2018 Vizio PQ65-F1 Calibration Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 462 Old 10-08-2019, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2839 Post(s)
Liked: 1657
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Maybe you will become a superhero.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
Handi-man needs a sidekick.
DisplayCalNoob likes this.
skschatzman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 462 Old 10-10-2019, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
.... I was in a lot of pain. I'm getting better now. Thankfully it doesn't look like I sustained any permanent damage.
.
Sorry to hear about that, glad to hear you came through it ok.

I must admit when I read this I had a vision of Marilyn Manson getting electrocuted. Not sure if it was more amusing or disturbing .

I was able to run a full calibration of the latest firmware and hopefully I'll be able to post my results soon.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #453 of 462 Old 10-17-2019, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I've updated my PQ65-F1 calibration settings in my previous post to FW 3.0.8.2-1.

I purchased the Spears & Munsil UHD HDR Benchmark Disc . With the combination of my Oppo UDP-203, Denon AVR-X3500H and PQ65 I found that YCbCr 4:2:2 minimizes Chroma Alignment errors, so that is the Color Space I used for calibration. I used the UHD HDR Benchmark Disc to adjust SDR contrast for maximum range. With the default Contrast setting of 50, the SDR Contrast Pattern displayed flashing bars up to reference white (value of 940). I adjusted to a setting of 44 which produced flashing bars nearly up to peak white at a maximum value of 1017. Also at the setting of 44 I was able to discern all six squares in all five colors of the Clipping pattern test.

I used HCFR and madTPG on my PC to generate both SDR and HDR Greyscale and Color Gamut patterns. I went through several iterations of SDR adjustment using different combinations of patterns with and without APL as well as setting the AFA to OFF and LOW. This exercise demonstrated just how complex the full video channel is and that my understanding of calibration is limited. I eventually decided to calibrate with AFA OFF and non-APL patterns. Using this process results in an SDR picture which looks realistic with AFA set to LOW.

After getting things tuned using madTPG I switched to Ryan Masciola's Advanced Calibration Patterns (for SDR) sourced from the UDP-203 to fine tune the 10-point grey scale settings. Finally I used the UDP-203 to source 21-point grey scale patterns from visca blaugrana's Gamut Calibration Disc to make the final Grey Scale measurements. I used the Gamut Calibration Disc to source saturation patterns to measure the color gamut and adjust the RGB levels.

I'll post the HDR10 calibration results soon.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 462 Old 10-21-2019, 09:44 PM
Newbie
 
Thewhistler87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Tacoma Washington
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Updated 06/16/2019[/B]

Vizio PQ65-F1(28LTMAXRKU50031) / Firmware v2.1.7.1

Spectracal C6 HDR2000 Rev B-02 (Certified 11/17/2017) Meter Mode: (LED Quantum Dot) BenQ PV2 (5.375" distance) Tripod Mounted
X-Rite i1Pro2 OE*M Rev E (Enhanced 07/2017) Meter Mode: Direct View (7" distance) Tripod Mounted
DVDO AVLab TPG (Firmware 01.03.769) 10% Window - No APL
HD Fury Linker/Scaler (Firmware 0.25)
R.Masciola's HDR-10 UHD Test Patterns (REV_023)
Calman Enthusiast (v5.9.2.59) on HP Core i3 Laptop

==={GLOBAL}===

Picture Modes: Calibrated Dark, Calibrated, Game Dark, Game
Brightness: 50
Contrast: 50
Color: 50
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 0
Color temperature: Normal
Black Detail: Off
Reduce Judder: 10
Reduce Motion Blur: 10
Clear Action: Off (Game, Game Dark: On)
Reduce Signal Noise: Off
Reduce Block Noise: Off
Game Low Latency: Off (Game, Game Dark: On)
Pure Cinema: Off
Color Space: Auto
Gamma: 2.2(Calibrated Dark, Game Dark), 2.1(Calibrated, Game)

==={SDR}===
Colorspace Target: ITU-R BT.709
Gamma Formula: BT.1886

Active Full Array: Off(During Calibration), Low(Calibrated Dark, Game Dark), Medium(Calibrated, Game)
Backlight: 0(Calibrated Dark, Game Dark), 50-100(Calibrated, Game)

Color Tuner: R,G,B,C,M,Y
Hue: 2,1,3,1,0,3
Saturation: -2,1,1,-2,1,1
Brightness: 2,1,-1,0,0,0

White Balance: R,G,B
Offset: 0,0,0
Gain: -20,0,-4

``5%: 25,15,-16
`10%: -8,-13,-15
`20%: -9,-13,-12
`30%: -19,-22,-19
`40%: -27,-25,-22
`50%: -15,-23,-18
`60%: -22,-23,-19
`70%: -11,-20,-17
`80%: -13,-14,-8
`90%: -6,-7,-5
100%: -4,0,0

==={HDR10/HLG}===
Colorspace Target: BT.2020 HDR
Gamma Formula: ST 2084 HDR(PQ)

Picture Mode: Calibrated, Game
Active Full Array: Medium
Backlight: 50

White Balance: R,G,B
Offset: 0,0,0
Gain: 15,0,-22

==={Dolby Vision}===

Picture Mode: Calibrated
Active Full Array: Medium
Backlight: 50

White Balance: R,G,B
Offset: 0,0,0
Gain: 14,0,-11
Ok I'm lost I think. I watched something in 1080p and set the sdr. Then I went to something in HDR to set the hdr settings. But the color tuner settings stays to whatever setting I use across all. Is this right? Do I gotta change the color tuner gain/offset everytime depending what I'm watching or is there a trick to saving each picture mode with its own color tuner setting? Or should I choose one setting, sdr/hdr/DV and use that for a universal/global setting no matter what I'm watching?

