AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration - Page 155 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 106Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4621 of 4645 Old 07-20-2018, 06:43 PM
Member
 
echo419's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 13
wow thanks Ted for that in-depth explanation. I got a lot to figure out tonight.


Jason
ConnecTEDDD and mrtickleuk like this.
echo419 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4622 of 4645 Old 07-28-2018, 05:22 PM
Member
 
tsunami2311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NJ, Lincoln Park
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I made DVD of this AVCHD (.7z)

I play this on ps4 I dont have acccess to bluray burner nor did I really want to buy bluray disc calibrator



So here I am trying to calibrate my TCL S517 2018 due to I keep seeing the faces looks smeared like water color some times it on HD pictures some time its on SD pictures some times it it not. other times the image looks amazing, its just seem all over like if there 720p with to much compression or video feed for 1080p, if there to much compression in the feed, I using Dish and hopper 3/4k joey setup set for 1080p/4k but that dont mean every feed is really 1080p or 720p or it isnt compressed to hell, cause not all channels are equal. true 720p/1080p with no compressions looke amazing the more compression then lower the res the more it happens.


Now my PS4 and PC outputs look amazing, maybe the color a lil less vibrate then I like. And I can only calibrate Brightness and Contrast, thing Is I need to use Movie preset other settings, Normal, Sports, Vivid, ( wont use lower power as it just makes thing way to dark, TV Brightness is Normal and setting I gona use.

I currently using this settings
Preset Movie

Backlight 80

Contrast at 99
Brightness at 50
Color at 65
Color Temp Normal ( I can use warm which make this to yellow an but and cool make thing more blue on white, I setting on Normal cause it was close I could get to color being way I like not washed out)




1. Black Clipping
3. White Clipping



These are the settings I need to use to get the closest to 17 to 25 flash on 1. while still have 2. 230-234 flashing any other seeing I tried so far I can even get Black clipping right or the White clipping or pick middle group. 2. APL Clipping is is about as close as I gona get it with messing up 1 and 2 But above is best I can get for white and darks.



Colors


Now I can't do much of anything with color set up due to not having glass filters needed. Most the gray scale and black from other option from the DVD look right to me. Color look good too on the shades test,But like I said I dont have blue filter glasses to really fine tune thing, and most of stuff is beyond me I read patters-manual, and I not follow how to actual how to fine tune the colors. even IF i had glass filters


I tried using the expert mode settings here
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/tc...-s517/settings
Preset Movie

Backlight 80

Contrast at 99
Brightness at 50
Color at 65
Color Temp Normal
but didnt really help with the water color/clay faces weather I use all these seeting under movie and warm temps


but for most Brightness and blacks look great, and my ps4 and pc have good colors slightly less vibrate then I like but darks and bright seem right its just some time faces and and things look like water color/clay and that most on faces on Dish feeds.


My OCD been going crazy about the water color/clay faces. Other thing I notice is the TCL S517 I need to have gamemode on or latency is just bad, but I noticed IF gamemode is on I have to set sharpness to 0 any other setting then 0 cause the sharpness flickers for clear and blurry which is mostly noticeable on icons. I vaguely remeber this happening on my old LN35a550 tv too but I never used gamemode on that. is this PS4 issue or what?



I thinking a good portion of water color/clay faces is do to amount compression bing used by dish on there channels.
jmccrack650 likes this.

Last edited by tsunami2311; 07-28-2018 at 05:29 PM.
tsunami2311 is offline  
post #4623 of 4645 Old 08-05-2018, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry guys in advance but english is not my first language!!
And sorry for the stupid question

So i just heard about this free calibration software and wanted to use it to calibrate my TV.

What i usually do is watch movies from my Laptop linked with my TV via a HDMI cable.
The problem is my TV doesnt have a USB port so i can plug in the mp4 calibration file.
From my understand i can not run this calibration tool on my laptop and calibrate my TV via HDMI cable right?
IF i try to run the tool from my laptop that would require to calibrate the color settings of the laptop first right?
Ryuyru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4624 of 4645 Old 08-05-2018, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,058
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4204 Post(s)
Liked: 1497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryuyru View Post
Sorry guys in advance but english is not my first language!!
And sorry for the stupid question

So i just heard about this free calibration software and wanted to use it to calibrate my TV.

What i usually do is watch movies from my Laptop linked with my TV via a HDMI cable.
The problem is my TV doesnt have a USB port so i can plug in the mp4 calibration file.
From my understand i can not run this calibration tool on my laptop and calibrate my TV via HDMI cable right?
IF i try to run the tool from my laptop that would require to calibrate the color settings of the laptop first right?
Note that the AVS HD 709 files are only test patterns, not the calibration software. You can use HCFR for the latter.

If you play movies using your laptop, then you can (or even should) play the mp4 test patterns from your laptop as well.

It’s not necesssary to calibrate the laptop on its own.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 08-06-2018 at 07:13 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4625 of 4645 Old 08-06-2018, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
Note that the AVS HD 709 files are only test patterns, not the calibration software. You can use HCFR for the latter.

If you play movies using your laptop, then you can (or even should) play the mp4 test patterns from your laptop as well.

