Calman Home for Sony 2019 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 25Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 120 Old 05-02-2019, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Calman Home for Sony 2019

Could anyone give a brief quick start for setting this system up? I've got the Calman software loaded up and running, but when it comes to source, I am completely lost. I assumed Client 3 was the built in Calman pattern generator, but after (Client 3) install, it just makes servo sounds and no boxes or targets pop up. I am also very confused by the constant asking for IP addresses for everything. I selected my PC's IP running Calman as the IP for Client 3, and it shows green. Can this system be run from the PC connected by HDMI to the target TV, or must I do this all remotely from a laptop?

I have MadVR installed as well, but working on one screen the MadVR always on top makes it impossible to see the Calman screen and my head is beginning to bleed from banging against the wall.

Paul

Sony X900F SDR and HDR Calibrations https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57551552
Anderegg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 120 Old 05-02-2019, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
Could anyone give a brief quick start for setting this system up? I've got the Calman software loaded up and running, but when it comes to source, I am completely lost. I assumed Client 3 was the built in Calman pattern generator, but after (Client 3) install, it just makes servo sounds and no boxes or targets pop up. I am also very confused by the constant asking for IP addresses for everything. I selected my PC's IP running Calman as the IP for Client 3, and it shows green. Can this system be run from the PC connected by HDMI to the target TV, or must I do this all remotely from a laptop?



I have MadVR installed as well, but working on one screen the MadVR always on top makes it impossible to see the Calman screen and my head is beginning to bleed from banging against the wall.



Paul


Please PM me your email address and I can follow up with you directly.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #3 of 120 Old 05-03-2019, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
There is also a document available from Sony describing the workflow:
http://sonyglobal.akamaized.net/is/c...AN-updated.pdf
priitv8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 120 Old 05-03-2019, 04:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Calman Home for Sony 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
There is also a document available from Sony describing the workflow:

http://sonyglobal.akamaized.net/is/c...AN-updated.pdf


This is for the previous Bravia workflow, not the new CalMAN Home one.

I am personally recording a tutorial video next week, so it will be on our YouTube page coming very soon.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #5 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 12:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
This is for the previous Bravia workflow, not the new CalMAN Home one.

I am personally recording a tutorial video next week, so it will be on our YouTube page coming very soon.
Thanks for updating me! Good to know. I am looking forward to your tutorial.
BTW is the CalMAN Home for Sony Walkthrough on their support page up to date?
priitv8 is offline  
post #6 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Just bought this and connected the i1 meter, and selected the Bravia on the autocal drop down (after inputting ip address the screen says connected).

As far as source, I have no idea what to do. I assumed the Bravia Calman app would handle that. There is absolutely NO information on how to proceed. Don't tell me I have to source a separate pattern generator, because the purchase page listed nothing about additional equipment necessary.

If I have to use a DVD like the old days of CalMan home, then what is the point of autocal? Wouldn't that be Cal-assist instead of auto?

Can anyone help?

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #7 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 11:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Calman Home for Sony 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
Just bought this and connected the i1 meter, and selected the Bravia on the autocal drop down (after inputting ip address the screen says connected).



As far as source, I have no idea what to do. I assumed the Bravia Calman app would handle that. There is absolutely NO information on how to proceed. Don't tell me I have to source a separate pattern generator, because the purchase page listed nothing about additional equipment necessary.



If I have to use a DVD like the old days of CalMan home, then what is the point of autocal? Wouldn't that be Cal-assist instead of auto?



Can anyone help?


There are many different options including MobileForge on fireTV stick, raspberry pi, MadVR, CalMAN built-in pattern window via HDMI output of your laptop.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #8 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
CalMAN built-in pattern window via HDMI output of your laptop.
This! Any instructions on how to properly set it up?

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #9 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
This! Any instructions on how to properly set it up?


We will create a guide for this and post it to our resource center early next week.

I will also post the link here.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #10 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 01:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
We will create a guide for this and post it to our resource center early next week.

I will also post the link here.
Awesome. In the mean time, is mobileforge accurate enough that I should go pick up a new firestick? Also, if I use the pattern window on the laptop (i assume I set output as a second monitor and drag the window over) do I set the output to SDR or HDR?

My meter is an i1 display pro.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #11 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Short answer: no. Read HERE for further informations.

