Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 05-07-2019, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HCFR My 1st attempt

Hi All,
First thanks you all for all the information posted here.
I am about to try to calibrate my LG OLED 65E6p to REC709.
I work in post production so I have some knowledge of calibration and color.
I though it would be used full to try to get a handle on HCFR as it could be used in my editing room to calibrate all my screens. Here is my plan. Would you have a look and see if I have gathered all the steps together in one place? If I am missing anything in regards to HCFR please chime in.
Thanks in advance,
Ian

Calibration questions using HCFR, MacBook running parallels 10, win xp and
I1 display pro
I want to calibrate my LG 65E6P. I have looked through the posts here at AVS as well as the old Curtpalmer guide from 2008.

I thought I would write up the steps I am going to take. And ask a few questions.

1. warm up display and probe.

2. Set up internal pattern generator. With windows in extended display mode, HCFR generator settings Image area 10 % , GDI overlay, pattern intensity 75%, GDI options 16–235.

3. set contrast (white)- put up 100% white patch and adjust contrast to 30-40 FL

4. set black level brightness (black)-put up zero Black patch and lower brightness until there is no change, the black does not lift

5. Set gamma Target to 2.2 - 2.35— Where do I set this in HCFR?

I know I have to choose a gamma setting on the monitor.

6. Color-Measure and record the Y value of 100% white. Then with 100% red adjust the color so Y is 21% of the white.

7. Tint Measure cyan and adjust to the Hue target of CIE. Then check the other secondaries.

8. two point white balance-
A. with 80% white patch adjust RGB contrast until RGB balance is at 100. Or the target x0.3127 y0.329.

B. with 20% white patch adjust RGB contrast until RGB balance is at 100. Or the target x0.3127 y0.329.