Thanks for any help
Thewhistler87 is offline  
post #455 of 462 Old 10-23-2019, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewhistler87 View Post
Ok I'm lost I think. I watched something in 1080p and set the sdr. Then I went to something in HDR to set the hdr settings. But the color tuner settings stays to whatever setting I use across all. Is this right? Do I gotta change the color tuner gain/offset everytime depending what I'm watching or is there a trick to saving each picture mode with its own color tuner setting? Or should I choose one setting, sdr/hdr/DV and use that for a universal/global setting no matter what I'm watching?

Thanks for any help
Each picture mode has unique settings for SDR/HDR10 and DV. Changes to the color tuner while watching HDR10 content should not change the color tuner settings for SDR content.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #456 of 462 Old 10-23-2019, 08:01 AM
Newbie
 
Thewhistler87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Tacoma Washington
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewhistler87 View Post
Ok I'm lost I think. I watched something in 1080p and set the sdr. Then I went to something in HDR to set the hdr settings. But the color tuner settings stays to whatever setting I use across all. Is this right? Do I gotta change the color tuner gain/offset everytime depending what I'm watching or is there a trick to saving each picture mode with its own color tuner setting? Or should I choose one setting, sdr/hdr/DV and use that for a universal/global setting no matter what I'm watching?

Thanks for any help
Each picture mode has unique settings for SDR/HDR10 and DV. Changes to the color tuner while watching HDR10 content should not change the color tuner settings for SDR content.

-phil
That's what I thought but when I set it while watching sdr (1080p according to pressing info on the TV remote), then go to something in 4k, it changed it for either one. Is there a difference between 4k/2160 and hdr10? Maybe that's my issue? I'm new to 4ktvs as of this year finally replacing my vizio 3dtv lol
Thewhistler87 is offline  
post #457 of 462 Old 10-23-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewhistler87 View Post
That's what I thought but when I set it while watching sdr (1080p according to pressing info on the TV remote), then go to something in 4k, it changed it for either one. Is there a difference between 4k/2160 and hdr10? Maybe that's my issue? I'm new to 4ktvs as of this year finally replacing my vizio 3dtv lol
A 4K (UHD) video doesn't have to include HDR10, it can use Rec.709 color space and a log gamma EOTF.

I believe an HD video (1080P, 1080i, 720P) can include and HDR10 stream (Rec.2020 or Rec.2020/P3 with ST.2084 EOTF) but I've never tried one on my PQ65. Such a stream wouldn't be ATSC complaint so you won't see it on OTA broadcasts but you might find it on a disc and possibly on streaming. To the best of my knowledge all of the HDR10 or DV streams from Netflix and Amazon Prime are also UHD.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #458 of 462 Old 10-23-2019, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Thewhistler87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Tacoma Washington
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewhistler87 View Post
That's what I thought but when I set it while watching sdr (1080p according to pressing info on the TV remote), then go to something in 4k, it changed it for either one. Is there a difference between 4k/2160 and hdr10? Maybe that's my issue? I'm new to 4ktvs as of this year finally replacing my vizio 3dtv lol
A 4K (UHD) video doesn't have to include HDR10, it can use Rec.709 color space and a log gamma EOTF.

I believe an HD video (1080P, 1080i, 720P) can include and HDR10 stream (Rec.2020 or Rec.2020/P3 with ST.2084 EOTF) but I've never tried one on my PQ65. Such a stream wouldn't be ATSC complaint so you won't see it on OTA broadcasts but you might find it on a disc and possibly on streaming. To the best of my knowledge all of the HDR10 or DV streams from Netflix and Amazon Prime are also UHD.

-phil
Good to know. It was Netflix I was using. I cut the cord last year. Guess I'll play around some more and see what I can figure out. Probably doing something wrong
Thewhistler87 is offline  
post #459 of 462 Old 10-23-2019, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewhistler87 View Post
Good to know. It was Netflix I was using. I cut the cord last year. Guess I'll play around some more and see what I can figure out. Probably doing something wrong
If you haven't bought it, the Spears and Munsil UHD Benchmark disc is a great tool for evaluating your Video chain and has a great demo montage that lets you compare SDR/HDR10/DV using the same clips. It requires a UHD/HDR capable disc player.

You should also download some HDR clips and put them on a USB thumbdrive to play on the TV's media player or on another connected device with NAS or USB. You can get some good clips at https://4kmedia.org/. It's also possible to download clips from YouTube but not as easy as 4kmedia.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
post #460 of 462 Old 10-23-2019, 08:33 AM
Newbie
 
Thewhistler87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Tacoma Washington
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewhistler87 View Post
Good to know. It was Netflix I was using. I cut the cord last year. Guess I'll play around some more and see what I can figure out. Probably doing something wrong
If you haven't bought it, the Spears and Munsil UHD Benchmark disc is a great tool for evaluating your Video chain and has a great demo montage that lets you compare SDR/HDR10/DV using the same clips. It requires a UHD/HDR capable disc player.

You should also download some HDR clips and put them on a USB thumbdrive to play on the TV's media player or on another connected device with NAS or USB. You can get some good clips at https://4kmedia.org/. It's also possible to download clips from YouTube but not as easy as 4kmedia.

-phil
Sweet I'll check that out. I have the ps4 pro and xbox 1x... I'll grab that disc
Thewhistler87 is offline  
post #461 of 462 Old 11-22-2019, 08:51 AM
Member
 
football751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone calibrate with the new 4.X.X.X (I forget the exact version) firmware? My TV updated last week when I checked for updates.
football751 is offline  
post #462 of 462 Old 11-24-2019, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 2
To my eyes you should check out Rtings.com SDR calibration.
thezrb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off