CalMAN Home for LG - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 447Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1111 Old 12-03-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,775
Mentioned: 206 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4747 Post(s)
Liked: 5721
Quote:
Originally Posted by grizzledyoungman View Post
Thank you for the thorough response! I'll post the grayscale setting adjustments tonight once I have a chance to get back into the system. In the meanwhile, answers to your other questions below:


  1. I calibrated the ISF Expert Bright (for SDR daytime with OLED backlight at 80), ISF Expert Dark (for SDR nighttime with OLED backlight at 45), Technicolor Expert (for HDR) and Dolby Vision Cinema (for DoVi).
  2. Of those modes, the issue was only present on the ISF Expert Bright/SDR daytime calibration. The HDR and DoVi modes look great. The ISF Expert Dark/SDR nighttime mode did not have this issue, but also resulted oddly in a much poorer calibration, at least according to the post-cal measurements. Color dE was over 4.0 in some cases!
  3. I started with default picture mode settings, and used the same Calman Home settings proscribed by the tutorials, carefully adjusting gamma and colorspace for each mode.
  4. Calibration was performed using de_ITP and Lightning LUT settings.
  5. I am using the LG C9 internal TPG.
Does any of that give some hints as to the potential issue? When I have a chance, I will retry with the following changes:
  1. Raw XYZ mode
  2. A different LUT measurement mode (any recommendations)?
Ok so if it's only ISF Bright that has a problem, try setting the pattern insertion to 5/15/5 and see if that makes a difference. The panel may be heating up and drifting.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LS Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1111 Old 12-03-2019, 10:47 AM
Member
 
grizzledyoungman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Ok so if it's only ISF Bright that has a problem, try setting the pattern insertion to 5/15/5 and see if that makes a difference. The panel may be heating up and drifting.

Will do! I ran the calibration after a 10 hour warm up period (playing HDR video on a loop while I was out) but perhaps that will help. Where is the control for adjusting pattern insertion?
grizzledyoungman is offline  
post #633 of 1111 Old 12-03-2019, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,775
Mentioned: 206 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4747 Post(s)
Liked: 5721
Quote:
Originally Posted by grizzledyoungman View Post
Will do! I ran the calibration after a 10 hour warm up period (playing HDR video on a loop while I was out) but perhaps that will help. Where is the control for adjusting pattern insertion?
its in the first couple of pages in the workflow.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LS Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 1111 Old 12-03-2019, 11:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
its in the first couple of pages in the workflow.
Yes with 2018 models but when calibrating 2019 model with CalMAN Home for LG there is not.
2018:
https://kb.portrait.com/help/lg-2018...-autocal-guide
2019:
https://kb.portrait.com/help/calman-...lg-walkthrough
Make73 is offline  
post #635 of 1111 Old 12-03-2019, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mitch G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
X-Rite i1Display Studio Colorimeter

Is the X-Rite i1Display Studio Colorimeter supported by Calman Home?
Is that what is meant when people refer to the i1 Display OEM?
If not, can someone point me at an example of the "OEM" i1 Display?

Thanks,


Mitch
Mitch G is offline  
post #636 of 1111 Old 12-04-2019, 01:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch G View Post
Is the X-Rite i1Display Studio Colorimeter supported by Calman Home?
Is that what is meant when people refer to the i1 Display OEM?
If not, can someone point me at an example of the "OEM" i1 Display?

Thanks,


Mitch
The i1 Display studio is not listed under supported devices.

An example of an OEM i1 Display is Spectracal C6.
skat137321 is offline  
post #637 of 1111 Old 12-04-2019, 01:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch G View Post
can someone point me at an example of the "OEM" i1 Display?
https://www.lightillusion.com/i1_display_pro.html
Make73 is offline  
post #638 of 1111 Old 12-04-2019, 06:34 AM
Member
 
grizzledyoungman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
its in the first couple of pages in the workflow.

I'm having trouble locating the greyscale adjustments for past (existing) calibrations. I loaded the workflow from that session, reconnected to the TV and looked into the DDC pulldown menu. All the values for RGB greyscale adjustments are blank. Thoughts?


Related: I've been watching more content, and the posterized/lifted blacks issue seems to be confined to certain content with poor compression and gradation. Other content with heavy shadows looks great. So it's hard to reproduce. Overall the SDR picture is definitely less contrast-y after calibration, but that makes sense. The out of the box settings were definitely crushing some detail in shadow areas.


