Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 08-06-2019, 04:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Calibration Newbie

Hi

I have owned an Xrite Spectro and colorimeter for a few years now and never had the opportunity to use them properly. I am a Digital Imaging Technician who is constantly being asked whether the monitors on-set have been calibrated. I always do a basic calibration with the PLUGE bars and Blue only function and that seems to satisfy the needs of most, knowing full well that this is not actually calibrating the broadcast monitors. I usually have my own personal monitors (Sony OLED A170 and FSI DM240) professionally calibrated. I want to be able to calibrate the various broadcast monitors with a high degree of accuracy and be able to say confidently to the Direct and DOP that, Yes these monitors are calibrated!

Where do I start? LightSpace CMS LTE? Are there any good step by step tutorials for probe profiling and basic calibration for broadcast monitors?

Thanks in advance!

Simon (UK)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 08-06-2019, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3002 Post(s)
Liked: 3701
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestWing11 View Post
Hi

I have owned an Xrite Spectro and colorimeter for a few years now and never had the opportunity to use them properly. I am a Digital Imaging Technician who is constantly being asked whether the monitors on-set have been calibrated. I always do a basic calibration with the PLUGE bars and Blue only function and that seems to satisfy the needs of most, knowing full well that this is not actually calibrating the broadcast monitors. I usually have my own personal monitors (Sony OLED A170 and FSI DM240) professionally calibrated. I want to be able to calibrate the various broadcast monitors with a high degree of accuracy and be able to say confidently to the Direct and DOP that, Yes these monitors are calibrated!