep talking for a detail which don't require so much attention.

Last time it has before 8 months when the license code changed again for DPS.

The same is happening periodically to the paid license users, when something changed to the protection system they need to do reset and re-enter their (same) license code.
Anger.miki likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2344 of 2368 Old 09-05-2019, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,149
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 3865
LightSpace CMS 10.0.0.2981 (05 September 2019) Beta is available.

Release Notes

Added support for X-Rite i1PRO3 Plus spectrophotometer.

Added option to Lumagen processors to upload 1D LUT separately from 3D LUT.



This should improve the attainable greyscale.

As the 1D LUT is positioned after the 3D LUT in the video processing pipeline of Lumagen, you must profile and upload the 1D LUT first, and then re-profile with the 1D active, and upload the 3D.

The 1D+3D option works as before.

Download

As is usual, for that beta download link, please contact me here only (no PM's): http://www.displaycalibrations.com/contact_us.html
mikela and loggeo like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2345 of 2368 Old 09-05-2019, 12:09 PM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2562 Post(s)
Liked: 1679
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Added option to Lumagen processors to upload 1D LUT separately from 3D LUT.



The should improve the attainable greyscale.

As the 1D LUT is positioned after the 3D LUT in the video processing pipeline of Lumagen, you must profile and upload the 1D LUT first, and then re-profile with the 1D active, and upload the 3D.

The 1D+3D option works as before.

Download

As is usual, for that beta download link, please contact me here only (no PM's): http://www.displaycalibrations.com/contact_us.html
That's awesome, thanks guys. Look forward to trying this out.
bobof is online now  
post #2346 of 2368 Old 09-05-2019, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
alex_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
LightSpace CMS 10.0.0.2981 (05 September 2019) Beta is available.

Release Notes

Added support for X-Rite i1PRO3 Plus spectrophotometer.

Added option to Lumagen processors to upload 1D LUT separately from 3D LUT.



This should improve the attainable greyscale.

As the 1D LUT is positioned after the 3D LUT in the video processing pipeline of Lumagen, you must profile and upload the 1D LUT first, and then re-profile with the 1D active, and upload the 3D.

The 1D+3D option works as before.

Download

As is usual, for that beta download link, please contact me here only (no PM's): http://www.displaycalibrations.com/contact_us.html

Hello Ted,


Thank you for the update.


How many points do you recommend to process the 1DLUT ? Should I use only grey points profile or a standard profile ?
alex_t is online now  
post #2347 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 01:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,918
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_t View Post
Hello Ted,


Thank you for the update.


How many points do you recommend to process the 1DLUT ? Should I use only grey points profile or a standard profile ?

I'm going to try to play with this in next couple of days if i get a chance. I'm thinking creating a target of native colourspace with D65 and doing a large greyscale profile to o 1D. Then upload and then re-profile with full multi points cube and create 3d lut and upload. Then do final augment run and redo LUT with that data. I think that will be most efficient time wise rather than two large multi point cube profiles.


Gordon

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #2348 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
bisocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone, I ask a beginner's question but I didn't understand ...
To use "alternate patch sets" do I have to export a csv file or can I just put my gamut reduction lut as active lut and start the display characterization?

I tried to make a 3d lut with the "hybrid" option
but the program does not execute it and closes unexpectedly.
With peak chroma instead it performs without going out ...
Has this happened to anyone else?

Thanks in advance..

Alessandro
bisocri is offline  
post #2349 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 03:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,149
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 3865
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_t View Post
Hello Ted,

Thank you for the update.

How many points do you recommend to process the 1DLUT ? Should I use only grey points profile or a standard profile ?
Hi Alex,

Compare the results of 21-Point Gray Only vs. 33-Point Gray Only Large, to see if using 33p is better idea.

