2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk) - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2553Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
Hi Guys,


I just did my 1st HDR calibration via SM WB. Special thanks to Ted to make this happened! My LG OLED C8 has never been better!


Did you used the original CalMAN ”OLED” EDR? If so, then you should rerun the calibration with RAW XYZ or create a custom FCCM if you own a spectral because the ”OLED” profile is for RGB OLED models and not for consumer OLED with white subpixel.
Rolls-Royce and jrref like this.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
santodx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
Did you used the original CalMAN ”OLED” EDR? If so, then you should rerun the calibration with RAW XYZ or create a custom FCCM if you own a spectral because the ”OLED” profile is for RGB OLED models and not for consumer OLED with white subpixel.

I used calman 5.8.1 meter mode OLED with i1 display profiled with spectro. It has natural pic so far. What is RAW XYZ?


Thanks
santodx5 is offline  
post #3693 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 10:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,832
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
I used calman 5.8.1 meter mode OLED with i1 display profiled with spectro. It has natural pic so far. What is RAW XYZ?


Thanks
RAW XYZ is a mode in which the meter reports the numbers as read through its internal base calibration only, without processing them through any sort of EDR.

BTW, when you profile an I1D3 meter, you really should first set it to RAW XYZ. No EDR is necessary. In fact, by using a custom meter profile, you are no longer relying solely on an EDR and should not refer to it as such. You'll get more suggestions to use RAW XYZ if you do...
jrref likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 01-05-2020 at 10:31 AM.
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3694 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
santodx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
RAW XYZ is a mode in which the meter reports the numbers as read through its internal base calibration only, without processing them through any sort of EDR.

BTW, when you profile an I1D3 meter, you really should first set it to RAW XYZ. No EDR is necessary. In fact, by using a custom meter profile, you are no longer relying solely on an EDR and should not refer to it as such. You'll get more suggestions to use RAW XYZ if you do...

Thank you. I just learned this today as I am new. So RAW XYZ to profile with I1D2, then what mode to use for the TV?
santodx5 is offline  
post #3695 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 11:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,832
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
Quote:
Originally Posted by santodx5 View Post
Thank you. I just learned this today as I am new. So RAW XYZ to profile with I1D2, then what mode to use for the TV?
Then you don't select a mode. You go into the meter tab when you have your I1D3 attached and select the profile you previously created with the spectro. It'll be saved against that I1D3's serial number.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 01-05-2020 at 11:40 AM.
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #3696 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,761
Mentioned: 208 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2760 Post(s)
Liked: 4973
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
That's excellent! Great to see. This is why this is such a great community, people sharing knowledge etc!



ok, here goes!
SM = Service Menu.
WB = White Balance.

Last year (funny saying that!), @ConnecTEDDD advocated a method of calibration where instead of using the 1DLUT and 3DLUT, or the user menu's 2-point WB controls, you instead use the SM 2pt WB, and leave the factory 1DLUT and default user menu's 2pt WB set at defaults. (then use 3DLUT as before for SDR).

This has two major benefits:
  1. the TV performs less processing because it isn't adjusting the WB in many different places -> less banding.
  2. because the slots in the SM for WB are used as foundations for SDR, HDR10/HLG and Dolby Vision, this is a way to improve Dolby Vision accuracy without being lucky enough to have a bit-accurate laptop, a HDFury, and/or a ridiculously over-priced pattern generator (which is what you would otherwise need to calibrate Dolby Vision on these TVs).

Tedd mentioned it here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57774966

It was (2) which got me very excited, to be honest. There was more discussion in September, October and November. If you're new to this thread and/or calibration, it really does pay off to read the whole thread, even though it is a slog and will take you time.

One well-meaning user tried to summarise this method in a nice list for Calman users, and the most recent version of that checklist is from 13th Nov 2019, here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post58817034

HTH
SM adjustment work for HDR but it is not work for DV.... at least when using an alternative white point. Seems to be something linked to that damn do configuration file.
mrtickleuk likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #3697 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6248 Post(s)
Liked: 9080
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
SM adjustment work for HDR but it is not work for DV.... at least when using an alternative white point. Seems to be something linked to that damn do configuration file.
Interesting. I don't attempt an alternative white point with non-SDR though.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #3698 of 3757 Old 01-05-2020, 05:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,761
Mentioned: 208 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2760 Post(s)
Liked: 4973
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Interesting. I don't attempt an alternative white point with non-SDR though.
An alternative is needed for all modes, not just SDR.
D-Nice is offline  
post #3699 of 3757 Old 01-06-2020, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
ok, here goes!
Thanks, I know all of these.
My question was about: which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc.?

