2018 Vizio PQ65-F1 Calibration Thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 54Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 06:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PhilB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Land of Sugar, TX
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Quick question but can I save different gamma values for DV and HDR10?

In the SmartCast app I was trying to have the gamma for Netflix DV playback at 2.0 and the gamma for Prime Video at 2.1 (both using Calibrated Dark). But it won’t switch to my preferred gamma automaticity upon playback
If memory serves, the Gamma setting is per input. If you are switching all of your sources through a receiver and only use one input on you PQ65 (as I do), you are limited to a single Gamma value. Likewise if you use the same device to play back Netflix and Prime Video you are limited to one Gamma setting unless you somehow split the output from that device to two inputs on the PQ65.

If I am incorrect or missed something I hope someone else will chime in.

-phil

Life's a party, let's get out and strut.
PhilB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,082
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3111 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Quick question but can I save different gamma values for DV and HDR10?



In the SmartCast app I was trying to have the gamma for Netflix DV playback at 2.0 and the gamma for Prime Video at 2.1 (both using Calibrated Dark). But it won’t switch to my preferred gamma automaticity upon playback
To follow the EOTF correctly for DV and HDR10/+ then you must use 2.2 Gamma.

Gamma is set by the picture mode on each input and is shared by all dynamic range formats. I don't like how Vizio did this, but it is how it is. Just have to deal with it.
Rolls-Royce likes this.
skschatzman is offline  
post #513 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
To follow the EOTF correctly for DV and HDR10/+ then you must use 2.2 Gamma.

Gamma is set by the picture mode on each input and is shared by all dynamic range formats. I don't like how Vizio did this, but it is how it is. Just have to deal with it.
Thanks guys. I was hoping this wasn’t the case so I could just use SmartCast for all my streaming viewing. Unfortunately DV on my set is extremely broken (sometimes scenes are extremely dark in Cal Dark and I get crushed blacks that appear as purple. Both things at least look better to the eye by making the Blue Offset to -10 and lowering gamma to 2.0.

HDR10 and SDR are otherwise perfect and was professionally calibrated to gamma 2.1. I’ve emailed Vizio back and forth but they don’t consider the DV issue warrants a replacement.
Ario816 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,082
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3111 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Thanks guys. I was hoping this wasn’t the case so I could just use SmartCast for all my streaming viewing. Unfortunately DV on my set is extremely broken (sometimes scenes are extremely dark in Cal Dark and I get crushed blacks that appear as purple. Both things at least look better to the eye by making the Blue Offset to -10 and lowering gamma to 2.0.



HDR10 and SDR are otherwise perfect and was professionally calibrated to gamma 2.1. I’ve emailed Vizio back and forth but they don’t consider the DV issue warrants a replacement.
Have you tried a factory reset of the TV? This can sometimes remedy those types of issues. I recommend you try this first if you haven't.
jgirado likes this.
skschatzman is offline  
post #515 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Have you tried a factory reset of the TV? This can sometimes remedy those types of issues. I recommend you try this first if you haven't.
Yeah I did factory reset last week and updated latest firmware. Not a hard reset but just used the setting to Reset to Factory settings. Still the same issue. The only “fix” for this seems to be lowering the blue offset or just getting an Apple TV to force convert all DV content to HDR.
Ario816 is offline  
post #516 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1977 Post(s)
Liked: 1177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Yeah I did factory reset last week and updated latest firmware. Not a hard reset but just used the setting to Reset to Factory settings. Still the same issue. The only “fix” for this seems to be lowering the blue offset or just getting an Apple TV to force convert all DV content to HDR.
That doesn't sound right. Were you able to change color temperature, if so make sure its set to normal.

Also, if you changed color space to RGB or YCbCr on any input outside of SmartCast it may affect DV.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #517 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
That doesn't sound right. Were you able to change color temperature, if so make sure its set to normal.

Also, if you changed color space to RGB or YCbCr on any input outside of SmartCast it may affect DV.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
Yep. All Inputs have color temp set to default normal and color space set to auto. I’ve had this problem with DV on this set forever regardless of input. I’ll include pics here showing what it looks like with picture mode in Cal Dark default on DV vs HDR. Vizio sent out a tech and said the issue is too objective and they won’t replace the set.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DE32F9D0-013A-4A46-9775-987034DC0153.jpeg
Views:	18
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	2751372   Click image for larger version

Name:	73E4FA0B-4FB1-4BEA-9405-076A5ED136FF.jpeg
Views:	19
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	2751374   Click image for larger version

Name:	657D8085-441F-4A58-B341-DAC0917F21C7.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	2751376   Click image for larger version

Name:	35ED0302-11C1-434D-8386-EE035B8B9D00.jpeg
Views:	14
Size:	76.9 KB
ID:	2751378   Click image for larger version

Name:	C331E054-5F68-4A88-B21F-F2F7014799BF.jpeg
Views:	14
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	2751380  

Click image for larger version

Name:	C2ED5A2D-886B-46D6-AD0E-1ECDBEB1DE7C.jpeg
Views:	13
Size:	195.5 KB
ID:	2751382  
Ario816 is offline  
post #518 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,082
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3111 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Yep. All Inputs have color temp set to default normal and color space set to auto. I’ve had this problem with DV on this set forever regardless of input. I’ll include pics here showing what it looks like with picture mode in Cal Dark default on DV vs HDR. Vizio sent out a tech and said the issue is too objective and they won’t replace the set.
I am curious. Did you bring this issue up to Vizio? This is not acceptable and warrants an exchange. Too bad it isn't possible now, but if you sat on this, then I would say you did yourself a disservice.
skschatzman is offline  
post #519 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
I am curious. Did you bring this issue up to Vizio? This is not acceptable and warrants an exchange. Too bad it isn't possible now, but if you sat on this, then I would say you did yourself a disservice.
Oh yeah I definitely brought it up to them back in early 2019 when it was still under warranty. They sent out a tech. The tech came and looked it over and he was like “I mean I guess I see the blue you’re talking about but it’s only in DV and it’s pretty subjective so they’re probably not gonna replace it” and He filed his report and They got back to me saying they Weren’t going to replace it.

