Newbie/amateur calibration advice for PC using TV-as-monitor and Z9D in home theater? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 1 Old 08-06-2019, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Newbie/amateur calibration advice for PC using TV-as-monitor and Z9D in home theater?

I'm a newbie to calibration, so much so that I spent the better part of yesterday afternoon doing research here and I feel like I'm still barely literate! My use case is a little unusual, so I could use some advice:

TL/DR: Need to calibrate a Samsung TV used as a computer monitor for better photo editing and also want to calibrate my Sony Z9D, but my needs are not exacting enough to justify more than about $500 on equipment/software.

What I've learned is that there are a lot of hardware/software options in the calibration space and I've gotten a strong impression that a lot of the people in this subforum have gone deep down the calibration rabbit hole. Props to them, but I'm not there and I'm hoping to get some advice for my much-less-exacting needs.

My primary purpose for getting into calibration is for photo editing on my PC (Win 10 using a 49" curved Samsung 4K LED as a display: specifically a 2016-era UN49KS8500F). I primarily edit in Paint.Net and Corel AfterShot Pro 3/PaintShop Pro x9 (I'd consider myself an beginner-level prosumer, but I don't even do enough of it to justify Adobe's crazy licensing costs!). I intend to have a bunch of my best shots printed for display around the house, but I won't be doing my own printing so I don't need to worry about calibration of that equipment. Instead, the goal is to have a reasonably calibrated/accurate edit environment so I don't get any nasty surprises when I send the images off to places like CanvasOnDemand to be printed.