When you will decide between 21 / 33, then use Aug to see it can improve more.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2350 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 03:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,149
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 3865
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisocri View Post
Hi everyone, I ask a beginner's question but I didn't understand ...
To use "alternate patch sets" do I have to export a csv file or can I just put my gamut reduction lut as active lut and start the display characterization?
Hi Alessandro,

Send your data to Steve, he will take a look and recommend you what to do.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2351 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,149
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 3865
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisocri View Post
Hi everyone, I ask a beginner's question but I didn't understand ...
To use "alternate patch sets" do I have to export a csv file or can I just put my gamut reduction lut as active lut and start the display characterization?

I tried to make a 3d lut with the "hybrid" option
but the program does not execute it and closes unexpectedly.
With peak chroma instead it performs without going out ...
Has this happened to anyone else?

Thanks in advance..
Hi Alessandro,

The profile has a strange error.

It lacks any 'primary or secondary' patches

So the results you see are wrong from that profile as other LUT generated from the profile will be wrong also.

See if you have skipped somewhere an instruction which removed the primary patches from measurements.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2352 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
alex_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post
I'm going to try to play with this in next couple of days if i get a chance. I'm thinking creating a target of native colourspace with D65 and doing a large greyscale profile to o 1D. Then upload and then re-profile with full multi points cube and create 3d lut and upload. Then do final augment run and redo LUT with that data. I think that will be most efficient time wise rather than two large multi point cube profiles.


Gordon

Hello Gordon,


Let me know how it will work, thanks
alex_t is online now  
post #2353 of 2368 Old 09-06-2019, 10:37 PM
Senior Member
 
alex_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi Alex,

Compare the results of 21-Point Gray Only vs. 33-Point Gray Only Large, to see if using 33p is better idea.

When you will decide between 21 / 33, then use Aug to see it can improve more.

Hello Ted,


Thank you, I will try as soon as I can.
alex_t is online now  
post #2354 of 2368 Old 09-07-2019, 01:00 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2562 Post(s)
Liked: 1679
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post
I'm going to try to play with this in next couple of days if i get a chance. I'm thinking creating a target of native colourspace with D65 and doing a large greyscale profile to o 1D. Then upload and then re-profile with full multi points cube and create 3d lut and upload. Then do final augment run and redo LUT with that data. I think that will be most efficient time wise rather than two large multi point cube profiles.


Gordon
Might be worth comparing doing greyscale only vs greyscale + primaries for the 1D, and also trying a larger set than the built in ones as you have good meters. I made a very large 52 patch RGBW set which I've had good results with (I've not got as far as trying the separate 1D + 3D LUT process yet though).
bobof is online now  
post #2355 of 2368 Old 09-07-2019, 02:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: U.K.
Posts: 1,918
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobof View Post
Might be worth comparing doing greyscale only vs greyscale + primaries for the 1D, and also trying a larger set than the built in ones as you have good meters. I made a very large 52 patch RGBW set which I've had good results with (I've not got as far as trying the separate 1D + 3D LUT process yet though).
bobof,


can you email me your rgbw patch set file and i'll give it a go. Will save me time making it myself.


g
bobof likes this.

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #2356 of 2368 Old 09-07-2019, 10:13 AM
aka jfinnie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2562 Post(s)
Liked: 1679
The patch set I was using is attached in the zip file - 52rgbk.csv. This is evenly spaced RGB values (0,5,10,15,etc). I recently worked out that LS's own internal sets don't do this, and instead have a ^1.1 slight power curve applied to give a little more emphasis to the low end. So I've also included a 52rgbk1p1.csv (untested!). Note that you'll end up with some very small RGB values with both sets - 1p1 has values as low as 3. If you have a poor probe, technique or ambient light contamination it might be counterproductive having those very dim points in a profile.

Good luck!
Attached Files
File Type: zip 52rgbk.zip (2.9 KB, 12 views)
mikela and Manni01 like this.
bobof is online now  
post #2357 of 2368 Old 09-10-2019, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,149
Mentioned: 199 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3123 Post(s)
Liked: 3865
LightSpace CMS 10.0.0.2983 (10 September 2019) has been released.