To be more clear: if I'm not mistaken the nit value of normal white in HDR10 is 94 nits. In SDR many profile/calibrate for 100 nits white, me around 120 nits. When you display a "normal white" in SDR it will be ~700 nits.
I hope you get my point guys.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #3700 of 3757 Old 01-06-2020, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6248 Post(s)
Liked: 9080
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
An alternative is needed for all modes, not just SDR.
Oh! Yes, when I think about it - of course. Metamerism doesn't know or care about how bright it is.

In that case I now realise I have made a mistake. When I saw the graphic about 1/3rd of the way down Tedd's page: https://displaycalibrations.com/lg_2...ightspace.html
(Rec.709 vs DCI-P3 vs Rec.2020) D65 comparisons)
...I wrongly thought that I shouldn't change the white point except for SDR. Whereas in fact, it was just a nice explanation of where white is relative to the primary RGB values at the corners of each of those very different triangles.

So, thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Thanks, I know all of these.
My question was about: which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc.?

To be more clear: if I'm not mistaken the nit value of normal white in HDR10 is 94 nits.
Ah. You don't measure it like that. See the posted I linked to, and the prior discussion starting in September, for full details of which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc. The SM only contains a single SDR set of 2pts for the 3 temperatures. You do it all in SDR in the SM. The TV will then use your lovely flat white balance automatically in HDR10/HLG and dolby vision. Except in the case that @D-Nice mentioned.
chros73 likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 01-06-2020 at 12:55 PM.
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #3701 of 3757 Old 01-09-2020, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anger.miki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Thanks, I know all of these.
My question was about: which test pattern was used, what nits settings, etc.?

To be more clear: if I'm not mistaken the nit value of normal white in HDR10 is 94 nits. In SDR many profile/calibrate for 100 nits white, me around 120 nits. When you display a "normal white" in SDR it will be ~700 nits.
I hope you get my point guys.
I'm sorry, what do you mean exactly for normal white? White is one (255,255,255 or 235,235,235 depending on the level), so you probably mean D65. If it's it, than in SDR (rec.709/BT.1886) the reference luminance is 100 nits (but since rec.709 is a relative standard you could use whatever you want... at your own risk ). HDR is an absolute standard, so, simplifying, you should aim for what the contents are mastered to (1000/4000/10000 nits)... I hope I got your point.

T.U.C. Master | TVs: Pioneer PDP-LX5090H, LG OLED55C8PLA | AV Receiver: Pioneer VSX-921 | BD Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT260EG | External LUT box: Entertainment Experience eeColor | Softwares: Light Illusion Lightspace HTP,, ColourSpace HTX, CM Enthusiast, HCFR, DisplayCAL | Probes: Klein K10-A, Jeti spectraval 1501, X-Rite i1 Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02 | Test Pattern Generator: Riccardo Biasiotto’s PGenerator (RPi)
Anger.miki is offline  
post #3702 of 3757 Old 01-10-2020, 02:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anger.miki View Post
I'm sorry, what do you mean exactly for normal white? White is one (255,255,255 or 235,235,235 depending on the level), so you probably mean D65. If it's it, than in SDR (rec.709/BT.1886) the reference luminance is 100 nits (but since rec.709 is a relative standard you could use whatever you want... at your own risk ). HDR is an absolute standard, so, simplifying, you should aim for what the contents are mastered to (1000/4000/10000 nits)... I hope I got your point.
No, I meant diffuse white, which I remember (wrongly?) as 94 nits, but this article says 100 / 203, etc
I hope it's clearer now what I meant.
Anger.miki likes this.

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #3703 of 3757 Old 01-10-2020, 03:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,186
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1005 Post(s)
Liked: 1612
Originally, for PQ based HDR, diffuse white was specified at 100 nits - same as SDR.
But, that later changed, due to issues with crushed shadows, to 203 nits.

See: https://www.lightillusion.com/uhdtv.html

Steve
chunon likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #3704 of 3757 Old 01-11-2020, 01:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
The SM only contains a single SDR set of 2pts for the 3 temperatures. You do it all in SDR in the SM. The TV will then use your lovely flat white balance automatically in HDR10/HLG and dolby vision. Except in the case that @D-Nice mentioned.
Did I understand that correctly, now that I have WB set in SM for SDR, I can just change HDR and DV to cool (that was set for SDR)? No need for HDfury to measure anything in HDR?