It’s not necesssary to calibrat pe the laptop on its own.
OK my level of knowledge on this subject is pretty low.

I play movies using my laptop but i watch it on my tv via HDMI. IF my TV had a USB port i would just put the mp4 files on a flash driver and use it to adjust my TV settings. I cant do that. I could however run the test patterns from my laptop and use it to adjust my TV settings.

What im failing to understand is that the picture i see on my TV (color, contrast, brightness) is a result of both my TV settings and my laptop settings. For example, when i play one of the test patterns of avs hd tool from my laptop, i see completly diferrent images depending on the player im using to play the file (vlc, kodi, etc.).
How can i be certain that im correcting adjusting my TV? Maybe my TV is already fine and the "bad" quality of the image i see is not due to the TV been incorrect calibrate but due to my laptop outputing incorrect levels of brightness, contrast, etc.
Ryuyru is offline  
post #4626 of 4645 Old 08-06-2018, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,058
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4204 Post(s)
Liked: 1497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryuyru View Post
What im failing to understand is that the picture i see on my TV (color, contrast, brightness) is a result of both my TV settings and my laptop settings. For example, when i play one of the test patterns of avs hd tool from my laptop, i see completly diferrent images depending on the player im using to play the file (vlc, kodi, etc.).
That's precisely why you should always use the same setup (hardware and software) to display the test patterns, as the setup you use to watch movies.

For people who watch movies on disc, they should use the disc-based patterns. Not in your case.
Madmax67 likes this.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4627 of 4645 Old 08-10-2018, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3918 Post(s)
Liked: 3096
Every TV I've ever owned, had a USB Port ?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #4628 of 4645 Old 08-11-2018, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,731
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2901 Post(s)
Liked: 3489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryuyru View Post
Sorry guys in advance but english is not my first language!!
And sorry for the stupid question

So i just heard about this free calibration software and wanted to use it to calibrate my TV.

What i usually do is watch movies from my Laptop linked with my TV via a HDMI cable.
The problem is my TV doesnt have a USB port so i can plug in the mp4 calibration file.
From my understand i can not run this calibration tool on my laptop and calibrate my TV via HDMI cable right?
IF i try to run the tool from my laptop that would require to calibrate the color settings of the laptop first right?
Hi, if you have only a calibration disk, then you don't need any software, just playback the patterns you can use for calibration without meter from inside the software players you are using and make the adjustments (if you see different results per player post what you see or look their settings), see there what you can change without meter/software: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post56609032

You can setup from your laptop the TV to work as extended desktop, so the TV to display only the software player window in full screen while to your notebook to see your normal desktop.

If you have plans to get a meter and software then you will need to use it as extended desktop, to view the calibration software charts from your notebook and display patches from the TV.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #4629 of 4645 Old 08-11-2018, 08:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 6,087
Mentioned: 150 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4135 Post(s)
Liked: 6255
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Every TV I've ever owned, had a USB Port ?
What, even this one?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new_TV.jpg
Views:	2824
Size:	85.4 KB
ID:	2440464  
arcspin likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #4630 of 4645 Old 08-11-2018, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,795
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
What, even this one?

Wow, look at the size of that VCR!
mrtickleuk likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #4631 of 4645 Old 08-11-2018, 07:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3918 Post(s)
Liked: 3096
USB wasn't even a twinkle in it's inventor's eye back then.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #4632 of 4645 Old 09-25-2018, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 231 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3918 Post(s)
Liked: 3096
HDTV patterns bring up a different set of settings when input through the USB, off my Samsung UHD Video Pack versus the AVHD 709 Calman patterns. Mystery is, why, and where are these settings used ? (KS9800). Not used for SDR Video playback, which instead uses the Calman settings from patterns on the same Video Pack.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 09-25-2018 at 10:08 PM.
p5browne is online now  
post #4633 of 4645 Old 11-21-2018, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Pattern manual link is Broken

Hello, pattern manual link is broken, someone know how i can get it?
Guillaume Gadbois Gervais is offline  
post #4634 of 4645 Old 11-21-2018, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,058
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4204 Post(s)
Liked: 1497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guillaume Gadbois Gervais View Post
Hello, pattern manual link is broken, someone know how i can get it?
Use the alternate links listed in the same post.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4635 of 4645 Old 12-10-2018, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Lend27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Hi Guys!
I would like to be able to put the calibration files onto a USB flash drive and insert it into a USB port on the back of my tv.
What download option should I select for that to be possible?
Also, a basic step by step to properly get the files onto the usb would be helpful.
Thanks again guys!
Len
Lend27 is offline  
post #4636 of 4645 Old 12-10-2018, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,058
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4204 Post(s)
Liked: 1497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lend27 View Post
Hi Guys!
I would like to be able to put the calibration files onto a USB flash drive and insert it into a USB port on the back of my tv.
What download option should I select for that to be possible?
Also, a basic step by step to properly get the files onto the usb would be helpful.
Thanks again guys!
Len
Just download the mp4 files.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4637 of 4645 Old 01-02-2019, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
PhantomCage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Primary colors pattern question

Hello, and thank you for the work put into these. I have read the provided guide as well but still got some questions.

