CalMAN Home for Samsung - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 200 Old 08-13-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
So, just to confirm Ted, use Raw XYZ as Display type when profiling QLED right? Cuz nothing in the available types comes close to matching QLED as per Rolls.
Its better idea to do this, yes. For safety reason.

All these display type settings are for users with only colorimeter, for those like you where you have both colorimeter and spectro, you will not use any of these display types.

You will select the 'RAW XYZ' called mode which is not loading any addition specific EDR spectral file to your readings, and then you will create the 3x3 matrix meter correction table.
Rolls-Royce and mombasa123 like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 200 Old 08-13-2019, 08:15 PM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Agreed, the charts are useless - spent a bit of time trying to figure out what they were showing and came to the 'useless' conclusion and ignored. I looked at just the numbers - which look good as you say.
This is what a profiling workflow page should look like :

https://displaycalibrations.com/imag...ling_Check.png

I have asked about this before : Ability to load custom workflows in CalMAN Home - it's a shame that we cannot do that anymore now that Enthusiast has been discontinued. It would make everyone's life so much easier - CalMAN should be learning from others instead of just ignoring.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #123 of 200 Old 08-14-2019, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
This is what a profiling workflow page should look like :

https://displaycalibrations.com/imag...ling_Check.png
Yes, I designed this at 2013, and its displaying all bars as you see for both meters, both meter dots in CIE chart etc.
mombasa123 and jrref like this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #124 of 200 Old 08-14-2019, 05:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,349
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4381 Post(s)
Liked: 5373
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Yes, I designed this at 2013, and its displaying all bars as you see for both meters, both meter dots in CIE chart etc.
I wanted to add, this workflow that Ted designed is probably the most important to use when you calibrate because many never validate the profile they created. Often you may not get an optimal profile on the first attempt and you will never know it unless you verify your result. I use this workflow all the time and it also gives you a good indication if something is wrong or not configured properly when you take readings with your spectro.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #125 of 200 Old 08-14-2019, 07:22 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I just started playing with HDR Calibration using Ryan's disk and, dear god, it looks horrid. GrayScale is all over the place (11 point to be quick). The Luminance is rubbish and EOTF curve well below it should be at Contrast = 50. PS, I did have my Contrast at 42 to prevent clipping but the EOTF curve with that was truly nasty.

I don't understand the difference between the 2 RGB?

Moreover, what are the DeltaE 2000 charts showing (well I get the bottom one but no idea what the top one is)?

Neither have I got a clue how to fix the below par Luminance & EOTF

My settings are pretty much default :

Movie Mode/Warm2
Color 25
Contrast 50
Color Space Auto
Local Dimming Low

Any advise please?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grayscale HDR.JPG
Views:	27
Size:	233.1 KB
ID:	2602854  
mombasa123 is offline  
post #126 of 200 Old 08-14-2019, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
I just started playing with HDR Calibration using Ryan's disk and, dear god, it looks horrid.
How do those results compare with having backlight at max and local dimming on High? Top RGB is absolute, bottom RGB is relative.
thoth is offline  
post #127 of 200 Old 08-14-2019, 08:44 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Results are with Backlight at 50 and Brightness at 0.

Can do another run with Local Dimming on High but don't think that will make a difference.

Any ideas about the DeltaE ? Maybe w/i and w/o luminance?

Last edited by mombasa123; 08-14-2019 at 08:47 AM.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #128 of 200 Old 08-14-2019, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Any ideas about the DeltaE ? Maybe w/i and w/o luminance?
Yes. If you right click on the charts and select Properties, you can see top includes luminance, bottom does not.
thoth is offline  
post #129 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Need advise

I have a q90r
C6 Colorimeter
2019 calman home for samsung
mobileforge mirrored to Apple 4k box


Last weekend I tried a manual calibration because I did not have the proper cables yet to try an AutoCal. I got the Delta E to an Avg. of .3. This took me three hours. My cables came in today and I plan to run an Autocal and see how the results compare to my manual calibration.

I am not happy with how skin tones look before as well as after my manual calibration. I used Raw XYZ as the 2019 set is not listed yet but would have the 2018 Qled Profile been better with the equipment and software I am using? I had the Apple at 4k SDR with Ycbcr 4:4:4 as settings. Calman set to PC Levels. I set local dimming to low and used a 100% window.

I know my equipment is not great and not bit perfect but I am just doing this for fun and want to improve the picture as much as I can. I am not worried about reaching perfection here, just better than factory.

