LG 2017 OLED Dolby Vision Calibration - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 78 Old 04-19-2018, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Today I had the chance to try this method, all worked fine. There’s just one thing I had to add to activate Dolby Vision on my bedroom set (2017 European LG 43UJ750V edge LED Local Dimming) and it is going to CalMAN source, connect HDFury Integral set HDR field in Dolby Vision, then disconnect it and proceed with verify display.
MackGuyver likes this.
Anger.miki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 78 Old 04-19-2018, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anger.miki View Post
Today I had the chance to try this method, all worked fine. There’s just one thing I had to add to activate Dolby Vision on my bedroom set (2017 European LG 43UJ750V edge LED Local Dimming) and it is going to CalMAN source, connect HDFury Integral set HDR field in Dolby Vision, then disconnect it and proceed with verify display.
That's great to hear and thanks for letting us know that it worked. I'll update the FAQs / Post Title to include LCD sets. Can you elaborate on what you mean regarding the last part ("disconnect it and proceed with verify display")? Are you saying that you disconnect the Integral after setting DV mode, then connecting the HDMI directly from the laptop to the TV for the verify display?

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #33 of 78 Old 04-19-2018, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by MackGuyver View Post
That's great to hear and thanks for letting us know that it worked. I'll update the FAQs / Post Title to include LCD sets. Can you elaborate on what you mean regarding the last part ("disconnect it and proceed with verify display")? Are you saying that you disconnect the Integral after setting DV mode, then connecting the HDMI directly from the laptop to the TV for the verify display?
Yes, I disconnected HdFury as a Calman Source and no, I left the HDFury between laptop and TV. Just like your guide says.

Thank you for this useful thread! The calibration was a nightmare but that is a LG issue.

Last edited by Anger.miki; 04-22-2018 at 05:21 AM.
Anger.miki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 78 Old 04-22-2018, 02:46 AM
Member
 
robbeh81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hi,

could anyone of the experienced please provide a workflow for 2017/18 LG HDR10 in conjunction with the HDFury? Thanks to this thread, I had certain success with DV but never managed to put the Display into correct HDR10/BT2020 mode.

Robert

LG OLED C8
Calman 5 Home Enthusiast
i1Display (post 2017) profiled with i1Pro
VF HDMI, HDFury Integral, HDFury Linker
robbeh81 is offline  
post #35 of 78 Old 04-29-2018, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
It is the closest meter profile to WOLED if you don’t have a spectro to create your own profile.

If you look at the SPD, white LED and White OLED are very similar.
Hey Tyler. I’m a little confused by this and just want to make sure I am using the correct setting. I have a SpectraCal C6 with videoforge pro. Are you saying I should be calibrating with the display type as Led lcd? I’ve been using the OLED white display type.

Thanks in advance!
Pwondrak32 is online now  
post #36 of 78 Old 04-29-2018, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwondrak32 View Post
Hey Tyler. I’m a little confused by this and just want to make sure I am using the correct setting. I have a SpectraCal C6 with videoforge pro. Are you saying I should be calibrating with the display type as Led lcd? I’ve been using the OLED white display type.

Thanks in advance!
If you own the C6 then OLED white is correct.
WiFi-Spy and MackGuyver like this.
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #37 of 78 Old 05-04-2018, 10:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Probably not the place to post this but.... I can see all the text formatting in the original post. This is the only thread I can find that behaves this way. Is anyone else having this problem? Is there some easy fix that I'm missing?
Manic Reaper is offline  
post #38 of 78 Old 05-06-2018, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by MackGuyver View Post
I thought I'd take my post from the main LG 2017 OLED Calibration and Settings thread and start a dedicated post here. I'll start with a simple re-post and will add more detail and some attachments as I have time. If others want to share their experiences, ask questions, or add information, please do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
Will get my hdfury integral in 2 days.
Anybody else had success calibrating DV? Anybody can confirm that the settings can be resetted if the calibration attempt fails (for whatever reason) ?

