The Official ChromaPure 3 thread - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 347Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 1763 Old 02-17-2016, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Will do. Does the reset effect the 125 pt calibration?
Yes, so export that to a file, and then re-import after the toolbar is working again.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 1763 Old 02-17-2016, 05:58 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Yes, so export that to a file, and then re-import after the toolbar is working again.
Thanks Tom.
Knd is offline  
post #423 of 1763 Old 02-18-2016, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
ChromaPure 3.0.6 Released

ChromaPure 3.0.6 is now available for download for licensed 3.x users.

This small release fixes a couple of issues with the 75% of Rec. 709 gamut and the Lumagen manual control toolbar.

You can read the Release Notes on our News page.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #424 of 1763 Old 02-19-2016, 07:53 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
ChromaPure 3.0.6 is now available for download for licensed 3.x users.

This small release fixes a couple of issues with the 75% of Rec. 709 gamut and the Lumagen manual control toolbar.

You can read the Release Notes on our News page.
Tom,
With the release of 3.06, do I still need to do the reset and reload of the configuration files as you indicated you couldn't duplicate my issue with 3.05.
Knd is offline  
post #425 of 1763 Old 02-19-2016, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Tom,
With the release of 3.06, do I still need to do the reset and reload of the configuration files as you indicated you couldn't duplicate my issue with 3.05.
Only if you see some problem. I found a problem with the toolbar that we fixed. I don't know if this is what caused your issue or not.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #426 of 1763 Old 02-19-2016, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
User Manual

BTW, I have posted the user manual for v3 on our Support page.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #427 of 1763 Old 02-20-2016, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bradford, OH
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
The Official ChromaPure 3 thread

There is a level issue with the Quantum Data 801 and 882 series. Black windows are reproduced above black. Measured gamma is also incorrect. CP2 does not have the issue and measures gamma correctly.
Other generators I've tried, VideoForge and DVDO TPG, do not have the issue.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

touring ISF/THX calibrator with Jeti 1211 and Klein K-10
Latest reviews:JVC RS540, JVC RS3000, Sony VPL-VW695ES
Copied settings measured, Review archive
Chad B is offline  
post #428 of 1763 Old 02-20-2016, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post
There is a level issue with the Quantum Data 801 and 882 series. Black windows are reproduced above black. Measured gamma is also incorrect. CP2 does not have the issue and measures gamma correctly.
Other generators I've tried, VideoForge and DVDO TPG, do not have the issue.
I'll look into this and report back.
Chad B likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #429 of 1763 Old 02-20-2016, 03:41 PM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
5 IRE white balance

Tom,
I'm having a very difficult time trying to get a white balance @ 5 IRE through my Lumagen. With the increment at 1 unit on the manual controls, one click on blue has swung from 40% to over 110%.

I'm using an i1D3 that I bought from you (pro version) that I have setup as per your new user manual, CRT, 0.8 seconds, 1 low light, 3 readings.

I got these swings using the manual controls in CP, and also using the Lumagen remote, so I think it may be the i1D3 setup. The Y value is very repeatable, just the white balance. Is this just an issue with this probe at low light levels?
Knd is offline  
post #430 of 1763 Old 02-20-2016, 11:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Tom,
I'm having a very difficult time trying to get a white balance @ 5 IRE through my Lumagen. With the increment at 1 unit on the manual controls, one click on blue has swung from 40% to over 110%.

I'm using an i1D3 that I bought from you (pro version) that I have setup as per your new user manual, CRT, 0.8 seconds, 1 low light, 3 readings.

I got these swings using the manual controls in CP, and also using the Lumagen remote, so I think it may be the i1D3 setup. The Y value is very repeatable, just the white balance. Is this just an issue with this probe at low light levels?
There's very little that can be done about this. Large swings with tiny adjustments is a fact of life at very low light levels. The only thing I can suggest is to increase from 3 readings to 5. This might help a little.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #431 of 1763 Old 02-21-2016, 06:44 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
There's very little that can be done about this. Large swings with tiny adjustments is a fact of life at very low light levels. The only thing I can suggest is to increase from 3 readings to 5. This might help a little.
Thanks Tom, I suspected this, but glad to hear it from an expert.
Knd is offline  
post #432 of 1763 Old 02-21-2016, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Eden NY
Posts: 5,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knd View Post
Tom,
I'm having a very difficult time trying to get a white balance @ 5 IRE through my Lumagen. With the increment at 1 unit on the manual controls, one click on blue has swung from 40% to over 110%.

