CalMAN Home for LG - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 85Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 310 Old 05-24-2019, 01:46 PM
Member
 
rswood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
I am recording tutorial videos for CalMAN Home for LG this week. It will probably take a week after that to do all the post production.

I will be covering calibrating SDR/HDR/Dolby Vision on a 2019 LG C9.
Tyler, I am using C6 2000 meter LG C8 TV and spectracal mobile forge for source. I notice when I use RGB output on the Mobile forge fire stick 4K. the color points for the secondary colors are reported way away from standard or normal then if I use YCBCR. I did not have this problem when I used the Calman Enthusiast.

Do you know of this issue? What is the recommended output for my setup.

I have seen recommendations to use RGB output because it is bit perfect and YCBcR output for fire stick 4k is not.
rswood is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 310 Old 05-24-2019, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 2022
Quote:
Originally Posted by rswood View Post
Tyler, I am using C6 2000 meter LG C8 TV and spectracal mobile forge for source. I notice when I use RGB output on the Mobile forge fire stick 4K. the color points for the secondary colors are reported way away from standard or normal then if I use YCBCR. I did not have this problem when I used the Calman Enthusiast.



Do you know of this issue? What is the recommended output for my setup.



I have seen recommendations to use RGB output because it is bit perfect and YCBcR output for fire stick 4k is not.


We have never actually tested the fire stick 4K. It might be doing something weird like always being in 2020 color or something.

We are working on documentation on how to set up your PC HDMI output proper calibration of 2018 LG TVs for SDR.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #63 of 310 Old 05-24-2019, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 2022
CalMAN Home for LG

It looks like we left some instructions out of the LG autoCAL workflow for HDR and Dolby Vision, if you have a 2019 TV and are using the internal pattern generator.

The proper instructions will be added in the beta release of CalMAN 2019 R2 (Release 2).

You need to select the correct pattern color space if you are doing HDR or Dolby Vision calibration.

Here is a screenshot of the setting.


Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 310 Old 05-24-2019, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hey guys
Do I have to do a full ddc reset everytime ?
Like if I want to do SDR DV HDR. Doesn't that reset previous picture settings?
Or it's something I need to do once.
Thanks

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #65 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4281 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4klover View Post
Hey guys
Do I have to do a full ddc reset everytime ?
Like if I want to do SDR DV HDR. Doesn't that reset previous picture settings?
Or it's something I need to do once.
Thanks
You have to DDC reset every picture mode you are calibrating and yes it will reset a previous calibration for that picture mode.
4klover likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #66 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
You have to DDC reset every picture mode you are calibrating and yes it will reset a previous calibration for that picture mode.
So if I calibrate cinema, I did hdr cinema. do I do that ddc reset for dolby vision cinema and cinema SDR too? Or only once is fine.
That's why I'm so confused lol

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #67 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Wjboshart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2,242
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1354 Post(s)
Liked: 1325
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4klover View Post
So if I calibrate cinema, I did hdr cinema. do I do that ddc reset for dolby vision cinema and cinema SDR too? Or only once is fine.

That's why I'm so confused lol


Every profile is separate. So if you want to calibrate sdr cinema you will do ddc reset for that. If you want to do hdr cinema, you reset that. If you want to do dv cinema, you do that


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
4klover likes this.
Wjboshart is offline  
post #68 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wjboshart View Post
Every profile is separate. So if you want to calibrate sdr cinema you will do ddc reset for that. If you want to do hdr cinema, you reset that. If you want to do dv cinema, you do that


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Haha thanks.
I figured that much.

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #69 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 06:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Is there anyways to keep the test pattern on the screen longer when finding out the peak luminance for hdr as it does not stay on the screen long enough?

I found my lg c9 using the internal test patten at 730 nits for hdr.

What about yours?
Toto84 is online now  
post #70 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 07:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,238
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4281 Post(s)
Liked: 5234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Is there anyways to keep the test pattern on the screen longer when finding out the peak luminance for hdr as it does not stay on the screen long enough?