Release Notes

Added support for X-Rite i1PRO3 Plus spectrophotometer.

Updated madVR integration to add HDR features.

Updated Lumagen integration with separate 1D and/or 3D LUT support

Added option to Lumagen processors to upload 1D LUT separately from 3D LUT.



This should improve the attainable greyscale.

As the 1D LUT is positioned after the 3D LUT in the video processing pipeline of Lumagen, you must profile and upload the 1D LUT first, and then re-profile with the 1D active, and upload the 3D.

The 1D+3D option works as before.

Download Link: https://www.lightillusion.com/downloads.html

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2358 of 2368 Old 09-10-2019, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Thanks Ted. Will install later and try my DVDO Avlab.
Vishwa Somayaji is online now  
post #2359 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 628
I have a relatively new RS2000/DCR and a Lumagen. Is it best practice to use Autocal first to set gray scale prior to profiling? I ask because I just purchased a Datacolor SpyderX only subsequently to learn that it has no diffuser. This apparently makes it not suitable for projectors. If that is true, is it correct to assume that it is not really necessary to use Autocal and that LS will make the necessary corrections using the methodology above?
mikela is online now  
post #2360 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4779 Post(s)
Liked: 1795
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
I have a relatively new RS2000/DCR and a Lumagen. Is it best practice to use Autocal first to set gray scale prior to profiling? I ask because I just purchased a Datacolor SpyderX only subsequently to learn that it has no diffuser. This apparently makes it not suitable for projectors. If that is true, is it correct to assume that it is not really necessary to use Autocal and that LS will make the necessary corrections using the methodology above?
The Spyder is designed to point directly at the lens without a diffuser, unlike the xrite meters.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #2361 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The Spyder is designed to point directly at the lens without a diffuser, unlike the xrite meters.
I ask because of this quote from Tom Huffman's review of the SpyderX:

"Second, the utility of the SpyderX is somewhat limited for those who have projectors because it has no illuminance mode, so all projector readings must be taken off the screen. Sometimes it is useful to take readings directly from the projector lens to get more light into the sensor. The i1 Display Pro includes a diffuser that is put into the light path whenever taking lens readings. The SpyderX does not. Users may be able to use the meter in this way by employing an aftermarket diffuser, but I have not tested this."

Last edited by mikela; 09-14-2019 at 01:29 PM.
mikela is online now  
post #2362 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4779 Post(s)
Liked: 1795
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
I ask because of this quote from Tom Huffman's review of the SpyderX:

"Second, the utility of the SpyderX is somewhat limited for those who have projectors because it has no illuminance mode, so all projector readings must be taken off the screen. Sometimes it is useful to take readings directly from the projector lens to get more light into the sensor. The i1 Display Pro includes a diffuser that is put into the light path whenever taking lens readings. The SpyderX does not. Users may be able to use the meter in this way by employing an aftermarket diffuser, but I have not tested this."
If you look at the JVC Autocal instructions they specifically say “With the light receiver of the optical sensor facing the projector, install the optical sensor between the projector and the screen.”
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #2363 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
If you look at the JVC Autocal instructions they specifically say “With the light receiver of the optical sensor facing the projector, install the optical sensor between the projector and the screen.”
I am not questioning that. Please reread the quote above.
mikela is online now  
post #2364 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
You can either believe Tom, or believe JVC, for running Autocal.
The current instructions only address the Spyder 5 and not the SpyderX. Hopefully you are right. Does the Spyder 5 require a diffuser with Autocal?

If the previous version of the Spyder does not require a diffuser then THAT answers my question.

Last edited by mikela; 09-14-2019 at 02:07 PM.
mikela is online now  
post #2365 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4779 Post(s)
Liked: 1795
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
The current instructions only address the Spyder 5 and not the SpyderX. Hopefully you are right. Does the Spyder 5 require a diffuser with Autocal?