Dont want to screw up this, have a lot experience in calibrating displays - but DV is completely new to me, and it will be the first time I have the chance to do DV-calibration

@MackGuyver
Maybe you should add the points that the display will drift like hell cause of the high luminance and heat it produces (at least I think that it will for sure)...
So:
1.Pattern Insertion Function should be enabled in Calman (I am using 50% full field window, every 10 seconds, duration 2 seconds while calibrating SDR)
2. Betwenn the readings (while analyzing the readings) you should feed some various content to let the display "cool down" (I have special "displaywash" pattern on my Pattern Generator)
3. Disable ASBL in SM if possible, turn back on after calibrating.

Maybe the more experienced calibrators can add something to this...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker View Post
For HDR it's better to use much more "aggressive" Inseration Values

I recommend every 5 seconds a 10% Window (everything higher doesn't help to cool down the display and has the opposite effect) for at least 5 seconds.
Thanks to all of you. I finally got Dolby Vision to trigger following the guide. I then was having major drift issues as I was leaving the patterns up too long. Turned on pattern insertion and the calibration went great.
Rolls-Royce and dlj11 like this.

LG 65C7
Denon AVR-X3300W
Q Acoustics 3020 fronts, 3090 center, 3010 surrounds
SVS PB-1000
Samsung K8500
hockeythug is offline  
post #39 of 78 Old 05-17-2018, 01:41 AM
Member
 
dlj11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Finally had time to do a full DV calibration on my B7. The calibration in relative mode was without problems - BUT that takes a lot of time as you HAVE to use pattern insertion, without that you never will be able to get it done right. I have ASBL deactivated also (service menue), I used pattern insertion every 5 seconds, duration 15 seconds, 0% window (completely black to let the display cool down) - the results were always repeatable. The other thing is you cannot calibrate in real time as the display heats up and the OSD impairs the result to some degree.

First I tweaked 100IRE with the 2pt high control, then did the 20pt in realtime (changing values while the sensor is measuring) to get nearly to my target. Then take a complete series read and tweak the different IREs, but not in realtime. Adjust the different IREs (important, let the display cool down while changing the values - i switched to another HDMI port and played dark content) and then again take a complete series read. Repeat till you are satisfied with the results... Yes, that takes a lot of time but only with that method you can do it without introducing problems. It took me 2 hours to get everything done

After creating the dolby file and playing it to my TV the resulted image was purple OK, so I asked some calibration friends and the one who gave me the right answer was TED (the guy with the best calibration disc out there, in my opinion the calibration god). The dolby file is a simple text-file, I had to replace the commas with dots and tadaaaaaa, the picture was normal again. Thanks TED again for your help!

When you play the file for the first time into the TV he asks you to replace the DV-file or to cancel. After tweaking the DV-file and then sticking the USB drive into the TV again, I had 3 options: Replace, reset to factory or cancel. So you dont have to be afraid to brick your DV-mode, you can reset the DV-file at any time. This question was unanswered here...

Had not enough time to evaluate the final outcome with real world content, godless on netflix looked spectacular but I need more time for analyzing.

Thanks OP for the guide, worked great for me
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
dlj11 is offline  
post #40 of 78 Old 05-17-2018, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj11 View Post
Finally had time to do a full DV calibration on my B7. The calibration in relative mode was without problems - BUT that takes a lot of time as you HAVE to use pattern insertion, without that you never will be able to get it done right. I have ASBL deactivated also (service menue), I used pattern insertion every 5 seconds, duration 15 seconds, 0% window (completely black to let the display cool down) - the results were always repeatable. The other thing is you cannot calibrate in real time as the display heats up and the OSD impairs the result to some degree.
Hi, thank you for your good words, its interesting to see some issues these OLED's suffering to their HDR modes here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post56201380

To be able to do 21-Point Cube profiling in HDR mode (without tone-mapping activated), Maciej Koper (mkoper - hdtvpolska.com); popular and very expert calibrator/TV reviewer from Poland, performed a lot of measurements using LightSpace and testing the Stabilization feature, to improve panel stability over the time.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5

Last edited by ConnecTEDDD; 05-17-2018 at 08:43 AM.
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #41 of 78 Old 07-29-2018, 02:08 PM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Been trying for weeks to get DV calibration to work on the 2018 LG C8. I'm hoping someone could help

I was told getting a Vertex might help but I'm now stuck with two HDFury products and have no clue what I'm doing wrong. The new Calman beta doesn't seem to recognize the HDfury Integral any longer (no usb device detected).

