Four Color Matrix Meter Profling Thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 112Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 255 Old 04-21-2020, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I also found lowering the brightness to 100 nits and using a 5% vs 10% window works best. I guess because the lower the nits the less White led and 5% less drift than 10%.

Thanks for everyone's help. At least we have an idea on what's going on.
I've been trying to read through this thread to get my profile as correct as possible. Is this how I should set up everything on a Sony X950G. 100 nits and 5% window? Are there any other instructions I should try to follow during set up before profiling?
toby5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 255 Old 04-22-2020, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby5 View Post
I've been trying to read through this thread to get my profile as correct as possible. Is this how I should set up everything on a Sony X950G. 100 nits and 5% window? Are there any other instructions I should try to follow during set up before profiling?
You may want to profile at 94 or 95% instead of 100%. LightSpace does this in order to avoid any clipping issues. CalMAN has a drop-down menu where you can select your desired stimulus level for meter profiling.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #243 of 255 Old 04-22-2020, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
You may want to profile at 94 or 95% instead of 100%. LightSpace does this in order to avoid any clipping issues. CalMAN has a drop-down menu where you can select your desired stimulus level for meter profiling.
Will I have to just eyeball to see which is better effect? I just did the profile with a fresh calibration using 100 nits, 5% window and using Black Jokers distance for i1 pro 2 and i1 display pro. I am so blown away with the extra detail this is giving me. I keep thinking each calibration looks so good, but when doing these things, it just keeps looking better and better to me. I'm really blown away by it.
mrtickleuk likes this.
toby5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 255 Old 04-22-2020, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1505 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby5 View Post
Will I have to just eyeball to see which is better effect? I just did the profile with a fresh calibration using 100 nits, 5% window and using Black Jokers distance for i1 pro 2 and i1 display pro. I am so blown away with the extra detail this is giving me. I keep thinking each calibration looks so good, but when doing these things, it just keeps looking better and better to me. I'm really blown away by it.
Not really. As long as there isn't any color clipping in your display, you don't need to change. As I said, the purpose is to try and make sure the display isn't clipping while you're profiling a meter, which would throw off the results.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #245 of 255 Old 04-22-2020, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Not really. As long as there isn't any color clipping in your display, you don't need to change. As I said, the purpose is to try and make sure the display isn't clipping while you're profiling a meter, which would throw off the results.
Thank you for the tips. I will do this on my next calibration. Another thing I wanted to add is that with my tests I use for viewing, this has fixed so many issues!!!!

Last edited by toby5; 04-22-2020 at 06:50 PM.
toby5 is offline  
post #246 of 255 Old 05-03-2020, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
so I wanted to ask in this thread because I set my tv to 160 nits to help with blue. I got 14 nits on blue, but I also got 200 nits on white with my spectro, i1 pro 2 7 inches from the screen. Is this normal, or should I do something until the white nits read what I set it at on the television?

Last edited by toby5; 05-03-2020 at 06:17 PM.
toby5 is offline  
post #247 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
So I saw that I need to set my Sony x950g panel to native wide gamut in another thread. I tried doing this after work last night, and I'm positive I did it wrong. I set the tv gamut to HDR10, I also set the colorspace to HDR10 on the tv. In calman I set the pattern settings to bt.2020 HDR, which then sets the gamma formula to ST 2084(PQ), I am also using de_ITP deltaE formula with 1931 CIE for the profiling? I tried asking how to set up everything in a few other threads with no response. Is the method completely fubar or is it ok? The deltaE readings were way off the charts wrong, but the final calibration looked ok to me. I just want to be able to do this correctly
toby5 is offline  
post #248 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,766
Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2767 Post(s)
Liked: 4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby5 View Post
So I saw that I need to set my Sony x950g panel to native wide gamut in another thread. I tried doing this after work last night, and I'm positive I did it wrong. I set the tv gamut to HDR10, I also set the colorspace to HDR10 on the tv. In calman I set the pattern settings to bt.2020 HDR, which then sets the gamma formula to ST 2084(PQ), I am also using de_ITP deltaE formula with 1931 CIE for the profiling? I tried asking how to set up everything in a few other threads with no response. Is the method completely fubar or is it ok? The deltaE readings were way off the charts wrong, but the final calibration looked ok to me. I just want to be able to do this correctly
Yes you did this wrong. You changed the HDR mode to HDR10 when you should have change the colorspace to DCI as DCI is the closest you will get to a native gamut on a Sony.
toby5 likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #249 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
Yes you did this wrong. You changed the HDR mode to HDR10 when you should have change the colorspace to DCI as DCI is the closest you will get to a native gamut on a Sony.
thank you so much for your answer. This at least gets me 1 step closer to doing this correctly. I really do appreciate it.
toby5 is offline  
post #250 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,766
Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2767 Post(s)
Liked: 4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby5 View Post
thank you so much for your answer. This at least gets me 1 step closer to doing this correctly. I really do appreciate it.
If you are trying to calibrate your TV with CalMan’s AutoCal, none of this is correct. What exactly is your goal with calibrating your x950G?
D-Nice is offline  
post #251 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
If you are trying to calibrate your TV with CalMan’s AutoCal, none of this is correct. What exactly is your goal with calibrating your x950G?
I want to profile the i1 pro2 with the i1 display pro 1st. I was thinking of doing DCI on TV with TV range, HDR off. Calman side, D65 P3 with power 2.2, then calibrate as normal from there.
toby5 is offline  
post #252 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 06:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 17,766
Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2767 Post(s)
Liked: 4994
Quote:
Originally Posted by toby5 View Post
I want to profile the i1 pro2 with the i1 display pro 1st. I was thinking of doing DCI on TV with TV range, HDR off. Calman side, D65 P3 with power 2.2, then calibrate as normal from there.
None of that stuff is relevant on the CalMan side. Just place the Sony in DCI mode and profile instructions in CalMan.
toby5 likes this.
D-Nice is offline  
post #253 of 255 Old 06-16-2020, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post
None of that stuff is relevant on the CalMan side. Just place the Sony in DCI mode and profile instructions in CalMan.
Will do. I'll just leave everything as is on the Calman side. And thank you again for your help with this.
mrtickleuk likes this.
toby5 is offline  
post #254 of 255 Old 06-17-2020, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I've been trying to do this profile with DCI on, TV settings and HDR mode off. I've left settings in Calman as they are. I've gotten the profile you are trying to create is out of recommeded range error. It doesn't state it exactly like that, it comes with unless you are trying to do it for 3D glasses. I've gotten that twice, the one time I didn't get that error, it wasn't within NIST specs.
toby5 is offline  
post #255 of 255 Old 06-17-2020, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 50
so after getting everything to work correctly by the numbers, I want to say thank you again so much! It looks so good!!!!
toby5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off