Only LightSpace in use, so none of that lightninglut for HDR in my case. And I’m happy with D65 for now, so no custom white points used.
Miksu2 is offline  
post #3705 of 3757 Old 01-11-2020, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anger.miki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 597 Post(s)
Liked: 774
Correct. That’s because all dynamic ranges (standard and high) share the same coordinates for the white x 0.3127 and y 0.3290.
L30Z3N and Miksu2 like this.

T.U.C. Master | TVs: Pioneer PDP-LX5090H, LG OLED55C8PLA | AV Receiver: Pioneer VSX-921 | BD Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT260EG | External LUT box: Entertainment Experience eeColor | Softwares: Light Illusion Lightspace HTP,, ColourSpace HTX, CM Enthusiast, HCFR, DisplayCAL | Probes: Klein K10-A, Jeti spectraval 1501, X-Rite i1 Display Pro OEM Rev. B-02 | Test Pattern Generator: Riccardo Biasiotto’s PGenerator (RPi)
Anger.miki is offline  
post #3706 of 3757 Old 01-11-2020, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you! This forum is a treasure trove that just keeps on giving.

Just one last (stupid) question about White Balance. My C8 is one of the darker ones, so I had to rise brightness a bit before WB calibration. Should I raise the brightness in HDR and DV too to get WB right or does it mess up the colors?

So there’s nothing else that can be done to improve HDR and DV (or no need to)?

LG C8, LightSpace, i1 Display pro, PGenerator, Dolby labs whitepoint for lg OLEDs x=0.308 y=0.313
Miksu2 is offline  
post #3707 of 3757 Old 01-12-2020, 01:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 522
2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk)

Usually, the brightness setting in SDR is also valid for HDR/DV, but according to your amount of increase, I would stick with 50 to preserve perfect blacks.
L30Z3N and Miksu2 like this.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate

Last edited by BlackJoker; 01-12-2020 at 02:26 AM.
BlackJoker is offline  
post #3708 of 3757 Old 01-12-2020, 02:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,969
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6248 Post(s)
Liked: 9080
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
Usually, the brightness setting in SDR is also valid for HDR/DV but according to your amount of increase I would stick with 50 to prevent perfect blacks.
Preserve perfect blacks? Either way I'd agree.
On my panel, I needed about 52-54 for SDR, using Tedd's method and keeping the factory 1DLUT, but I compromised on 50 for HDR and let my user 1DLUT do the corrections.
jrref, BlackJoker, L30Z3N and 1 others like this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #3709 of 3757 Old 01-12-2020, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quick question: I use Teds Disk to set Contrast and Brightness for SDR. Can I use the same pattern for setting those 2 in HDR/DV?


Do I set the TV into DV Mode when doing so? And if can't use those pattern, which pattern can I use (I use a Sony X700, so I can set the TV into DV mode manually).
JustAGoodPicture is offline  
post #3710 of 3757 Old 01-12-2020, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,618
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3945 Post(s)
Liked: 3977
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustAGoodPicture View Post
Quick question: I use Teds Disk to set Contrast and Brightness for SDR. Can I use the same pattern for setting those 2 in HDR/DV?


Do I set the TV into DV Mode when doing so? And if can't use those pattern, which pattern can I use (I use a Sony X700, so I can set the TV into DV mode manually).


You need an hdr dv disk , you can’t trigger hdr or dv unless you have a dv disc, pattern generator of something like an hd fury to Inject meta data .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #3711 of 3757 Old 02-03-2020, 10:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

Sorry if this can be answered with a search, I tried digging through the thread and couldn’t find anything that answered all my questions. Are there any affordable ways to calibrate HDR/DV for someone who has no idea how to calibrate without autocal? I did SDR just fine using the mobileforge app, but not I’m not sure how to accomplish HDR and DV without spending more on a pattern generator than I did on the TV. Thanks in advance for your help!
Jw7729 is offline  
post #3712 of 3757 Old 02-04-2020, 03:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jw7729 View Post
Are there any affordable ways to calibrate HDR/DV for someone who has no idea how to calibrate without autocal?
No. And some would argue that other ways even worth time/money at all

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
post #3713 of 3757 Old 02-04-2020, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros73 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jw7729 View Post
Are there any affordable ways to calibrate HDR/DV for someone who has no idea how to calibrate without autocal?
No. And some would argue that other ways even worth time/money at all [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]
Is there really nothing else I can try? The presets my panel came with out of the box are WAY off, so I’d be perfectly happy with results that are just in the ballpark of where they should be. I recently paid for an ISF calibration that was just done extremely incorrectly, so I’d rather be able to do it myself.
Jw7729 is offline  
post #3714 of 3757 Old 02-05-2020, 05:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,340
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 410
HDR can be done fairly easily if you have a good laptop or pc that supports HDR. You can use madtpg as a pattern generator which allows you to calibrate HDR. The key is grayscale... that is what you're really calibrating for HDR.

