Super basic beginner Projector Calibration Questions - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 06-14-2020, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Super basic beginner Projector Calibration Questions

I recently purchased my first projector (Epson 5040ub) and it looks pretty good! But I can tell it badly needs to be calibrated.

I just place an order for an X-Rite i1Display Pro and just burned a disk of charts from here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...libration.html

Searching for information about calibrating and I am bombarded with pages of really technical info that is quite scary to a total beginner like myself.

I have a few questions that are probably super obvious to someone who has done this before. I will just list them below.

Do I need that i1Display Pro with the calibration disk? Do they work together? Or does this disk get the job done ok without the i1Display Pro?

Searching youtube I see a lot of people using charts that come within their chosen calibration software. Which would mean calibrating from a computer. Is that any different from using the charts from this DVD I just burned? My goal is to have the best color when watching blu rays so to me it makes more sense to use the DVD charts?

Does anyone recommend a calibration software that is easy for a beginner to use/ understand? Are the free ones just as good as the ones you need to pay for?

Any information and or general tips are super appreciated!

Thanks a bunch for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 06-15-2020, 10:22 AM

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 57