I'm using an i1D3 that I bought from you (pro version) that I have setup as per your new user manual, CRT, 0.8 seconds, 1 low light, 3 readings.

I got these swings using the manual controls in CP, and also using the Lumagen remote, so I think it may be the i1D3 setup. The Y value is very repeatable, just the white balance. Is this just an issue with this probe at low light levels?
What I do at low light levels (20% and below) is take continuous readings and watch the RGB/gamma values and adjust accordingly so that the average value of the swings is your target point (eyeball averaging ).
Knd likes this.

Geof

Last edited by Geof; 02-21-2016 at 08:01 AM.
Geof is offline  
post #433 of 1763 Old 02-21-2016, 08:41 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I just did an autocal via Lumagen because I wanted to try a 2.3 gamma and lowered my peak light output to about 52 cd/m^2. Even without checking the box to perform a gamma autocal, the post cal gamma was very close to 2.3. I was using 125 pt auto cal.

The manual controls worked perfectly to touch up a couple of points white balance.
Knd is offline  
post #434 of 1763 Old 02-21-2016, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post
There is a level issue with the Quantum Data 801 and 882 series. Black windows are reproduced above black. Measured gamma is also incorrect. CP2 does not have the issue and measures gamma correctly.
Other generators I've tried, VideoForge and DVDO TPG, do not have the issue.
Chad, I found the problem.

Are the 801 and 882 supposed to output PC levels? That's the difference between v2 and v3. At 10% grayscale v2 outputs 26,26,26 and v3 outputs 38,38,38 which is the difference between PC and video levels.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #435 of 1763 Old 02-21-2016, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bradford, OH
Posts: 2,724
Mentioned: 107 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
I am not positive, but I do know the 802/882 outputs BTB, because I had a pluge pattern for it with BTB strips. It worked correctly in v2.

touring ISF/THX calibrator with Jeti 1211 and Klein K-10
Latest reviews:JVC RS540, JVC RS3000, Sony VPL-VW695ES
Copied settings measured, Review archive
Chad B is offline  
post #436 of 1763 Old 02-21-2016, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post
I am not positive, but I do know the 802/882 outputs BTB, because I had a pluge pattern for it with BTB strips. It worked correctly in v2.
It looks like the 801 only works in PC mode and the 882 will work in PC or video mode. So it appears that your 882 is set to PC levels, which is why v2 works with both. We will have to change the output levels for the 801 in v3 and probably that's the easiest thing to do with the 882 as well, though we might try setting the 882 to output in video mode and then leave the levels alone.

I'll get back.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #437 of 1763 Old 03-03-2016, 06:44 AM
Member
 
rolling01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Gee this threads gone quiet. Will there be a "calibration for dummies" for V3?
BiggShooter likes this.
rolling01 is offline  
post #438 of 1763 Old 03-03-2016, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolling01 View Post
Gee this threads gone quiet. Will there be a "calibration for dummies" for V3?

Help files in the s/w itself should be able to give you an idea.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
desray2k is offline  
post #439 of 1763 Old 03-03-2016, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolling01 View Post
Gee this threads gone quiet. Will there be a "calibration for dummies" for V3?
Yes, this is something I want to work on. Look for this next month.

BTW, we are working furiously on various issues.

- 3.0.7 will be out in the next few days that fixes some stability and installation issues and adds support for the Murideo generator
- 3.1 should be out in April. It is shaping up to be a major release. It will have several new features and a significant UI enhancement that I hope will please people.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #440 of 1763 Old 03-03-2016, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
desray2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,149
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Yes, this is something I want to work on. Look for this next month.

BTW, we are working furiously on various issues.

