What's up with these 'barely visible' sliders in games!? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ConnecTEDDD
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-08-2019, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What's up with these 'barely visible' sliders in games!?

I have a calibrated HDTV but every time I see a brightness setting in games, it always claims the brightness is off by telling you to adjust the slider till so and so is barely visible. Do these devs even know what they're doing with these things, should I not bother with touching it?

Sent from my G3221 using Tapatalk

Tyrone Burton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-08-2019, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Bump

Sent from my G3221 using Tapatalk

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-09-2019, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,410
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3265 Post(s)
Liked: 4055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone Burton View Post
I have a calibrated HDTV but every time I see a brightness setting in games, it always claims the brightness is off by telling you to adjust the slider till so and so is barely visible. Do these devs even know what they're doing with these things, should I not bother with touching it?
This is something normal, and is happening for years with console games.

I think game developers are creating the games using one format, and then they create different formats for each console, but each console has different processing so it can happen a mismatch of levels the game (designed/working) with the output of console is handing the game or outputting, so these bars can be off to a calibrated TV for video levels for example.

There no global solution for this as different games can require different brightness slider setting from their internal calibration slider tests.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 10-09-2019, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks for the reply. So what would be best to do then in those circumstances, just leave the sliders alone or attempt to do what they ask?

Also what do you mean by formats, colour spaces?

Sent from my G3221 using Tapatalk

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-09-2019, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,410
Mentioned: 207 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3265 Post(s)
Liked: 4055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone Burton View Post
Thanks for the reply. So what would be best to do then in those circumstances, just leave the sliders alone or attempt to do what they ask?
Adjust the sliders per game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone Burton View Post
Also what do you mean by formats, colour spaces?
PC, various XBOX, various Playstation editions I means as 'formats'.
Tyrone Burton likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-15-2019, 04:42 PM
Member
 
as2onish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
In the next PS4 firmware update there will be a system level dialog to set these different HDR settings. It requires game devs to use new APIs to read them, but it should be standard by the time we hit PS5 next year. Won't be surprised if Xbox does something similar.
as2onish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off