2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk) - Page 76 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2458Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 02:03 AM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by T( )( )L View Post
That delay of 0.25 for the murideo did you get that from running the optimize button? im having trouble with setting it < 0.3-0.35 so i use 0.4.
Yes, I used the optimize button.
T( )( )L likes this.
bacon333 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,514
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4543 Post(s)
Liked: 5536
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon333 View Post
Gotcha. Much better. Would a 42 pt help smooth the 75-100?

Anything to keep in mind for DV Game mode? Also, as far as the HDR10 modes, all of them are the same correct?
As far as using the 42 pt we need to get input from @WiFi spy, Tyler. The expert HDR10 modes I believe are the same and I use Cinema.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #2253 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 400
It's not recommended to use 42p for HDR and DV it also written in the workflow.
jrref and L30Z3N like this.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2254 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,881
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1603 Post(s)
Liked: 2192
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
As far as using the 42 pt we need to get input from @WiFi spy, Tyler. The expert HDR10 modes I believe are the same and I use Cinema.


In my testing I have seen no difference between the 20 point and 42. But I added the 42 because I knew people would request it.

Tyler
jrref and mrtickleuk like this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is online now  
post #2255 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 10:01 AM
Member
 
datap1mp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Picked up a C8 recently, updated to the latest firmware. What is the consensus on the best sharpness settings? I have one input hooked up to my PC (and labeled within the TV as such), aside from that I use the internal apps for my other content.

Last edited by datap1mp; 11-01-2018 at 10:04 AM.
datap1mp is offline  
post #2256 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
Quote:
Originally Posted by T( )( )L View Post
That delay of 0.25 for the murideo did you get that from running the optimize button? im having trouble with setting it < 0.3-0.35 so i use 0.4.


I get .25 with my vfp as well when I hit optimize


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
T( )( )L likes this.
Wjboshart is offline  
post #2257 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,217
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1174 Post(s)
Liked: 1261
Quote:
Originally Posted by datap1mp View Post
Picked up a C8 recently, updated to the latest firmware. What is the consensus on the best sharpness settings? I have one input hooked up to my PC (and labeled within the TV as such), aside from that I use the internal apps for my other content.
As your question isn't strictly about calibration, you might want to ask over in the owner's thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...rice-talk.html

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #2258 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 10:32 AM
Member
 
datap1mp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
As your question isn't strictly about calibration, you might want to ask over in the owner's thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/40-ol...rice-talk.html
The title over the thread is ": 2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings"

Is sharpness not a user setting?
Glenee likes this.
datap1mp is offline  
post #2259 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,217
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1174 Post(s)
Liked: 1261
Quote:
Originally Posted by datap1mp View Post
The title over the thread is ": 2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings"

Is sharpness not a user setting?
Most of the discussion here is about things such as grayscale and CMS adjustment to make the image more accurate. Although sharpness IS a user setting, it's more of a very basic "to taste" thing for many people. Hence, I suggested you ask in the owner's thread. You'll likely get more response there.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #2260 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by datap1mp View Post
Picked up a C8 recently, updated to the latest firmware. What is the consensus on the best sharpness settings? I have one input hooked up to my PC (and labeled within the TV as such), aside from that I use the internal apps for my other content.


0 is the correct setting 10 is the standard Value by LG but it produce ringing so set it to 0

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
post #2261 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
T( )( )L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wjboshart View Post
I get .25 with my vfp as well when I hit optimize


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Guess i need to do some more testing to save some time,thanks.

Calman Enthusiast,Lightspace HTP,Klein K-10A,I1pro2,Murideo 6G.
T( )( )L is online now  
post #2262 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 400
I set the VFP also to .25
T( )( )L likes this.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
post #2263 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 02:56 PM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
3DLUT Autocal, 7,000 pts, 42 pt 16-255 rolling. Unfortunately, I didn't tweak the near black before performing LUT. No flashing bars under 21 - although I'm not sure if tweaking would help anyway.

