The Official ChromaPure 3 thread - Page 63 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 358Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Updated to the latest software. Latest disc. Trying to run pre cal Gamut. Now there are even more color variants in the SW, 80%, 60, 40, 20 and I don't see those in rev 006 disc. What am I missing? I just want to smoothly run through a pre cal in order the SW is asking for?

bob
spongebob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD_99 View Post
Hey spongebob:

The place to enter your AWP settings in ChromaPure 3 is in the settings box. Just open up one of the CP3 modules (e.g. White Balance) and click on the round settings wheel icon. Then click on the gamut tab and you will see a box to enter your AWP values. Then click on "Apply" and those AWP values will be in effect for the remainder of your CP3 calibration session. See attached file...
Rick,

Do I enter those offsets in every module? WB, Color, etc?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1863 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
The disc does not have test patterns for the tertiary colors. Primary, secondary and ColorChecker only. If you want to measurement the tertiary colors, use the built-in test pattern generator.
Ok. I chose Cal disc as the source. Shouldn't that change the pattern options/ sequence? How do you use the built in patterns?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1864 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Rick,

Do I enter those offsets in every module? WB, Color, etc?

thx

bob
Nope just have to enter them once in whatever module you choose and the settings will apply to all modules thereafter for as long as your calibration session lasts...

LG 55C6P OLED Display/Apple TV 4K/2019 Roku Ultra
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (65-0131 firmware)
ELAC unifi B5 Speakers
NAD C316BEE Stereo Amplifier
Nakamichi Shockwafe 9.2 Sound Bar (3.2 firmware)/Xbox One X 4K Gaming Console
RickD_99 is offline  
post #1865 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Updated to the latest software. Latest disc. Trying to run pre cal Gamut. Now there are even more color variants in the SW, 80%, 60, 40, 20 and I don't see those in rev 006 disc. What am I missing? I just want to smoothly run through a pre cal in order the SW is asking for?

bob
The software is selectable between 25% and 20% increments. If you are using the disc, select the 25% increments.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1866 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Ok. I chose Cal disc as the source. Shouldn't that change the pattern options/ sequence? How do you use the built in patterns?

thx

bob
From the Help file
Built-in Signal Generator

On the Initial Setup module, select Built-in from the Signal Source drop-down..

Select the desired test pattern size.

Connect the PC's HDMI output to the display you wish to calibrate.

Setup your PC for an Extended Desktop. The PC's screen should show the ChromaPure application and the calibration display will show the test patterns.

TIP: If you setup the extended desktop prior to displaying any test patterns, then the first one you display will appear on the calibration display automatically. Otherwise, just drag the test pattern onto the calibration display. Then right-click the test pattern and select Maximize.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1867 of 1891 Old 04-22-2020, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
From the Help file
Built-in Signal Generator

On the Initial Setup module, select Built-in from the Signal Source drop-down..

Select the desired test pattern size.

Connect the PC's HDMI output to the display you wish to calibrate.

Setup your PC for an Extended Desktop. The PC's screen should show the ChromaPure application and the calibration display will show the test patterns.

TIP: If you setup the extended desktop prior to displaying any test patterns, then the first one you display will appear on the calibration display automatically. Otherwise, just drag the test pattern onto the calibration display. Then right-click the test pattern and select Maximize.
Thanks, Tom

I'm just using an older Win 7 laptop, no HDMI so I'll stick with the disc for now

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1868 of 1891 Old 04-26-2020, 05:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
@TomHuffman : does ChromaPure 3 support the i1Pro 3 spectrophotometer? Couldn't find anything in the release notes or supported meters page, but was wondering if it might already be supported, because it seems more of an iteration of the i1Pro 2 rather than a completely new design like it was with i1Pro > i1Pro 2.
Kid Jansen is offline  
post #1869 of 1891 Old 04-26-2020, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Jansen View Post
@TomHuffman : does ChromaPure 3 support the i1Pro 3 spectrophotometer? Couldn't find anything in the release notes or supported meters page, but was wondering if it might already be supported, because it seems more of an iteration of the i1Pro 2 rather than a completely new design like it was with i1Pro > i1Pro 2.
No, it is not really a new design. It works with the same SDK support as the i1Pro 2, so yes we support it.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1870 of 1891 Old 05-02-2020, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
I thought you were talking about the Kuro. Use window test patterns. Calibrate levels and grayscale. Choose desired gamma preset. Use the Extended gamut and the Cinema Picture mode. The default color is very good but you can touch it up a little. LG OLEDs are really easy to calibrate. Some people have trouble because they use the OLED internal mode in the i1. This is one of the modes that is horribly inaccurate. The default mode on the meter measures the panel quite well.
Tom

Could you explain why Extended gamut vs auto or wide?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1871 of 1891 Old 05-02-2020, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
No, it is not really a new design. It works with the same SDK support as the i1Pro 2, so yes we support it.
Do my pro cal offsets work in OLED mode?

bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	meter_001.png
Views:	40
Size:	203.9 KB
ID:	2720126  
spongebob is offline  
post #1872 of 1891 Old 05-02-2020, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Tom

