2018 Sony Master Series LCD Calibration Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 328Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 646 Old 03-21-2019, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,884
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4876 Post(s)
Liked: 3434
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheModestGun View Post
Does anyone know if Sony LCD LED TV's have been using PFS Phosphor for a few generations? Or is this the first? I have an X900E I'm trying to calibrate and I'm trying to pick the correct display type. Also does anyone know what the HCFR equivalent selection of PFS Phosphor on an i1 Display Pro would be?
I think the 900e uses GB LED.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 646 Old 03-23-2019, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2191 Post(s)
Liked: 2683
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I think the 900e uses GB LED.
My Z9D uses RG Phosphor, would think the 900e (same timeframe) would use the same? Good question for Tyler.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #633 of 646 Old 03-23-2019, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,884
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4876 Post(s)
Liked: 3434
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I think the 900e uses GB LED.
My Z9D uses RG Phosphor, would think the 900e (same timeframe) would use the same? Good question for Tyler.
Possible, I was thinking that the 900E being a cheaper model it wouldn't be using the more expensive LEDs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 05-18-2019 at 05:06 AM.
shoman94 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 646 Old 03-26-2019, 10:31 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,176
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10794 Post(s)
Liked: 6416
Just checking--we set Dynamic Range to "Limited" before running the Autocalibration. When the calibration has completed, the setting should be reverted to "Auto", correct?

The reason I ask is that when we run the Post-calibration checker with Dynamic Range set to Limited, everything looks very good. If we switch to Auto and re-run the Post-calibration checker, things don't look as good. If we have normal viewing with the setting in Auto, which Post-calibration results are actually in effect when viewing?

Last edited by AustinJerry; 03-26-2019 at 10:34 AM.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #635 of 646 Old 03-26-2019, 05:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,535
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1257 Post(s)
Liked: 1862
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Just checking--we set Dynamic Range to "Limited" before running the Autocalibration. When the calibration has completed, the setting should be reverted to "Auto", correct?



The reason I ask is that when we run the Post-calibration checker with Dynamic Range set to Limited, everything looks very good. If we switch to Auto and re-run the Post-calibration checker, things don't look as good. If we have normal viewing with the setting in Auto, which Post-calibration results are actually in effect when viewing?


Auto looks at the HDMI AVI info frame. If your sources has that flag set to full range it will automatically switch to full range. But it will not do that on an actual video source that has the flag set to limited range.
AustinJerry and shoman94 like this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #636 of 646 Old 03-27-2019, 07:10 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,176
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10794 Post(s)
Liked: 6416
I don't recall a discussion regarding how to properly set the contrast control on the Z9F. I don't think the AutoCal touches the contrast setting, and I am pretty sure contrast has no effect on white balance. Can someone share how to determine the correct contrast setting? Thanks!
AustinJerry is offline  
post #637 of 646 Old 03-27-2019, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 158 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4146 Post(s)
Liked: 4940
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I don't recall a discussion regarding how to properly set the contrast control on the Z9F. I don't think the AutoCal touches the contrast setting, and I am pretty sure contrast has no effect on white balance. Can someone share how to determine the correct contrast setting? Thanks!
You always want to keep the contrast setting to the default as per Sony.
shoman94 likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #638 of 646 Old 03-27-2019, 11:47 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,176
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10794 Post(s)
Liked: 6416
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
You always want to keep the contrast setting to the default as per Sony.
Since I don’t recall what the Sony default was (it is currently set to 90), how do I know? I would prefer to avoid resetting everything to defaults just to see what the default setting was for Contrast.

Perhaps you or someone would be kind enough to tell me what the default setting should be?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #639 of 646 Old 03-27-2019, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Since I don’t recall what the Sony default was (it is currently set to 90), how do I know? I would prefer to avoid resetting everything to defaults just to see what the default setting was for Contrast.