Is this still the best way to get 17-19 flashing on these OLEDs?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3d-completed.png
Views:	83
Size:	549.5 KB
ID:	2476636   Click image for larger version

Name:	tpg.PNG
Views:	74
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	2476638   Click image for larger version

Name:	sat.png
Views:	69
Size:	445.7 KB
ID:	2476640   Click image for larger version

Name:	precal.png
Views:	73
Size:	368.5 KB
ID:	2476642   Click image for larger version

Name:	post-cal-view.png
Views:	67
Size:	364.3 KB
ID:	2476644  

Click image for larger version

Name:	near-black-post-3dlut-gs.png
Views:	61
Size:	272.9 KB
ID:	2476646   Click image for larger version

Name:	meter.PNG
Views:	61
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	2476648   Click image for larger version

Name:	high-ire-post-3dlut-gs.png
Views:	57
Size:	272.6 KB
ID:	2476650   Click image for larger version

Name:	final-lum.png
Views:	56
Size:	191.3 KB
ID:	2476652   Click image for larger version

Name:	display.PNG
Views:	49
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	2476654  

Click image for larger version

Name:	cc.png
Views:	50
Size:	504.9 KB
ID:	2476656  
Attached Files
File Type: zip 3dlut.zip (618.1 KB, 15 views)
bacon333 is offline  
post #2264 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 400
You should usw 16-235 and RGB Limited 8-bit or YCbCr. You should also use RAW XYZ and do you're meter profile again. The OLED preset is for RGB OLED studio monitor not for WOLED displays.

Which pattern insertion settings did you use? 8h of profile is madness that's why you're high IREs driftet that much.

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
post #2265 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 03:59 PM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
You should usw 16-235 and RGB Limited 8-bit or YCbCr. You should also use RAW XYZ and do you're meter profile again. The OLED preset is for RGB OLED studio monitor not for WOLED displays.

Which pattern insertion settings did you use? 8h of profile is madness that's why you're high IREs driftet that much.
I switched from XYZ to OLED due to what was stated in the workflow. I'll revert and retry. Pattern insertion was set to 10/5/15 (as recommended on the workflow).

1. Is it detrimental to calibrate 16-255 or is it just unnecessary?
2. From my measurements, seems like 7,000 points did offer lower errors vs 3,500 points. Where's the sweet spot?
3. I'll start another session soon. Any tips on getting 17,18,19 to flash are much appreciated.

TIA!
bacon333 is offline  
post #2266 of 3633 Old 11-01-2018, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon333 View Post
I switched from XYZ to OLED due to what was stated in the workflow. I'll revert and retry. Pattern insertion was set to 10/5/15 (as recommended on the workflow).



1. Is it detrimental to calibrate 16-255 or is it just unnecessary?

2. From my measurements, seems like 7,000 points did offer lower errors vs 3,500 points. Where's the sweet spot?

3. I'll start another session soon. Any tips on getting 17,18,19 to flash are much appreciated.



TIA!


The workflow probably assumes a c6 meter which has lg woled profiles.

1. It's not detrimental, but can be prone to drifting. There's not really a lot of content that you would notice "whiter than white" material.

2. My personal best reading were on 6000 points, and I've done numerous 10k LUTs with worse results.

3. Depending on what gamma you calibrate to, I personally set gamma at power 2.4, but then for autocal I set measure black point to .005. May help? Basically curves off 10ire towards 2.2


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bacon333, jrref and mrtickleuk like this.
Wjboshart is offline  
post #2267 of 3633 Old 11-02-2018, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 7,901
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by datap1mp View Post
The title over the thread is ": 2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings"

Is sharpness not a user setting?
Sharpness is really a legacy holdover from the days of analog video. Digital displays shouldn't need a sharpness control at all.



However, it should be checked with a test pattern. Some digital displays will have an optimal sharpness setting (e.g., Samsung) and with others adjusting the sharpness control makes no difference at all, while still others, such as the LG OLEDs, the sharpness should be set to zero.
ghostwind likes this.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #2268 of 3633 Old 11-02-2018, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,158
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wjboshart View Post
I get .25 with my vfp as well when I hit optimize


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I use a delay pattern of .75 for my K10-A.
Also I use a power gamma of 2.36.
Warm up your meter before taking measurements.Take a some black reading and see what's reported also some 100% white readings.
Warm up your OLED with full screen moving video for two or three hours before calibration. Keep room cool.
Turn off ASBL
I question if using 0 black instead of a meter reading of .0001 really works for autocal.

ss

"Don't worry be happy"
LG77C8, Klein K10-A, Jeti 1211, CMS Lightspace, Calman home plus licence for K10-A, Murideo 6G.

Last edited by sillysally; 11-02-2018 at 06:17 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #2269 of 3633 Old 11-02-2018, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1355 Post(s)
Liked: 1323
2018 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
I use a delay pattern of .75 for my K10-A.