I used the primary colors pattern to setup my TV. There is a clear difference between grey and red under a red filter on uncalibrated TV settings, same with green so I increased chroma I believe, until they matched. Is this the correct way to proceed? I left saturation at standard 50.

My expert settings look something like this now

Red 6
Tint 0

Green 6
Tint -6

Blue 0
Tint 0

Yellow 4
Tint -2

Cyan 4
Tint 0

Magenta 5
Tint -5
PhantomCage is offline  
post #4638 of 4645 Old 01-07-2019, 12:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 7,731
Mentioned: 165 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2901 Post(s)
Liked: 3489
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomCage View Post
Hello, and thank you for the work put into these. I have read the provided guide as well but still got some questions.

I used the primary colors pattern to setup my TV. There is a clear difference between grey and red under a red filter on uncalibrated TV settings, same with green so I increased chroma I believe, until they matched. Is this the correct way to proceed? I left saturation at standard 50.
For AVSHD thread subscribers, the answer for this post is available there: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...l#post57375096

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #4639 of 4645 Old 01-09-2019, 12:38 PM
Member
 
tsunami2311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NJ, Lincoln Park
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
is there HDR calibration files or patterns? This tcl s517 support hdr but only way I found to calibrate it is threw windows 10 and have HDR enabled, And I only calibrated the White/Black using the MP4-2c Patterns.


According to that blacks and whites are were they should be, but that is for SDR those files.


HDR looks fine on my PC and Consoles for the games that support it, colors pop out tad less then I like though, only game look wierd in hdr is FFXV in area where the sun glaring it unbarring bright by that mean thing extramely washed out and blues be come more purple with hdr on, but Horizon Zero Dawn look pretty good,
tsunami2311 is offline  
post #4640 of 4645 Old 01-09-2019, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,058
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4204 Post(s)
Liked: 1497
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami2311 View Post
is there HDR calibration files or patterns? This tcl s517 support hdr but only way I found to calibrate it is threw windows 10 and have HDR enabled, And I only calibrated the White/Black using the MP4-2c Patterns.


According to that blacks and whites are were they should be, but that is for SDR those files.


HDR looks fine on my PC and Consoles for the games that support it, colors pop out tad less then I like though, only game look wierd in hdr is FFXV in area where the sun glaring it unbarring bright by that mean thing extramely washed out and blues be come more purple with hdr on, but Horizon Zero Dawn look pretty good,
You can download HDR patterns here
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...terns-set.html

If your PC is compatible, or if your TV can be placed in HDR mode manually, you can even use HCFR’s internal patterns to calibrate HDR.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4641 of 4645 Old 01-09-2019, 01:02 PM
Member
 
tsunami2311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NJ, Lincoln Park
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yah I just noticed that, and checked it out, most the videos in those links dont play for me something about missing codec or somthing
tsunami2311 is offline  
post #4642 of 4645 Old 01-09-2019, 02:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 6,058
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4204 Post(s)
Liked: 1497
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami2311 View Post
yah I just noticed that, and checked it out, most the videos in those links dont play for me something about missing codec or somthing
With the appropriate graphics card you can use HCFR’s internal patterns for HDR.

For disc based patterns you can get this:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-d...-patterns.html
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #4643 of 4645 Old 04-06-2019, 01:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know this thread is almost dead, but it seems the best place to post my question (especially if ConnecTEDD is still lurking).

I have a HTPC setup - PC with Kodi and a NVIDIA GT1030 card; connected to an Epson EMP-TW2000 (same as a 1080B) via an AV receiver.
I want to calibrate the system using the basic patterns from MP4-2c (don't have a colorimeter yet).
I can alter most video settings in Kodi, the video card, and in the pj.

I've read that in the chain - Kodi/video card/projector - the best colour space (0-255 or 16-235) should be Full:Full:Full or at least Limited:Full:Limited.
I can set each up as either Full (0-255) or Limited (16-235), but based on ConnecTEDD's earlier posts, I'm now not too sure what is the best setup.

Can anyone recommend the best setup of colour space for a HTPC where all the video information is home movies or downloaded movies (mp4 and some avi)?

My other problem is that I want to do all the calibration in the projector, but (as well as the colour space) I don't know how to set up the other components (especially the video card), so that the best signal is getting to the projector.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Nordo; 04-06-2019 at 04:18 PM.
Nordo is offline  
post #4644 of 4645 Old 04-06-2019, 06:44 AM
Member
 
FlynP5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dorchester, ON
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This might help you:


https://lifehacker.com/how-to-get-be...ate-1700412363


https://pcmonitors.info/articles/cor...-and-amd-gpus/


https://www.guidingtech.com/19148/op...ay-experience/

Panasonic TC-PS60 plasma • Anthem MRX 510 • OPPO DV-980H • Rogers Nextbox 2.0 8642 HD • Playstation 3 • HTPC (AMD A10-7850K APU, GTX 1060) • SVS Ultra Series Speakers • HSU STF-3 Subwoofer
FlynP5 is offline  
post #4645 of 4645 Old 04-06-2019, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nordo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Led Hdtv , lg bp530

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off