I found my lg c9 using the internal test patten at 730 nits for hdr.

What about yours?
Anywhere from 700-780 nits is "typical". Some panels are a little brighter and some a little less brighter but it's not significant since your eyes can't see the difference unless the sets were side by side. One of the major reasons why this is, is because you are calibrating the panel from it's native 10K to 6500K(D65) and some sets need more or less adjustments to get there and some panels natively have some variances in peak luminance.
chunon likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #71 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 12:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Is there anyways to keep the test pattern on the screen longer when finding out the peak luminance for hdr as it does not stay on the screen long enough?

I found my lg c9 using the internal test patten at 730 nits for hdr.

What about yours?
Anywhere from 700-780 nits is "typical". Some panels are a little brighter and some a little less brighter but it's not significant since your eyes can't see the difference unless the sets were side by side. One of the major reasons why this is, is because you are calibrating the panel from it's native 10K to 6500K(D65) and some sets need more or less adjustments to get there and some panels natively have some variances in peak luminance.
Thanks Sir for sharing all your knowledge.

Is the i1 display pro good enough for tracking Hdr peak luminance ?

Also when measuring peak luminance for hdr the internal pattern doesnt stay long enough, any tips to adjust this?

Does it it matter if i cant verify the calibration in hdr or dolby vision as i dont have an external pattern generator?

Could you guys explain hoe to cali rate dolby vision as i dont understand as i have to create some file for the color..

Perhaps do you guys have a cheap solution for this.
Toto84 is online now  
post #72 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toto84 View Post
Thanks Sir for sharing all your knowledge.

Is the i1 display pro good enough for tracking Hdr peak luminance ?

Also when measuring peak luminance for hdr the internal pattern doesnt stay long enough, any tips to adjust this?

Does it it matter if i cant verify the calibration in hdr or dolby vision as i dont have an external pattern generator?

Could you guys explain hoe to cali rate dolby vision as i dont understand as i have to create some file for the color..

Perhaps do you guys have a cheap solution for this.
The I1 Display Pro is plenty good enough.

You really don't want the max luminance patterns displayed very long, in order to keep the display's brightness limiters from kicking in and to avoid burn-in.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #73 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 01:14 PM
Member
 
rswood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
We have never actually tested the fire stick 4K. It might be doing something weird like always being in 2020 color or something.

We are working on documentation on how to set up your PC HDMI output proper calibration of 2018 LG TVs for SDR.
The only new feature to my setup is the 2019 LG Home program. I did not have this problem with the CalMAN enthusiast. So since it is the new ingredient to the package one would surmise through the process of elimination that the problem resolves in the LG Home program.

Thank you for your response.
rswood is offline  
post #74 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 02:34 PM
Member
 
rswood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
We have never actually tested the fire stick 4K. It might be doing something weird like always being in 2020 color or something.

We are working on documentation on how to set up your PC HDMI output proper calibration of 2018 LG TVs for SDR.
The only new feature to my setup is the 2019 LG Home program. I did not have this problem with the CalMAN enthusiast. So since it is the new ingredient to the package one would surmise through the process of elimination that the problem resolves in the LG Home program.

Thank you for your response.
rswood is offline  
post #75 of 310 Old 05-25-2019, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 2022
Quote:
Originally Posted by rswood View Post
The only new feature to my setup is the 2019 LG Home program. I did not have this problem with the CalMAN enthusiast. So since it is the new ingredient to the package one would surmise through the process of elimination that the problem resolves in the LG Home program.



Thank you for your response.


Nothing has changed in the MobileForge code In at least a year and a half or two years. The implementation in CalMAN Home and Home Enthusiast is exactly the same.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #76 of 310 Old 05-26-2019, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Hi Guys,

Could you please explain the step to use the xrite i1display pro with i1pro2 together?

Just to confirm when calibrating with calman for hdr brightness and contrast should be left at 100?