TVs: Pioneer PDP-LX5090H, LG OLED55C8PLA | SintoAmp: Pioneer VSX-921 | BD Player: Panasonic DMP-BDT260EG | External LUT box: Entertainment Experience eeColor | Softwares: Light Illusion Lightspace HTP, Portrait Displays CalMAN Home Enthusiast 2018 R3, HCFR, DisplayCAL | Probes: x-rite i1 Pro 2 - i1 Display Pro OEM B-02, basICColor DISCUS | Test Pattern Generator: DVDO AVLab TPG
Anger.miki is offline  
post #12 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
Awesome. In the mean time, is mobileforge accurate enough that I should go pick up a new firestick? Also, if I use the pattern window on the laptop (i assume I set output as a second monitor and drag the window over) do I set the output to SDR or HDR?

My meter is an i1 display pro.
I simply installed CalMan Client 3 on my calibration computer.
Because it is listed as supported pattern generator in CalMAN 2019 Features v5.10.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by store.portrait.com
At least one Client 3 license is included with all current levels of CalMAN (more with some CalMAN licenses).
Haven't come to testing it out yet, sadly. Maybe today.
priitv8 is offline  
post #13 of 120 Old 05-04-2019, 11:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
I simply installed CalMan Client 3 on my calibration computer.
Because it is listed as supported pattern generator in CalMAN 2019 Features v5.10.0


Haven't come to testing it out yet, sadly. Maybe today.
I did go back in and open the pattern window under the generator settings, and then drug that window over to the TV connected to the HDMI output. I made it 100% in size, and it worked. Not sure if the output needed to be set to a specific output mode, but I didi get a calibration that I am trying. Not sure I am happy with it though.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #14 of 120 Old 05-05-2019, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
Not sure I am happy with it though.
So, I did also my first test run on my Z9D. I do not see this AutoCal working properly or getting accurate results. It consistently adjusts the 10-point targets southwest of D65 white point. Tried all 3 LCD screen types, the LCD (LED Blue Green) seemed to produce closest matches.
So the post-calibration results are worse than pre.
Because I am on a Mac, I use Client 3 native macOS version to generate patterns and CalMan runs in a virtual machine.
Another thing, that puzzles my mind is the 10-point adjustment on this Bravia. These controls seem to have no or minimal at best effect on primary colors. Especially stubborn seems to be blue at 10% and 20% control points. B-Offset at these points has absolutely no effect on the blue pixel on my tv set.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 19.04.51.png
Views:	61
Size:	1.25 MB
ID:	2562732   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 19.01.20.png
Views:	52
Size:	1.25 MB
ID:	2562734   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 18.57.45.png
Views:	46
Size:	1.25 MB
ID:	2562736   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 20.17.40.png
Views:	54
Size:	1.53 MB
ID:	2562738   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2019-05-05 at 18.28.14.png
Views:	50
Size:	1.24 MB
ID:	2562740  


Last edited by priitv8; 05-05-2019 at 01:56 PM.
priitv8 is offline  
post #15 of 120 Old 05-05-2019, 02:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
So, I did also my first test run on my Z9D. I do not see this AutoCal working properly or getting accurate results. It consistently adjusts the 10-point targets southwest of D65 white point. Tried all 3 LCD screen types, the LCD (LED Blue Green) seemed to produce closest matches.
So the post-calibration results are worse than pre.
Because I am on a Mac, I use Client 3 native macOS version to generate patterns and CalMan runs in a virtual machine.
Another thing, that puzzles my mind is the 10-point adjustment on this Bravia. These controls seem to have no or minimal at best effect on primary colors. Especially stubborn seems to be blue at 10% and 20% control points. B-Offset at these points has absolutely no effect on the blue pixel on my tv set.
That 10-point adjustment is for grayscale only. It has nothing whatsoever to do with color saturation or luminance, although an incorrect gray scale can impact the hue of secondaries.

Try using Raw XYZ as the display type on the meter. That reports only what the sensors see without filtering it through an EDR file. If you've chosen an incorrect EDR (display type), results will be off.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #16 of 120 Old 05-05-2019, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
We found a bug in the Sony Home workflow, it should be set to 2.2 gamma, but it is set to BT.1886. We will be doing another release early this week with it set properly.
shoman94 likes this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #17 of 120 Old 05-05-2019, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
We found a bug in the Sony Home workflow, it should be set to 2.2 gamma, but it is set to BT.1886. We will be doing another release early this week with it set properly.
Can we compensate for it on our own or do we have to wait for the new release.

