EEcolor, correct download of LUT - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-24-2019, 05:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 45
EEcolor, correct download of LUT

Hi,

I am trying to ensure I download the LUT I have created with DisplayCAL correctly and after googleing it I am one big ?

i will give you as much detail here but please ask if I have left anything out.

Intel Graphics set to full range
MadTPG set to 16-235
TV set to limited
using MadLevelTweaker i have ticked Force PC Levels
pm5_calibration_tester is used to verify the gamut curve has not been modified.
doing this allows me to pass BTB and WTW.

I have used Calman to confirm that the laptop is outputting correctly, compared to my Bluray Player.

before calibration I prepared the eecolor by doing the following (as per https://www.hometheatershack.com/for...-under-1k.html)

The eeColor box needs to be set to default. Do this by starting the TruVue eeColor Application.
4) Select "Start Download". This brings up another Window and it usually places it behind the main Window, super annoying but just move them around. FYI The original Window likes to stay "On top" of everything.

5) Select "Calibration' and 'Unity".
6) Tick both the 'eeColor 3D Tables' and 'Calibration Values', everything else should already be at 'Default'.

7) Start the download process and wait for the process to complete (it takes a little bit, never timed it maybe 5 - 10 min).
8) Now we need to replace the 3D LUTs with example LightSpace CMS ones linked above. Unzip the "General Media.zip".
9) Go to directory C:\Program Files (x86)\Entertainment Experience LLC\TruVue eeColor Application\Data\3dtable\standard nonrgb led\General Media
10) Replace the contents with those from the "General Media.zip" file. 3DLUT_1.txt is the "Unity"/blank preset. The rest are useless presets. 3DLUT_1.txt refers to Preset 1, 3DLUT_2.txt is Preset 2, and so on. Rename 3DLUT_1.txt to whichever preset you want to be the pass through. Most people usually pick 6. I only use one correction so for my setup it's preset 2 and I threw in an extra copy on preset 6 just in case I accidentally deleted it or overwrote it.

11) Startup the TruVue eeColor Application and select "Start Download".

12) Select display type of "Standard Non-RGB LED Display" and "General Media".
13) Tick just the 'eeColor 3D Tables' as you have previously set the 'Calibration Tables' to default above.
14) Start the download process and wait for the process to complete.

Please note I overwrote all 6 LUT holders with UNITY luts.

I have now completed 3 LUTS using DisplayCAL and want to download themto the eecolor.
DisplayCAL crated the following 7 files
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dblue.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dgreen.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dred.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dblue.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dgreen.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dred.txt

I would love some help with what I should do with the other files (than madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65.txt)

im sure its been covered 1000 times but im just not sure what I need to do

am I correct is assuming that since I use video levels I dont need to do anything with them?

Any help is hugely appreciated.

Last edited by ACappo; 08-24-2019 at 06:20 AM.
ACappo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-24-2019, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Hi,
I don't know enough about MadTPG but the LUT file for eecolor is 14,751kb. If all of those txt files are of that size then I don't know. But, my guess is that only one of them will be that size. Then it is easy.
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-25-2019, 12:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 45
the 3D Lut file is easy (madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65.txt) that just need renaming to 3DLUT_X.txt and moved to here C:\Program Files (x86)\Entertainment Experience LLC\TruVue eeColor Application\Data\3dtable\standard nonrgb led\General Media

however its the 1D Lut files im unsure about.
when looking here
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...argyllcms.html

more specificly
V. Link source and device profiles and output 3DLUT

collink -v -qh -G -IB -ia -3e -et -Et Rec709.icm display.icm display_link

-qh high quality
-G gamut mapping mode
-IB BT.1886 output offset (absolute, 2.4)
-ia gamut mapping mode intent=absolute colorimetric (generally gives best results when display has been pre-calibrated to D65)
-3e eeColor box output
-et input is 16-235 levels
-Et output is 16-235 levels

*note - if you can't pre-calibrate the display to D65 (and that is your desired post-LUT white point) use the switch -iaw instead of -ia. This will scale the white point luminance to avoid clipping near white. This will also have the side effect of lowering total luminance somewhat depending on how far away your pre-calibrated white point is from it's target.

