Calman Home for Sony 2019 - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 89Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 353 Old 07-19-2019, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1549 Post(s)
Liked: 2148
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachmat-d View Post
I have no response from Calman/ Portraid Display and from Wifi spy regarding the licence .


Please contact our support team. We respond to every email.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 353 Old 07-19-2019, 07:24 AM
Member
 
rachmat-d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I already email support and then PM you and then Email sales, but i havent got any reply email until now ?
rachmat-d is offline  
post #213 of 353 Old 07-20-2019, 05:44 AM
Member
 
rachmat-d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachmat-d View Post
I already email support and then PM you and then Email sales, but i havent got any reply email until now ?
Thanks for the reply Wifi-Spy.
Sadly there is no solution for my situation.
rachmat-d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 353 Old 07-20-2019, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 51
So, after consulting Portrait for some clarification about autocal without doing 2 point white balance vs 2 point white balance. I found that my TV, XBR75X940E have significantly higher dE error as high as 10. So, I took a step back and calibrate the 2 point white balance first again at 30% and 80% white balance then do the autocal again. Portrat display mention that jumping straight into 10P white balance apply the setting to all, which is true. So, I was thinking. To get a better result, it's best to do 2-point white balance first to get the over all grayscale as close as possible, then fine tune it with the autocal. The only down side to this is I have to get into every single input/apps and make sure that 2-point white balance is set for each input and apps, plus HDR/Dolby vision for external and Netflix app. I hope that calman in the future would include 2-point white balance auto cal adjustment. last note, my dE error with 2 point white balance calibrated are all 1 and below, color checker highest dE error was 2, which is blue color. Any inputs are welcome.


Equipment:
C6 Meter
VideoForge Pro
shoman94 likes this.

Last edited by kanti123; 07-20-2019 at 07:51 AM.
kanti123 is offline  
post #215 of 353 Old 07-20-2019, 02:11 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,878
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11314 Post(s)
Liked: 6708
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanti123 View Post
So, after consulting Portrait for some clarification about autocal without doing 2 point white balance vs 2 point white balance. I found that my TV, XBR75X940E have significantly higher dE error as high as 10. So, I took a step back and calibrate the 2 point white balance first again at 30% and 80% white balance then do the autocal again. Portrat display mention that jumping straight into 10P white balance apply the setting to all, which is true. So, I was thinking. To get a better result, it's best to do 2-point white balance first to get the over all grayscale as close as possible, then fine tune it with the autocal. The only down side to this is I have to get into every single input/apps and make sure that 2-point white balance is set for each input and apps, plus HDR/Dolby vision for external and Netflix app. I hope that calman in the future would include 2-point white balance auto cal adjustment. last note, my dE error with 2 point white balance calibrated are all 1 and below, color checker highest dE error was 2, which is blue color. Any inputs are welcome
FYI, based on a recommendation from @D-Nice earlier in the Sony Master Series LCD calibration thread, when doing the 2-point white balance on Sony display’s, you should NOT adjust the Bias (30%) settings (leave at default values of zero). Only adjust the Gain settings. Also, I recommend setting the screen for 100%/30% patterns, not 80%/30% patterns.

Edit: Here is the post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57354930

Last edited by AustinJerry; 07-20-2019 at 02:15 PM.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #216 of 353 Old 07-20-2019, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
FYI, based on a recommendation from @D-Nice earlier in the Sony Master Series LCD calibration thread, when doing the 2-point white balance on Sony display’s, you should NOT adjust the Bias (30%) settings (leave at default values of zero). Only adjust the Gain settings. Also, I recommend setting the screen for 100%/30% patterns, not 80%/30% patterns.



Edit: Here is the post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57354930


Thanks for he input, I’ll try it tonight and see if I get better result.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kanti123 is offline  
post #217 of 353 Old 07-20-2019, 07:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
FYI, based on a recommendation from @D-Nice earlier in the Sony Master Series LCD calibration thread, when doing the 2-point white balance on Sony display’s, you should NOT adjust the Bias (30%) settings (leave at default values of zero). Only adjust the Gain settings. Also, I recommend setting the screen for 100%/30% patterns, not 80%/30% patterns.



Edit: Here is the post: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57354930
As long as you don't raise Bias you'll be fine. Any raising will elevate blacks.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #218 of 353 Old 07-20-2019, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Following the suggestion, this is the best I can get out of the TV. any further fine tuning will not yield me any more benefit in my opinion. I put in Kong Skull Island and Black Panther to make sure I have no black crush, and I can confirm that there's no black crush any where in the movie like I used to see. So I guess it's good to go! I used to get black crush and a greenish hue on skin color. I also did 2.3 gamma verification and see that there's no significant changes to white balance. Infact it lowered my deltaE. Cheer !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Color Checker 07202019.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	495.4 KB
ID:	2592960   Click image for larger version

Name:	Color Space 07202019.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	252.7 KB
ID:	2592962   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gray Scale 07202019.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	365.4 KB
ID:	2592964   Click image for larger version

Name:	Validation 07202019.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	306.2 KB
ID:	2592966  
kanti123 is offline  
post #219 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 12:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi everyone, which gamma and which oled light is recommended when profiling meter?
Is the color gamut should be set on wide when profiling a meter?


Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Toto84 is offline  
post #220 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
You committed to writing up a guide for configuring the PC properly. Can we still expect a guide to be published?
yes, but it is not complete yet.
Now that the LG tutorials are ready, can we hope for Sony one(s) next?
priitv8 is offline  
post #221 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 06:59 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,878
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11314 Post(s)
Liked: 6708
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
Now that the LG tutorials are ready, can we hope for Sony one(s) next?
My original question was pertaining to setup of the laptop video system when using patterns generating by CalMAN over a HDMI connection. The setup is independent of the brand of display being calibrated. Perhaps your question is something different?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #222 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 232 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1549 Post(s)
Liked: 2148
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
Now that the LG tutorials are ready, can we hope for Sony one(s) next?


Early this week. It is already done we are just working on some final graphics.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is online now  
post #223 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Early this week. It is already done we are just working on some final graphics.
Hi Tyler, do you plan to do tutorial on profiling meter?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Toto84 is offline  
post #224 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
alettiere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 355
When I did an AutoCal using Sony Calman, while I set the Gamma to BT1886 (which I believe is Gamma -2 on the A9G), i didn't see any information within Calman about what my Gamma was measuring. Is there some option in the menu that turns this on or at least give me a read-out so I know?
alettiere is online now  
post #225 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
When I did an AutoCal using Sony Calman, while I set the Gamma to BT1886 (which I believe is Gamma -2 on the A9G), i didn't see any information within Calman about what my Gamma was measuring. Is there some option in the menu that turns this on or at least give me a read-out so I know?
I did this a while back to see how mine was tracking, only in my case set to Sony's custom whitepoint and Power 2.2 gamma.

Rolls-Royce helped me figure it out by posting the following: "You can verify by setting up for a manual calibration then doing a "read series" on the gray scale page (without making adjustments). Make sure that your CalMAN target for gamma matches the autocal's then you can see if it's the same."

Basically, you want to look at the Grayscale Multipoint page in a manual calibration mode and see if the line you get matches the EOTF line. (It may say something like "RGB with Luminance.") This verified what gamma I was at for me as the line closely followed it when set to the same gamma I calibrated for (and diverged quite a lot if set to a different gamma instead).
Rolls-Royce likes this.
sgupta is offline  
post #226 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 08:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
alettiere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 587 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Thanks! I’ll give it a try


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rolls-Royce likes this.
alettiere is online now  
post #227 of 353 Old 07-21-2019, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by alettiere View Post
When I did an AutoCal using Sony Calman, while I set the Gamma to BT1886 (which I believe is Gamma -2 on the A9G), i didn't see any information within Calman about what my Gamma was measuring. Is there some option in the menu that turns this on or at least give me a read-out so I know?


I still have the old guide, see he attached pic about BT1886. I’m not sure if it’s accurate anymore though



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
kanti123 is offline  
post #228 of 353 Old 07-22-2019, 01:44 AM
Member
 
rachmat-d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HI,
I just have a C6 , can i just calibrate ZD9 with autocal for SDR and get automatic conversion for HDR and Dolby vision automatically ?
RetiredandLovingIt likes this.
rachmat-d is offline  
post #229 of 353 Old 07-23-2019, 02:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachmat-d View Post
HI,
I just have a C6 , can i just calibrate ZD9 with autocal for SDR and get automatic conversion for HDR and Dolby vision automatically ?
Yup! At least on the Z9F, calibrating SDR automatically ports all of that to HDR and Dolby Vision (as long as you're using the same color temperature, ie. Expert 1). It's one of the really nice features Sony's have where you don't have to worry about calibrating that stuff separately. I think it should be the same on the Z9D, but hopefully someone can confirm that.