DV is more complicated. I'm still working on that myself. It requires a bit perfect Intel video output, an hdfury integral, and a ton of patience. I've not yet gotten it to work, but, I've not tried the set of directions I was given over the weekend. I simply ran out of time last weekend. It's on my list to work on this weekend though.

So yes, it can be done, but whether it's worth it only you can decide for your own situation. Typically these sets are fairly accurate out of the box.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

LG C8 OLED | Pioneer VSX-LX303 | HTPC (9900k, RTX 2070) | nVidia SHIELD 2019 | Panasonic UB820
SamuriHL is online now  
post #3715 of 3757 Old 02-05-2020, 04:48 PM
Member
 
super kermit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone have a link to the best general settings for a well lit room please?

We always watch the TV with lights on

Netflix, BluRays and UHD - 90%
TV - 5%
Gaming - 5%

Room is approx 40 lux during the day.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/attac...0&d=1577961615
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200102_125510.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	656.1 KB
ID:	2680958  
super kermit is offline  
post #3716 of 3757 Old 02-05-2020, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,832
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1503 Post(s)
Liked: 1597
Quote:
Originally Posted by super kermit View Post
Does anyone have a link to the best general settings for a well lit room please?

We always watch the TV with lights on

Netflix, BluRays and UHD - 90%
TV - 5%
Gaming - 5%

Room is approx 40 lux during the day.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/attac...0&d=1577961615
Try Rtings.com or CNET.
L30Z3N likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #3717 of 3757 Old 02-14-2020, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
HDR can be done fairly easily if you have a good laptop or pc that supports HDR. You can use madtpg as a pattern generator which allows you to calibrate HDR. The key is grayscale... that is what you're really calibrating for HDR.

DV is more complicated. I'm still working on that myself. It requires a bit perfect Intel video output, an hdfury integral, and a ton of patience. I've not yet gotten it to work, but, I've not tried the set of directions I was given over the weekend. I simply ran out of time last weekend. It's on my list to work on this weekend though.

So yes, it can be done, but whether it's worth it only you can decide for your own situation. Typically these sets are fairly accurate out of the box.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
I've done DV multiple times with great success. The trick is triggering the DV output with your Integral.

Make sure you don't Force HDR. Simply paste the DoVi metadata in, then wait until the yellow square appears on the screen. Once it appears, send info and then toggle Relative/Absolute as prompted.

Emotiva + Energy = Love
Dark-007 is offline  
post #3718 of 3757 Old 02-14-2020, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,340
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark-007 View Post
I've done DV multiple times with great success. The trick is triggering the DV output with your Integral.

Make sure you don't Force HDR. Simply paste the DoVi metadata in, then wait until the yellow square appears on the screen. Once it appears, send info and then toggle Relative/Absolute as prompted.
Thanks for the response. Yea, someone in the Calman thread gave me very detailed instructions. Unfortunately my old laptop was Optimus based and wasn't allowing me bit accurate output for whatever reason. I just replaced that laptop this week with a new area51m so I'm going to be trying that again this weekend once I get Calman reinstalled. One of the outputs on this thing is supposed to be from the Intel 630 so I should be able to make that bit perfect and get it to trigger DV with the Integral 2. So much fun to be had! Thanks again.

LG C8 OLED | Pioneer VSX-LX303 | HTPC (9900k, RTX 2070) | nVidia SHIELD 2019 | Panasonic UB820
SamuriHL is online now  
post #3719 of 3757 Old 02-14-2020, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,340
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 410
I got it working on the new alienware laptop. Turns out the 2080, when configured correctly, is bit accurate. Calibrating DV as we speak.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
mrtickleuk likes this.

LG C8 OLED | Pioneer VSX-LX303 | HTPC (9900k, RTX 2070) | nVidia SHIELD 2019 | Panasonic UB820
SamuriHL is online now  
post #3720 of 3757 Old 02-18-2020, 02:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
chros73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I got it working ...
So, how did it go?

Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(04.10.25+PC4:4:[email protected]/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off