Also I use a power gamma of 2.36.

Warm up your meter before taking measurements.Take a some black reading and see what's reported also some 100% white readings.

Warm up your OLED with full screen moving video for two or three hours before calibration. Keep room cool.

Turn off ASBL

I question if using 0 black instead of a meter reading of .0001 really works for autocal.



ss


I really think my hdr issues are either associated with content or with with my cinema setting. May try to calibrate a different profile and see what that does for me.

Fix for elevated blacks in hdr cinema. Had to drop values of 1.4 under ddc control until black was actually black. By my assumption, this means 1.4 is affecting absolute black. Most impactful was blue values. However adjusting 1.4 then misaligned 5.

Going to look through some hdr10 content tonight and see what kind of impact this has on actual material


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Wjboshart; 11-03-2018 at 10:32 AM.
Wjboshart is offline  
post #2270 of 3633 Old 11-05-2018, 09:41 AM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
6,000 pts, 2.30 target, 0.005 measured black setting. I could barely see 18 flashing, which is an improvement. Thinking I'll do 2.36 with a 0.005 measured black setting for the next picture mode.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	workflow.PNG
Views:	58
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	2478296   Click image for larger version

Name:	tpg.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	2478298   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss.png
Views:	63
Size:	443.8 KB
ID:	2478300   Click image for larger version

Name:	post-3dlut-gs.png
Views:	71
Size:	266.9 KB
ID:	2478304   Click image for larger version

Name:	meter.PNG
Views:	60
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	2478306  

Click image for larger version

Name:	display.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	2478308   Click image for larger version

Name:	cc.png
Views:	58
Size:	504.8 KB
ID:	2478310   Click image for larger version

Name:	3dlutcompleted.png
Views:	56
Size:	549.1 KB
ID:	2478312  
Attached Files
File Type: zip sdr-technicolor-3d-lut.zip (743.8 KB, 21 views)
bacon333 is offline  
post #2271 of 3633 Old 11-05-2018, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,514
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4543 Post(s)
Liked: 5536
^^^
Looks good only you could have got much better gray scale results. Not sure what's going on there. Did you use ICtCp or DE2000?

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #2272 of 3633 Old 11-05-2018, 10:17 AM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
^^^
Looks good only you could have got much better gray scale results. Not sure what's going on there. Did you use ICtCp or DE2000?
I think the default was de2000. I'll use ICtCp for the next round.
bacon333 is offline  
post #2273 of 3633 Old 11-05-2018, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
T( )( )L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Try setting the murideo to 0.5 or more instead of 0.25 when running greyscale to see what happens.
jrref likes this.

Calman Enthusiast,Lightspace HTP,Klein K-10A,I1pro2,Murideo 6G.
T( )( )L is online now  
post #2274 of 3633 Old 11-05-2018, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
BlackJoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 400
You should use 10% level instead of 15% for pattern insertion and also I recommend to use meter sync "on" for the id3 also with this meter and you're choose settings the drift is a big problem.your grayscale is too off for my personal goals try to stick with less points

TV: LG OLED 65C8 Sources: Apple TV 4K, OPPO UDP-203 Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: Klein K10-A, i1 Display Pro OEM Rev.B (2018), i1Pro2 OEM Rev.E Software: Lightspace HTP, Calman 2019 Ultimate
BlackJoker is offline  
post #2275 of 3633 Old 11-07-2018, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,661
Mentioned: 211 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3406 Post(s)
Liked: 4236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon333 View Post
3DLUT Autocal, 7,000 pts, 42 pt 16-255 rolling. Unfortunately, I didn't tweak the near black before performing LUT. No flashing bars under 21 - although I'm not sure if tweaking would help anyway.

Is this still the best way to get 17-19 flashing on these OLEDs?

When you perform AutoCAL you need to have the Brightness to 50, Contrast to 85, Color to 50.... these positions of slider works as 'bypass state' ... so later when you will load a LUT, you will have the 'bypass state' + correction LUT to your signal.

If you change the Brightness to 51 or 60...or to whatever number it will fix your near black before the AutoCAL, the measurements will be file, but when the correction will loaded, it will be 'bypass state' + correction LUT, so you will have problem with applying the LUT, since the levels will be shifted and it will not correctly apply the calculated correction LUT from CalMAN for your display.