At that point not much else I can do, so I either just lower the blue offset till the blue goes away or I avoid DV content entirely.
Ario816 is offline  
post #520 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1977 Post(s)
Liked: 1177
That appears to be a memory issue, DV has a seperate memory for RGB levels, etc. It also has a different color model, than HDR10 especially streaming.

Whats your ATV settings?

You can visit the factory menu to see if there are any offset settings by going in to color temperature.

I'll PM you the remote code if you want, just understand that it may void your warranty.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
CFC likes this.
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #521 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4,082
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3111 Post(s)
Liked: 1829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Oh yeah I definitely brought it up to them back in early 2019 when it was still under warranty. They sent out a tech. The tech came and looked it over and he was like “I mean I guess I see the blue you’re talking about but it’s only in DV and it’s pretty subjective so they’re probably not gonna replace it” and He filed his report and They got back to me saying they Weren’t going to replace it.



At that point not much else I can do, so I either just lower the blue offset till the blue goes away or I avoid DV content entirely.
Ouch. Yah I don't like that answer. That is just horrible. Gives me more validation giving up on Vizio a month ago. They have a lot of work to do to regain my attention.
skschatzman is offline  
post #522 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
That appears to be a memory issue, DV has a seperate memory for RGB levels, etc. It also has a different color model, than HDR10 especially streaming.

Whats your ATV settings?

You can visit the factory menu to see if there are any offset settings by going in to color temperature.

I'll PM you the remote code if you want, just understand that it may void your warranty.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
I’ll take that remote code via PM. The tv is already out of warranty so nothing to worry about there. And I’ll post my Apple TV settings but the DV looking bad happens regardless of input or SmartCast.

Apple TV settings:
Format: 4KSDR
HDMI output: YCbCr
Chroma: 4:2:0
Match Range & Frame Rate ON
Ario816 is offline  
post #523 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 08:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1977 Post(s)
Liked: 1177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
I’ll take that remote code via PM. The tv is already out of warranty so nothing to worry about there. And I’ll post my Apple TV settings but the DV looking bad happens regardless of input or SmartCast.



Apple TV settings:

Format: 4KSDR

HDMI output: YCbCr

Chroma: 4:2:0

Match Range & Frame Rate ON
Try changing chroma to 4:2:2, thats what DV use for chroma. DV is ICtCp 12 bit 4:2:2, DV will ignore YCbCr.

DV unlike HDR10 requires certain parameters, it expects 2.2 gamma, Contrast, and Brightness at default.

Format is 4KSDR thats odd.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
post #524 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 09:04 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
That appears to be a memory issue, DV has a seperate memory for RGB levels, etc. It also has a different color model, than HDR10 especially streaming.

Whats your ATV settings?

You can visit the factory menu to see if there are any offset settings by going in to color temperature.

I'll PM you the remote code if you want, just understand that it may void your warranty.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
I'll take that remote code too if you don't mind.
Thanks!


CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is online now  
post #525 of 528 Old 06-30-2020, 09:07 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Try changing chroma to 4:2:2, thats what DV use for chroma. DV is ICtCp 12 bit 4:2:2, DV will ignore YCbCr.

DV unlike HDR10 requires certain parameters, it expects 2.2 gamma, Contrast, and Brightness at default.

Format is 4KSDR thats odd.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
The 4KSDR setting on the Apple TV is just for the main screens.
Since he has the "Match Range & Frame Rate" setting ON, when DV content is played, the unit switches to the appropriate output.


CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is online now  
post #526 of 528 Old 07-01-2020, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplayCalNoob View Post
Try changing chroma to 4:2:2, thats what DV use for chroma. DV is ICtCp 12 bit 4:2:2, DV will ignore YCbCr.

DV unlike HDR10 requires certain parameters, it expects 2.2 gamma, Contrast, and Brightness at default.

Format is 4KSDR thats odd.

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
I don’t have an option for 4:2:2 just 4:4:4 or 4:2:0 but I’ll try switching it to 4:4:4 and see what it looks like tonight.
Ario816 is offline  
post #527 of 528 Old 07-06-2020, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Ario816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hey so I ended up getting the DV patterns/slides from Diversified video solutions to see if any of the slides reproduced the bluish blacks issue I was having with certain DV streaming content.

I went through the majority of the slides and saw nothing wrong. I expected the one with the girl on the roof/sparklers to have the blueish blacks on the dark roof background but it looked good, no issue.

Any other slide in particular I should look at to see if the issue shows itself?

Last edited by Ario816; 07-06-2020 at 10:52 AM.
Ario816 is offline  
post #528 of 528 Old 07-06-2020, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,005
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1977 Post(s)
Liked: 1177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ario816 View Post
Hey so I ended up getting the DV patterns/slides from Diversified video solutions to see if any of the slides reproduced the bluish blacks issue I was having with certain DV streaming content.



I went through the majority of the slides and couldn’t reproduce the blueish black problem. I expected the one with the girl on the roof/sparklers to reproduce the blueish blacks on the dark roof background but it looked good, no issue.



Any other slide in particular I should look at to see if the issue shows itself?
Visit this thread, its the dedicated thread for the patterns for both HDR10 and DV.

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/top...ink_source=app

Sent from my LGMP450 using Tapatalk
DisplayCalNoob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off