I guess that's why the shadows seemed a little too pumped up

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #18 of 120 Old 05-05-2019, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
That 10-point adjustment is for grayscale only. It has nothing whatsoever to do with color saturation or luminance, although an incorrect gray scale can impact the hue of secondaries.
I did express myself not too well, I guess. What I mean is, that when trying to minimize dE2000 using the 10-point R/G/B-Offset controls, I hardly can move the blue pixel luminance using B-Offset slider. Especially in slots 1 and 2 it seems to have minimal to no effect.
But my main problem with the AutoCal is, that CalMan drives these 10 points to southwest from the D65 target and does it pretty consistently. Why is that?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Try using Raw XYZ as the display type on the meter. That reports only what the sensors see without filtering it through an EDR file. If you've chosen an incorrect EDR (display type), results will be off.
Thank you for the hint, will give it another try.
Besides setting Gamma to 2,2 instead of BT.1886.

PS Seems so, that CalMan for BRAVIA DDC my 2016 Z9 can only support 10-point gray-scale adjustment and does not support the 1D LUT - on the Colorspace screen I only see "This feature is not supported".

Last edited by priitv8; 05-06-2019 at 01:34 AM.
priitv8 is offline  
post #19 of 120 Old 05-06-2019, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1018 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
But my main problem with the AutoCal is, that CalMan drives these 10 points to southwest from the D65 target and does it pretty consistently. Why is that?
Thank you for the hint, will give it another try.
Besides setting Gamma to 2,2 instead of BT.1886.

PS Seems so, that CalMan for BRAVIA DDC my 2016 Z9 can only support 10-point gray-scale adjustment and does not support the 1D LUT - on the Colorspace screen I only see "This feature is not supported".
The program is responding to what the meter is telling it and adjusts based on those readings. It could be that the meter is reporting so much blue that the program can't correct for it, hence the dots all land to the "southwest" (towards blue). After the run, you should be able to click on the "DDC" button on the Display tab and see what the final numbers are. Hopefully, using Raw XYZ as the meter display type will help. If you start seeing wild swings in the readings - usually down towards the dark end - try changing the sync type in the meter settings. If it's in Auto, try On or Off, and vice-versa.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 05-06-2019 at 08:25 AM.
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #20 of 120 Old 05-06-2019, 09:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
I did express myself not too well, I guess. What I mean is, that when trying to minimize dE2000 using the 10-point R/G/B-Offset controls, I hardly can move the blue pixel luminance using B-Offset slider. Especially in slots 1 and 2 it seems to have minimal to no effect.

But my main problem with the AutoCal is, that CalMan drives these 10 points to southwest from the D65 target and does it pretty consistently. Why is that?

Thank you for the hint, will give it another try.

Besides setting Gamma to 2,2 instead of BT.1886.



PS Seems so, that CalMan for BRAVIA DDC my 2016 Z9 can only support 10-point gray-scale adjustment and does not support the 1D LUT - on the Colorspace screen I only see "This feature is not supported".


Are you trying to autocal the Custom picture mode?




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #21 of 120 Old 05-06-2019, 08:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Can we just select Gamma 2.2 manual and then do an Autocal or do we need to wait for the update for some reason?

My grayscale was almost perfectly flat after calibration with i1 pro, just a little flat thanks to incorrect curve.

Also, to use laptop hdmi and calibration window, does it matter if the output is set to rgb or should we set it manually?

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #22 of 120 Old 05-07-2019, 12:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
The program is responding to what the meter is telling it and adjusts based on those readings. It could be that the meter is reporting so much blue that the program can't correct for it, hence the dots all land to the "southwest" (towards blue). After the run, you should be able to click on the "DDC" button on the Display tab and see what the final numbers are. Hopefully, using Raw XYZ as the meter display type will help. If you start seeing wild swings in the readings - usually down towards the dark end - try changing the sync type in the meter settings. If it's in Auto, try On or Off, and vice-versa.
Thanks again, for these suggestions, I will give it another try.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Are you trying to autocal the Custom picture mode?
Yes. And frankly, that is the only one I am able to, using the CalMan for BRAVIA app on my MY2016 set.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-05-07_10-28-57.png
Views:	47
Size:	181.7 KB
ID:	2563514  

Last edited by priitv8; 05-07-2019 at 12:34 AM.
priitv8 is offline  
post #23 of 120 Old 05-09-2019, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Woodbridge, VA (25 miles south of D.C.)
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
We found a bug in the Sony Home workflow, it should be set to 2.2 gamma, but it is set to BT.1886. We will be doing another release early this week with it set properly.

