MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 178 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 613Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5311 of 5322 Old 01-25-2020, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dick Emery's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Anyone care to handhold me through calibrating a HDR 3DLut for a LG OLED55B6V on latest firmware. Win10. AMD Vega 56 GPU with latest drivers.
Dick Emery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5312 of 5322 Old 02-05-2020, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 323
A quick question as I am running some recent profiles through DisplayCal to create a SDR DCI-P3 3D Lut for madVR.

Under the tab "3D Lut" in DisplayCal, when chosing the "source profile", there are two options for DCI-P3. Which one is the correct one, and why two?

I keep on reading people are using DCI-P3 gamma 2.2 3dluts, is that where you chose "DCI-P3" ?

I will be using the 3d LUT with MadVR to play some UHD 4K BR rips, using MadVR pixel shader.

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	001.JPG
Views:	36
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	2680760  

Last edited by stef2; 02-05-2020 at 08:01 AM.
stef2 is online now  
post #5313 of 5322 Old 02-05-2020, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,402
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 482
DCI P3 D65 should be more correct but i never tested it the normal DCI P3 has a different white point so madVR has first to change it for the 3D LUT and your screen still works in d65 so the 3D LUT is changing it back with everything at D65 the white point never needs a change.
mightyhuhn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5314 of 5322 Old 02-06-2020, 03:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Yes, as Huhn said, DCI P3 D65 is the correct one and Gamma 2.2 for your use case.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #5315 of 5322 Old 02-06-2020, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stef2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: China
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Thank you both!
stef2 is online now  
post #5316 of 5322 Old 02-14-2020, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
My projector can do 80% of rec 2020. Should I use source colourspace DCI P3 D65, or BT 2020 which will allow me to take advantage of the additional colour gamut of the projector beyond P3?

Display: Optoma Z65 Theo Lite | Screen: Dark Energy Abyss 0.9 (120") (16:9)
Sound system (5.1.4): Elac UF5 (Front LR), Pioneer SP-C22 (center), Pioneer SP-BS22 (surround LR), Pioneer SP-T22A-LR (4X Atmos Enabled), Yamaha YST-SW216 (subwoofer) | AVR: Marantz SR6013
Player: HTPC - madVR, Panasonic UB820
wiau2007 is online now  
post #5317 of 5322 Old 02-14-2020, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiau2007 View Post
My projector can do 80% of rec 2020. Should I use source colourspace DCI P3 D65, or BT 2020 which will allow me to take advantage of the additional colour gamut of the projector beyond P3?
If you use DCI-P3 target gamut then you will limit your gamut to P3. But if you use BT.2020 target gamut you are going to get some posterization in my experience which is generally what happens when you try to make a 3DLUT for a target gamut that is much wider than your actual gamut.
SirMaster is offline  
post #5318 of 5322 Old Yesterday, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
If you use DCI-P3 target gamut then you will limit your gamut to P3. But if you use BT.2020 target gamut you are going to get some posterization in my experience which is generally what happens when you try to make a 3DLUT for a target gamut that is much wider than your actual gamut.
First attempt at profiling, seems like something has gone wrong in the process judging from the results?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	profile chart.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	169.6 KB
ID:	2685448   Click image for larger version

Name:	Profile.PNG
Views:	14
Size:	217.8 KB
ID:	2685450  

Display: Optoma Z65 Theo Lite | Screen: Dark Energy Abyss 0.9 (120") (16:9)
Sound system (5.1.4): Elac UF5 (Front LR), Pioneer SP-C22 (center), Pioneer SP-BS22 (surround LR), Pioneer SP-T22A-LR (4X Atmos Enabled), Yamaha YST-SW216 (subwoofer) | AVR: Marantz SR6013
Player: HTPC - madVR, Panasonic UB820
wiau2007 is online now  
post #5319 of 5322 Old Yesterday, 09:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiau2007 View Post
First attempt at profiling, seems like something has gone wrong in the process judging from the results?
Something certainly went wrong if you are only getting 86.3% sRGB.

What projector are you using and what picture mode do you have it in?
SirMaster is offline  
post #5320 of 5322 Old Yesterday, 09:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Something certainly went wrong if you are only getting 86.3% sRGB.

What projector are you using and what picture mode do you have it in?
Optoma Theo Z65 - have it in the HDR Sim mode.

Display: Optoma Z65 Theo Lite | Screen: Dark Energy Abyss 0.9 (120") (16:9)
Sound system (5.1.4): Elac UF5 (Front LR), Pioneer SP-C22 (center), Pioneer SP-BS22 (surround LR), Pioneer SP-T22A-LR (4X Atmos Enabled), Yamaha YST-SW216 (subwoofer) | AVR: Marantz SR6013
Player: HTPC - madVR, Panasonic UB820
wiau2007 is online now  
post #5321 of 5322 Old Yesterday, 09:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SirMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Can you fire up HCFR and measure the 100% primary and secondary color saturations against P3 and BT.2020 and show the CIE diagram?

Here is what I get when generating a BT.2020 3DLUT on my JVC NX5.

https://nicko88.com/misc/NX5_gamut/low_bt2020.PNG

And here is the CIE in HCFR with the 3DLUT on.

https://nicko88.com/misc/nx5cal_old/3dlut.jpg
SirMaster is offline  
post #5322 of 5322 Old Yesterday, 09:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Can you fire up HCFR and measure the 100% primary and secondary color saturations against P3 and BT.2020 and show the CIE diagram?

Here is what I get when generating a BT.2020 3DLUT on my JVC NX5.

https://nicko88.com/misc/NX5_gamut/low_bt2020.PNG

And here is the CIE in HCFR with the 3DLUT on.

https://nicko88.com/misc/nx5cal_old/3dlut.jpg
Thanks, I'll try that
wiau2007 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off