I'm unable to trigger DV mode with any of these settings. I have a Intel 520 GPU and it's outputting RGB full. I've attach GUI shots in hopes I'm overlooking something.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	vertex-4.PNG
Views:	67
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	2434658   Click image for larger version

Name:	vertex-3.PNG
Views:	51
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	2434660   Click image for larger version

Name:	vertex-2.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	26.8 KB
ID:	2434662   Click image for larger version

Name:	vertex-1.PNG
Views:	30
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	2434664   Click image for larger version

Name:	integral-2-2.PNG
Views:	35
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	2434666  

Click image for larger version

Name:	integral-2.PNG
Views:	32
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	2434668   Click image for larger version

Name:	integral-1.PNG
Views:	26
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	2434670   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180729_135935.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	157.4 KB
ID:	2434672  
Attached Files
File Type: txt vertex-config.txt (6.8 KB, 15 views)
bacon333 is offline  
post #42 of 78 Old 07-30-2018, 11:49 PM
Member
 
bacon333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 38
No one was successful with DV AutoCal + HDFury on a 2018 LG C8?
bacon333 is offline  
post #43 of 78 Old 07-31-2018, 02:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,293
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2695 Post(s)
Liked: 1937
You may want to post in the main thread (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...-settings.html) or the 2018 thread.
nathan_h is offline  
post #44 of 78 Old 08-08-2018, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,536
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1258 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacon333 View Post
No one was successful with DV AutoCal + HDFury on a 2018 LG C8?
What resolution is your laptop screen? Do you have DPI scaling disable for both the internal and external display? (LG TV)

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #45 of 78 Old 09-01-2018, 04:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Hey guys,
Is it normal that after a DV calibration content looks a lot dimmer? I did only 2pt WB and uploaded the file. Even outdoor daylight scenes look like at sunset in content like Ozark. In calibrated HDR the same scene looks brighter and correct.

Quote:
# Dolby Vision User Display Configuration File
# Generated by 5.9.1.26 on 09/08/2018
# Display: Unspecified
# DM Version:
PictureMode = 2
Tmax = 683
Tmin = 1E-11
Tgamma = 2.2
ColorPrimaries = 0.6433 0.3236 0.2900 0.6034 0.1485 0.0600 0.3127 0.3290
TLMS2RGBmat = 5.13940986973359 -4.30011595693246 0.160706087198863 -1.06393491468238 2.23084526229039 -0.166910347608009 0.0207261199992984 -0.196401831591781 1.17567571159248

LG OLED 55 B7v | LG SK10Y Soundbar | Samsung 55KS8000 | LG Plasma 50PZ550 | i1D3 OEM | Calman Enthusiast
MrRobotoPlus is offline  
post #46 of 78 Old 09-01-2018, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRobotoPlus View Post
Hey guys,
Is it normal that after a DV calibration content looks a lot dimmer? I did only 2pt WB and uploaded the file. Even outdoor daylight scenes look like at sunset in content like Ozark. In calibrated HDR the same scene looks brighter and correct.
Hi, your DV config data is not affected by earlier version bug where it had commas instead of periods, so its fine. Your meter obviously returned a meter error when you measured black (which is normal for OLED), so for the calculation its used as black level 0.00000000001 nits.

The measured primaries are not looking very normal, the blue has strange measurement (more saturated from P3 blue).