In short: it's not a disaster but I would like to understand what is happening better as the results are not exceptional.
grizzledyoungman is offline  
post #639 of 1111 Old 12-04-2019, 06:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,775
Mentioned: 206 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4747 Post(s)
Liked: 5721
Next time you calibrate ISF Bright, click the setting wheel in the upper right in CM it's the 3rd tab if i'm not mistaken, you will see the pattern insertion option. Set it to 5/15/5 and see if the result is better. As far as the LG, it's a known problem that you may see some posterization and some artifacts in near black with compressed and bit starved content. They have made improvements over the year but the OLEDs suffer from this problem to some extent.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, LS Pro, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #640 of 1111 Old 12-04-2019, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
orion2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 330
I tried searching the forums here but couldn't find anything on this, so I figured I'd ask here. Does anyone know if the 2019 LG TV's API for their internal pattern generator is documented anywhere? Or is this some sort of secret thing that only the Calman folks have access to from LG so they can connect to the TV and control the display of test patterns?

LG OLED 77C9 | Yamaha RX-V375 | SVS PB12-NSD
orion2001 is offline  
post #641 of 1111 Old 12-04-2019, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 1366
Quote:
Originally Posted by grizzledyoungman View Post
I'm having trouble locating the greyscale adjustments for past (existing) calibrations. I loaded the workflow from that session, reconnected to the TV and looked into the DDC pulldown menu. All the values for RGB greyscale adjustments are blank. Thoughts?


Related: I've been watching more content, and the posterized/lifted blacks issue seems to be confined to certain content with poor compression and gradation. Other content with heavy shadows looks great. So it's hard to reproduce. Overall the SDR picture is definitely less contrast-y after calibration, but that makes sense. The out of the box settings were definitely crushing some detail in shadow areas.


In short: it's not a disaster but I would like to understand what is happening better as the results are not exceptional.
If the LG works like the Samsung sets, the API may not allow direct reading of the set's DDC values, so a reset has to be done to put them at defaults and the calibration proceeds from there. Nor do I believe CalMAN saves the DDC values with the session info, but I could be wrong on that.
jrref and mrtickleuk like this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #642 of 1111 Old 12-05-2019, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
DaMacFunkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, Not the one by the sea
Posts: 874
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Hi, just pulled the trigger on a C9, are there any discount codes for Calman LG home anywhere please? Thank you 😊
DaMacFunkin is offline  
post #643 of 1111 Old 12-05-2019, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 1366
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMacFunkin View Post
Hi, just pulled the trigger on a C9, are there any discount codes for Calman LG home anywhere please? Thank you 😊
Nope.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #644 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
esonique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,


I have a question on a particular setting in CalMAN:


When calibrating ISF Bright, Dark, and Gaming modes for SDR, should I be using rawXYZ or OLED for my meter?


My Equipment:
LG 55C9
i1Display Pro (EODIS3)
CalMAN for LG



I followed Tylers videos for SDR calibration and he explains to use OLED setting for meter. He does say he is using a C6. I have also seen here in the forums to use rawXYZ for more accuracy.


I just want to make sure I am using the correct (best?) setting for my meter.


Regards!

Last edited by esonique; 12-06-2019 at 10:54 AM.
esonique is offline  
post #645 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 11:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 1366
Quote:
Originally Posted by esonique View Post
Hi all,


I have a question on a particular setting in CalMAN:


When calibrating ISF Bright, Dark, and Gaming modes for SDR, should I be using rawXYZ or OLED for my meter?


My Equipment:
LG 55C9
i1Display Pro (EODIS3)
CalMAN for LG



I followed Tylers videos for SDR calibration and he explains to use OLED setting for meter. He does say he is using a C6. I have also seen here in the forums to use rawXYZ for more accuracy.


I just want to make sure I am using the correct (best?) setting for my meter.


Regards!
Use RawXYZ.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #646 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
esonique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
Use RawXYZ.

Thanks for the response.



Is there any particular reason I should use one over the other?

Also, should I use rawXYZ for HDR as well?


Sorry so many questions. This is my first OLED. My Samsung KS8000 and Sony XBR900e were pretty straight forward.


Thanks again.
esonique is offline  
post #647 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 12:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 1366
Quote:
Originally Posted by esonique View Post
Thanks for the response.



Is there any particular reason I should use one over the other?

Also, should I use rawXYZ for HDR as well?


Sorry so many questions. This is my first OLED. My Samsung KS8000 and Sony XBR900e were pretty straight forward.