Perhaps you or someone would be kind enough to tell me what the default setting should be?
90 is the default on Sony TV's. Sony TV's come very good out of the box as far as black level and contrast settings go. when using patterns neither the highest nor lowest grays were clipped. Don't sweat contrast and black level settings as long as you've got them set at 90 and 50 respectively.
shoman94 and JoelArt like this.
TheModestGun is offline  
post #640 of 646 Old 03-27-2019, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 158 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4146 Post(s)
Liked: 4940
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheModestGun View Post
90 is the default on Sony TV's. Sony TV's come very good out of the box as far as black level and contrast settings go. when using patterns neither the highest nor lowest grays were clipped. Don't sweat contrast and black level settings as long as you've got them set at 90 and 50 respectively.
And Sony doesn't recommend changing these values.
shoman94 likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #641 of 646 Old 03-27-2019, 02:16 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,176
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10794 Post(s)
Liked: 6416
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheModestGun View Post
90 is the default on Sony TV's. Sony TV's come very good out of the box as far as black level and contrast settings go. when using patterns neither the highest nor lowest grays were clipped. Don't sweat contrast and black level settings as long as you've got them set at 90 and 50 respectively.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
And Sony doesn't recommend changing these values.
Well, it seems like I have retained the default setting, thanks for confirming.

On my upstairs 940D, Contrast is set to 96, which I believe I arrived at using the Spears&Munsil test Blu-ray. I'll revert this setting to 90 as well.
shoman94 and jrref like this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #642 of 646 Old 04-27-2019, 07:21 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,176
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10794 Post(s)
Liked: 6416
I don’t recall a discussion on how to determine the correct setting for the Color Control, which is currently set to 50 on my display.

Do the “Per Color Adjustments” fine-tune the Color, regardless of the setting for “Color”. IOW, does it really matter what the Color setting is?

And what about the Hue setting, which is currently at the default setting of zero?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #643 of 646 Old 04-27-2019, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,884
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4876 Post(s)
Liked: 3434
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I don’t recall a discussion on how to determine the correct setting for the Color Control, which is currently set to 50 on my display.

Do the “Per Color Adjustments” fine-tune the Color, regardless of the setting for “Color”. IOW, does it really matter what the Color setting is?

And what about the Hue setting, which is currently at the default setting of zero?
For the most part the Color setting acts like the saturation settings but for all colors.
AustinJerry and jrref like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 04-27-2019 at 05:04 PM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #644 of 646 Old 05-15-2019, 03:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
njfoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Looks like rolling auto cal was added for the legacy Sony models.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post58051404
WiFi-Spy and shoman94 like this.
njfoses is online now  
post #645 of 646 Old 05-18-2019, 12:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,699
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2191 Post(s)
Liked: 2683
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheModestGun View Post
Does anyone know if Sony LCD LED TV's have been using PFS Phosphor for a few generations? Or is this the first? I have an X900E I'm trying to calibrate and I'm trying to pick the correct display type. Also does anyone know what the HCFR equivalent selection of PFS Phosphor on an i1 Display Pro would be?
My Z9D is RG Phosphor according to Tyler but my 950G is PFS Phosphor again, according to Tyler.

-Jeff-
Man cave: Sony XBR75Z9D, Marantz SR8012, and OPPO UDP-203
Living room: Sony XBR75X950G, Denon x4500, and Sony UBP-X800M2
bluemoon737 is offline  
post #646 of 646 Old 05-18-2019, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,884
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4876 Post(s)
Liked: 3434
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Just checking--we set Dynamic Range to "Limited" before running the Autocalibration. When the calibration has completed, the setting should be reverted to "Auto", correct?

The reason I ask is that when we run the Post-calibration checker with Dynamic Range set to Limited, everything looks very good. If we switch to Auto and re-run the Post-calibration checker, things don't look as good. If we have normal viewing with the setting in Auto, which Post-calibration results are actually in effect when viewing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Auto looks at the HDMI AVI info frame. If your sources has that flag set to full range it will automatically switch to full range. But it will not do that on an actual video source that has the flag set to limited range.
Correct, since we use PCs set to full we have to force the TV to Limited. In Calman, expand to PC levels unchecked and Calman set to Video (16-235) levels.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
WiFi-Spy likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off