R.Masciola's HDR-10 UHD Test Patterns - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1084Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 1774 Old 02-20-2019, 01:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Technically contrast and brightness are considered calibrated by eye.
Adjusted correctly, perhaps. "Calibrated", no. Look it up in a dictionary

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 1774 Old 02-20-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Adjusted correctly, perhaps. "Calibrated", no. Look it up in a dictionary
There are many varying definitions of the word calibrate. Including "to adjust precisely for a particular function" from Webster's dictionary.

The human eye is used to precisely adjust contrast and brightness.

Last edited by skschatzman; 02-20-2019 at 02:18 PM.
skschatzman is online now  
post #1623 of 1774 Old 02-20-2019, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
There are many varying definitions of the word calibrate. Including "to adjust precisely for a particular function" from Webster's dictionary.
For TVs, it means using an accurate instrument.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1624 of 1774 Old 02-20-2019, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
For TVs, it means using an accurate instrument.
The human eye is an accurate instrument for precisely adjusting contrast and brightness.

Last edited by skschatzman; 02-20-2019 at 02:41 PM.
skschatzman is online now  
post #1625 of 1774 Old 02-20-2019, 06:15 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Fair points all.

looks like i am going to have to invest in Calman spectrometers and a lot of reading time

Impossible to get professional (or any) calibration in HK - they dont have a clue here ......
galonzo and mrtickleuk like this.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1626 of 1774 Old 02-21-2019, 05:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there any specific test pattern for OLED LG display for SDR calibration ? Or windows pattern are enough ?
squall049 is offline  
post #1627 of 1774 Old 02-21-2019, 05:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I mean, i want to use AVS HD 709 windows pattern to calibrate SDR on my 65 FZ800, then Buy Diversified Video Solution To calibrate HDR 10.

Am I right ?
squall049 is offline  
post #1628 of 1774 Old 02-21-2019, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
<sits on hands>

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #1629 of 1774 Old 02-21-2019, 07:38 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
So I am thinking of getting a Calman C6 spectrometer. Am i correct in thinking that all I need is Calman C6, Calman software, Pattern generator (Ryan's suite), Laptop?

First step would be to use the Samsung / Calman autocal feature and then fine tune manually (not that I am at all getting ahead of myself with knowing nothing )

I see Calman are going to be releasing a cheaper Home version package soon. Will wait for that.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1630 of 1774 Old 02-21-2019, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,999
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
So I am thinking of getting a Calman C6 spectrometer. Am i correct in thinking that all I need is Calman C6, Calman software, Pattern generator (Ryan's suite), Laptop?

First step would be to use the Samsung / Calman autocal feature and then fine tune manually (not that I am at all getting ahead of myself with knowing nothing )

I see Calman are going to be releasing a cheaper Home version package soon. Will wait for that.
The C-6 is a colorimeter, not a spectrophotometer. Completely different beast.
mombasa123 likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #1631 of 1774 Old 02-21-2019, 11:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys first time posting a question so forgive me if i dont ask it clearly i have an lg oled 2016 model using hdr patterns from R.Masciola my question is as follows i imported the 2016 lg csv into my chromapure software yet when trying to use white balance the lg uhd file i downloaded says adjustment point=1 10 bit code value =127 target luminance y = 0.14 what pattern should i use from Masciola pattern found in the greyscale?
goibear is offline  
post #1632 of 1774 Old 02-22-2019, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
A/V Addicted Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by goibear View Post
Hey guys first time posting a question so forgive me if i dont ask it clearly i have an lg oled 2016 model using hdr patterns from R.Masciola my question is as follows i imported the 2016 lg csv into my chromapure software yet when trying to use white balance the lg uhd file i downloaded says adjustment point=1 10 bit code value =127 target luminance y = 0.14 what pattern should i use from Masciola pattern found in the greyscale?
Hi goibear,

Within the miscellaneous section of the pattern suite, you should see a folder labeled "LG Display Code Value Grayscale Sweeps". Open the folder, select OLED and you will see a list of available years. Just select the 2016 folder and all of the patterns within should follow the requested sequence. I hope this helps. Thanks!

