2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk) - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2511Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
Hi Guys,


I just did my 1st HDR calibration via SM WB. Special thanks to Ted to make this happened! My LG OLED C8 has never been better!


Did you used the original CalMAN ”OLED” EDR? If so, then you should rerun the calibration with RAW XYZ or create a custom FCCM if you own a spectral because the ”OLED” profile is for RGB OLED models and not for consumer OLED with white subpixel.
Rolls-Royce and jrref like this.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
santodx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
Did you used the original CalMAN ”OLED” EDR? If so, then you should rerun the calibration with RAW XYZ or create a custom FCCM if you own a spectral because the ”OLED” profile is for RGB OLED models and not for consumer OLED with white subpixel.

I used calman 5.8.1 meter mode OLED with i1 display profiled with spectro. It has natural pic so far. What is RAW XYZ?


Thanks
santodx5 is online now  
post #3693 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
I used calman 5.8.1 meter mode OLED with i1 display profiled with spectro. It has natural pic so far. What is RAW XYZ?


Thanks
RAW XYZ is a mode in which the meter reports the numbers as read through its internal base calibration only, without processing them through any sort of EDR.

BTW, when you profile an I1D3 meter, you really should first set it to RAW XYZ. No EDR is necessary. In fact, by using a custom meter profile, you are no longer relying solely on an EDR and should not refer to it as such. You'll get more suggestions to use RAW XYZ if you do...
jrref likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 01-05-2020 at 11:31 AM.
Rolls-Royce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
santodx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
RAW XYZ is a mode in which the meter reports the numbers as read through its internal base calibration only, without processing them through any sort of EDR.

BTW, when you profile an I1D3 meter, you really should first set it to RAW XYZ. No EDR is necessary. In fact, by using a custom meter profile, you are no longer relying solely on an EDR and should not refer to it as such. You'll get more suggestions to use RAW XYZ if you do...

Thank you. I just learned this today as I am new. So RAW XYZ to profile with I1D2, then what mode to use for the TV?
santodx5 is online now  
post #3695 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,431
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
Thank you. I just learned this today as I am new. So RAW XYZ to profile with I1D2, then what mode to use for the TV?
Then you don't select a mode. You go into the meter tab when you have your I1D3 attached and select the profile you previously created with the spectro. It'll be saved against that I1D3's serial number.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 01-05-2020 at 12:40 PM.
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #3696 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
That's excellent! Great to see. This is why this is such a great community, people sharing knowledge etc!



ok, here goes!
SM = Service Menu.
WB = White Balance.

Last year (funny saying that!), @ConnecTEDDD advocated a method of calibration where instead of using the 1DLUT and 3DLUT, or the user menu's 2-point WB controls, you instead use the SM 2pt WB, and leave the factory 1DLUT and default user menu's 2pt WB set at defaults. (then use 3DLUT as before for SDR).

This has two major benefits:
  1. the TV performs less processing because it isn't adjusting the WB in many different places -> less banding.
  2. because the slots in the SM for WB are used as foundations for SDR, HDR10/HLG and Dolby Vision, this is a way to improve Dolby Vision accuracy without being lucky enough to have a bit-accurate laptop, a HDFury, and/or a ridiculously over-priced pattern generator (which is what you would otherwise need to calibrate Dolby Vision on these TVs).

Tedd mentioned it here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57774966

It was (2) which got me very excited, to be honest. There was more discussion in September, October and November. If you're new to this thread and/or calibration, it really does pay off to read the whole thread, even though it is a slog and will take you time.

One well-meaning user tried to summarise this method in a nice list for Calman users, and the most recent version of that checklist is from 13th Nov 2019, here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post58817034

HTH
SM adjustment work for HDR but it is not work for DV.... at least when using an alternative white point. Seems to be something linked to that damn do configuration file.
mrtickleuk likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #3697 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,790
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5397 Post(s)
Liked: 7795
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
SM adjustment work for HDR but it is not work for DV.... at least when using an alternative white point. Seems to be something linked to that damn do configuration file.
Interesting. I don't attempt an alternative white point with non-SDR though.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #3698 of 3710 Old 01-05-2020, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,108
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2116 Post(s)
Liked: 3984
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Interesting. I don't attempt an alternative white point with non-SDR though.
An alternative is needed for all modes, not just SDR.
D-Nice is offline  
post #3699 of 3710 Old 01-06-2020, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
ok, here goes!
Thanks, I know all of these.
My question was about: which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc.?