So any advice on doing an Autocal? I never done one before. Also, if I am not happy with the AutoCal I plan to do another manual calibration using the 2018 Qled profile. Thanks.
tonyjspr9 is offline  
post #130 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 02:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
I just started playing with HDR Calibration using Ryan's disk and, dear god, it looks horrid. GrayScale is all over the place (11 point to be quick). The Luminance is rubbish and EOTF curve well below it should be at Contrast = 50. PS, I did have my Contrast at 42 to prevent clipping but the EOTF curve with that was truly nasty.

Any advise please?
Hi,

With HDR calibration, calibration controls of Contrast/Brightness/Backlight should not be touched or adjusted using an HDR10 pattern, because based to the default values of these controls the internal TV PQ tone/gamut mapping is working. HDR10 patterns is only for evaluate not to calibrate (Contrast/Brightness patterns in HDR10)

Try to calibrate your RGB balance but with Local Dimming OFF (compare the reading if you have high differences with 'Low', and 10% Windows.

But HDR 10% window pattern Peak White reading should give you 1600-1700 nits, not 480 nits only. Check also if the any energy energy saving setting enable which can limit the output.
mombasa123 likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #131 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 03:46 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi,

But HDR 10% window pattern Peak White reading should give you 1600-1700 nits, not 480 nits only. Check also if the any energy energy saving setting enable which can limit the output.
Could it be that Ryan's 10% White page is restricted to 400 odd nits. Each patch has a Cxxx-Cnnn number which I think refers to nits? I'm not at home so can't post exactly what the xxx/nnn is .
mombasa123 is offline  
post #132 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Could it be that Ryan's 10% White page is restricted to 400 odd nits. Each patch has a Cxxx-Cnnn number which I think refers to nits? I'm not at home so can't post exactly what the xxx/nnn is .
Ryan's patterns have 10% window size. But when you measure your HDR10 Grayscale, your display has to provide about 1600-1700 nits as peak output.

Some text markings you see to the patterns define the digital levels.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #133 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:02 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
so the filename is 10%_Patch_100_C940_C235_HDR10.mp4

What is C940_C235 ?

Guessing C940 is nits so I should be getting around that number. But don't get the C235?
mombasa123 is offline  
post #134 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:04 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
so the filename is 10%_Patch_100_C940_C235_HDR10.mp4

What is C940_C235 ?

Guessing C940 is nits so I should be getting around that number. But don't get the C235?
nvm, 940 is nits & 235 is RGB

Will measure again.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #135 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
so the filename is 10%_Patch_100_C940_C235_HDR10.mp4

What is C940_C235 ?

Guessing C940 is nits so I should be getting around that number. But don't get the C235?
100 => 100% White
C940 => 10-bit digital level of 100% White.
C235 => 8-bit digital level of 100% White (when you convert 10 -> 8, and round down)

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #136 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
nvm, 940 is nits & 235 is RGB

Will measure again.
If you have a 10000 nits capable display and you load that 100% White pattern, you will measure 10000 nits.

940 10-bit digital level in the signal, for ST.2048 reference 'golden' target numbers is 10000 nits.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #137 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:20 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
100 => 100% White
C940 => 10-bit digital level of 100% White.
C235 => 8-bit digital level of 100% White (when you convert 10 -> 8, and round down)
ah ok - got it wrong.

Lemme get my head around all this.

Thx Ted!
mombasa123 is offline  
post #138 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:30 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
If you have a 10000 nits capable display and you load that 100% White pattern, you will measure 10000 nits.

940 10-bit digital level in the signal, for ST.2048 reference 'golden' target numbers is 10000 nits.
I just measured again, same patch, and I only get 480 nits. The display should be capable of 1600+ so I have no idea whats wrong.

On the White Clipping tests I can see bars up to 1000 nits flashing with default Contrast of 50. Reducing Contrast to 45 I can get up to 1300 nits bars but makes no difference to the luminace measurement.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #139 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
I just measured again, same patch, and I only get 480 nits. The display should be capable of 1600+ so I have no idea whats wrong.

On the White Clipping tests I can see bars up to 1000 nits flashing with default Contrast of 50. Reducing Contrast to 45 I can get up to 1300 nits bars but makes no difference to the luminace measurement.
From what source are you playing the file? Is from a Player or TV USB? Does TV enable HDR10 signaling? press INFO button from Samsung remote to see, the picture mode has to say HDR also.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #140 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 05:42 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
From what source are you playing the file? Is from a Player or TV USB? Does TV enable HDR10 signaling? press INFO button from Samsung remote to see, the picture mode has to say HDR also.
Found the problem. Player is Kodi Vero 4K box. I just tried with another Kodi CoreElec box and that gives me 1400+ nits!!!

Over to Vero 4K support forums now. Sigh

Cheers Ted, brilliantly helpful as always!!!!!
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #141 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 06:47 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Found the problem. Player is Kodi Vero 4K box. I just tried with another Kodi CoreElec box and that gives me 1400+ nits!!!