Thanks again.
RawXYZ for HDR, too. The OLED setting provided by X-Rite and included with CalMAN is actually for RGB OLED monitors, not the WOLED type used for TVs, and will give wrong results. Without a spectrophotometer to build a custom meter profile using your I1D3 and your display, RawXYZ is probably the least problematic.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #648 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
esonique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
RawXYZ for HDR, too. The OLED setting provided by X-Rite and included with CalMAN is actually for RGB OLED monitors, not the WOLED type used for TVs, and will give wrong results. Without a spectrophotometer to build a custom meter profile using your I1D3 and your display, RawXYZ is probably the least problematic.

Got it.


Thanks again for the clarification.
esonique is offline  
post #649 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by esonique View Post
should I be using rawXYZ or OLED for my meter?
i1Display Pro (EODIS3)
CalMAN for LG
Maby you want try FSI_XM55U_23Jan19.edr (2018 LG OLED WRGB correction) instead of RawXYZ
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post58881082

btw, any news of R3 beta release?
e-mail said it´s coming on this week.


edit:
Few minutes later got e-mail, download link for R3 beta
dwaleke and cremor like this.

Last edited by Make73; 12-06-2019 at 01:31 PM.
Make73 is offline  
post #650 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
esonique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73 View Post
Maby you want try FSI_XM55U_23Jan19.edr (2018 LG OLED WRGB correction) instead of RawXYZ

btw, any news of R3 beta release?
e-mail said it´s coming on this week.

Thanks, I'll give this a look too!
esonique is offline  
post #651 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 155
How about new 3D LUT method? Something between Lightning and IR Profile?

CalMAN 2019 R3 Beta Release Notes

Below you will find the release notes specific to the beta release of CalMAN 2019 R3. These release notes may change once the public release of CalMAN 2019 R3 is available for download based on your input.

CalMAN 2019 R3 5.10.2 (Beta 1)
CalMAN 2019 (5.10.2) requires CalMAN or All Access (Maintenance) purchase as of November 2018 or later.

New Features:
  • Added support for X-Rite i1 Studio Spectroradiometer (All licenses)
  • Added support for X-Rite i1 Pro3 Spectroradiometer (All licenses)
  • Added support for Datacolor Spyder X Colorimeter (All licenses)
  • Added support for Colorimetery Research CR200 (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • Added support for LG B9 (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home for LG, Enthusiast)
  • Added support for Murideo Six-G firmware version 3.xx (All licenses)
  • CalMAN License ID displayed in licensing panel (All licenses)
  • Client3 HDR pattern generation support (Requires Client3 version 4.x or higher.) (Ultimate)
    • Note: HDR pattern generation for PC display validation only. Client3 HDR calibration not supported.

CalMAN Application Refresh Phase 2 - Reports:

  • New SDR Analysis report (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • New HDR Analysis report (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • All installed workflows updated with report status (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home Enthusiast)
  • All reporting workflows directly linked to connected reports (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home Enthusiast)
  • User created custom reports remain available for any workflow (Ultimate)

Changes:
  • Epson Projector Smart Iris now set to off on reset (All license levels)


Resolved Issues:
  • Uniformity chart series read errors fixed (All licenses)
  • Jeti 1501 Spectraval meter initialization/sync updated to maintain connection (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • Updated control scaling for Panasonic HDR CMS adjustment (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home for Panasonic)
  • Resolved issue writing 3D LUT into Rec_709 HDR slot (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)

Known Issues:
  • Changing MadVR LUT memory causes CalMAN hang

jrref, mrtickleuk and cremor like this.
Make73 is offline  
post #652 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,006
Mentioned: 244 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1722 Post(s)
Liked: 2313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73 View Post
How about new 3D LUT method? Something between Lightning and IR Profile?

CalMAN 2019 R3 Beta Release Notes

Below you will find the release notes specific to the beta release of CalMAN 2019 R3. These release notes may change once the public release of CalMAN 2019 R3 is available for download based on your input.

CalMAN 2019 R3 5.10.2 (Beta 1)
CalMAN 2019 (5.10.2) requires CalMAN or All Access (Maintenance) purchase as of November 2018 or later.

New Features:
  • Added support for X-Rite i1 Studio Spectroradiometer (All licenses)
  • Added support for X-Rite i1 Pro3 Spectroradiometer (All licenses)
  • Added support for Datacolor Spyder X Colorimeter (All licenses)
  • Added support for Colorimetery Research CR200 (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • Added support for LG B9 (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home for LG, Enthusiast)
  • Added support for Murideo Six-G firmware version 3.xx (All licenses)
  • CalMAN License ID displayed in licensing panel (All licenses)
  • Client3 HDR pattern generation support (Requires Client3 version 4.x or higher.) (Ultimate)
    • Note: HDR pattern generation for PC display validation only. Client3 HDR calibration not supported.