- 3.0.7 will be out in the next few days that fixes some stability and installation issues and adds support for the Murideo generator
- 3.1 should be out in April. It is shaping up to be a major release. It will have several new features and a significant UI enhancement that I hope will please people.
More importantly... Its free?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
desray2k is offline  
post #441 of 1763 Old 03-03-2016, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by desray2k View Post
More importantly... Its free?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Point upgrades are always free. We won't charge for another version until 4.0 comes out, which if history is any guide, will be years from now.
desray2k, rolling01 and firefox15 like this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #442 of 1763 Old 03-05-2016, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drapp1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those using a Radiance Mini-3D, have you had problems running auto-calibrate using the Advanced Color Gamut 125 point matrix? My Mini-3D goes blank-screen and the power LED flashes in mid-calibration, and this did not occur under CP2. Using Color Gamut and 75% of Rec. 709 in auto-cal leads to excellent results with my JVC RS6710, although manual adjustment of gamma is needed at higher IREs.

I use CP3 on my MacBook Pro Retina using VMware Fusion and Windows 7 and it looks excellent (1400x900 res).
drapp1952 is offline  
post #443 of 1763 Old 03-05-2016, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by drapp1952 View Post
For those using a Radiance Mini-3D, have you had problems running auto-calibrate using the Advanced Color Gamut 125 point matrix? My Mini-3D goes blank-screen and the power LED flashes in mid-calibration, and this did not occur under CP2. Using Color Gamut and 75% of Rec. 709 in auto-cal leads to excellent results with my JVC RS6710, although manual adjustment of gamma is needed at higher IREs.

I use CP3 on my MacBook Pro Retina using VMware Fusion and Windows 7 and it looks excellent (1400x900 res).
Is this repeatable? Other than adding 21pt support, we made no changes to auto-cal in v3, so it should work the same as v2.

Do a clean reinstall of CP3, select Repair Settings under the File menu, and try again. Select "Reset to Lumagen Factory Default" and run 125 pt again.

No one else has reported this problem. Is anybody else seeing this?

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #444 of 1763 Old 03-06-2016, 10:25 AM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Tom,
In the next update, could you put the dE for the 6x6x6 measurement matrix after an auto cal? In CP2 the dE is there and I enjoyed watching these scroll by as the measurements were made.
Knd is offline  
post #445 of 1763 Old 03-08-2016, 03:59 PM
Member
 
svellinis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Tom

My i1d3 oem SN: OE-14.B-01.101486.06 is rev b but the firmware does not support the AIO method to function.
Work fine with chromapure 2.5.8 and chromapure 3.06 in CRT and LCD mode but in the last version of chromapure 3.07 my i1d3 is not recognized.
Work fine with lightspace , Calman ,Hcfr
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ejbjggej.png
Views:	123
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	1302113  
svellinis is online now  
post #446 of 1763 Old 03-08-2016, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by svellinis View Post
My i1d3 oem SN: OE-14.B-01.101486.06 is rev b but the firmware does not support the AIO method to function.
Not true. The AIO method is the default read mode for the Rev B. i1D3 and works fine. I ask that users seek technical support prior to making such definitive statements.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #447 of 1763 Old 03-09-2016, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Not true. The AIO method is the default read mode for the Rev B. i1D3 and works fine. I ask that users seek technical support prior to making such definitive statements.
Should AIO show up when initializing the meter? I have the same problem with my rev. B. I can select AIO in the options, but not on the main screen.
svellinis likes this.
firefox15 is offline  
post #448 of 1763 Old 03-09-2016, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by firefox15 View Post
Should AIO show up when initializing the meter? I have the same problem with my rev. B. I can select AIO in the options, but not on the main screen.
No. The Read mode (which is part of X-Rite's firmware) is not selectable on the initialize window.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #449 of 1763 Old 03-11-2016, 03:51 PM
Knd
Advanced Member
 
Knd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 32
V3.06 a couple of comments from cal session today.
1) Using the Lumagen as pattern generator, then unable this to run brightness pattern from blu-ray, I could not get the enable toggle to work again so I shut down and restarted.
2) This is very minor, during auto cal, when new settings are shown, the spacing is off. IIRC it is red, space, green, no space, blue.
Knd is offline  
post #450 of 1763 Old 03-18-2016, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,911
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked: 842
ChromaPure 3.0.7 Released

ChromaPure 3.0.7 is now available for download. It is free for license v3 users.

This release adds support for the 4K Murideo signal generator. It also makes some changes that we hope will reduce errors.

The release notes are available on our News page.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off