Can you take a post-verification and a pre-verification run to give some more info about what is happening? ...We will see more info looking your native (pre-cal) gamut.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #47 of 78 Old 09-13-2018, 05:46 AM
Newbie
 
Mettaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EDID Question re: Dolby Digital & PCM

In response to audio delay/lip sync issue LG sent a tech to my home. I have a 65B7. Tech went into the service menu and set the EDID to PCM. That corrected the lip sync issue - and - the TV no longer passes a Dolby Digital audio via HDMI. I confirmed this by sending a diagnostic to Sonos who verified the stereo signal.

I've a Sonos Beam that connects to TV via HDMI-ARC. Beam is supposed to receive a DD signal however it appears that it can't since the tech set the EDID to PCM.

Do I need to go back into the TV's service menu and change the EDID setting so the TV will pass through DD? Can LG do this remotely?
Mettaman is offline  
post #48 of 78 Old 09-13-2018, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MackGuyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mettaman View Post
In response to audio delay/lip sync issue LG sent a tech to my home. I have a 65B7. Tech went into the service menu and set the EDID to PCM. That corrected the lip sync issue - and - the TV no longer passes a Dolby Digital audio via HDMI. I confirmed this by sending a diagnostic to Sonos who verified the stereo signal.

I've a Sonos Beam that connects to TV via HDMI-ARC. Beam is supposed to receive a DD signal however it appears that it can't since the tech set the EDID to PCM.

Do I need to go back into the TV's service menu and change the EDID setting so the TV will pass through DD? Can LG do this remotely?
I think you meant to post this in the 2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) thread.

Preamp/Amps: Anthem AVM60, Emotiva XPA-2, XPA-5, A-300
Speakers: (7.1.2): Klipsch Reference Premiere / Power Sound Audio S3000i sub
Video: LG OLED65B7A, Oppo UDP-203, Roku Premiere+, Nvidia Shield TV
Room: GIK Acoustics treatments
MackGuyver is offline  
post #49 of 78 Old 09-17-2018, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Onslaught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
How can you force dolby vision with HDFury Vertex?
I read zoyd did it but I don't understand how.
I tried Vertex with CalMan a couple months ago and it wasn't supported so i couldn't activate dolby vision.
Am I doing something wrong?
Onslaught is offline  
post #50 of 78 Old 09-18-2018, 02:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,740
Mentioned: 168 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2904 Post(s)
Liked: 3511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onslaught View Post
How can you force dolby vision with HDFury Vertex?
I read zoyd did it but I don't understand how.
I tried Vertex with CalMan a couple months ago and it wasn't supported so i couldn't activate dolby vision.
Am I doing something wrong?
Hi, Vertex/Linker is not supported by CalMAN, only Integral is supported from inside CalMAN which has been discontinued as product from HD Fury.

To make it work doing some procedure manually using Vertex GUI, you need to have accurate notebook HDMI Output also, its that combo that has to be accurate/correct to be able to trigger DV,

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #51 of 78 Old 09-21-2018, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
Onslaught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, Vertex/Linker is not supported by CalMAN, only Integral is supported from inside CalMAN which has been discontinued as product from HD Fury.

To make it work doing some procedure manually using Vertex GUI, you need to have accurate notebook HDMI Output also, its that combo that has to be accurate/correct to be able to trigger DV,
Thank you, I misunderstood the procedure.
I successfully forced Dolby Vision on LG C8 OLED.
I calibrated white balance but the results aren't very good.
The EOTF is wrong, it's too bright.
Maybe the Custom workflow doesn't work well with 2018 models.
I'll try once again in the next days.
Do I have to reset the TV to default to wipe out my calibration?
Onslaught is offline  
post #52 of 78 Old 09-21-2018, 07:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,536
Mentioned: 194 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1258 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
LG 2017 OLED Dolby Vision Calibration

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onslaught View Post
Thank you, I misunderstood the procedure.

I successfully forced Dolby Vision on LG C8 OLED.

I calibrated white balance but the results aren't very good.

The EOTF is wrong, it's too bright.

Maybe the Custom workflow doesn't work well with 2018 models.

I'll try once again in the next days.

Do I have to reset the TV to default to wipe out my calibration?


Cinema mode or cinema home?