The only thing I had to do manually is copy the "Per Color Adjustments" settings (there are only 6) over for Game mode and some of the built-in app modes, but even for those, the 20-pt controls all are tied to Color Temperature, so as long as you use the same preset (ie. Expert 1), you're gold.
sgupta is offline  
post #230 of 353 Old 07-23-2019, 02:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Early this week. It is already done we are just working on some final graphics.
Thanks a lot. Looking forward to it!
priitv8 is offline  
post #231 of 353 Old 07-23-2019, 06:15 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,878
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11314 Post(s)
Liked: 6708
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post

The only thing I had to do manually is copy the "Per Color Adjustments" settings (there are only 6) over for Game mode and some of the built-in app modes, but even for those, the 20-pt controls all are tied to Color Temperature, so as long as you use the same preset (ie. Expert 1), you're gold.
I don’t think the Z9D has the per color adjustments.
sgupta likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #232 of 353 Old 07-23-2019, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thirdkind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I'm thinking of trying a manual perceptual match on my A9F to one of the traditional displays I have on hand (probably my calibrated laptop since it's easiest to move).

Is it okay to do it with my existing calibration (modified white point of x:0.3067, y:0.318) or should I recalibrate using a standard white point (D65, Judd, etc.) first?
thirdkind is offline  
post #233 of 353 Old 07-27-2019, 09:51 AM
Senior Member
 
destroyer2usa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 138
If I want to use a different whitepoint in the Sony autocal workflow where do I adjust it?

If I select Custom whitepoint I get no field to actually put in manually a different whitepoint.

There is no option to put it in the basic workflow options tab.
destroyer2usa is offline  
post #234 of 353 Old 07-27-2019, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by destroyer2usa View Post
If I want to use a different whitepoint in the Sony autocal workflow where do I adjust it?

If I select Custom whitepoint I get no field to actually put in manually a different whitepoint.

There is no option to put it in the basic workflow options tab.
I ran into this too and I'm trying to remember how I solved it. *grabs laptop*

Oh yeah...instead of selecting Custom for Whitepoint, select Custom for Colorspace. I agree it's odd. You can then re-set Colorspace to rec.709 or whatever, but the Whitepoint fields will stay showing. Hope this helps!
destroyer2usa and mirekti like this.
sgupta is offline  
post #235 of 353 Old 07-27-2019, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
destroyer2usa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post
I ran into this too and I'm trying to remember how I solved it. *grabs laptop*

Oh yeah...instead of selecting Custom for Whitepoint, select Custom for Colorspace. I agree it's odd. You can then re-set Colorspace to rec.709 or whatever, but the Whitepoint fields will stay showing. Hope this helps!

Awesome, working just fine then. Thanks for the tip!
sgupta likes this.
destroyer2usa is offline  
post #236 of 353 Old 07-28-2019, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 31
So I have heard Vincent in one video said he calibrates Sony two profiles, one for daylight and one for night time watching.
Do you guys do the same?

Would I need to run two calibrations at different brightness level or I should only calibrate for 120cd/m, and then copy it from Expert1 to Expert2 and raise the brightness and save?

My TV is on the way so not 100% sure on what's possible, but getting ready for it.
mirekti is offline  
post #237 of 353 Old 07-28-2019, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4474 Post(s)
Liked: 5488
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirekti View Post
So I have heard Vincent in one video said he calibrates Sony two profiles, one for daylight and one for night time watching.
Do you guys do the same?

Would I need to run two calibrations at different brightness level or I should only calibrate for 120cd/m, and then copy it from Expert1 to Expert2 and raise the brightness and save?

My TV is on the way so not 100% sure on what's possible, but getting ready for it.
I do the same and yes its two calibrations, one dark, one bright.
mirekti likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #238 of 353 Old 07-28-2019, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,207
Mentioned: 203 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5071 Post(s)
Liked: 3581
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirekti View Post
So I have heard Vincent in one video said he calibrates Sony two profiles, one for daylight and one for night time watching.

Do you guys do the same?



Would I need to run two calibrations at different brightness level or I should only calibrate for 120cd/m, and then copy it from Expert1 to Expert2 and raise the brightness and save?



My TV is on the way so not 100% sure on what's possible, but getting ready for it.
You don't need to, you can just use expert 1 with both custom pro 1 & 2.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #239 of 353 Old 07-28-2019, 09:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Personally, I like a one size fits all calibration, so I calibrate for a dark room (which 98%+ of my viewing is in). That said, I also target a higher brightness (160 nits) even for the dark, which is plenty for daytime viewing as well, so that may be why I don't bother with a second setting. I have used the second setting before, but for comparing things like Sony whitepoint to D65, etc.
sgupta is offline  
post #240 of 353 Old 07-29-2019, 06:53 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 20,878
Mentioned: 391 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11314 Post(s)
Liked: 6708
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgupta View Post
Personally, I like a one size fits all calibration, so I calibrate for a dark room (which 98%+ of my viewing is in). That said, I also target a higher brightness (160 nits) even for the dark, which is plenty for daytime viewing as well, so that may be why I don't bother with a second setting. I have used the second setting before, but for comparing things like Sony whitepoint to D65, etc.
I agree agree completely.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off