Over to Vero 4K support forums now. Sigh

Cheers Ted, brilliantly helpful as always!!!!!
Well, it's not the Vero. Switched it to the same HDMI port as the CoreElec and it was fine. Suspected the rather expensive cable I was using with the Vero (CoreELec port has an Amazon Basics) but nope. Switched the cables and, cutting a long story short, looks like HDMI 1 port is faulty. Havent had a chance to test the other ports. Will post on the Samsung thread and contact Samsung support.

Sigh.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #142 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Well, it's not the Vero. Switched it to the same HDMI port as the CoreElec and it was fine. Suspected the rather expensive cable I was using with the Vero (CoreELec port has an Amazon Basics) but nope. Switched the cables and, cutting a long story short, looks like HDMI 1 port is faulty. Havent had a chance to test the other ports. Will post on the Samsung thread and contact Samsung support.
See if its disabled the Samsung HDMI UHD Color to the specific port you have the problem.

This setting will provide the capability to swap between two different pixel clock rates of video signal transfer, which will affect the supported resolutions/bit-depth per colorspace also.

With 'ON', the HDMI Input will be clocked @ 600 MHz and capable for up to 18 Gbps data rate.

With 'OFF', the HDMI Input will be clocked @ 300 MHz and capable for up to 10.2 Gbps data rate.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #143 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 08:10 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Checked that already and it's enabled. Definitely something wrong with HDMI 1 but not too bothered now that I have switched ports. Will contact Samsung HK but guaranteed they will not have a clue. I'll check HDMI 3 & 4 when I get a chance.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #144 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyjspr9 View Post
I have a q90r
C6 Colorimeter
I was told here to use 2018 QLED profile for now, until 2019 support is released. Autocal for Q90R isn't supported in the current release, supposed to be in the R2 release. What settings are you using on the Q90R?
thoth is offline  
post #145 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Is there any word on a timeframe for RC2? I've been following the thread for several months and have heard nothing.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is online now  
post #146 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 10:12 AM
Member
 
drangel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
Is there any word on a timeframe for RC2? I've been following the thread for several months and have heard nothing.
I was told by Portrait Displays Sales this week that support "will be included in the next CalMAN release this month". A more specific date was not provided.
drangel1 is offline  
post #147 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 10:57 AM
Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Couldn't sleep so did another quick HDR calibration. Much, much better now that its on HDMI port that's not clipping.

Note :

1) default Contrast of 50 gives an overtly brighter picture with the line well above the EOTF curve - same with Luminance.
2) Contrast of 45 follows EOTF and Luminance much more closely and reduces the white clipping I mentioned before. Pretty much what Rtings.com said.

RGB is all over the place but that gonna require 21pt calibration.

Edit : just realised I was using Warm 1 hence. Switched to Warm 2 and RGB much better (attached)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Contrast 50.JPG
Views:	13
Size:	235.9 KB
ID:	2603258   Click image for larger version

Name:	Contrast 45.JPG
Views:	12
Size:	235.6 KB
ID:	2603260   Click image for larger version

Name:	Warm 2 Contrast 45.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	229.8 KB
ID:	2603262  

Last edited by mombasa123; 08-15-2019 at 11:09 AM.
mombasa123 is offline  
post #148 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 483 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by drangel1 View Post
I was told by Portrait Displays Sales this week that support "will be included in the next CalMAN release this month". A more specific date was not provided.
Thanks for the heads up it's much appreciated!

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is online now  
post #149 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
I was told here to use 2018 QLED profile for now, until 2019 support is released. Autocal for Q90R isn't supported in the current release, supposed to be in the R2 release. What settings are you using on the Q90R?
Thanks

Movie
Backlight-30
Brightness -0
Contrast - 48
Sharpness - 0
Color- 25
Tint - 0
AMP - off
Dimming - standard
CE - off
2 pt - 0,-5,0/-5,-3,-2
Color temp - warm 2
1886 - 0
CMS - custom

I switch to warm 1 when watching PlayStation Vue
tonyjspr9 is offline  
post #150 of 200 Old 08-15-2019, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Well, it's not the Vero. Switched it to the same HDMI port as the CoreElec and it was fine. Suspected the rather expensive cable I was using with the Vero (CoreELec port has an Amazon Basics) but nope. Switched the cables and, cutting a long story short, looks like HDMI 1 port is faulty. Havent had a chance to test the other ports. Will post on the Samsung thread and contact Samsung support.

Sigh.
I'm guessing there could be a setting different between the two ports, especially if you haven't been using "Apply to all inputs". HDMI port issues don't manifest themselves as reduced luminance with all else ok. You'll get noise, snow, or no picture at all.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off