Cinema Home is Intentionally too bright of an EOTF because it supposed to be used as a bright room Mode.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download

Last edited by WiFi-Spy; 09-21-2018 at 07:47 PM.
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #53 of 78 Old 09-22-2018, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
Onslaught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you for the tip, I used Cinema Home so it was my mistake.
I lack experience with Dolby Vision.
I'll try once again with Cinema.
WiFi-Spy likes this.
Onslaught is offline  
post #54 of 78 Old 10-06-2018, 01:02 PM
Member
 
Skood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone successfully getting this to work on a 13” 2018 MacBook Pro. I can get the HDFury to trigger DV fine on my old windows laptop however on the MacBook running Windows 10 in bootcamp it won’t trigger DV. The graphics card on the Mac is Intel Iris 655 however unlike my windows laptop there are no advanced options in intel graphics settings to switch to full range output and I suspect that is where my problem lies.
Any ideas?
Skood is offline  
post #55 of 78 Old 10-06-2018, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Jon65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skood View Post
Anyone successfully getting this to work on a 13” 2018 MacBook Pro. I can get the HDFury to trigger DV fine on my old windows laptop however on the MacBook running Windows 10 in bootcamp it won’t trigger DV. The graphics card on the Mac is Intel Iris 655 however unlike my windows laptop there are no advanced options in intel graphics settings to switch to full range output and I suspect that is where my problem lies.
Any ideas?
I'm also attempting this today with my mid-2012 MacBook Pro Retina running Win10 in Bootcamp. I've got an Integral and everything seems to be configured correctly. I have the most recent drivers for NVidia GeForce 650M installed.

Everything seems to work, but I can't get the Verification screen to change from orange to black.

I have verified 1920x1080 output on the laptop, extended displays, etc. Also verified full range video output.

Is Calman supposed to recognize the Integral as a source? When I select HDFury, it gives me a "USB Device Open" error, followed by an "Error Source not Found".

I've been working on this for almost three hours. Pretty much out of ideas at this point.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
Jon65 is offline  
post #56 of 78 Old 10-06-2018, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Skood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah yes I’ve had the usb error. It might sound unintuitive but you need to delete the windows silicone labs drivers from your uninstall programs section of control panel. Once they have gone reboot and you should be able to select HD Fury in the source select tab of Calman.
Skood is offline  
post #57 of 78 Old 10-06-2018, 02:05 PM
Member
 
Jon65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skood View Post
Ah yes I’ve had the usb error. It might sound unintuitive but you need to delete the windows silicone labs drivers from your uninstall programs section of control panel. Once they have gone reboot and you should be able to select HD Fury in the source select tab of Calman.
Amazing. Thanks a ton! I'll give it a try later on. I'm pretty much done with this for a while. Definitely will let you know if that does it. And how in the heck did you figure that out???!!!!
Jon65 is offline  
post #58 of 78 Old 10-06-2018, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Skood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had to be a driver issue so I deleted the driver. Calman still connects to the HD Fury fine and I can calibrate SDR and HDR fine...now if I could just get DV ago work then my old laptop could be put to pasture.
Skood is offline  
post #59 of 78 Old 10-06-2018, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Jon65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am trying to get Dolby Vision working. I've done SDR and HDR10 with slides. I'm using Calman Dolby Vision Custom workflow.

Deleting the drivers does not help in this case. Calman still can't see the Integral.

I'll keep messing with it tomorrow.
Jon65 is offline  
post #60 of 78 Old 10-07-2018, 05:20 AM
Member
 
Jon65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skood View Post
Anyone successfully getting this to work on a 13” 2018 MacBook Pro. I can get the HDFury to trigger DV fine on my old windows laptop however on the MacBook running Windows 10 in bootcamp it won’t trigger DV. The graphics card on the Mac is Intel Iris 655 however unlike my windows laptop there are no advanced options in intel graphics settings to switch to full range output and I suspect that is where my problem lies.
Any ideas?
Can you download the Intel driver directly from Intel and also look for any other software that would let you make the needed changes?
Jon65 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off