When you have such issues with near black (some panels coming with a large nea black clipping from the factory, something which will require Brightness 60-61 to be resolved or other near black clipping of smaller range, then using an external 3D LUT Box can help to that issue, since you will be able to set your Brightness/Contrast at whatever values you see that is not providing any clipping and then start the cube measurements (select wide gamut and do 100% White calibration only, adjust your near black as better as you can...using Brightness control or 5% Gray RGB balance if required).

So internal LUT capabilities are working when the panel's are not suffering from near black issues (before the LUT AutoCAL).

It will not work any service menu sub-adjustment related to Brightness, as Tyler posted below as reference:

RIppolito, jrref, L30Z3N and 1 others like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #2276 of 3633 Old 11-16-2018, 04:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,661
Mentioned: 211 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3406 Post(s)
Liked: 4236
From a well known professional Film & TV industry US based calibrator, working with the LG C8 ...and using LightSpace for 3D LUT table generation (using the new LightSpace LG LUT format export - but still restricted to uploading the LightSpace LUT into the LG via CalMAN, due to the LG/CalMAN restriction):

''I got your LightSpace LUT to load and it is F'ing GREAT! I mean 141 Patch came out way better than I expected, but let's be honest, your stuff is almost always on point with LUTs.''
RIppolito and L30Z3N like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #2277 of 3633 Old 11-16-2018, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,514
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4543 Post(s)
Liked: 5536
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
From a well known professional Film & TV industry US based calibrator, working with the LG C8 ...and using LightSpace for 3D LUT table generation (using the new LightSpace LG LUT format export - but still restricted to uploading the LightSpace LUT into the LG via CalMAN, due to the LG/CalMAN restriction):

''I got your LightSpace LUT to load and it is F'ing GREAT! I mean 141 Patch came out way better than I expected, but let's be honest, your stuff is almost always on point with LUTs.''
So given some of the "limitations" with CM, @WiFi-Spy , can some of these things be on the CM software evolution list?

Just to give my 2 cents. Forgetting about the backup program, the CM autocal workflows for the LG, in my opinion, work well meaning you set everything up and run through all the PM calibrations in a reasonable amount of time even with manual tweaking. The DV process creating and loading the new cfg file is very smooth. I like the way its laid out. So for example, when the 1DLUT works, if you think about it, you can do a 42pt gray scale in a couple of minutes minus any manual tweaking. If you had to do that manually, which you can using the DDC controls, it would take an unacceptable amount of time to complete with everything else you need to do. The other thing I like is with HDR, It re-calibrates the panel in it's native state just like with DV so you can get more output depending on how good or bad the factory calibration was. But, no question, you can't just press buttons and hope it all works. You really need to use your experience to evaluate the outcome and decide if you need to re-do some runs because with any automated process, there are going to be variations from run to run. I think we need to accept that fact with Autocal. I agree, I would really like to see some improvements, even if they are incremental, to make the process more accurate after they get over the "hump" of getting the 3D LUT working reasonably well. There are a lot of good concepts but CM needs to get them working properly.
RIppolito and mrtickleuk like this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified

Last edited by jrref; 11-16-2018 at 08:33 AM.
jrref is offline  
post #2278 of 3633 Old 11-16-2018, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
T( )( )L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I was planning to buy the 77” C8 now on black friday,i really hope calman can get the 3dlut fixed or make it availible to load a 3dlut from lightspace so we can max out the picture quality on the set

Calman Enthusiast,Lightspace HTP,Klein K-10A,I1pro2,Murideo 6G.
T( )( )L is online now  
post #2279 of 3633 Old 11-16-2018, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,881
Mentioned: 233 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1603 Post(s)
Liked: 2192
Quote:
Originally Posted by T( )( )L View Post
I was planning to buy the 77” C8 now on black friday,i really hope calman can get the 3dlut fixed or make it availible to load a 3dlut from lightspace so we can max out the picture quality on the set


You can already load a LUT from LS (currently you have to modify the header) since the LS “LG” format still doesn’t match CalMAN’s LG .3dl format.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is online now  
post #2280 of 3633 Old 11-16-2018, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,158
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1183 Post(s)
Liked: 1053
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
You can already load a LUT from LS (currently you have to modify the header) since the LS “LG” format still doesn’t match CalMAN’s LG .3dl format.
Good, so what is the proper header we should change too??

ss

"Don't worry be happy"
LG77C8, Klein K10-A, Jeti 1211, CMS Lightspace, Calman home plus licence for K10-A, Murideo 6G.
sillysally is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off