Any idea when this will be available? Thank you.

Spoiler!
RetiredandLovingIt is offline  
post #24 of 120 Old 05-09-2019, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredandLovingIt View Post
Any idea when this will be available? Thank you.


A new build was posted to our website last night. It has the fix.
RetiredandLovingIt likes this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #25 of 120 Old 05-09-2019, 11:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
What type of backlight does the 900f have? LED, LED RGB, or LED blue green?

Also, nobody mentioned if it’s okay to use RGB mode from the laptop hdmi out for the patterns, vs ycbr 4:4:4 or 4:4:2 manually set in the driver.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #26 of 120 Old 05-09-2019, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1307 Post(s)
Liked: 1904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
What type of backlight does the 900f have? LED, LED RGB, or LED blue green?

Also, nobody mentioned if it’s okay to use RGB mode from the laptop hdmi out for the patterns, vs ycbr 4:4:4 or 4:4:2 manually set in the driver.


I would do full range RGB from laptop, uncheck “expand built in patterns to pc levels” in the CalMAN seatings (gear wheel). The fore TV to limited range in TV settings instead of using Auto.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #27 of 120 Old 05-09-2019, 10:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Thanks WiFi Spy. I did as suggested. After getting a little higher error in the final cal than I liked, I went back and tried to get the pre cal closer to flat by adjusting the RGB gain and RGB offset controls first, then the calibration itself got about .6 average delta, and didn't bury the blue and green like it was before.

Dolby Vision and HDR look darker than I'd like, but SOny bases the HDR calibration on the SDR grayscale, and to be honest they were dark to start with.

SDR looks great, and my color balance looks rich and warm now. Even Expert 1 is way too blue/green on my set.

Is HDR and DV designed to be viewed at 2.2 also?

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is online now  
post #28 of 120 Old 05-10-2019, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
Is HDR and DV designed to be viewed at 2.2 also?
I think they can not, fundamentally. HDR uses ST.2084 PQ instead of 2.2 gamma as EOTF.
Ideally, that should have no relation to white balance of the image, what we are calibrating here.
priitv8 is offline  
post #29 of 120 Old 05-12-2019, 02:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 264
1: I wish Calman had some workflow changes accounting for adjusting TV GAMMA, as it relates to gamma and luminance curves. In order to avoid hitting the adjustment limitations of my Sony X900F while calibrating with HCFR, I may need to mess with the gamma so that I am not looking at say blue at 140% after the first 2 point step. This is more important obviously in 2.4 BT.1886 and certain HDR curves when trying to keep 2 and 10 point adjustment s from hitting their limits...but maybe this doesn't mater because 2.4 BT.1886 and HDR are not part of Calman Home for Sony?

2: Calman contrast screen...serves no apparent function, white will always lay flat at 100%...turn contrast down, up, sideways, no difference, the contrast test stays the same. I shoot video for a living, and my raw video files do contain 108% for my Sony cameras and 109% for Panasonics, but short of creating some weird hybrid calibration with mismatched HDMI levels hitting the TV at full, what purpose does the contrast test serve?

3: Why include a manual Sony HDR workflow if Sony TV's are not meant to be HDR calibrated? (scratching head)

I might play with Calman again just for curiosity, since an update was released, but I am not sure throwing a 0.5dE handicap Calman Autocal run at my 0.2dE TV would help in any way. :-(

Paul

Sony X900F SDR and HDR Calibrations https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57551552
Anderegg is offline  
post #30 of 120 Old 05-12-2019, 05:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,178
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4234 Post(s)
Liked: 5140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post

2: Calman contrast screen...serves no apparent function, white will always lay flat at 100%...turn contrast down, up, sideways, no difference, the contrast test stays the same. I shoot video for a living, and my raw video files do contain 108% for my Sony cameras and 109% for Panasonics, but short of creating some weird hybrid calibration with mismatched HDMI levels hitting the TV at full, what purpose does the contrast test serve?

3: Why include a manual Sony HDR workflow if Sony TV's are not meant to be HDR calibrated? (scratching head)
For the Sony, when you calibrate CM sets Contrast to 100% and then resets it back to 90 which is where you should leave it. The contrast layout in CM is to check if the set is clipping. If it is, (it shouldn't be), you can lower the contrast to correct it.

The HDR layout in the workflow is there to validate HDR. You always want to validate to make sure your SDR calibration and automatic HDR offsets are correct. They would have one for Dolby Vision but there are no generators able to trigger it.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off