Free LightSpace DPS - Manual Display Calibration - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 81 Old 10-06-2015, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
When I downloaded that screenshot and use the colour sampler tool in Photoshop CS6, the border is at exactly 16,16,16 and the white at 235, 235, 235.
Correct, I was looking a screenshot via Firefox with active ICC. Looks ok when downloaded.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 81 Old 11-03-2015, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
We've just release the latest version of LightSpace CMS, with a number of additions aimed at manual calibration, including the RGB and Delta-E bar graph in the recent open beta, and a Percentage (%) option for the sliders.

The online guides and manuals have already been updated to include the new features.

Steve

buzzard767 and W3Rman like this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #33 of 81 Old 11-03-2015, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
W3Rman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
We've just release the latest version of LightSpace CMS .... .... .....
Steve its really looking nice

Since you have mentioned in the past you and the team are considering additional tools or improvements in the future for taking advantage of the Cube Viewport it occurred to me that I might as well mention this:

The Pre-defined Grid-Size option for Cube in Viewport of (5x5x5 / 9x9x9 / 17x17x17) are nice ... how about throwing in a 32xx32 or Maximum next update ... ... ...

Seriously, I am really glad for this update thanks again!
W3Rman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 81 Old 11-05-2015, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
You can get the max 32^3 view using the 'Increase' option when you right click the Cube display.
But, I'll check with the developers if additional pre-sets can be added too!

W3Rman likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #35 of 81 Old 11-05-2015, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
You can get the max 32^3 view using the 'Increase' option when you right click the Cube display.
But, I'll check with the developers if additional pre-sets can be added too!

Hi Steve, see if you can add the 21x21x21 as a selection also

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #36 of 81 Old 11-05-2015, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
W3Rman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
You can get the max 32^3 view using the 'Increase' option when you right click the Cube display.
But, I'll check with the developers if additional pre-sets can be added too!

ok,

Pre-Sets:
05^3
10^3
17^3
21^3
32^3

These would be nice
W3Rman is offline  
post #37 of 81 Old 11-07-2015, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
The next release has...

5^3
9^3
17^3
21^3
33^3

So not quite your full list, but close.

Steve
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #38 of 81 Old 11-07-2015, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
kamui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Myers, FL.
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So I've used the free version of the LightSpace DPS and I really like it vs HCFR, but I have a question:

When calibrating, I first watched the R,G,B, and dE bars and used my iScan Duo to minimize all of them, but when I went back, I realized that the numbers I was getting weren't matching the "target" numbers. In other words, for me to be on target with the numbers, it ended up being that the R,G,B, and dE were all above the "line" on the graph

Hopefully that makes sense, but can you tell me which is a more "correct" way to calibrate. Do I follow the target numbers or the bars? And why don't the bars equate to a balanced target numbers?

sspears:
(Rules? Rules? In Television???? Thou shalt not oversaturateth red. RGB shall be thy rod and thy staff; there shall be no other color space before thee.)
kamui is offline  
post #39 of 81 Old 11-07-2015, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
W3Rman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
The next release has...

5^3
9^3
17^3
21^3
33^3

So not quite your full list, but close.

Steve
That's great!

Sure appreciate taking this idea to next release.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
W3Rman is offline  
post #40 of 81 Old 11-08-2015, 03:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamui View Post
So I've used the free version of the LightSpace DPS and I really like it vs HCFR, but I have a question:

When calibrating, I first watched the R,G,B, and dE bars and used my iScan Duo to minimize all of them, but when I went back, I realized that the numbers I was getting weren't matching the "target" numbers. In other words, for me to be on target with the numbers, it ended up being that the R,G,B, and dE were all above the "line" on the graph

Hopefully that makes sense, but can you tell me which is a more "correct" way to calibrate. Do I follow the target numbers or the bars? And why don't the bars equate to a balanced target numbers?
I think you have just found an 'error' in the RGB Bars Widget display!
We are looking at this now...
The Delta-E bar looks to be correct, but the RGB bars seem to be slightly inaccurate for the Y value (but correct for chromaticity).

Steve
kamui likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #41 of 81 Old 11-12-2015, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by W3Rman View Post
That's great!

Sure appreciate taking this idea to next release.
Hi, these options are now available using the LightSpace CMS 7.1.1.2303 (08 November 2015).

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #42 of 81 Old 11-13-2015, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
[EDIT: The program does not seem to work with the retail version of i1D3, which is what I have].
So, there is no way to get this to work? What a bummer...I wanted to give the software a try.

