2019 LG OLED Calibration and User Settings (No price talk) - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 307Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Will Calman fix the issue so one can use an HD Fury Integral again, allowing the use of other pattern generators for HDR calibration?
You can still use an Integral by copying and pasting the metadata strings CalMAN produces into the Integral GUI. This really isn't as big a deal as it sounds, as once the strings were sent to the Integral (when CalMAN could control it), you had to disconnect from it in order to connect to the actual pattern generator. Not much of a difference, honestly.
WiFi-Spy and mrtickleuk like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Barefoot Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I just upgraded my older Videoforge HDMI pattern generator to a Videoforge Pro. I already have my TV calibrated with the internal test patterns and the C6 CalMan profile for the TV and am really happy with the results. I plan to create a profile myself with my i1 Pro 2 and C6. Does it matter if the TV is in SDR, HDR, or DV when creating the profile (this is my first time profiling a 4K TV with HDR and DV)? Will I have to create 3 profiles, one for each mode? Beyond that, should I still use the internal test patterns to calibrate the TV, then just use the Videoforge Pro to verify the results? Or, just use the Videoforge as the pattern generator to both calibrate and verify? Or, does it make any difference..even theoretically?
Barefoot Joe is offline  
post #453 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 11:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barefoot Joe View Post
I just upgraded my older Videoforge HDMI pattern generator to a Videoforge Pro. I already have my TV calibrated with the internal test patterns and the C6 CalMan profile for the TV and am really happy with the results. I plan to create a profile myself with my i1 Pro 2 and C6. Does it matter if the TV is in SDR, HDR, or DV when creating the profile (this is my first time profiling a 4K TV with HDR and DV)? Will I have to create 3 profiles, one for each mode? Beyond that, should I still use the internal test patterns to calibrate the TV, then just use the Videoforge Pro to verify the results? Or, just use the Videoforge as the pattern generator to both calibrate and verify? Or, does it make any difference..even theoretically?
One profile should do. I'd make it with the display in its native or widest gamut. You should measure W,R,G, and B with both the CalMAN C-6 profile and the one you make yourself, before re-calibrating. Write down the x,y and Luminance for each color then repeat with the second profile. If you are within .001 for x and y and 4% (IIRC) for luminance, you won't see much of a difference by changing profiles.
You can do the whole shebang - calibration and verification - with the VFP.
WiFi-Spy and Barefoot Joe like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
You can still use an Integral by copying and pasting the metadata strings CalMAN produces into the Integral GUI. This really isn't as big a deal as it sounds, as once the strings were sent to the Integral (when CalMAN could control it), you had to disconnect from it in order to connect to the actual pattern generator. Not much of a difference, honestly.
Well that’s good news! Thank you Royce.
I’ll so some searching and find out how to do this.

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #455 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 01:48 PM
Member
 
Barefoot Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
One profile should do. I'd make it with the display in its native or widest gamut. You should measure W,R,G, and B with both the CalMAN C-6 profile and the one you make yourself, before re-calibrating. Write down the x,y and Luminance for each color then repeat with the second profile. If you are within .001 for x and y and 4% (IIRC) for luminance, you won't see much of a difference by changing profiles.
You can do the whole shebang - calibration and verification - with the VFP.
Thank you very much! This is the first time I've looked at my new toy (VFP), so excuse my questions if they sound naive. When you say "make it with the the display in its native or widest gamut", does that mean to set the VFP to 3840x2160 60Hz in the 4K menu? HDR set to OFF? Or, are you speaking of the color gamut? Should that be set to YCbCR 4:4:4 12, or some other value? Thanks again!
Barefoot Joe is offline  
post #456 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 02:22 PM
Member
 
rlhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
We will be publishing the tutorial videos for CalMAN Home for LG in the next two weeks. This includes separate video tutorials for SDR, HDR, and Dolby Vision.

Tyler
Question for WiFi Spy, please...

I was told by PD that my CalMAN Home Enthusiast 2019 License (or whatever its called these days) would allow me to do the LG C9 Autocal, but some of the posts in this forum seem to be saying that I might still need the new CalMAN Home for LG to do the autocal...which is correct??

rlhn
--------------------------
LG OLED 65C9PUA, Yamaha RX-V685 AVR (with eARC update), Polk Audio SurroundBar 500, Pioneer SW-8 Subwoofer, Panasonic DP-UB820 4K Blu-Ray, Apple TV 4K, Fire TV Stick 4K, DISH Hopper 3 w/OTA Tuner, Chromecast Ultra
rlhn is offline  
post #457 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1308 Post(s)
Liked: 1905
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlhn View Post
Question for WiFi Spy, please...