CalMAN Application Refresh Phase 2 - Reports:

  • New SDR Analysis report (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • New HDR Analysis report (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • All installed workflows updated with report status (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home Enthusiast)
  • All reporting workflows directly linked to connected reports (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home Enthusiast)
  • User created custom reports remain available for any workflow (Ultimate)

Changes:
  • Epson Projector Smart Iris now set to off on reset (All license levels)


Resolved Issues:
  • Uniformity chart series read errors fixed (All licenses)
  • Jeti 1501 Spectraval meter initialization/sync updated to maintain connection (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)
  • Updated control scaling for Panasonic HDR CMS adjustment (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio, Home for Panasonic)
  • Resolved issue writing 3D LUT into Rec_709 HDR slot (Ultimate, Video Pro, Studio)

Known Issues:
  • Changing MadVR LUT memory causes CalMAN hang



New LUT method will be in before R3 final version is released.
Make73, jrref, mrtickleuk and 2 others like this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #653 of 1111 Old 12-06-2019, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,171
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 290
I'm still quite new to Calman Home for LG...is that beta going to be available to Home users or just the professional versions?

LG C8 OLED | Pioneer VSX-LX303 | HTPC (9900k, RTX 2070) | nVidia SHIELD 2019 | Panasonic UB820
SamuriHL is offline  
post #654 of 1111 Old 12-07-2019, 12:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Make73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I'm still quite new to Calman Home for LG...is that beta going to be available to Home users or just the professional versions?
CalMAN Beta Testing Program:
http://www.portrait.com/calman-beta-testing-program/
SamuriHL likes this.
Make73 is offline  
post #655 of 1111 Old 12-07-2019, 03:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm a new owner of an LG C9 and interested in the CalMAN for Home. From the reading I've done on this thread and on HDTVTest YT videos I understand that the current version of CalMAN won't offer as good contrast due to the crushing of Gamma to hide the compression artifacts/macro blocking flashing issues. I myself don't mind that solution - I think it looks fantastic so unless I can also get the same Gamma as the new firmware I'd rather just leave at factory settings because colour out the box has very good accuracy in Technicolour mode.

Also from my understand if I purchase now - will I be eligible to receive any future updates/fixes?
dush is offline  
post #656 of 1111 Old 12-07-2019, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 1366
Quote:
Originally Posted by dush View Post
I'm a new owner of an LG C9 and interested in the CalMAN for Home. From the reading I've done on this thread and on HDTVTest YT videos I understand that the current version of CalMAN won't offer as good contrast due to the crushing of Gamma to hide the compression artifacts/macro blocking flashing issues. I myself don't mind that solution - I think it looks fantastic so unless I can also get the same Gamma as the new firmware I'd rather just leave at factory settings because colour out the box has very good accuracy in Technicolour mode.

Also from my understand if I purchase now - will I be eligible to receive any future updates/fixes?
For one year from date of purchase. Then you have to buy it again to get any further updates/fixes.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #657 of 1111 Old 12-07-2019, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks Rolls-Royce - I guess I'll wait until it's actually working properly with the new firmware before committing
dush is offline  
post #658 of 1111 Old 12-07-2019, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1288 Post(s)
Liked: 1366
Quote:
Originally Posted by dush View Post
Thanks Rolls-Royce - I guess I'll wait until it's actually working properly with the new firmware before committing
You're welcome. But there's no guarantee that another LG firmware update wouldn't hose things again. So you have to decide when to take the plunge based on overall results reported by users.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #659 of 1111 Old 12-08-2019, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
HiFi4Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by dush View Post
Thanks Rolls-Royce - I guess I'll wait until it's actually working properly with the new firmware before committing
We currently have no information when this bug will be fixed. I.e. this may take a while.
I'm afraid that the upcoming firmware version 04.71.05, which should be released in the next 2 to 3 weeks, won't fix this bug. Which would mean we're still several weeks if not months away from a solution.

The only update we got so far was from Tyler more than 2 months ago. Not having received any new info from him yet is certainly not a good sign.
Make73 and dush like this.
HiFi4Vision is offline  
post #660 of 1111 Old 12-08-2019, 05:32 PM
Member
 
r0ck0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the X-Rite i1Display Pro Plus work with calman home for LG?
r0ck0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off