Could you explain why Extended gamut vs auto or wide?
On the LG displays, the Standard gamut is closest to SMPTE-C, which you would use for DVD. Extended is closest to 709, which you would use for HD. Wide is closest to P3, which you would use for UHD.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1873 of 1891 Old 05-02-2020, 10:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Do my pro cal offsets work in OLED mode?

bob
No. You had this done in 2012, which was before the OLEDs were available. You should send your meter in for re-calibration. After 8 years it would be a good idea even if it weren't missing the OLED mode.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1874 of 1891 Old 05-02-2020, 10:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
No. You had this done in 2012, which was before the OLEDs were available. You should send your meter in for re-calibration. After 8 years it would be a good idea even if it weren't missing the OLED mode.
THanks, Tom

What is the cost for that?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1875 of 1891 Old 05-02-2020, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
THanks, Tom

What is the cost for that?

bob
$199 for a re-calibration of PRO meters.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1876 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
How do I export a report to pdf? Can't find it anywhere!

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1877 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
$199 for a re-calibration of PRO meters.
So, how much is new pro meter and what improvements?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1878 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
How do I export a report to pdf? Can't find it anywhere!

bob
There is a toolbar at the top of the report window. There is a printer icon. Click that and select a pdf printer.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1879 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
So, how much is new pro meter and what improvements?

bob
$448. It syncs to the display's refresh rate and can read higher luminance values.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1880 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
There is a toolbar at the top of the report window. There is a printer icon. Click that and select a pdf printer.
I don't have a pdf printer option, just my printer, fax, or ms xps doc. (win 7 pro)

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1881 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
I don't have a pdf printer option, just my printer, fax, or ms xps doc. (win 7 pro)

bob
You can download one. There are several that are free.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1882 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a question regarding the impact of display driver settings in Windows when using Chromapure's built in signal generator to do an SDR calibration.

To back up for a sec, I was pulling my hair out for the last few days trying to figure out why I was getting very abnormal Gamma readings (extremely high gamma at the low IRE end and extremely low gamma at the high IRE end) when doing an SDR gamma calibration of my B7A display. After some trial and error I realized this was ONLY happening when my display had Deep Color (Enhanced HDMI capabilities) enabled. If Deep Color was off, Gamma was fine. After quite a bit of troubleshooting, I realized that enabling YCbCr in the Intel Control Panel of my laptop resolved the Gamma issue when attempting an SDR gamma calibration (using Chromapure's built in signal generator), while my Display had Deep Color enabled.

I don't know enough about calibration to fully understand the interplay between the YCbCr setting and the Enhanced HDMI capabilities of my display on an SDR calibration, but it did raise an important question for me...

What are the optimal settings I need to consider with respect to my Windows display driver when attempting an SDR calibration using Chromapure's built in signal generator, because clearly an incorrect setting there can have a hugely detrimental effect on the calibration?

Last edited by abrams500; 05-03-2020 at 01:18 PM.
abrams500 is offline  
post #1883 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
I thought you were talking about the Kuro. Use window test patterns. Calibrate levels and grayscale. Choose desired gamma preset. Use the Extended gamut and the Cinema Picture mode. The default color is very good but you can touch it up a little. LG OLEDs are really easy to calibrate. Some people have trouble because they use the OLED internal mode in the i1. This is one of the modes that is horribly inaccurate. The default mode on the meter measures the panel quite well.
Tom,

What color window pattern do I use for the C9 OLED on the CP 3 Blu ray disc?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1884 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Tom,

What color window pattern do I use for the C9 OLED on the CP 3 Blu ray disc?
Windows.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1885 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
Windows.
Right, but which one, 75%, sat or? Don't have it in front of me but there are multiple windows options. This is for oLED

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #1886 of 1891 Old 05-03-2020, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Right, but which one, 75%, sat or? Don't have it in front of me but there are multiple windows options. This is for oLED

bob
75% saturation, 75% intensity is probably best, but there is no hard and fast rule about this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1887 of 1891 Old 05-04-2020, 05:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 12,719
Mentioned: 216 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6432 Post(s)
Liked: 3392
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
There was so much confusion about using this third-party tool, we went back to doing it the way we did it in v2. You should no longer need to use the madVR utility. The patterns are authored in 0-255 and the laptop's HDMI port will almost always convert it to 16-235 when plugging into a TV.
Hi Tom

Is this still true for the latest release 3.1.19? Any recommendation how to properly check wether the PC converts to 16-235 or sends 0-255 via HDMI?

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #1888 of 1891 Old 05-23-2020, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
Hi Tom

Is this still true for the latest release 3.1.19? Any recommendation how to properly check wether the PC converts to 16-235 or sends 0-255 via HDMI?
Check it against a known reference, i.e., calibration disc.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1889 of 1891 Old 05-23-2020, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 852
Spyder and Macs

We can only support the SpyderX--and I suspect all of the Spyder meters--on the PC. We cannot get the the SpyderX to work on a Mac using PC emulation software, such as Parallels or Bootcamp.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1890 of 1891 Old 05-26-2020, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
hi Tom, have you planned an update regarding the autocal Radiance Pro GAMMA 12 BIT?
Thanks!
Vinturbo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off