I was told by PD that my CalMAN Home Enthusiast 2019 License (or whatever its called these days) would allow me to do the LG C9 Autocal, but some of the posts in this forum seem to be saying that I might still need the new CalMAN Home for LG to do the autocal...which is correct??
CalMAN 2019 Enthusiast has the same LG AutoCal workflows as the professional versions of CalMAN. CalMAN Home for LG has a more simplified workflow.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #458 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 03:00 PM
Member
 
rlhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
CalMAN 2019 Enthusiast has the same LG AutoCal workflows as the professional versions of CalMAN. CalMAN Home for LG has a more simplified workflow.
Great! Thanks!

rlhn
--------------------------
LG OLED 65C9PUA, Yamaha RX-V685 AVR (with eARC update), Polk Audio SurroundBar 500, Pioneer SW-8 Subwoofer, Panasonic DP-UB820 4K Blu-Ray, Apple TV 4K, Fire TV Stick 4K, DISH Hopper 3 w/OTA Tuner, Chromecast Ultra
rlhn is offline  
post #459 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Well that’s good news! Thank you Royce.
I’ll so some searching and find out how to do this.
Easy-peasy. Open up the Integral GUI (easier if you do that first), then CalMAN. For Source in CalMAN, select "AVTopController". When it pops up the connection dialog box, click "Connect" even if you don't have that software. CalMAN will open a source settings sheet. Select HDR or DV, and copy and paste the strings shown in the HDR Infoframe and AVI Infoframe fields to the correct fields in the Integral GUI.Send them to the Integral. Now disconnect from that source in CalMAN and select your pattern generator. Proceed as directed by CalMAN.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #460 of 473 Old 06-10-2019, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barefoot Joe View Post
Thank you very much! This is the first time I've looked at my new toy (VFP), so excuse my questions if they sound naive. When you say "make it with the the display in its native or widest gamut", does that mean to set the VFP to 3840x2160 60Hz in the 4K menu? HDR set to OFF? Or, are you speaking of the color gamut? Should that be set to YCbCR 4:4:4 12, or some other value? Thanks again!
I'm speaking of your TV's color gamut.
Barefoot Joe likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #461 of 473 Old 06-11-2019, 06:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hi guys, would you just check for me in the hdr worflow that the color gamma target is correct on bt2020sdr? Shouldnt it be on bt2020hdr?
The gamma formula i assume is correct mapping the st2084 on the 2.2 of the c9 if i understand correctly?
Is this red error in the colorspace is normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190611_013739_1560258944485.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	2578790   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190611_013806_1560258951895.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	1.60 MB
ID:	2578792   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190611_133259_1560258964541.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	2578794  
Toto84 is offline  
post #462 of 473 Old 06-11-2019, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1308 Post(s)
Liked: 1905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Hi guys, would you just check for me in the hdr worflow that the color gamma target is correct on bt2020sdr? Shouldnt it be on bt2020hdr?
The gamma formula i assume is correct mapping the st2084 on the 2.2 of the c9 if i understand correctly?
Is this red error in the colorspace is normal?


All that is expected and normal.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #463 of 473 Old 06-14-2019, 01:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello can this version of the program: SpectraCal CalMAN Ultimate for Business v5 6 1

Can calibrate my LG OLED E9 65"?
Yuri Kuznetsov is offline  
post #464 of 473 Old 06-14-2019, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yuri Kuznetsov View Post
Hello can this version of the program: SpectraCal CalMAN Ultimate for Business v5 6 1

Can calibrate my LG OLED E9 65"?
That's quite an old version. For a manual calibration, yes. For an autocal, no. IIRC, the autocal routine for the 2019s didn't appear until CalMAN 2019 (5.10.xx). CalMAN 2018 was 5.9.xx.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #465 of 473 Old 06-14-2019, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
200 hours minimum hours before calibration.
Remember when we used to run changing color slides 24/7 to get plasma's broke-in for calibration.

LG 77C9 OLED Theatre Room- LG 65EF9500 OLED Living Room
Panasonic UB820 Blu-Ray Player - Denon X4500H AVR
Chord 2Qute DAC - Rogue RP-1 Pre Amp - Rogue Atlas Magnum II Tube Amp

Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Speakers--B&W HTM62 Center--Axiom QS4 surrounds, PSB Imagine XA Atmos Speaker Addons -- SVS PC-2000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
post #466 of 473 Old Today, 11:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Any recommendation on how to set the set the custom tone mapping roll off point for 1000, 4000, 10000 nits?

I am really surprise to find very little information about this !
Vincent teoh mentionned that he prefer the custom tone mapping to the active tone mapping.

Looking at the picture the custom tone mapping is clipping detail in the clould but is perhaps more realistic, the active tone mapping make shadows in dark area over bright.

I really would like your opinions on this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190617_190340_1560794643942.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	2581160   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190617_190326_1560794653906.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	1.29 MB
ID:	2581162  
Toto84 is offline  
post #467 of 473 Old Today, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I have a question on the Portrait Displays C6 meter.

I understand it has the profiles for the C9 OLED. What size panel do they use to make the profile?

My concern comes from the 77". I read a post somewhere that last years 77C8" actually used a C7 panel. I'm wondering if this years 77C9 is using a C8 panel?
If that's the case wouldn't the C6 meter have the wrong profile for a 77C9?