B.
Brian B is offline  
post #43 of 81 Old 11-13-2015, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,201
Mentioned: 114 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4309 Post(s)
Liked: 1549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post
So, there is no way to get this to work? What a bummer...I wanted to give the software a try.
There's a "user-generated" dll file that supposedly would make it work with the retail version of i1d3. I did look into it as the Free LightSpace DPS doesn't seem to have any advantages over HCFR
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #44 of 81 Old 11-13-2015, 08:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
There's a "user-generated" dll file that supposedly would make it work with the retail version of i1d3. I did look into it as the Free LightSpace DPS doesn't seem to have any advantages over HCFR
Where can I get it? Still would like to give it a shot. HCFR crashes on me sometimes in the middle of a run. Also, the GDI doesn't measure 0% (although madTPG does work). The icons on top always seem to get re-arranged and don't "snap" tot he top like I'd like. I suppose I should put in log files or something--just haven't the time.

B.
Brian B is offline  
post #45 of 81 Old 11-14-2015, 01:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post
Where can I get it? Still would like to give it a shot. HCFR crashes on me sometimes in the middle of a run. Also, the GDI doesn't measure 0% (although madTPG does work). The icons on top always seem to get re-arranged and don't "snap" tot he top like I'd like. I suppose I should put in log files or something--just haven't the time.

B.
Hi, send me a PM with your email to forward you that file. Thanks.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #46 of 81 Old 01-22-2016, 02:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
The latest release of LightSpace CMS includes a fix for the RGB Bars Widget display, so all should be working correct for Manual Calibration again now.

The latest LightSpace CMS version, and the free DPS license can be downloaded here: http://www.lightillusion.com/downloads.html
(Select the 'Free LightSpace DPS' option from the drop-down list, and the reply e-mail will include the DPD license and a link to the software downlaod)

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #47 of 81 Old 02-18-2016, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@ConnecTEDDD

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, send me a PM with your email to forward you that file. Thanks.

Hello,

I was pointed to this thread https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...libration.html

Would it be possible to send me this custom DLL which "unlocks" the retail version of i1 Display Pro to use with Lightspace. I will greatly appreciate it, trying to check this Lightspace free version, but have only a retail version of the probe. My email is [email protected]

Thank you very much,
Cristian
Kuky is offline  
post #48 of 81 Old 02-19-2016, 12:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuky View Post
Would it be possible to send me this custom DLL which "unlocks" the retail version of i1 Display Pro to use with Lightspace. I will greatly appreciate it, trying to check this Lightspace free version, but have only a retail version of the probe.
Hi, I have just send you email.

For other users that don't have enough posts to send PM, they can contact me using: http://www.displaycalibrations.com/contact_us.html

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #49 of 81 Old 02-19-2016, 01:25 AM
Newbie
 
Kuky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, I have just send you email.
Thank you very very much!
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
Kuky is offline  
post #50 of 81 Old 07-05-2017, 10:08 AM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
The latest release of LightSpace CMS includes a fix for the RGB Bars Widget display, so all should be working correct for Manual Calibration again now.

The latest LightSpace CMS version, and the free DPS license can be downloaded here: http://www.lightillusion.com/downloads.html
(Select the 'Free LightSpace DPS' option from the drop-down list, and the reply e-mail will include the DPD license and a link to the software downlaod)

Steve
Hey Steve,


I think I still have this issue with the RGB bars when trying use BT1886 color space.
When I adjust for the luminance target, despite a relatively low dE (~0.2 to 0.4) the RGB bars are all equal, but noticeably above the line.
As a test, I switched to rec709 and the behavior was as expected - meeting target Y, and balancing RGB, the lines are right on the zero line.
I have a relatively high black point, and as I very rudimentarily understand it, BT1886 is somewhat of a moving target when it comes to overall gamma.
When properly adjusted via HCFR, my average gamma with BT1886 curve is about 2.2.
Do I need to create a custom BT1886 color space with a 2.2 gamma target, or should the lines adjust according to my measured black and white points?
Hope that makes sense.


Another question - Using a direct HDMI connection, is there a way to have the generated patch keep its dimensions.
Every time I reload the program, I have to readjust the patch size to get approximately 10% for my plasma display.


Thanks for the help.
CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #51 of 81 Old 07-05-2017, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Oh - thanks for the info.
We'll look into the use of BT1886. You have probably found something we have missed...
I'll run some tests and have a chat with the Dev. team!

With BT1886 you do not have any 'gamma' value to set. It is always based on 2.4, and then uses the min/max luma values to adjust the low end of the curve.