- Ryan M.
galonzo and mrtickleuk like this.
mascior is online now  
post #1633 of 1774 Old 02-22-2019, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you i will go ahead in find that, the chromapure should follow the pattern order that is found in the usb? Because on the usb it goes from 100 the goes from 0 to 90
goibear is offline  
post #1634 of 1774 Old 02-26-2019, 08:43 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Hi,

Following on from my previous numpty posts, would be grateful if someone could answer the below please?

1) Does Calman support these patterns directly (like it does with AVS HD), ie tells you which patterns to use step by step?
Edit : Think the answer is to upload Ryan's Calman workflow? Or is it just for checking but can;t use for calibration?

2) It looks like the AutoCal feature needs an external pattern generator like VideoForge? That's way too expensive for my use. Or, can AutoCal use the patterns disk with manual intervention?

Maybe, the upcoming Calman Home product will sort that but no details yet.

Thanks

Last edited by mombasa123; 02-26-2019 at 09:23 PM.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1635 of 1774 Old 02-26-2019, 11:23 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I'm thinking XRite i1 Pro 3 & ChromaPure + Ryan's patterns is a decent option over CalMan Home if i want it now? HCFR seems too much to get into.

I don't think CalMan AutoCal will work without an external pattern generator but happy to be corrected.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1636 of 1774 Old 02-27-2019, 01:37 AM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
I'm thinking XRite i1 Pro 3 & ChromaPure + Ryan's patterns is a decent option over CalMan Home if i want it now? HCFR seems too much to get into.

I don't think CalMan AutoCal will work without an external pattern generator but happy to be corrected.
Calman AutoCal works fine with manual pattern selection - it's just a little less automatic as you need to select the approaite pattern from your chosen set.
galonzo and mombasa123 like this.
JayAy is offline  
post #1637 of 1774 Old 02-27-2019, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,483
Mentioned: 164 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4421 Post(s)
Liked: 6700
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Hi,

Following on from my previous numpty posts, would be grateful if someone could answer the below please?
Answering both questions, yes you can tell Calman that your pattern source isn't automatic. You enable this option:



Then each time Calman wants to request a different pattern, it asks you to display it and describes what it wants, like this:



The issues are down to patience and practicality. Autocal is likely to repeatedly request lots of different shades of grey in random order, maybe hundreds of times. What would take a few minutes using a source which changes automatically - not just an expensive generator but also a cheaper accurate one such as the Raspberry Pi - could take you an entire day doing manually. Then at the end if you've made a mistake you might have to re-do it!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Calman-manual prompts1.png
Views:	422
Size:	22.1 KB
ID:	2531834   Click image for larger version

Name:	Calman-manual prompts2.png
Views:	422
Size:	25.4 KB
ID:	2531836  

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #1638 of 1774 Old 02-27-2019, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,244
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4285 Post(s)
Liked: 5236
Also I don't think you can do a 3D LUT on the LG like that unless you stay up all night manually changing patterns as well.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
post #1639 of 1774 Old 02-27-2019, 06:19 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Answering both questions, yes you can tell Calman that your pattern source isn't automatic. You enable this option:



Then each time Calman wants to request a different pattern, it asks you to display it and describes what it wants, like this:



The issues are down to patience and practicality. Autocal is likely to repeatedly request lots of different shades of grey in random order, maybe hundreds of times. What would take a few minutes using a source which changes automatically - not just an expensive generator but also a cheaper accurate one such as the Raspberry Pi - could take you an entire day doing manually. Then at the end if you've made a mistake you might have to re-do it!
Thanks! Yes would be v painful with manual intervention.

So CalMan AutoCal will support an RPi pattern generator? Where does one get that from please?

Fyi, Ted's HDTV Calibration Disk also supports semi-auto CalMan AutoCal. Which then leaves HDR 10 ......

Last edited by mombasa123; 02-28-2019 at 12:06 AM.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1640 of 1774 Old 03-01-2019, 07:56 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
How to use CalMan Workflow

I have just purchased and downloaded the HDR 10 Media files but can't figure out how to use the CalMAN workflow. Is there a CalMAN workflow template or is that not how it works?

Thanks
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1641 of 1774 Old 03-01-2019, 08:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
I have just purchased and downloaded the HDR 10 Media files but can't figure out how to use the CalMAN workflow. Is there a CalMAN workflow template or is that not how it works?