To be more clear: if I'm not mistaken the nit value of normal white in HDR10 is 94 nits. In SDR many profile/calibrate for 100 nits white, me around 120 nits. When you display a "normal white" in SDR it will be ~700 nits.
I hope you get my point guys.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is online now  
post #3700 of 3710 Old 01-06-2020, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,790
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5397 Post(s)
Liked: 7795
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
An alternative is needed for all modes, not just SDR.
Oh! Yes, when I think about it - of course. Metamerism doesn't know or care about how bright it is.

In that case I now realise I have made a mistake. When I saw the graphic about 1/3rd of the way down Tedd's page: https://displaycalibrations.com/lg_2...ightspace.html
(Rec.709 vs DCI-P3 vs Rec.2020) D65 comparisons)
...I wrongly thought that I shouldn't change the white point except for SDR. Whereas in fact, it was just a nice explanation of where white is relative to the primary RGB values at the corners of each of those very different triangles.

So, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Thanks, I know all of these.
My question was about: which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc.?

To be more clear: if I'm not mistaken the nit value of normal white in HDR10 is 94 nits.
Ah. You don't measure it like that. See the posted I linked to, and the prior discussion starting in September, for full details of which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc. The SM only contains a single SDR set of 2pts for the 3 temperatures. You do it all in SDR in the SM. The TV will then use your lovely flat white balance automatically in HDR10/HLG and dolby vision. Except in the case that @D-Nice mentioned.
chros73 likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 01-06-2020 at 01:55 PM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #3701 of 3710 Old 01-09-2020, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anger.miki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Thanks, I know all of these.
My question was about: which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc.?

To be more clear: if I'm not mistaken the nit value of normal white in HDR10 is 94 nits. In SDR many profile/calibrate for 100 nits white, me around 120 nits. When you display a "normal white" in SDR it will be ~700 nits.
I hope you get my point guys.
I'm sorry, what do you mean exactly for normal white? White is one (255,255,255 or 235,235,235 depending on the level), so you probably mean D65. If it's it, than in SDR (rec.709/BT.1886) the reference luminance is 100 nits (but since rec.709 is a relative standard you could use whatever you want... at your own risk ). HDR is an absolute standard, so, simplifying, you should aim for what the contents are mastered to (1000/4000/10000 nits)... I hope I got your point.

T.U.C. Master | TVs: Pioneer PDP-LX5090H, LG OLED55C8PLA | AV Receiver: Pioneer VSX-921 | BD Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT260EG | External LUT box: Entertainment Experience eeColor | Softwares: Light Illusion Lightspace HTP, CM Enthusiast, HCFR, DisplayCAL | Probes: Klein K10-A, Jeti spectraval 1501, X-Rite i1 Pro 2 OEM, X-Rite i1 Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02, basICColor DISCUS | Test Pattern Generator: DVDO AVLab TPG
Anger.miki is online now  
post #3702 of 3710 Old 01-10-2020, 03:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anger.miki View Post
I'm sorry, what do you mean exactly for normal white? White is one (255,255,255 or 235,235,235 depending on the level), so you probably mean D65. If it's it, than in SDR (rec.709/BT.1886) the reference luminance is 100 nits (but since rec.709 is a relative standard you could use whatever you want... at your own risk ). HDR is an absolute standard, so, simplifying, you should aim for what the contents are mastered to (1000/4000/10000 nits)... I hope I got your point.
No, I meant diffuse white, which I remember (wrongly?) as 94 nits, but this article says 100 / 203, etc
I hope it's clearer now what I meant.
Anger.miki likes this.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is online now  
post #3703 of 3710 Old 01-10-2020, 04:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,925
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 832 Post(s)
Liked: 1281
Originally, for PQ based HDR, diffuse white was specified at 100 nits - same as SDR.
But, that later changed, due to issues with crushed shadows, to 203 nits.