LG 77C9 OLED Theatre Room- LG 65EF9500 OLED Living Room
Panasonic UB820 Blu-Ray Player - Denon X4500H AVR
Chord 2Qute DAC - Rogue RP-1 Pre Amp - Rogue Atlas Magnum II Tube Amp

Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Speakers--B&W HTM62 Center--Axiom QS4 surrounds, PSB Imagine XA Atmos Speaker Addons -- SVS PC-2000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
post #468 of 473 Old Today, 01:07 PM
Member
 
Barefoot Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Any recommendation on how to set the set the custom tone mapping roll off point for 1000, 4000, 10000 nits?

I am really surprise to find very little information about this !
Vincent teoh mentionned that he prefer the custom tone mapping to the active tone mapping.

Looking at the picture the custom tone mapping is clipping detail in the clould but is perhaps more realistic, the active tone mapping make shadows in dark area over bright.

I really would like your opinions on this?
I don't have any recommendations, just comments. I left my tone mapping during calibration to the defaults. To my eye, the pictures that you uploaded demonstrate more detail and appear more real with dynamic contrast ON. I see the same on my TV and leave that setting on. I don't like the fact that it defeats custom tone mapping. I thought, and was hoping, that the custom tone maps would be better to my eye. Maybe as people get more experience and post some recommendations, that will be the case.

Not to cloud the issue/setting, but can anyone confirm that the custom tone maps set during calibration are ignored with dynamic tone mapping turned ON? To see any benefit of custom tone mapping, dynamic tone mapping setting would have to be OFF? It is my understanding that is the case.
Barefoot Joe is offline  
post #469 of 473 Old Today, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barefoot Joe View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Any recommendation on how to set the set the custom tone mapping roll off point for 1000, 4000, 10000 nits?

I am really surprise to find very little information about this !
Vincent teoh mentionned that he prefer the custom tone mapping to the active tone mapping.

Looking at the picture the custom tone mapping is clipping detail in the clould but is perhaps more realistic, the active tone mapping make shadows in dark area over bright.

I really would like your opinions on this?
I don't have any recommendations, just comments. I left my tone mapping during calibration to the defaults. To my eye, the pictures that you uploaded demonstrate more detail and appear more real with dynamic contrast ON. I see the same on my TV and leave that setting on. I don't like the fact that it defeats custom tone mapping. I thought, and was hoping, that the custom tone maps would be better to my eye. Maybe as people get more experience and post some recommendations, that will be the case.

Not to cloud the issue/setting, but can anyone confirm that the custom tone maps set during calibration are ignored with dynamic tone mapping turned ON? To see any benefit of custom tone mapping, dynamic tone mapping setting would have to be OFF? It is my understanding that is the case.
I completely agree with you, it would be great to have some recommendation from some pro.

Custom tone mapping is activated by having dynamic tone mapping off, i think Tyler has confirmed this already.
Toto84 is offline  
post #470 of 473 Old Today, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 3
When you calculate the peak luminance on the 10% windows for hdr do you guys take more than 1 reading?
I notice that if take 1 reading i usually get 720 nits but taking a few more reading i can get up to 750_760 nits.

If you change the peak luminance on the custom tone mapping menu from 700 to for example 730, would that also reflect on the dynamic tone mapping?
Toto84 is offline  
post #471 of 473 Old Today, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,181
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4235 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
When you calculate the peak luminance on the 10% windows for hdr do you guys take more than 1 reading?
I notice that if take 1 reading i usually get 720 nits but taking a few more reading i can get up to 750_760 nits.

If you change the peak luminance on the custom tone mapping menu from 700 to for example 730, would that also reflect on the dynamic tone mapping?
Your HDR peak luminance is always going to fluctuate because the panel heats up. Best to take a couple of readings a minute apart but these variances are small and you won't be able to detect them.
chunon likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #472 of 473 Old Today, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
When you calculate the peak luminance on the 10% windows for hdr do you guys take more than 1 reading?
I notice that if take 1 reading i usually get 720 nits but taking a few more reading i can get up to 750_760 nits.

If you change the peak luminance on the custom tone mapping menu from 700 to for example 730, would that also reflect on the dynamic tone mapping?
Your HDR peak luminance is always going to fluctuate because the panel heats up. Best to take a couple of readings a minute apart but these variances are small and you won't be able to detect them.
Thanks Jrref, the Hdr on the c9 is amazing this year and i truly enjoy learning how to calibrate my tv, shame we can't verify the calibration for hdr and dolby vision without spending thousands.

What is your take on the custom mapping Vs Dynamic tone mapping?
Barefoot Joe likes this.
Toto84 is offline  
post #473 of 473 Old Today, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,181
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4235 Post(s)
Liked: 5148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Thanks Jrref, the Hdr on the c9 is amazing this year and i truly enjoy learning how to calibrate my tv, shame we can't verify the calibration for hdr and dolby vision without spending thousands.

What is your take on the custom mapping Vs Dynamic tone mapping?
I verify HDR all the time and it's accurate. DV it looks the same to my eye when sitting next to a calibrated LG so I have to assume it's accurate.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off