Calibrate brightness/contrast from couch or from close inspection of screen? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By The Coolest

post #1 of 11 Old 07-21-2016, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Calibrate brightness/contrast from couch or from close inspection of screen?

It is my understanding that I should calibrate brightness/contrast using my usual viewing conditions (which are rather dark, in my case), but should I do it sitting on my couch? Because I imagine I would need a brighter black level in order to discern the darkest flashing levels on the test pattern (down to 16) from my normal viewing distance than I would if I studied the flashing test pattern standing very close to the TV.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-21-2016, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
I like to calibrate brightness via the meter, so the closest thing to that would be from up close to the screen. Especially in a dark room that should be pretty good.
You are correct in saying that you will probably have to raise the brightness in order to see the blinking bars from a distance.
I think that in the end it is really up to you on how much you want to see all those really dark details vs having a greater contrast level. Remember that even a small increase in black level will affect the overall contrast of the screen quite dramatically.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
post #3 of 11 Old 07-21-2016, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
Remember that even a small increase in black level will affect the overall contrast of the screen quite dramatically.