With regard to patch size with direct HDMI, have you yet downloaded the new version with the new Network Manager?
If you use that with the Java App 'Calibration Client' TPG you can set the size, position much more accurately.



When the Calibration Client TPG window is double clicked it will go 'full screen', with no border around the window.

This means you can easily set a 10% patch on a black (or any other colour) background.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION


Last edited by Light Illusion; 07-05-2017 at 11:06 AM.
Light Illusion is offline  
post #52 of 81 Old 07-05-2017, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Yep - you have found an issue we had missed with the BT1889 target for Manual Measure!
We are working on a fix now...

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #53 of 81 Old 07-05-2017, 11:36 AM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Yep - you have found an issue we had missed with the BT1889 target for Manual Measure!
We are working on a fix now...

Steve
Thanks! At least now I know I wasn't going crazy in my understanding of the program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
With regard to patch size with direct HDMI, have you yet downloaded the new version with the new Network Manager?
If you use that with the Java App 'Calibration Client' TPG you can set the size, position much more accurately.



When the Calibration Client TPG window is double clicked it will go 'full screen', with no border around the window.

This means you can easily set a 10% patch on a black (or any other colour) background.

Steve
Thanks! I'll try this later.
I'd planned to use the 'calibration client' off my HTPC, but I wanted to get more comfortable with the program as-is with the direct HDMI connection. Didn't think about running the client on the local laptop.


CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #54 of 81 Old 07-06-2017, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Right, we found and hopefully fixed the BT1886 bug.
A new build will be available in a day or so...

Thanks again for the feedback!
(We actually get little feedback as we tend to have very few bugs...)

Using the Calibration Client via 'Localhost' actually makes a lot of sense

Steve
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #55 of 81 Old 07-08-2017, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
Ok, we have just uploaded a new build with a fix for the BT1886/Manual Measure issue...

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #56 of 81 Old 07-14-2017, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
jwhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Multiplier for HDR Projector "Calibration"

I am trying to use your free software tool to do a manual HDR calibration for my Epson projector. I have Masciola's patterns to do this (and I understand that HDR calibration for projectors is a crap shoot at this stage).

Your guide suggests using 10x as a multiplier for the EOTF curve. I also read on the main Lightspace forum to try other multipliers such as 4 or 6 and see what works best. But given it is quite difficult to set the gamma to align with the EOTF curve, the fewer options I have to test the better.

If I am only reading around 50 nits off the screen, should I be setting the clip point at 500? I've read that 1,000 nits is a good target, but that would require me to set a multiplier of 20.

Any guidance on the best multiplier in this situation?
jwhn is offline  
post #57 of 81 Old 07-15-2017, 01:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
HDR calibration for a display with a low nits output is a guesstimation...
However, the 'multiplier' function in LightSpace is for 3D LUT generation, and I'm not at all sure how that would equate to a manual calibration (as the free DPS license cannot be used for 3D LUT calibration), as you can't add any roll-off, and that is a key part of HDR, especially on low output displays/projectors?

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #58 of 81 Old 07-19-2017, 12:33 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Ok, we have just uploaded a new build with a fix for the BT1886/Manual Measure issue...

Steve
Hey Steve,


With one of the recent updates, we're allowed to go full screen with the java client app.
The problem is that it seems to only go full screen on the main display, and can't be done on the extended display.
I'm using a laptop, extended to my display for measurement, and trying to use the java client as you suggested above.
I can maximize it to the extended display, but that leaves the info bar up. When I double click it to get it full screen, it moves the patch to the laptop display.


Thanks,
CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #59 of 81 Old 07-19-2017, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
jwhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
HDR calibration for a display with a low nits output is a guesstimation...
However, the 'multiplier' function in LightSpace is for 3D LUT generation, and I'm not at all sure how that would equate to a manual calibration (as the free DPS license cannot be used for 3D LUT calibration), as you can't add any roll-off, and that is a key part of HDR, especially on low output displays/projectors?

Steve
Thanks for your response. In this post, you stated that it is available for manual calibration as well. And the functionality does appear to be enabled.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post50712953

How does the multiplier work? Does it apply the multiplier across the full luminance range or does it only apply it once the max luminance of the display has been reached? Not considering the roll off with this question.
jwhn is offline  
post #60 of 81 Old 07-22-2017, 01:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 716 Post(s)
Liked: 1035
If you build a new ST2084 colour space, with the multiplier active, you can use that as a target for manual calibration.
All the multiplier does is 'pretend' that the display is 'brighter' than it really is, by the multiplier factor - so every measurement value is affected.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off