Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 06-03-2019, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Newbie Calbration

Hi,
I just brought a projector and I am new to calibrating. Is the Disney WOW disc a good place for me to start?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-03-2019, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 74 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2595 Post(s)
Liked: 1551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Pierson View Post
Hi,
I just brought a projector and I am new to calibrating. Is the Disney WOW disc a good place for me to start?
By eye calibration is no longer considered valid for accurate calibration. You are better off buying an i1Display Pro colorimeter to begin with and use the free HCFR calibration software.

The meter will run you about $200-$250.

Last edited by skschatzman; 06-03-2019 at 09:21 PM.
post #3 of 9 Old 06-03-2019, 07:32 PM

Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Pierson View Post
Hi,
Its a decent way to start until you get into meter calibration proper.

The AVSHD disk is good too but I would recommend Ted's disc. Far more comprehensive - it will work well with Calman etc when you get into meters.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 06-03-2019, 07:32 PM

duplicate.
post #5 of 9 Old 06-03-2019, 09:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Its a decent way to start until you get into meter calibration proper.
This has already been disproven. Using disc by eye calibration is not an accurate way to calibrate. I do not recommend this at all. With the current level of display tech being used today, only meter calibration can give accurate results.

The only settings that require by eye calibration is brightness and contrast and in nearly all cases is set properly by default. Everything else requires a meter for accurate results.
post #6 of 9 Old 06-03-2019, 11:51 PM