• 1 Post By CFC

post #1 of 24 Old 06-30-2020, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 448
i1 Pro 2 for profiling?

Hey everyone I'm interested in getting a spectro so I can create my own profiles. I am by no means a professional so I'm hesitant to drop multi thousands of dollars on a reference meter (particularly this year when I have a bunch of other pricey upgrades in the works)...but at an enthusiast level is an i1 Pro 2 still considered to be an acceptable choice for this purpose, and is there a specific version I should be targeting? My preliminary research has shown that the Pro 2 Basic goes for ~$1000 or so NIB and I might be able to justify that. I also see used ones on Ebay for as low as $500 but I'm a little leery to go this route since I won't know anything about whether it's accuracy has drifted due to time or abuse and have no further recourse if I inadvertently get a unit that is out of spec. I saw someone here on the forum had one for sale in the classifieds a few months ago at a VERY reasonable price and wish I had been in the market at the time, but c'est la vie.

I am new to profiling but I have some time on my hands and am eager to learn so I've started digesting some of the forum threads. If anyone has any advice or suggestions I'd love to hear your thoughts!

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless) / QNAP TVS-873 / Harmony Elite
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 06-30-2020, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 126