See: https://www.lightillusion.com/uhdtv.html

Steve
chunon likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #3704 of 3710 Old 01-11-2020, 02:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
The SM only contains a single SDR set of 2pts for the 3 temperatures. You do it all in SDR in the SM. The TV will then use your lovely flat white balance automatically in HDR10/HLG and dolby vision. Except in the case that @D-Nice mentioned.
Did I understand that correctly, now that I have WB set in SM for SDR, I can just change HDR and DV to cool (that was set for SDR)? No need for HDfury to measure anything in HDR?

Only LightSpace in use, so none of that lightninglut for HDR in my case. And I’m happy with D65 for now, so no custom white points used.
Miksu2 is offline  
post #3705 of 3710 Old 01-11-2020, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anger.miki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Correct. That’s because all dynamic ranges (standard and high) share the same coordinates for the white x 0.3127 and y 0.3290.
L30Z3N and Miksu2 like this.

T.U.C. Master | TVs: Pioneer PDP-LX5090H, LG OLED55C8PLA | AV Receiver: Pioneer VSX-921 | BD Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT260EG | External LUT box: Entertainment Experience eeColor | Softwares: Light Illusion Lightspace HTP, CM Enthusiast, HCFR, DisplayCAL | Probes: Klein K10-A, Jeti spectraval 1501, X-Rite i1 Pro 2 OEM, X-Rite i1 Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02, basICColor DISCUS | Test Pattern Generator: DVDO AVLab TPG
Anger.miki is online now  
post #3706 of 3710 Old 01-11-2020, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Thank you! This forum is a treasure trove that just keeps on giving.

Just one last (stupid) question about White Balance. My C8 is one of the darker ones, so I had to rise brightness a bit before WB calibration. Should I raise the brightness in HDR and DV too to get WB right or does it mess up the colors?

So there’s nothing else that can be done to improve HDR and DV (or no need to)?
Miksu2 is offline  
post #3707 of 3710 Old 01-12-2020, 02:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 433
2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk)

Usually, the brightness setting in SDR is also valid for HDR/DV, but according to your amount of increase, I would stick with 50 to preserve perfect blacks.
L30Z3N and Miksu2 like this.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate

Last edited by BlackJoker; 01-12-2020 at 03:26 AM.
BlackJoker is offline  
post #3708 of 3710 Old 01-12-2020, 03:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,790
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5397 Post(s)
Liked: 7795
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
Usually, the brightness setting in SDR is also valid for HDR/DV but according to your amount of increase I would stick with 50 to prevent perfect blacks.
Preserve perfect blacks? Either way I'd agree.
On my panel, I needed about 52-54 for SDR, using Tedd's method and keeping the factory 1DLUT, but I compromised on 50 for HDR and let my user 1DLUT do the corrections.
jrref, BlackJoker and Miksu2 like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #3709 of 3710 Old 01-12-2020, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quick question: I use Teds Disk to set Contrast and Brightness for SDR. Can I use the same pattern for setting those 2 in HDR/DV?


Do I set the TV into DV Mode when doing so? And if can't use those pattern, which pattern can I use (I use a Sony X700, so I can set the TV into DV mode manually).
JustAGoodPicture is offline  
post #3710 of 3710 Old 01-12-2020, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,527
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3899 Post(s)
Liked: 3908
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAGoodPicture View Post
Quick question: I use Teds Disk to set Contrast and Brightness for SDR. Can I use the same pattern for setting those 2 in HDR/DV?


Do I set the TV into DV Mode when doing so? And if can't use those pattern, which pattern can I use (I use a Sony X700, so I can set the TV into DV mode manually).


You need an hdr dv disk , you can’t trigger hdr or dv unless you have a dv disc, pattern generator of something like an hd fury to Inject meta data .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off