CalMan and Other Home-TV Calibration Kits - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Ken Masters
  • 1 Post By Light Illusion
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 07-12-2019, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cool CalMan and Other Home-TV Calibration Kits

Q: Are they for sale any longer? I checked on Amazon and cannot find any! Is it assumed that LED and newer display technologies "don't need" either basic adjustment or calibration?
FactorySettingsRAwful19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 07-12-2019, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1103 Post(s)
Liked: 1210
Quote:
Originally Posted by FactorySettingsRAwful19 View Post
Is it assumed that LED and newer display technologies "don't need" either basic adjustment or calibration?
No, it is not. Multiple calibration packages are out there, but they are sold direct to consumers via the software companies' websites.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 07-12-2019, 10:04 PM
Senior Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by FactorySettingsRAwful19 View Post
Q: Are they for sale any longer? I checked on Amazon and cannot find any! Is it assumed that LED and newer display technologies "don't need" either basic adjustment or calibration?


Spectracal sells them, just prepare to spend some money. You can probably download AVS disc, use a software alternative to Calman. I like Calman software, it’s very user friendly. Also, you can probably buy the C6 meter. The non HDR is cheaper, the C6 2000 is for hdr at 2000 nit. Do some research, you’ll have some learning curve ahead of you


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
kanti123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 12:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
The i1D3 OEM is HDR 2000 nits.
You do not need to get the overly expensive C6.
That is just the i1D3 OEM in drag.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 12:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
The i1D3 OEM is HDR 2000 nits.
You do not need to get the overly expensive C6.
That is just the i1D3 OEM in drag.

Steve
Don't they test the ID3s to insure they're within a stricter tolerance, thereby improving the efficacy of their EDRs?
kanti123 likes this.
Ken Masters is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 12:39 AM
Senior Member
 
kanti123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Masters View Post
Don't they test the ID3s to insure they're within a stricter tolerance, thereby improving the efficacy of their EDRs?


Not sure, but my C6 comes with a cert from spectral


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
kanti123 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 12:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Masters View Post
Don't they test the ID3s to insure they're within a stricter tolerance, thereby improving the efficacy of their EDRs?
All OEM versions are 'select on test'.
Spectracal add their own EDRs to Calman, but they cannot be used with other software systems.
(EDRs exist within the software program, not the probe.)

All batch tests of i1D3s that have been performed by us, and others, show very little device to device variation.
Any further testing and adding of a certificate is rather moot.
And is that really worth the price difference?

It is your choice as the customer.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 02:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
All batch tests of i1D3s that have been performed by us, and others, show very little device to device variation.
"...the i1d3's color accuracy exhibits considerable unit-to-unit variation...
It shows a dE variation of about 3.0, which is not trivial.


https://www.chromapure.com/newgear_i...20Accuracy.asp

Xrite lists the iD3's reference tolerance as +-0.004 x,y for chroma and +-4.0% for Luma
Whereas the C6's tolerance is listed as +-0.001 x,y for chroma and +- 2.0% for Luma

Last edited by Ken Masters; 07-13-2019 at 02:47 AM.
Ken Masters is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 02:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
We have never seen a dE variation of 3 between OEM units.
Retail units are a different story...
That is likely down to the OEM being SOT.

And we have never seen any i1D3 unit (C6 or otherwise) that can do 0.001 Chroma accuracy.
I have a C6 here, and it's not close to that.
When compared to the standard OEM and a CR-250RH the two are basically the same tolerance.

But, as I say, you pays your money, and takes your choice.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 02:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
We have never seen a dE variation of 3 between OEM units.
Retail units are a different story...
That is likely down to the OEM being SOT.

And we have never seen any i1D3 unit (C6 or otherwise) that can do 0.001 Chroma accuracy.
I have a C6 here, and it's not close to that.
When compared to the standard OEM and a CR-250RH the two are basically the same tolerance.

But, as I say, you pays your money, and takes your choice.

Steve
This is my NIST cert, am I misinterpreting the figures?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NIST.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	202.1 KB
ID:	2590216  
Ken Masters is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 02:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
No, not at all.
I just struggle to accept that level of accuracy based on the tests we have performed.
But, you'd have to have the C6 independently re-tested to verify that.

I guess that for one test, at one moment in time, it is possible for a given probe?
But is that the quoted/guaranteed tolerance for all C6?

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 02:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
No, not at all.
I just struggle to accept that level of accuracy based on the tests we have performed.
But, you'd have to have the C6 independently re-tested to verify that.

I guess that for one test, at one moment in time, it is possible for a given probe?
But is that the quoted/guaranteed tolerance for all C6?

Steve
I only have a sample of one, but I would assume by the format that +-0.001 x,y for chroma and +- 2.0% for Luma is standard. Was that not always Spectracal's claim though, that they tested the meters to ensure they performed within a stricter tolerance - isn't that, along with the range of EDRs, the value proposition?
Ken Masters is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 02:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
yes, I guess when used with Calman the different EDRs are the sales proposition.
But worth the $500 difference?

As I say, your choice.
That's almost DISCUS price.
(But that has different issues...)
Or an i1D3 OEM and i1Pro 2 combo could be worth the additional cost?

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 06:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,650
Mentioned: 126 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4657 Post(s)
Liked: 1730
Quote:
Originally Posted by FactorySettingsRAwful19 View Post
Q: Are they for sale any longer? I checked on Amazon and cannot find any! Is it assumed that LED and newer display technologies "don't need" either basic adjustment or calibration?
You can buy an x-rite i1D3 and use it with HCFR.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #15 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: København
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post
Or an i1D3 OEM and i1Pro 2 combo could be worth the additional cost?
That there is another kettle of fish. I don't see the logic in purchasing an iPro2, from what I've read it's a less accurate device than a C6 or a better i1D3.

So good to have if what you're looking for is a consistent image across multiple displays, not good value if you're looking to calibrate a single display.
Ken Masters is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 07-13-2019, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 1100
It's a Spectro, so very different...
If the i1D3 (or variant) has a EDR that is for the exact same displays/TV as the one you have, is 'should' be accurate enough.

But, if there is no exact EDR for the exact display/TV you have, the i1D3 may be very inaccurate.
Using a Spectro to define your own probe matching - matching the Tristimulus to the Spectro - will be a lot more accurate.
All professional calibrators use a Spectro/Tristimulus combo, and do not rely on the general EDR presets, as they are generic...

The i1Pro 2 is the most cost effective Spectro available.
But, with narrow spectral bandwidth displays the 10nm resolution may not be 'totally accurate'.
But, it is likely better than a generic EDR setting on 'your' specific TV/display.

Steve
Rolls-Royce likes this.

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
brightness , calman , color , display calibration , sharpmness

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off