If the previous version of the Spyder does not require a diffuser then that answers my question.
The Spyder4 and Spyder5 have no diffusers.
mikela likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #2366 of 2368 Old 09-14-2019, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,072
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
The Spyder4 and Spyder5 have no diffusers.
Thank you...sorry for the confusion.
mikela is online now  
post #2367 of 2368 Old 09-15-2019, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,806
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 764 Post(s)
Liked: 1123
Our preference is to always take readings off the screen, as for colour/grey scale accuracy you need to include the screen in the measurements.

Additionally, various tests we have performed on the i1D3 diffuser have shown it is not really 'pure' enough for accurate profiling.
(Someone really should run full tests on that, as we have just done basic ones, and then given up based on the initial tests.)

Steve
Manni01 likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #2368 of 2368 Old 09-16-2019, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,081
Mentioned: 322 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5411 Post(s)
Liked: 5579
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikela View Post
I have a relatively new RS2000/DCR and a Lumagen. Is it best practice to use Autocal first to set gray scale prior to profiling? I ask because I just purchased a Datacolor SpyderX only subsequently to learn that it has no diffuser. This apparently makes it not suitable for projectors. If that is true, is it correct to assume that it is not really necessary to use Autocal and that LS will make the necessary corrections using the methodology above?
Yes it is also my understanding that the Spyder X has to face the screen, unlike the Spyder 4/5 that had to be used facing the lens with the Autocal. Be carefull, the Spyder X isn't suppoted yet by any of the JVCs, and will most likely only be supported on the current models. A new version of the software has been announced that will support it. It will need a new f/w that will be available on the new 4K models in October/November. No idea about the other models. I have bought a Spyder X and will test it as soon as the new version of the Autocal supporting it lands. I'll post rewsults in the JVC calibration thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
If you look at the JVC Autocal instructions they specifically say “With the light receiver of the optical sensor facing the projector, install the optical sensor between the projector and the screen.”
Yes, that was for the Spyder 4 and 5 and for older models. At least that's my understanding. It changes with the Spyder X, which is nice provided it can read accurately from off the screen.

The improvements between the 5 and the X are more significant apparently than between the 4 and the 5, which were minimal. I've read 2X faster and 10X better low light sensitivity for the X compared to the 5. However, low light sensitivity would still be inferior to the i1displayPro, which isn't good news because the i1displayPro can't read black accurately on high contrast projectors such as most JVCs. I sent back two of them for that reason before buying my Discus.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Our preference is to always take readings off the screen, as for colour/grey scale accuracy you need to include the screen in the measurements.

Additionally, various tests we have performed on the i1D3 diffuser have shown it is not really 'pure' enough for accurate profiling.
(Someone really should run full tests on that, as we have just done basic ones, and then given up based on the initial tests.)

Steve
I agree that reading off the screen is preferable, and I agree that from an accuracy point of view, getting a moderately accurate Spyder is a lottery as far as colour accuracy is concerned. Most of them are fairly off.

However, this isn't the most important factor. Their main use with the JVC Autocal is for gamma autocal, to correct the gamma drift which can be quite severe on the JVCs. They do a great job for that, as color accuracy is mostly moot for that use. Then if you want to use them for color calibration, you can either correct them with a custom profile using a more accurate method (time-consuming, complex but works very well) or you can use an i1pro/i1pro2 for color calibration, and that works very, very well.

The JVC Autocal makes it possible to get a very good baseline, and for many that will be good enough. I prefer to apply a small 3D LUT over that just to get near reference results, of course with the limitation than my spectro is only an i1pro2, so it's close to "near reference".

By the way, I appreciate that you seem to have improved your madVR implementation recently. I am snowed under with work at the moment so I haven't had the time to take a look, but I will when I get a chance. Thanks for keeping madVR users in mind, I'm sure that it will be handy when you will need to support the Envy .
mikela likes this.

JVC Autocal Software V11 Calibration for 2019 Models (Google)
Batch Utility V4.02 May 16 2019 to automate measurements files for madVR with support for BD Folders
Manni01 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off