Thank you so much for your help
Toto84 is online now  
post #77 of 310 Old 05-26-2019, 11:09 PM
Senior Member
 
thepiecesfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Forgive me but can anyone confirm if MobileForge supports Calman LG Autocal in any capacity? SDR, HDR or Dolby Vision? Thanks
thepiecesfit is offline  
post #78 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 04:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi,
What hdfury i need to buy in order to calibrate HDR on my LGC8?
I found integral 4K60 4:2:0 300 hz. Is this enough?
tony_bcc is offline  
post #79 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony_bcc View Post
Hi,
What hdfury i need to buy in order to calibrate HDR on my LGC8?
I found integral 4K60 4:2:0 300 hz. Is this enough?
That will be fine. Since it is not producing a test pattern, but only injecting HDR metadata into an SDR RGB test pattern you will be sending to the TV, 300 MHz is sufficient. Be advised, unless CalMAN has corrected the USB driver problem that stopped it from directly controlling the Integral, you will have to copy and paste the needed HDR IF strings from CalMAN to the Integral GUI, which you can have open at the same time.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #80 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
@Rolls-Royce
Thank you. Maybe someone else can confirm if that is fixed.
tony_bcc is offline  
post #81 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Several days ago, Tyler stated that they were working on it, but there has been no update about it from him since. They may be waiting on a revised driver from the provider.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #82 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is the tutorial still coming
?
I think I got the hand of it
But still would like to see the tutorial

LG 65 C9 OLED Display
Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray Player (49-XXXX MODIFIED )
Home Theater 7.1.4 with yamaha RX3070
4klover is offline  
post #83 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Following the line of questions about the Fury, what about the HDfury Intergral 4K 60 4:4:4 600MHz model? Does Calman control it or do you have to copy and paste as well?

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #84 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1049 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by keyoctave View Post
Following the line of questions about the Fury, what about the HDfury Intergral 4K 60 4:4:4 600MHz model? Does Calman control it or do you have to copy and paste as well?
It's still an Integral 1 despite the frequency boost, and the same caveats apply.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #85 of 310 Old 05-27-2019, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
keyoctave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post
It's still an Integral 1 despite the frequency boost, and the same caveats apply.
Thank you

LG 55”C8 OLED Oppo BDP-103 Sony X800m2
Denon X3300W 5.2.2 PSB/M&K speakers
Samsung 55HU8550/SEK-3500U
Sonos 5.1 Playbase/sub/surrounds
CalMAN Home Enthusiast/i1display pro oem/i1 pro 2/Videoforge HDMI-2 TPG
keyoctave is offline  
post #86 of 310 Old 05-28-2019, 12:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
One more question. Is there alternative to HDfury?
tony_bcc is offline  
post #87 of 310 Old 05-28-2019, 01:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
One more question. Is there alternative to HDfury?
tony_bcc is offline  
post #88 of 310 Old 05-28-2019, 01:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Using autocal on firmware 04.10.31 and 04.10.55, would the result be any different?

Also, I tried sRGB as tone curve for sdr calibration, but it seems autocal didn't handle it properly and the shadow detail of the image went all messed up. I am not sure what was going on there.
2 Deco is offline  
post #89 of 310 Old 05-28-2019, 02:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 Deco View Post
Using autocal on firmware 04.10.31 and 04.10.55, would the result be any different?

Also, I tried sRGB as tone curve for sdr calibration, but it seems autocal didn't handle it properly and the shadow detail of the image went all messed up. I am not sure what was going on there.
sorry, I meant 04.10.15 and 04.10.31/04.10.55 on LG C8
2 Deco is offline  
post #90 of 310 Old 05-28-2019, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 209 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1368 Post(s)
Liked: 2022
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 Deco View Post
Using autocal on firmware 04.10.31 and 04.10.55, would the result be any different?



Also, I tried sRGB as tone curve for sdr calibration, but it seems autocal didn't handle it properly and the shadow detail of the image went all messed up. I am not sure what was going on there.


We recommend 2.2 gamma for day mode and 2.4 gamma for night mode. sRGB gamma is not appropriate for a TV.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off