Thanks
If you have an issue with Calman, then you should post in that forum.
skschatzman is online now  
post #1642 of 1774 Old 03-02-2019, 03:38 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
If you have an issue with Calman, then you should post in that forum.
No, I meant does the disk come with CalMAN workflows which can be loaded into CalMan or does one have to use a standard workflow? Just looking for info on how to use the CalMan patterns on the disk. It's not very clear to me as a beginner i'm afraid.

Edit : it doesn't come with the Calman workflow templates - at least none I could see, Any instructions anywhere on how to use in Calman please?

Thanks
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1643 of 1774 Old 03-02-2019, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
No, I meant does the disk come with CalMAN workflows which can be loaded into CalMan or does one have to use a standard workflow? Just looking for info on how to use the CalMan patterns on the disk. It's not very clear to me as a beginner i'm afraid.



Edit : it doesn't come with the Calman workflow templates - at least none I could see, Any instructions anywhere on how to use in Calman please?



Thanks
Ah so there is the issue. You can't use file patterns in Calman. You would need a reference test pattern generator for that.

The file patterns have to be manually loaded 1 at a time after every single reading. Most TVs allow you to load images on a thumb drive inserted into the USB of the TV.
skschatzman is online now  
post #1644 of 1774 Old 03-02-2019, 07:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,999
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Also I don't think you can do a 3D LUT on the LG like that unless you stay up all night manually changing patterns as well.
Oh, the pain, the pain...
galonzo and jrref like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #1645 of 1774 Old 03-02-2019, 07:32 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Ah so there is the issue. You can't use file patterns in Calman. You would need a reference test pattern generator for that.

The file patterns have to be manually loaded 1 at a time after every single reading. Most TVs allow you to load images on a thumb drive inserted into the USB of the TV.
I emaiedl Ryan and he sent me the CalMAN workflow template which is available on request for all purchasers. All good. Thank you, Ryan!

Now to figure out how to use CalMAN - starting with Ted's Calibration Disk for SDR.

Regards
monkaquinas likes this.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #1646 of 1774 Old 03-02-2019, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
I emaiedl Ryan and he sent me the CalMAN workflow template which is available on request for all purchasers. All good. Thank you, Ryan!



Now to figure out how to use CalMAN - starting with Ted's Calibration Disk for SDR.



Regards
Uh. There is no special Calman workflow. Calman already comes with a workflow that Ryan built his patterns around. The workflow he sent you already comes with Calman. Also the way you worded your last post that I quoted made it sound like you were looking for a way to insert the patterns into Calman, which you can't do.
skschatzman is online now  
post #1647 of 1774 Old 03-10-2019, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
ChavesBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Will this work with the Panasonic FZ950/952?
ChavesBR is offline  
post #1648 of 1774 Old 03-10-2019, 07:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChavesBR View Post
Will this work with the Panasonic FZ950/952?
If the unit is capable of HDR10. It is just a suite of HDR10 test patterns that you use in conjunction with software & meter calibrations.
galonzo likes this.

Last edited by skschatzman; 03-10-2019 at 07:32 PM.
skschatzman is online now  
post #1649 of 1774 Old 03-21-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 1582
@mascior
Been a while Ryan. Any new updates for the DV suite?
skschatzman is online now  
post #1650 of 1774 Old 03-21-2019, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
A/V Addicted Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
@mascior
Been a while Ryan. Any new updates for the DV suite?
Slowly but surely...I have quite a few sections completed though, grayscale, 50/50 color, basic setup. However, I'm still working on a custom CalMAN workflow. Also, once completed, I need to get the entire pattern suite blessed by Dolby. The first revision will be limited, but encompass all necessary patterns for a complete calibration, along with basic observation, though numerous revisions are planned. The biggest challenge and the most time consuming portion of this entire project, is the verification process of each pattern once transcoded. This isn't as simple as creating a test patch and encoding with applied metadata as with HDR-10. This is an entire detailed process from beginning to end, involving a multitude of steps and processes. Also, to make it even more challenging, all patterns are interpolated from a SDR base version of the original HDR master...not to mention dealing with Dolby's proprietary IPT for color. I was aiming for the first quarter...now it's looking like mid-second quarter. I appreciate everybody's patience as I finalize this project, a lot has gone into it. Thanks!

- Ryan M.
mascior is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off