The 3DLUT file to upload to the eeColor box will be created as display_link.txt

note: The default -3e output when not using the -Et switch will be a 3DLUT for use with 0-255 RGB input/output. This option will also generate 6 files that will be needed to properly treat 255 code inputs.
then the 1D lut files should only be created if using full range (0-255) on output levels when creating the LUT but in my case I use 16-235, which make me belive I dont need to use them?
ACappo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 08-25-2019, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,379
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4045
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
I am trying to ensure I download the LUT I have created with DisplayCAL correctly and after googleing it I am one big .

I have now completed 3 LUTS using DisplayCAL and want to download them to the eecolor.

DisplayCAL crated the following 7 files

madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dblue.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dgreen.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dred.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dblue.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dgreen.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dred.txt
Hi,

The eeColor application while its performing a reset of the 2 1D LUT tables after 3D LUT table, they are not true UNITY.



eeColor 3D LUT Box video signal pipeline has a 3D LUT, followed by a first 1D LUT (de-gamma) , followed by a 3x3 matrix, followed by a second 1D LUT (re-gamma).

The first 1D LUT undoes a default 2.2 gamma (reverse gamma), while the second 1D LUT reapplies the 2.2 gamma (normal gamma). Reverse Gamma + Normal Gamma = UNITY.

It is a good idea to replace the 1D LUTs with Null (UNITY) versions, to avoid any potential issues.

These two 1D LUT's have different sizes between them, something that can cause issues with the undoing and redoing of the 2.2 gamma, especially if the display is not 2.2 gamma.

Also having the 2x 1D LUT's after the 3D LUT, with a 3x3 matrix in-between, is not a sensible design for display calibration, so they really should not be used at all for normal operation, this is why setting them to 'Null' (UNITY) is the best approach (the 3x3 matrix is Null by default also).

So the procedure the eeColor application is doing its not the most accurate way to upload true unity, its a detail I inform (from 2017 and later) the eeColor customers.

The quickest solution is to send me email to forward you the instructions and the correct unity files.

The second solution is to upload the 6 as attachment (zip):

madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dblue.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dgreen.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-first1dred.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dblue.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dgreen.txt
madVR 2019-08-23 22-21 S XYZLUT+MTX.Rec709.bb1.0,2.2Gawt65-second1dred.txt

So I will import them to LightSpace and see if they are true unity.

When you will upload the correct UNITY for 1D LUT's, there no need to tick to upload 'calibration values' again.

You will upload to replace the 3D LUT tables every time only.

If the files of DisplayCAL are true UNITY then you will rename them as:

first1dblue.TXT , first1dgreen.TXT , first1dblue.TXT
second1dblue.TXT , second1dgreen.TXT , second1dblue.TXT

and you paste/replace to this folder these 6 TXT files: C:\Program Files (x86)\Entertainment Experience LLC\TruVue eeColor Application\Data\default

When you are measuring for 3D LUT, you need to connect your pattern generator to eeColor HDMI Input, and have UNITY table active, so to include to the measurement/calculation, any eeColor internal colorspace conversion or processing performed when you have a 3D LUT table as active.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-25-2019, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi ted,

thank you for your comprehensive answer, am I right assuming that you should ALWAYS replace the 1D LUT's with unity Lut's?
PS I have send you an email
ACappo is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-25-2019, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,379
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3249 Post(s)
Liked: 4045
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
Hi ted,

thank you for your comprehensive answer, am I right assuming that you should ALWAYS replace the 1D LUT's with unity Lut's?
You replace one time and don't touch them again.

These LUT's are not for calibration, so we leave them as unity for ever.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-25-2019, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Awesome, thank you for your help
ACappo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off